Melbourne Demons v Geelong- Game Day Thread 30/7/2011

Game over, Geelong by 186, missing out on the record by 6 points

Geelong: 37.11.233
Melbourne: 7.5.47

And the last twenty seconds of the game couldn't be played because the lights went out (it was in the Cats fifty, but the Dees had it)

Think the lights went out a lot earlier than the last 20 seconds. Big surprise (understatement)

Apparently Moloney had the flu, which is why he wasn't able to keep playing after half-time. That at least provides some mitigation for his poor effort today I guess.

If there was a mercy rule, I'd be using it right now! This will get really ugly! Moloney, Sylvia and Green yet to touch the footy! How can this club win games, when our senior players never stand up when it counts? Show some f*cking leadership out there guys of this will be the biggest losing margin of the season by any club...

Not a troll
Please permit my comment

I am reading your match thread after the game
My question is (and its rhetorical really)- if we can see things so early- and IIRC a few posts above this one someone wrote "Watts behind the ball, game over"- why don't our coaches see it?

FWIW As a Port supporter we have the 2007 GF and a whole lot of misery since- we're in the toilet throwing up with you.

But you guys did us nicely up in Darwin- players like Green and Sylvia, they really are talented players? Its the same with players in my team...why do they simply disappear? What gets into their heads?

I think its clear DB is ready to move on and will, but the same cattle is out there and wow, you guys last year really had some magic moments and electric games. Same with my team, and now we seem to have our players going backwards.

I'm with you guys, not a Bay 13 nasty wishing misery on other teams, I'm scratching my head about your club as much as mine. How on earth do these kind of things happen?

FWIW our players who failed on the 2007GF stage have been the ones who have let us down since. And they ALL took a payment for that game, There is a clue for where a players priorities lie. I bet all of you here who bleed for your club like man of our supporters do, with multiple memberships and so on, well, I wouldn't have accepted payment for the 2007GF. Keep an eye on that. Sure DB gets the chop but we had 4 years of "lines in the sand" from the playing group. It means jack

ANyway, good luck. Hopefully this is an abberation

More FWIW, Choco didn't flood in the GF. He said he'd let it be what it was for a spectacle sake. Sure didn't help us tho- and we have had massive psychological damage from that. I reckon DB maybe knew he was out the door and maybe left the players to their own devices. Perhaps on that basis the score really was an abberation and there remains much upside for your group

We're still numb from 2007. Good luck you guys, no fans deserve that.

Not a troll
Please permit my comment

I am reading your match thread after the game
My question is (and its rhetorical really)- if we can see things so early- and IIRC a few posts above this one someone wrote "Watts behind the ball, game over"- why don't our coaches see it?

FWIW As a Port supporter we have the 2007 GF and a whole lot of misery since- we're in the toilet throwing up with you.

But you guys did us nicely up in Darwin- players like Green and Sylvia, they really are talented players? Its the same with players in my team...why do they simply disappear? What gets into their heads?

I think its clear DB is ready to move on and will, but the same cattle is out there and wow, you guys last year really had some magic moments and electric games. Same with my team, and now we seem to have our players going backwards.

I'm with you guys, not a Bay 13 nasty wishing misery on other teams, I'm scratching my head about your club as much as mine. How on earth do these kind of things happen?

FWIW our players who failed on the 2007GF stage have been the ones who have let us down since. And they ALL took a payment for that game, There is a clue for where a players priorities lie. I bet all of you here who bleed for your club like man of our supporters do, with multiple memberships and so on, well, I wouldn't have accepted payment for the 2007GF. Keep an eye on that. Sure DB gets the chop but we had 4 years of "lines in the sand" from the playing group. It means jack

ANyway, good luck. Hopefully this is an abberation

More FWIW, Choco didn't flood in the GF. He said he'd let it be what it was for a spectacle sake. Sure didn't help us tho- and we have had massive psychological damage from that. I reckon DB maybe knew he was out the door and maybe left the players to their own devices. Perhaps on that basis the score really was an abberation and there remains much upside for your group

We're still numb from 2007. Good luck you guys, no fans deserve that.

Good Post. Same situation with the Crows. 2009 to 2011 is our example. Dangerfield, Doughty, Johncock, Knights, MacKay, Maric, Otten, Reily, Rutten, Sellar, Symes, Thompson, Tippett and Vince all played in the 09 final against Collingwood. That is 14 players. Douglas was omitted for the game so that makes 15 players. Of those 15 players, Thompson, Johncock, Doughty and Rutten are the only players that have stayed at the same level or improved. The other 11 have gone backwards. How is this possible. It is not about talent. It is about work ethic, mental application and putting in 100% at training and match day.

Good luck to Melbourne. Hoping for a lift against Port tomorrow.

Bad luck guys. At least you tried your best. :thumbsu:

Remember Round 6, 2007 Chumpy? Your the mob that got Geelong on this roll. Concentrate on your own rabble.

As for this loss. Goodbye Dean Bailey, Im sorry I like the guy but but that is that worst loss of any team in 32 years of VFL/AFL (and guess who that was?). It simply cant be permitted, and is beyond pathetic.

The players are also ****ing useless but unfortunately we cant sack them all, and Dean has had four years to mould the team into a group capable of at least not disgracing themselves. Hasnt even managed that.

I cant invest much more time and energy into this football club. We are simply the limpest d!cks going around, have been for a long time now. Cant imagine many teams othe than Richmond dishing up what we did today. Even Gold Coast.

I do.

Today was worse.

So what troll?

Both our clubs are in the toilet. The difference is I dont celebrate Richmond's failures becuase frankly we have all become accustomed and bored of it.

By all means dig the boots in now mate, if it takes your mind off your own perpetual rabble, small victories for Tigers supporters I guess. :eek:

I'm sure to get banned for pointing this out buy the hypocrisy of your Dee moderator banning 'trolls' is quite comical to some of us.

'Biffinator' or 'Tigerfang' as he was known on the Punt Road End website is the greatest troll of them all.:rolleyes:

BTW bad luck on today's performance. Cats just a bit too good.

Comrade you are dead right, and I have just given you 24 hours to go back and read Tiger Fang's epic posts.

Non-MFC supporters are reminded that if they do not abide by the rules, they will be busted. We all live and die by the same dynamic, including Tiger Fang.

As hard as it is to take this is the best thing that has happened to the Dees all year. Bailey is a clampet and you'll be all the better for him leaving cause surely he is gone now.

A very good coach with that list and you guys could reach the heights you all hope for.

Well I hope it motivates Melbourne to do something. It must have been a slapping. because of the 'broadcast rights' I didnt get to see or hear any of it. whew.....
The only recompense for me is I had the honour to live in East Geelong during their years in the wilderness.
it was sweet in 2005 when melbourne did ya's by a point. I will just keep my head in the sand and carry on believing.... one fine day....

Commiserations Demons fans. I just thought I'd let you know Crimson Azure is setting all sorts of carding records tonight. Keeping trolls off your board, guys. Shit job on a night like this.

If you're not a Dees fan and you have something unspeakably clever to say about today, do it on the Bay. Show these guys some respect.

Must be off. Mark Harvey's face is contorting into all sorts of amazing shapes tonight ;)

I'm interested to read from Melbourne supporters what are their expectations from here? All teams are subject to smashing Gid I know it but this was unexpected from a team I thought was on an upward trend!!!!

Calm down CFH. He's getting everything he wants by replying with vitriol.

Although i do agree that this bloke can take a magic carpet back to the hyperlink which connects our board to his.

I am leaving all posts that have been reported up to show that if you cross the line you will be carded & what we are carding for. Melbourne posters, please ignore them & move on.

Some are complaining about the cards, but you were warned, anything the we didn't like would result in a card.

Suck it up, if you get one.

Regards,

Mods

Closing this thread for now too.

Hi Guys,

I just wanted to say that it's pretty shit that some supporters would take the opportunity to come on here and kick you when you're down. From someone who has lived through this kind of disgrace myself I hope your team and club can use it to go on to better things. You've still got a list brimming with promise and are financially in a better position than you've been for years. Good luck for the rest of the year*, but more importantly the coming years.

* Round 22 aside of course.

Melbourne Demons v Geelong- Game Day Thread 30/7/2011