Meeting AFL players?

I've met quite a few. Nothing beats last night though. Went to school and know the girlfriends quite well

Young Mitch Grigg got into a bit of a dust up last night with his girlfriends ex. Made for some interesting viewing

Grandfather used to own quite a bit of land right near the airport, mainly used for landfill. Anyway my uncle used to run the place and so let us kids run around on our dirt bikes a fair bit. I wasn't there but one day Anthony Rocca came down for some reason and started chatting to my uncle. My uncle's bike was just sitting to the side and Rocca asked for a quick ride. My uncle said sure and let him take off. Said he was a terrible terrible rider, but a nice bloke.

Not an AFL player, but worth a mention...

Was at Sydney Airport one afternoon, and heard some bloke absolutely losing it over the phone. F'ing and blinding, giving some poor bastard a bollocking. Happens a bit, but there were kids all around....

I thought, who the hell is this guy??

Turned around, and looked right into the eyes of the Dark Overlord, Andrew Demetroiu.

He gave me this death stare, as if to say,"Come on, challenge me...". I thought, arrogant tosser.

Then that night, I saw the NRL limp lettuce leaf David Gallop on the box, and thought of Andy, he may be a c***, but at least he has a spine...

This :thumbsu: One of the worst blokes going around.

Have met a few footballers through our family business over the years including Kouta, Peter Riccardi and Digby Morrell (fantastic bloke). When Kouta was over (post footy career), one of our truck drivers asked him word for word "hey Kouta, you reckon you c**ts are any chance for the flag this year"? No malice intended, he was just a truckie I suppose :D

thanks Barry. I'm a ****ing legend

The day Sean Charles didn't turn up to St Kilda preseason training, and was subsequently suspended by the club....he was at my joint sinking cans.

Back in the late 90's at the Mansion in St Kilda I had a piss next to Gary Ablett Snr. He used to go there a lot with his gangster mates. He was singing "Love Her Madly" by The Doors" while he was pissing. After we finished I said hello and he said hello and that was it.

One of my mates was parked on the road outside a shopping strip in town. As he was walking back to his car he noticed a large removal truck was trying to reverse park into the space behind him. As he watched the trucked scraped the crap out the side of his car. Of course he thought WTF and was ready to give a bit to the driver. The driver of the truck gets out, and it's this hot middle-aged woman, clearly ex-model. She was all nice and apologetic and he was charmed. Then he noticed Gary Ayres standing beside him. Turns out it was Gary Ayres' wife who was driving the van. Gary didnt say much apparently, was just there to make sure there was no aggro. Then they got back in the van and drove off.
Mate said it was a very weird five minutes.

often see Don Scott around and about. He's not difficult to notice, is usually wearing strange clothes and has a very recognizable bald head.

Wouldn't mind getting his signature, he's a pretty eccentric bloke though so not sure whether I'd cop a punch in the face.
According to the South Adelaide blokes he coached for a handful of games reckon he might want to punch you somewhere else.

I've met most of the Bulldogs through the family days and the odd trip to the Whitten Oval. My Dad works for a small printing firm and sees Libba in there a fair bit. The only one who I could definitively declare a tosspot is Lindsay Gilbee, had no time for the fans even at a Family Day.
When I was a bit younger I went to one with my #16 guernsey, which were quite rare back then (I'm not a hipster don't shoot me) and Griffen made a fair bit of time for me, I loved it. I found Boyd and Nick Lower to be ripping blokes to talk to at the start of this year, very grounded.
Other than appreciating seeing and talking to the Doggies when I run into them, I usually don't take a whole lot of notice out of pointing it out to mates. I'm from out in Ferntree Gully but every time I go into the city or to the inner south east such as St Kilda or Brighton you see footy players galore haunting the cafes and running the beaches.

That doesn't surprise me one bit, Is a Coldstream boy and i can safely say alot of the guys that play down there are arrogant w***ers who think there shit doesn't stink. Alot i know for a fact are Gilbo's mates. Used to play down there and you could hardly have a conversation without "How good was i today?" being put in there somewhere.

Used to see Adam Goodes quite a bit around summer when growing up in Ballarat - that was when his brother Brett used to play for the North Ballarat Roosters in the VFL.

Saw Grant Thomas at the beach (Point Lonsdale) a few years back now - was about a fortnight after he left the Saints.

Completely by chance I ran into an old mate of mine (Ricky Mott, who was at the time playing for the Sydney Swans) at a pub in Fox Studios in Sydney. Spent the rest of the night catching up and getting pissed on Barry Hall's bar tab. Ricky O'Loughlin was there too. Can't remember much else except that when the pub called last drinks, Barry Hall ordered 14 bourbon and cokes.

Did work experience at North Melbourne in 2006 and got a good insight on a few players there.

Jess Sinclair - different unit - took a pi55 on the ground during a training session. No one seemed to mind.
Hamish McIntosh - was injured at the time and had no time for anyone.
Brent Harvey - nice guy. I was collecting balls at training and he called for one. Nippled him with 45 metre stab pass and he said "great skills". Probably one of my football highlights.
Adam Simpson - man of the people.
Scott McMahon - He was on his own in the weights room and just started chatting to me. Great guy.
He was a rookie then too.
Troy Makepiece - helped him out at footy clinic and in the downtime he just spent bagging out people around the club. Pretty funny.

Also been to a few Geelong functions. At the 2011 B & F, started chatting to George Horlin-Smith about cricket and he was loving it. He didn't anyone to recognise him.
Same B & F i asked Dan Menzel for a photo and he was very happy to comply. He kindly told all the girls hanging off him to give him 5 minutes. Ripper bloke.

Did work experience at North Melbourne in 2006 and got a good insight on a few players there.

Jess Sinclair - different unit - took a pi55 on the ground during a training session. No one seemed to mind.
Hamish McIntosh - was injured at the time and had no time for anyone.
Brent Harvey - nice guy. I was collecting balls at training and he called for one. Nippled him with 45 metre stab pass and he said "great skills". Probably one of my football highlights.
Adam Simpson - man of the people.
Scott McMahon - He was on his own in the weights room and just started chatting to me. Great guy.
He was a rookie then too.
Troy Makepiece - helped him out at footy clinic and in the downtime he just spent bagging out people around the club. Pretty funny.

Good to see a lot has changed in 7 years then! :)

Good story about O'Donnell. He used to play district cricket for Essendon- this was around the time he was first selected to play for Australia.

Anyway, one day they were hosting University at Windy Hill, where my old man was playing at the time. The Bombers won the toss; normally, this would have dictated they bowl first. But they were one player short- and not just any player either, but their star all rounder.

Later that day, he was observed in a disgustingly intoxicated state at the races. Simmo, charming guy that he was, hadn't even let Essendon know so that they could arrange a replacement in advance. He just didn't bother showing up.

I'll tell how it came about SOD having my mate by the throat through the car window.

It was '88 and I had gone back over to Melbourne for the finals, I was staying with a couple of mates up in South Yarra. One Friday night we were heading out to a movie and pizza, we were driving along Toorak Rd towards Punt Rd. A set of lights just down from the old South Yarra Arms heading in towards the city had turned red so naturally we've stopped. As we were sitting there waiting for the lights, we notice Merv Hughes, SOD and perhaps SOD's brother walking along the street. There were four of us in the car, all 20 years old and we yelled out to Merv, we all actually knew him through his activities with the Lara Football Club. Merv was sober, he was trying to do the right thing fitness wise because he wasn't yet cemented in the Australian team. Simon O'Donnel had just recently beaten his lymphoma or whatever it was that he had and he was ******* drunk.

When we yelled out, Merv looked over to wave and SOD staggered over ranting about us throwing eggs at him. We told him we had no eggs. He became more agressive and tried to get into the car to search it. Even though we had the windows down, my mate in the rear passenger seat next to me still locked the door and then tried to roll the window up at which point SOD grabbed him by the throat and started to choke and threaten him. I couldn't reach over and get a good shot so my mate in the front passenger seat, leant out the window and smacked SOD in the head. He's let go of my mate and turned his attention to the one who had just belted him. While they were arguing, the other bloke that we weren't sure of who he was, wrenched the rear passenger door open, my mate who was still trying to get his breath back after being choked got out of the car, this let the other bloke slide in head first to try and find an empty egg carton. I booted him in the top of his head and told him to gtf out which he wouldn't (he was as pissed as what SOD was) as he looked up at me I was bending my leg back to have another crack, he saw it and hopped out.

Merv finally walked over looking sheepish and said something to SOD who I think realised that he was being a dick and that we did actually know Merv. To save face SOD looked at us and gave the 'ole Sheedy throat slit and told us that if he saw us anywhere in the town that night that he was going to, '****ing kill us all'.

We drove off and had a laugh. I can't remember what movie we ended up seeing but I know the pizza on the way home at Giordanos sic in Toorak Rd would have been first rate. :thumbsu:

Why do all your stories involve your mates in a fight? Sound like a pack of immature f'n morons.

Met a lot of footy players, and know a few. Don't find it very exciting. Haven't for a very long time. However, as I kid I remember being quite stoked to meet all the Melbourne boys in the change rooms after a couple of games. Jim Stynes was the man.

Don't know how you came to that conclusion. Did you read what I posted properly?

One involved being verbally and physically attacked by a drunken SOD after the four of us who were all sober were sitting at a set of traffic lights and yelled out to a casual acquaintance who was with SOD. (I explained it on page 14 or so what happened) and the other involved pulling someone's hoodie off. The fight that led up to that didn't involve us, it just happened near us in a nightclub.

Perhaps you could brush up on your reading.:confused:

Maybe it's not the place to ask but seeing as many people by the looks it have ties to players one way or another (played junior footy with them, went to school, family friends etc) do you think any players would have big footy accounts? I think it's highly likely but probably not that common.

Meeting AFL players?