RunBurgundy
Met Darren Jarman in the late 80's and he was awesome. He signed an autograph for me whilst waiting to put on the dogs at angle park
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Reading this thread reminded me of an unusual encounter at a bar in Fitzroy a few years back.
I was ordering a beer and I turn around and Richo was right there: he had walked up to me and said something like "G'day mate, have we met before?" It was really strange as I obviously knew who he was so I just replied that I don't think we had met but that I knew who he was. We ended up having a beer and a chat about footy and music for a good 20 minutes. He was a really chilled out and friendly bloke but it was such a weird start to the conversation and it left me a bit confused as it is the opposite to how you would expect things to happen when you meet someone famous.
You a bloke? If so, maybe Richo had plans for you. Haha.
McGough taught at my sister's old school and was fine. Met him at East Freo games and was fine.Mark McGough went to school with people IU know well through another friend. Some young kid (year 7 or year 8) went to shake his hand and got basically given the signal to get ******. According to them he is an absolute ******* silly to everyone he doesn't know snd this came from a brother of a guy who was one of Mcgough's best friend.
Also Brad Otten was really good with acknowledging and spending time with the kids at the VFL prelim in 12 ******* huge unit too. I am not much ashorter than him (an inch maybe) and he makes me look puny compared to him even when I get the giant comments made to me.
Wanna meat up, Doc ?
Fraser Brown and Scott Campeorale asked me and a mate where they could score some hooch from in Northbridge back in '95. Night before the game too.
Had the pleasure of seeing a nude Guy McKenna at his bucks do. Most weavil premiership players were there, Craig Turley and Chris Lewis the best of them (special mention to Mainy who was Black & White Cab ambassador at the time, due to his lack of license for DD, for getting us a quick cab home).
Off-season training i'm guessing. I used to see the Clokes, Sam Blease and Gysberts at the Genesis Ringwood gym throughout the summer. None of them were lifting particularly heavy weights (yes, even the Cloke's)Turned around at the gym the other day and was a little shocked to see Ben Rutten doing chinups... just assumed he used the gym at our West Lakes facility. He is even more of a beast up close!
Off-season training i'm guessing. I used to see the Clokes, Sam Blease and Gysberts at the Genesis Ringwood gym throughout the summer. None of them were lifting particularly heavy weights (yes, even the Cloke's)
Reading this thread reminded me of an unusual encounter at a bar in Fitzroy a few years back.
I was ordering a beer and I turn around and Richo was right there: he had walked up to me and said something like "G'day mate, have we met before?" It was really strange as I obviously knew who he was so I just replied that I don't think we had met but that I knew who he was. We ended up having a beer and a chat about footy and music for a good 20 minutes. He was a really chilled out and friendly bloke but it was such a weird start to the conversation and it left me a bit confused as it is the opposite to how you would expect things to happen when you meet someone famous.
Just walked past Dipper at the airport, started pissing myself because he had dark sunnies on inside, like he's ******* Bono or something, he did look at me (wouldn't take the silly on though he's ******* huge).
lol. If you want another non-footballing one, Shane Heal, if you looked up FIGJAM in the dictionary, don't worry about having a look for a pic of Buckley because it would be Shane 'Hammer' Heal.
When he was playing NBL with the Geelong SuperCats he also used to bounce at the Geelong Hotel. He was working there when he first made the Boomers squad and decided to wear his Boomers Australian Olympic team top to work standing on the door one night. I was with a group of mates inside the joint, one of them (the one that smacked Simon O'Donnell in the head in my earlier story) had his younger brother there too. His little brother and a few of his mates got into a scuffle with players from another local football side. It calmed down as the bouncers moved in, as they moved in I was inadvertently standing in their way so nek minut someone had me in a choker hold dragging me backwards towards the front doors. I was dragged out and released out the front, I turned and saw who it was, it was Heal, so I gave him a spray. As we were talking about the meaning of life, two of my mates walked up behind him and pulled his Australian top over his head and took off down the street with it.
Man, Heal screamed like a little girl as he took off after them. My mates were laughing their heads off. They ran down a block to Yarra St and turned left and headed down the hill, there was a little alley with some big dumpmaster bins in them, they chucked it in there on of all the shit and walked back to the Eureka Hotel where the rest of us met them.
Dunno if Heal ever got it back.
My cousin and I also once played MarioKart 64 with Shane Crawford & Daniel Chick in the early 2000's.
What track? Koopa beach?
Actually that reminds me I once saw Barry Hall during the off-season - maybe about 5 years ago - at my gym. Nobody there was interested in talking to him (don't ever interrupt someone in the middle of a gym sesh!!) but did take note of the weights he was lifting. Surprisingly, he was only benching sets of 100Kg and not doing them overly comfortably either.Off-season training i'm guessing. I used to see the Clokes, Sam Blease and Gysberts at the Genesis Ringwood gym throughout the summer. None of them were lifting particularly heavy weights (yes, even the Cloke's)
The bigger your tiggs are the harder it becomes to run. Same with your back.Surprisingly, he was only benching sets of 100Kg and not doing them overly comfortably either.