Media alert

Lethal's quote named best in AFL history :thumbsu:

image1.jpg

1. "IF IT BLEEDS, WE CAN KILL IT"

Leigh Matthews

Leigh Matthews found inspiration in the sci-fi action classic Predator prior to the Lions' clash with reigning premier Essendon in Round 10, 2001: "There was this alien monster from outer space that was killing all these people in the South American jungle and all of a sudden they shot this monster and they discovered it bled, and Arnie's classic line was 'if it bleeds, we can kill it', and we reckon Essendon can bleed." It worked. The Lions upset the Bombers and started a 20-game winning streak that included the 2001 Grand Final.
Also best big footy names:D:thumbsu:;)

My mother force-fed us Pink Floyd, Bread, John Denver, Slade etc as kids. Still reckon "Guitar Man" is the single best use of a guitar ever.

But that doesn't mean I don't listen to todays music as well. I think the problem is that back in the day music was about making a statement, today we just want to dance.
Mr Knopfler and Mr Clapton say hi. Sultans of Swing and Layla great guitar songs

Was that a shot at the King? I just watched Fun in Acapulco and every song is symphony in miniature.

Elvis was one of the great voices of all time. I have heaps of his records and love him personally - however like most pop artists he didn't write anything.

Bieber is just a throw-away version of the same industry setup.

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH TECHNO!!!!!!

And this is from someone whose favourite band is REM and whose favourite album is "We Can't Dance" by Genesis.

Leave techno alone!

Every toss with an illegally downloaded copy of Ableton since the early/mid 2000's thinks they are a producer.

That is a lot of shit mixes. Luckily for them the audiences they aim for are so off their skillet they can't tell if they're Arthur or Martha.

My mother force-fed us Pink Floyd, Bread, John Denver, Slade etc as kids. Still reckon "Guitar Man" is the single best use of a guitar ever.

But that doesn't mean I don't listen to todays music as well. I think the problem is that back in the day music was about making a statement, today we just want to dance.
David Gates from Bread best songwriter nobody's ever heard of.

I'm pretty much a rock boy at heart although am fond of a lot of electronic music. My Spotify summary from last year summed up the broad listening habits pretty well with The Stones, You Am I and The Pixies being my 3 most listened to bands.

i may be showing my age, love the aussie rock legends- the church, the black sorrows, masters apprentices, brian cadd, russell morris to name a few.
memories:)

i may be showing my age, love the aussie rock legends- the church, the black sorrows, masters apprentices, brian cadd, russell morris to name a few.
memories:)

Russell Morris is still recording great music, and so are some others from the golden age of rock. Dion for example has put out some excellent blues albums in recent years.

But also worth checking out some others like Lloyd Cole or Alejandro Escovedo who never quite got their dues but still make great music.

Also, we don't expect song writers to be able to sing, why do we expect singers to be able to write?

All I was doing was drawing a similarity between Bieber and Elvis - singer given currently popular songs by great writers who is good looking and can entertain. I like Elvis much better personally but it's the same model.

However.... Lennon/McCartney to Prince to Taylor Swift... There are heaps who do both.

Geez... talk about a small gym set up. Would probably be better hiring out a local gym for half a day until we can get to the Airport or Athletics /netball centre in the next few years then go hardcore on gear. There is hardly any space to fit 20 blokes in let alone 44.

While its certainly not a huge space that video actually makes it look smaller than it really is. The didn't show a whole side of the gym there.
Still it is reasonably small but the way they've structure those stations along the wall they've made that side of the gym look a lot bigger.

Mr Knopfler and Mr Clapton say hi. Sultans of Swing and Layla great guitar songs

I listen to all sorts = going through a Beth Hart phase at the moment. That said nothing tops Stevie Ray Vaugn's "Life without you".