McGuire labels Longmire 'petty' for coaching refusal

It'd be great to see Eddie open up the books and show us exactly how much his players earn (including channel 9 sponsorship etc). Not to mention world class facilities, government grants on new training grounds. I suspect the COLA would pale in comparison.

Opening up the books: 100% agree, all clubs should make their financial reports available to their members. unless they are not actually members of a football clubs and they are just ticket holders.

Sponsorship deals: 100% agree, but what we do know is that over the afl 1 player was getting around 250,000 a year third party and there were 78 others averaging under 10,000 each. cola pale in comparison? afl marketing payments not in figures.

Facilities: 100% agree, all clubs should have a minimum standard of facilities. if the afl commission deem they are not up to standard they should distribute extra funds. once a club makes a long term commitment to training location it can only be an investment.

Wrong? Whether you agree with him or not, what is the Collingwood president doing that is wrong?
There's 11 pages to this thread so far and I estimate every page has at least one well-reasoned post, if not several, explaining why he should STFU. Not our fault if you can't be arsed reading through it.

Except he did get his own way.

COLA is gone (or going), and the spotlight is now being shone on the academy arrangements that the Swans have.

You don't have to like him (and lets face it most don't), but he's a substantially better administrator than any Sydney have seen.

I would say that Richard Colless has him comfortably covered. But given you are supportive of the Essendon arrangements, in particular Hird, I can see how you may have come to your view.

Except he did get his own way.

COLA is gone (or going), and the spotlight is now being shone on the academy arrangements that the Swans have.

You don't have to like him (and lets face it most don't), but he's a substantially better administrator than any Sydney have seen.

Not sure you are really giving Richard Colless the credit he deserves. Was at the club for 15+ yrs as president I think and made the club what it is today. Been fantastic for them.

I would say that Richard Colless has him comfortably covered. But given you are supportive of the Essendon arrangements, in particular Hird, I can see how you may have come to your view.

Pathetic.

My supported team has nothing to do with my view of two teams that aren't my own.

Weak as piss argument.

Not sure you are really giving Richard Colless the credit he deserves. Was at the club for 15+ yrs as president I think and made the club what it is today. Been fantastic for them.

And yet Sydney still sees a decline in its membership base roughly every second year.

This for a side that is consistently at the top end of the ladder!

Sydney had exclusive access to the largest market in the country for more than twenty years, and yet they are still just as much a 'life support' club as a Dees or Dogs.

I seriously think far too much credit is heaped upon Colless, whose 'wins' go hand in hand with the onfield success of the Swans.

A success that we know for fact has been achieved with advantages that neither your club nor mine has had.

McGuire's comments that Sydney had not worked to grow that game in Sydney are spot on. They have offered next to nothing of value.

Jade better to keep your mouth shut and let everyone think your and idiot than to open it and confirm it.

For all Victorian bitching Sydney contributes more financially to the AFL than any other individual club through the extra revenue achieved through broadcasting rights. A strong Sydney is better for the code than a weak Sydney.

Time to suck it up - there is plenty of unfair advantages Victorian clubs enjoy and have enjoyed in the past, but overall the comp is even. Swans just managed better than with in the rules than other clubs.

Jade better to keep your mouth shut and let everyone think your and idiot than to open it and confirm it.

:rolleyes:

For all Victorian bitching Sydney contributes more financially to the AFL than any other individual club through the extra revenue achieved through broadcasting rights. A strong Sydney is better for the code than a weak Sydney.

And this is where you are completely wrong. 'A' Sydney club generates that revenue boost. Because the Sydney Swans have done next to nothing to grow the game in NSW, you could replace them with another GWS style team and achieve the same benefit.

Time to suck it up - there is plenty of unfair advantages Victorian clubs enjoy and have enjoyed in the past, but overall the comp is even. Swans just managed better than with in the rules than other clubs.

No the comp is not even.

With an extra million dollars, the Saints would have three flags now. Hawthorn would be closing in on it's third in a row.

Much as Swans fans like to think their is something special about the club, the reality is they are a propped up drain - possibly the biggest the league has.

Posted this on the Swans Board. But for those who don't lurk:

One image problem the Academy has is that people with zero understanding of the setup have this strange picture that the Swans somehow have a dozen guns running around with the seniors learning their roles for when we draft them.

This is the Eddie picture.

It's bollox.

Actually the Academy has 720 kids, most of whom are simply learning better skills and taking these back to their local clubs where one day they'll be captains, administrators, coaches and support staff.

The entire playing pool in the state gets a lift from the Academy. And in time the entire player pool of the country at the elite level will as well.

The best of these end up showing their wares in the carnival system and hopefully on AFL lists.

Seriously, what is wrong with any of this? :confused:

Sam Newman on the AFL Footy show was quite scathing toward Longmire last week when hearing this but in my opinion Sam needs to pull his head in. Eddie Mcguire is a spoiled egotistical Collingwood brat backed up by faceless yes men pushing their own agendas. His snide comments about Sydney, the Cola, the Swans academy and the racist jibe toward Adam Good Last year shows what kind of Low life this guy really is.

http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2013/s3770452.htm

In short Eddie Mcguire is a ******. Even his excuse calling his racist remake being just a slip of the tongue shows his inner most thoughts. It's like a drunk speaking the truth while intoxicated and then denying everything while sober and blaming his actions on alcohol the very next day.

Does anyone really understand how small a footpring Aussie Rules has in Sydney ? If you hadn't go it by now, then look at the GWS crowds - it really is a slow build up. Aussie Rules has to have these academies in both NSW and Brisbane to increase the opportunities for the game to grow, and they have to do it through the clubs involvement as much as possible.

In my view, it would be great all clubs could do this in their own states, but given the number of Victorian clubs, it is too hard.

Eddie just can't take any criticism at all of himself or his precious Collingwood.

And this is where you are completely wrong. 'A' Sydney club generates that revenue boost. Because the Sydney Swans have done next to nothing to grow the game in NSW, you could replace them with another GWS style team and achieve the same benefit.

You're opening your mouth again

No the comp is not even.

With an extra million dollars, the Saints would have three flags now. Hawthorn would be closing in on it's third in a row.

Much as Swans fans like to think their is something special about the club, the reality is they are a propped up drain - possibly the biggest the league has.

I think most of the hawks premierships in the 80's were bought, no money could have helped the Saints and for what it's worth the comp isn't even. There should be no father/son picks, the grand final should be played on a neutral ground, Victoria teams should travel interstate every second weekend, there should be no marketing deals allowed for AFL players and so on.

Suck it up, even with out Buddy and Tippett we won a GF, we are still on top without Tippett and if our clubs management continues to exceed others it will continue with or without our playing field levellers. I'd be more worried about the management issues Victorian clubs are going through - that's the real reason they aren't winning premierships

And yet Sydney still sees a decline in its membership base roughly every second year.

This for a side that is consistently at the top end of the ladder!

Sydney had exclusive access to the largest market in the country for more than twenty years, and yet they are still just as much a 'life support' club as a Dees or Dogs.

I seriously think far too much credit is heaped upon Colless, whose 'wins' go hand in hand with the onfield success of the Swans.

A success that we know for fact has been achieved with advantages that neither your club nor mine has had.

McGuire's comments that Sydney had not worked to grow that game in Sydney are spot on. They have offered next to nothing of value.

By the "largest market" do you mean the AR environment that has seen 10 NSW players drafted in the last 17 years?

By the Club being on "life support", do you mean the club with the largest Sponsorship book in the game surpassing even Collingwood's currently? FWIW I don't see any clubs lasting more than a couple of seasons without substantial AFL assistance in one way or another. Rubbish statement.

By "not working to grow the game" are you referring to the team that currently has two Co-Captains from NSW?

By offering "next to nothing in value" are you speaking about the team whose Grand Final Appearance in 2012 had the second highest ever recorded tv ratings for the sport - only beaten by the previous record which was also set by the Swans appearing in the 2005 Grand final? Spaced nicely through the largest growth spurt in the TV rights of the code in history?

Facts. Get some. :drunk:

Does anyone really understand how small a footpring Aussie Rules has in Sydney ? If you hadn't go it by now, then look at the GWS crowds - it really is a slow build up. Aussie Rules has to have these academies in both NSW and Brisbane to increase the opportunities for the game to grow, and they have to do it through the clubs involvement as much as possible.

In my view, it would be great all clubs could do this in their own states, but given the number of Victorian clubs, it is too hard.

Eddie just can't take any criticism at all of himself or his precious Collingwood.

and the only reason the academies need to exist is the lack of pathways to the AFL in NSW and QLD. There is no lack of pathways into the AFL for the Victorian, Western Australian or South Australian teenagers.

gee - we gave them Jessie White and Tony Armstrong - what more do they want?
They already have the greatest coach of all time, figs and all. Surely as an AUSTRALIAN, you wouldn't need anything more.

I honestly feel that Horse is crook at Eddie & Collingwood for poaching Jesse White & Tony Armstrong from us, just as they were about to break into the big time in the AFL. Jesse, finally after seven years at our club, showed that he was going to star in 2014, & Tony Armstrong nearly broke into our injury ravaged finals team against Freo.

It would have been most upsetting for Horse to lose those two players to Eddie & Bucks.

We had no choice after that but to go after Laidler & Derrickx, two players that are not a cut on the players we just lost.:rolleyes:

You're opening your mouth again

Big words from someone sprouting the inane crap seen below.

I think most of the hawks premierships in the 80's were bought

And thanks for reaffirming how little you know about the game.

If you want to point out an inadequacy that helped the Hawks win flags, at least get it right. Hawks had an incredibly blessed run from its recruiting zone (since abolished).

no money could have helped the Saints and for what it's worth the comp isn't even.

Oh FFS. :rolleyes:

No, an extra million dollars would not have helped it overcome that razor thin margins it failed to win a flag by.

Geezus this is like fishing with dynamite.

There should be no father/son picks

Why? Being lucky enough to have a son who rivals the father in ability is not exactly a systematic policy of unequal weighting now is it?

the grand final should be played on a neutral ground

Why? Only seven teams have a +50% record on the G, and they all stem from historical inequalities, not current day advantages.

Victoria teams should travel interstate every second weekend, there should be no marketing deals allowed for AFL players and so on.

And with 10 Victorian teams and 8 interstate, tell me exactly how that fixture works there champ?

Suck it up, even with out Buddy and Tippett we won a GF, we are still on top without Tippett and if our clubs management continues to exceed others it will continue with or without our playing field levellers. I'd be more worried about the management issues Victorian clubs are going through - that's the real reason they aren't winning premierships

Your club management is a JOKE.

In every conceivable way you have failed to leverage any advantage that does not come from sanctioned inequality.

The fact that you are still reliant on the good graces of the rest of the league despite more than twenty years in an exclusive market shows you exactly how inept the Swans have been.

By the "largest market" do you mean the AR environment that has seen 10 NSW players drafted in the last 17 years?

Why yes I am.

Do you mean to tell me that despite the excellent management of the Sydney Swans, we are still yet to see any significant growth in elite level players from NSW? Geez I wonder why.....

By the Club being on "life support", do you mean the club with the largest Sponsorship book in the game surpassing even Collingwood's currently?

Is that so?

Collingwood generate near $20m in marketing and sponsorship revenue out of its $75m+ intake.

The Swans only generate around $43m in revenue total - but they earn MORE than Collingwoods $20m from sponsorship??

2+2 = 378 now does it?

FWIW I don't see any clubs lasting more than a couple of seasons without substantial AFL assistance in one way or another. Rubbish statement.

And I support financial assistance to the weaker clubs - we need to play somebody each week.

By "not working to grow the game" are you referring to the team that currently has two Co-Captains from NSW?

The Pies grow the game by having a boot studder from country Victoria.

WTF does your captain choice have to do with the price of fish?

Freo has a captain from South Australia, Port one from Geelong.

By offering "next to nothing in value" are you speaking about the team who's Grand Final Appearance in 2012 had the second highest ever recorded tv ratings for the sport - only beaten by the previous record which was also set by the Swans appearing in the 2005 Grand final? Spaced nicely through the largest growth spurt in the TV rights of the code in history?

Really? You mean the club that plays out of the largest market in the country got people to tune in and watch the GF? Wow! What an achievement! Strange, you can't seem to get the same response from people actually, you know, signing up to the club as members.

I bet GWS could get nowhere near that if/when they play in a GF...... :rolleyes:

There's 11 pages to this thread so far and I estimate every page has at least one well-reasoned post, if not several, explaining why he should STFU. Not our fault if you can't be arsed reading through it.
Thanks for answering a question I didn't ask. It's like getting a free case of crap wine from a wine wholesaler except without getting it with the wine you actually want. At least I didn't pay for it I suppose.

Why yes I am.

Do you mean to tell me that despite the excellent management of the Sydney Swans, we are still yet to see any significant growth in elite level players from NSW? Geez I wonder why.....

Is that so?

Collingwood generate near $20m in marketing and sponsorship revenue out of its $75m+ intake.

The Swans only generate around $43m in revenue total - but they earn MORE than Collingwoods $20m from sponsorship??

2+2 = 378 now does it?

And I support financial assistance to the weaker clubs - we need to play somebody each week.

The Pies grow the game by having a boot studder from country Victoria.

WTF does your captain choice have to do with the price of fish?

Freo has a captain from South Australia, Port one from Geelong.

Really? You mean the club that plays out of the largest market in the country got people to tune in and watch the GF? Wow! What an achievement! Strange, you can't seem to get the same response from people actually, you know, signing up to the club as members.

I bet GWS could get nowhere near that if/when they play in a GF...... :rolleyes:

Jade,

I clearly said Sponsorship book. Not revenue. Pies are the wealthiest club in the land. But that doesn't mean you need $80m to be doing well. Basically just assuring you the Swans are not on life support ;)

I made the point regarding the draft to dispell this fantasy that Sydney is a massive AR market. Your straw man argument that the Swans are responsible for overturning a century of zero presence with a click of the fingers is pathetic.

FWIW the club has record memberships (around 40k) which are the envy of our nsw competitors. So yes the code has grown dramtically thanks to the Swans. ;) That's the only metric worth talking about

Why yes I am.

I can tell you why. It's simple. You see, prior to the Swans Academy, there was this scholarship system. ALL clubs could identify talent from NSW and Queensland and bring them through their clubs. And for their efforts, they could pre list or rookie list that talent. Now how did that go? Ironically, only Collingwood and Sydney had any success with it. And it certainly wasn't successful in growing the game in NSW.

There is now a pool of 720 odd players training through an elite academy available to all clubs in the competition to bid on. Now perhaps not every young kid going through is Isaac Heeney or Callum Mills. But I'm sure there are some gems if only a club is prepared to look hard enough and develop a sound enough culture to get the best out of players that other clubs consider not good enough. If the Bombers or any other club needs tips on how to go about that, they need only look at, you guessed it, the Swans, led for the last 20 odd years by the quiet, unassuming, yet demonstrably brilliant Richard Colless.

Alternatively, you could go down the Kevin Sheedy/Eddie Maguire/Mick Malthouse/James Hird/Carlton path and lie, cheat, complain, and/or tank your way to success (or not).

I know which culture I'm glad to be supporting.

GO BLOODS!!!!!!

Thanks for answering a question I didn't ask. It's like getting a free case of crap wine from a wine wholesaler except without getting it with the wine you actually want. At least I didn't pay for it I suppose.
Splitting hairs mate. You're being very pedantic about definitions of what he did "wrong". Next you claim he's done nothing illegal, it's a free country, nanny state etc etc.

Feel free to address some of the valid points posters have made here, if you could be bothered.