Media duds trying to hijack Rising Star Award yet again

Jul 3, 2001
Heat, Victory, Man Utd, Redskins
After the embarassing decision to not award Heath Shaw the award last year on the back of an anti-Collingwood crusade in the media, it looks like happening all over again this time to poor old Scott Pendlebury who has been brilliant all season.

Heath Shaw picking up a All Australian gig this year will be sweet revenge for his oversight to Flash in the pan Pearce and Andrew 'Who' Raines in last years shocker.
Yet all this doesn't stop Lyon, Wilson and Connolly proclaiming Joel Selwood as the likely winner based on a fortnights worth of footy.

Here's hoping the selectors this year realise a full seasons worth of excellent play is a much better indicator of a 'Rising Star' than the medias flavour of the month.

i will play the worlds smallest violin for you
grasshopper-playing-violin.jpg

After the embarassing decision to not award Heath Shaw the award last year on the back of an anti-Collingwood crusade in the media, it looks like happening all over again this time to poor old Scott Pendlebury who has been brilliant all season.

Loose playing Half Back Flankers are a dime a dozen, have look at Andrew Macleod he actually does this job with class. Shaw is not on the same page.

Heath Shaw picking up a All Australian gig this year will be sweet revenge for his oversight to Flash in the pan Pearce and Andrew 'Who' Raines in last years shocker.
Yet all this doesn't stop Lyon, Wilson and Connolly proclaiming Joel Selwood as the likely winner based on a fortnights worth of footy.

Here's hoping the selectors this year realise a full seasons worth of excellent play is a much better indicator of a 'Rising Star' than the medias flavour of the month.
You obviously only watch Collingwood games, he has been brilliant all season.

At least the media duds of which you speak are not actually involved. No doubt however Walls, Bartlett and Healy don't offer any better hope or inspiration and you also have a couple of AFL duds in Demetriou and Ando also perverting the cause. One can only hope. Speaking of a full season's worth of excellent play, Nathan Jones hasn't even been nominated yet (but he's 7th-favoured by those having a bet). Weird.

I think he's still eligible to win it, but my understanding is that, if you are under the age and games threshold, and have already earned a rising star nomination prior to the season, you can still win the award. No doubt Jones will be in the running, yet why bother nominating him, when he already has got a nomination last year. It's better to nominate another "rising star" and give them a chance at winning the award/ at least boosting their confidence knowing that they are "rising stars."

Jones definately has a chance to win it.

As already pointed out, Selwood has been almost flawless since his first kick against Richmond in the NAB cup. He amazed me in that game with his composure and maturity on the ball. Nothing he has done since has changed my mind.

I will be honest and say that I haven't seen much of Pendlebury so I can't put forward a case for him. My point is simply that Selwood has done little different in the last 2 weeks to what he's done in every game he's played.

So for mine, until I see more of Pendlebury, I'll say that he'll have to be pretty special to impress me more than Selwood has.

Does it really matter who wins it??? Like seriously.

Riewoldt beat Judd in 02 but il let you figure out whose had the better career up to date.

Kosi beat Kerr the year before. And il leave it up to you as to whose had the better career.

And thats just 2 cases.

Please...Pendles and Bunnings will go close. Higgins is just a goalsneak.

It's the fact that none of the media are praising Paddy Ryder as the logical favourite - for his many notches at CHB - that's got me puzzled. Anyone can average 22 touches in the middle. How many can stop forwards from getting the ball and then kicking goals themselves?

Well Paddy didn't exactly have the best game against a 1st year player in Hawkins last week. Think it was a career high for marks and disposals for Tom.

Anyways, picking b/w Selwood and Pendlebury, if you're going on a whole season, Pendlebury would be in front just, because he's played everygame for starters.

However, what Selwood has done in his 1st year, has been nothing short of remarkable. His impact has almost been as good as Judd's in his 1st season. So that's why I think you may see people vote for Selwood even though Pendles probably has him covered a little. Would be 50-50 at this stage.

If Selwood can average say 18-20 disposals for the rest of the season (which he's been doing for the last 4-5 weeks), then I think he'll win.

Oh yeah he just sits in the 50 and does nothing doesn't he

Scott Pendlebury would have to be winning the award at the moment. He's been very good.
I haven't seen anything like him at Collingwood.

Don't worry pussy fans, I have seen Joel Selwood and you have a gun on your hands, but he hasn't been as good as Pendlebury. So those "media duds" have got it wrong.

Well Paddy didn't exactly have the best game against a 1st year player in Hawkins last week. Think it was a career high for marks and disposals for Tom.
Bit hard when your achilles is rooted.
Selwood should bolt it in and if it makes collingwood supporters sook more then that is a good thing.

Media duds trying to hijack Rising Star Award yet again