MCG game 2026

Makes sense given on the first Friday in September this year (USA time) Eagles played Packers in Brazil.

It would be unusual timing to have a Friday arvo game in Melbourne on a standard work day, but it makes the most sense to suit the US scheduling.
Vic Govt will probably kick in with a public holiday seeing that we get one for Grand Final parade

October is a horrible time. if it was November could of matched up with Cup week and everyone already takes the monday off. But by then the MCG would be in cricket stage so they only have those few weeks post AFL before they transform the field into cricket ready and have pitch put in.

I doubt they will put in a public holiday for it. But people will have heaps of time to book in a day off because international game tickets generally go on sale around May

Said for years it’s rubbish.
It’s old, facilities suck, food is rubbish, views can be shit. Other than history and size there is nothing good about it. Only people that think it’s a top stadium are from Vic and haven’t been elsewhere.
I’ve taken interstate and overseas friends, family, colleagues to the ground and they were all quite impressed by the stadium.

You’re being very negative in this thread clearly pissed it’s not in far away small town Perth

I’ve taken interstate and overseas friends, family, colleagues to the ground and they were all quite impressed by the stadium.

You’re being very negative in this thread clearly pissed it’s not in far away small town Perth

Seriously tell me what impressed them about the stadium ?
The way I view mcg is way I Lambeau Field. Historically the stadiums have alot going for them and worth going once for that but the newer stadiums are so much better to view sports from. Newer Stadiums have alot better facilities, better seating, better viewing and usually better food.

I don't considering myself overly negative. Maybe I am being really blunt but that's how I view the MCG.

As for it not being in Perth I am actually really glad its not here to be honest. We had wrestling here last year and I spent alot more than I should of on tickets cause I didn't have to travel and it was a huge waste of money I could see the same thing happening if it was in Perth. That money will be better spent on holiday in middle of winter and maybe an east coast footy trip.
My actually favorite stadium in Australia is Adelaide oval and not Perth's Optus stadium.

It'll be some small AFC South teams with little national footprint like the Texans or Titans. The Jaguars already have London and they wouldn't dare flying a team like the Cowboys for a 35 hour round trip.

They have confirmed by reports it's Rams/Eagles.

It will likely be Rams all 3 years since they have tier 1 rights to Australia that's why Rams preseason games are all shown here

They have confirmed by reports it's Rams/Eagles.

It will likely be Rams all 3 years since they have tier 1 rights to Australia that's why Rams preseason games are all shown here
Makes sense, it's a shorter flight, for the Rams at least if they're going to be here all 3 years.

It would be a shithouse game to watch live at the MCG given an NFL field is less than 50 metres wide, never mind the exorbitant ticket prices. I've been to rugby games at Optus and it wasn't great even when the field is 70 metres wide.

In, will definitely be getting tickets to this. Hopefully level 2 and hopefully AFL members get presale option.

Stoked that it's an actual game and not preseason/exhibition etc I wouldn't have bothered with that.

Surely they play Friday midday for a TNF game in the states and give them a 10 day break heading the other way (or a bye). I'm sure they would've preferred a September game (like Brazil) but with finals the MCG wouldn't have been able to confirm availability.

It’s old, facilities suck, food is rubbish, views can be shit. Other than history and size there is nothing good about it. Only people that think it’s a top stadium are from Vic and haven’t been elsewhere.

It's old!? When was last time you were at the G. 1912?

Are you sure you aren't describing Docklands..

Actually you can't be because not even Victorians think it's a top stadium

Are you sure you aren't describing Docklands..

Actually you can't be because not even Victorians think it's a top stadium
Docklands doesn't even have history it's just a shithole

Event though will ensure its sold out in hours
They will sell it no matter who was playing .
More than enough NFL followers ( like myself ) will just want to see the game live without the need to go OS

I just don't think the Rams will get much of a kick as far as fan base here goes

Nah nothing like that.
Just utterly overated. Been to 20+ afl games, 6 bbl, and couple of tests at g and never been impressed about it.
Just don’t see what the fuss is about it. Plenty of stadiums are better in Australia.
which stadiums are better in your opinion?

Be interesting to see how this is goes in Year 3. NRL's State of Origin in Melbourne (and Perth & Adelaide) part of the reason it works at getting people in despite the field is it's only once every few years. The NFL is likely to set higher ticket prices.

Yeah NFL at the G will be utter dogsh1t. An NFL field is as wide as an AFL centre square. Let that sink in. You could almost probably get 2 NFL fields on the G with only a little bit of the corners missing. The bottom level seating (about 40k) may as well be sold as restricted viewing because thats exactly what it will be, particularly on the wings. Theres a reason the front row of NFL stadiums is about 2m off the ground. Back row of the bottom level will be about the length of an NFL field, from the field, at a height of about 4m. Remember the basketball at Marvel? Get the refund hotline ready!!

MCG game 2026

Write your reply...