McGinnity to be sanctioned for insulting a players mother

then tell Pat he is an idiot and go get the footy.
Exactly what he did.

Petterd was interviewed on SEN tonight, and said he called McGinnity an "idiot", but that he did not raise the issue with the umpires. He said the reporting to the AFL was entirely the work of the two umpires who heard the remark and it was out of his hands. He's also not responsible for what his dad says in an interview.

The accusations that he in some way "dobbed" or is "weak" are total crap. He's going to get labelled for something he didn't do, after a remark he didn't ask for, all because stupid people, like those here, jump the gun and make assumptions.

Still, I guess if it makes West Coast supporters feel better about a loudmouth like McGinnity, then there's not much Petterd can do about the real idiots.

waterboy3.jpg

Exactly what he did.

Petterd was interviewed on SEN tonight, and said he called McGinnity an "idiot", but that he did not raise the issue with the umpires. He said the reporting to the AFL was entirely the work of the two umpires who heard the remark and it was out of his hands. He's also not responsible for what his dad says in an interview.

The accusations that he in some way "dobbed" or is "weak" are total crap. He's going to get labelled for something he didn't do, after a remark he didn't ask for, all because stupid people, like those here, jump the gun and make assumptions.

Still, I guess if it makes West Coast supporters feel better about a loudmouth like McGinnity, then there's not much Petterd can do about the real idiots.
The vision seems to disagree.

Exactly what he did.

Petterd was interviewed on SEN tonight, and said he called McGinnity an "idiot", but that he did not raise the issue with the umpires.

What was he saying at the end of the video then, pointing at McGininty and talking to the umpires?

McGinnity was allegedly retaliating to abuse and threats from Petterd...he just took them as gamesmanship jibes.

You really are having trouble with this? The vision is in no shape or form conclusive, the testimony of the umpires is however, hopefully we can have access to something like that. (not goinig to happen)

Exactly what he did.

Got to laugh at the melbourne spin.

First it was Ricky's mum has cancer (lie)
Then it was something to do with rape (lie)

now little ricky is trying to convince people he didnt cry to the umpires.

Not only a confirmed sook but also a pathetic liar.

My whole grudge with this is the discriminatory way in which the AFL decides which controversies it wants to acknowledge and act upon.

It seems to be solely based upon commercial implications and social sensitivities to issues. Particularly since they have alread undermined their morals by choosing to ignore the publicly broadcast issue of tanking.

You really are having trouble with this? The vision is in no shape or form conclusive, the testimony of the umpires is however, hopefully we can have access to something like that. (not goinig to happen)
Not having trouble at all.

Neither umpire approaches McGinnity after the exchange to chastise him.

Yet Pettard clearly walks over to one, gets his attention starts pointing at McGinnity and having a little chat.

True we will never know what was said but seriously?

My whole grudge with this is the discriminatory way in which the AFL decides which controversies it wants to acknowledge and act upon.

It seems to be solely based upon commercial implications and social sensitivities to issues. Particularly since they have alread undermined their morals by choosing to ignore the publicly broadcast issue of tanking.
Very good post and I agree.

Exactly what he did.

Interesting how much defence and attack is going on through the Petterd family......

One look at the vision, in slow mo, will show you roughly what McGinnity said, it will show you the context and it will show you Mr P running to an umpire, pointing at McGinnity and having a fairly direct and heated chat to said umpire. The same umpire who looked a little surprised by it all but by today had heard it all clearly with his own ears ....

McGinnity is a footballer, a shut down defender who does what needs to be done to put his player off. Did he say something "mean", something that wouldn't be tolerated off the field? Almost certainly, he also got his jaw smashed via an illegal act by the Pies skipper and said nothing except "shit happens and its part of the game... "

Petterd has done nothing wrong if you take the view of soccer mums and those who long for a "safer", "nicer" more "inclusive" world ...

McGinnity just did what sportsman have been doing forever, and something that the code he plays in has seen as "part of the game" forever...

I guess we will see if history paints Petterd as "Nicky Winmar" and Pat McGinnity as a "Spider Everitt" ...

What we have seen via this thread is that smug sanctimonious arseholes, the type that shit you at work with their encyclopaedic knowledge of the HR manual and everyones rights, are alive and well on BF.... sometimes its a shame you can't just punch them ;)

Not having trouble with my eyesight at the 33 second mark where Petterd approaches the umpire and starts pointing in McGinnity's direction.

You don't see fisty cuffs flying in professional cricket?
The sledging on cricket fields has always been far tamer than the mindless, idiotic garbage that footballers use to get under their opponent's skin.

Despite all that, the ICC came down hard on the Aussies "take no prisoners" approach to sledging and started suspending and fining players who crossed the line.

I just shake my head at people who think all is fair and anything goes. Where do they get this idea from? There are still standards of behaviour, even on a football field.

The sledging on cricket fields has always been far tamer than the mindless, idiotic garbage that footballers use to get under their opponent's skin.

Despite all that, the ICC came down hard on the Aussies "take no prisoners" approach to sledging and started suspending and fining players who crossed the line.

Disagree with the first paragraph.

Would also like some examples to back up the second?

Apart from Lehman for calling somebody a 'black c**t,' - I can't recall any others?

Not only that, we've turned into pussies while everybody else still plays on the edge.

I just shake my head at people who think all is fair and anything goes. Where do they get this idea from? There are still standards of behaviour, even on a football field.

Of course, but this doesn't go near crossing that line.

It's vulgar and in poor taste, but that's it.

Petterd must surely be the single biggest bitch ever to play football. If it were an eagle who had done that I would be utterly ashamed- he will cop it for the rest of his career.

If this is about respect for women, presumably the new sledge of choice must be to cheerfully announce "I ****ed your father?" - i reckon that is more likely to put people off their game also.

Got to laugh at the melbourne spin.

First it was Ricky's mum has cancer (lie)
Then it was something to do with rape (lie)

now little ricky is trying to convince people he didnt cry to the umpires.

Not only a confirmed sook but also a pathetic liar.

Technically neither have been confirmed a lie. :cool: