Melbourne = Soft!

off the cuff

Rookie
Jun 6, 2006
in a saucepan
We seem to never bring up how soft Melbourne is - their first 2 rounds performances seem to have gone under the rador......Melbourne can not and will not win the flag with Daniher at the helm,he has turned his
players into marshmellows with the style he coaches.

When 3 of your hardest 4 (Brock, Byron and Sylvia) dont play, your outside midfielders start to look silly dont they. I thought Jones was fantastic today but boy was he doing the hard yakka alone.

Oh and another note. Every avenue to goal that involves Miller = Diaster.

There list isnt actually THAT bad.

Its Daniher thats the problem. A good coach and some good drafting would have them in the 8 easily IMO.

I dunno. Geelong tend to struggle against teams on the bottom of the ladder. :p

i dunno melbourne seem to struggle against any team, no matter there posi on the ladder...

we have been way too soft in the first two games....although the consant stuffing with the rules doesnt help but we are WAY too soft. especially players like green and travis johnstone

there are a few certancies with melbourne
1. i always go into a game being nervous and never have been 100% sure that we will the match
2. even if we are winning at 1/4, 1/2 or 3/4 qt there is a high chance we will allow the opposition to come back
3. cant picture us winning the big one for a while.. :(

Hardness at the footy isn't a problem. The drive to actually run hard and our skills are definitely letting us down, better turn it around quickly

What has happened to Brad Miller?

To be fair to him he had 19 touches today and kicked three goals when we needed them and presented well. He did fluff one easy mark but you get that with him and his confidence will be a lot better after today.

I for one will admit I overrated us a lot this year. True, it's hard when McLean, Sylvia and Pickett are injured, but there's no excuse for the form of Davey, Yze, Johnstone and a few others.

For such a skilled side a few years ago we have dropped off seriously.
The side is mentally very soft. Like littledemon_5 I never go into a match 100% confident we will win no matter our form or who we're playing.
ND will be gone at the end of the year I think. There is still a very long way to go in the season (Who would have picked Freo for top four last year at the halfway mark, and we did lose our first three matches), but I can't see us recovering if we start very badly.

When 3 of your hardest 4 (Brock, Byron and Sylvia) dont play, your outside midfielders start to look silly dont they. I thought Jones was fantastic today but boy was he doing the hard yakka alone.

That is correct. McLean, Pickett and Sylvia all add some toughness; physically and mentally. Brock is a gladiator, he never gives up. Byron makes the opposition think twice about going for a contestand Sylvia is also a goer, lays crunching tackles. With Neitz off as well, we didn't have many aggressive players left. But that is still no excuse for the poor performances of so many others.

As for Miller, he hasn't been very good since about 2004 to be honest, but he was one of our best today. 17 possessions, 8 marks and 3 goalsd in a very ordinary side are impressive figures. If you look at his last three proper games (last years Semi Final and Rounds 1 & 2 this year), then he has played two very good games and one average one. So it's not all doom and gloom there.

i dunno melbourne seem to struggle against any team, no matter there posi on the ladder...

we have been way too soft in the first two games....although the consant stuffing with the rules doesnt help but we are WAY too soft. especially players like green and travis johnstone

there are a few certancies with melbourne
1. i always go into a game being nervous and never have been 100% sure that we will the match
2. even if we are winning at 1/4, 1/2 or 3/4 qt there is a high chance we will allow the opposition to come back
3. cant picture us winning the big one for a while.. :(

It's been like that for a while anyway mate :p

Problem with Melbourne is they dont have any leaders that stand up when needed, when neitz went who became the leader? Every other club seems to havve someone who comes out and plays that leadership role - melbourne didnt have anyone. Melbourne are crap, they wreck my tipping every year. so do freo for that fact. oh, and cant forget richmond.

Up until this year, I would always stick with the team till the end, even if we were getting thrashed deep into the last quarter.

This year, I can barely convince myself to stay still after half time as I watch this sad excuse for a football team handball, kick backwards, handball, kick sideways, and handball. Of course, the ball always seems to end up with the opposition.

And here I'm just talking about Melbourne trying to clear the ball after the opposiiton have kicked a behind.

The players on the list can play footy. But they lack the leadership and the courage to go from pretenders to contenders.

And the coach is also to blame. Daniher's failure to turn players who can play the game a bit, to consistent matchwinners at AFL senior level is extremely disappointing.

I know we are only 2 weeks in, but the style of football the Demons are playing and their poor attitude has given me this awful feeling it could be a very, very, long season.

Bingo. Just when you think he's starting to improve he lets them down. Can't believe a CHF at AFL level drops so many chest marks time and again. They need to look at off loading him and drafting or trading for a key half forward. Problem is it may be too late as Neitz only has a couple more years in him and they'll have to replace him as well.

They lacked any direction today when Neitz went off injured. He really is a top liner and they're going to struggle up forward when he's not there.

I dont mean to disrespect the Demons supporters, but in all honesty when have they been a genuine threat.

Yes they have had some VERY good players on their lists but who , outside from their own , have ever really considered them capable of winning a flag or to be realistic even challenging for one.

I dont think you can blame the coach all the time, is it a club culture ?

Sure, they had some great success in ( I think it was the 50's, maybe 60's...I am a little pissed ), but since then what have they done.

From an outsider looking in , it appears the only thing that has kept them going is a handful of millionairs chucking a swag of dollars in every now and again.

me personally...I would say they are the most dissapointing club in Victoria.

I hate attacking other supporters, thats not my style, so dont take it all personally, I just question where your club is at and where its going.

The Demons dont seem to evoke the same passion as other Vic. clubs do.

Melbourne = Soft!