Melbourne weak reaction in the 2000 Grand Final..........

Actually from the rumours that have been circulating about the 2000 GF, North had planned a biffo outbreak ala Geelong v Hawks 1989 GF if we had made it. Supposedly we weren't happy at favourable treatment being handed out to the Likes of Pretty Boy Hird by the Ump's and North intended to even the ledger in the GF through some old fashioned biffo.

You were going to even the ledger.

Against Essendon.

Despite being beat by twenty odd goals in the same finals series.

By Essendon.

Errr....... someone help this fellow out please?

Actually from the rumours that have been circulating about the 2000 GF, North had planned a biffo outbreak ala Geelong v Hawks 1989 GF if we had made it. Supposedly we weren't happy at favourable treatment being handed out to the Likes of Pretty Boy Hird by the Ump's and North intended to even the ledger in the GF through some old fashioned biffo.

Sounds like fun...I know at least one Bomber who would have enjoyed that...2 time premiership player Dean Wallis!!!!

They were frightened of us too.

Then again, it was probably the only way they were going to get beaten that year.

I can still vividly remember Mick Martyn throwing Hird around like a rag doll whilst Essendon players all stood back and did nothing.

You were going to even the ledger.

Against Essendon.

Despite being beat by twenty odd goals in the same finals series.

By Essendon.

Errr....... someone help this fellow out please?

You think this was based upon simply the 2000 finals game???? Go learn your history will you!

Sounds like fun...I know at least one Bomber who would have enjoyed that...2 time premiership player Dean Wallis!!!!

LOL!

There would be 6 players in that North side that could punch ten shades of excrement out of Wallis.

Carey, Archer, Martyn, Pike, Pickett and King.

Mil Hanna might get you legendary status at Windy Hill by it wouldn't cut the mustard at Arden Street.

You might have to put a few more Essendon Marsh mellows up than that to frighted the likes of Carey, Archer, Martyn, Pike and Pickett.

I used to love watching Essendon put 2-3 players on Carey and watch him beat them.

Long couldn't have pulled out of the contest? Simmonds had his head over the ball for an extended period of time (he fumbled it) and Long had ample time to pull out of it, instead he made a beeline for him.

I don't know what you think a 'shirtfront' is but Simmonds was practically horizontal to the ground when Long ran in at full pace and cleaned him up. It's a miracle he didn't break his neck as far as i'm concerned.

Don't know why the clip was taken off youtube but it's sickening. Would probably be worth 10 weeks these days.

Perhaps a chat with a footballing legend known as Malcolm Blight would be of help...listen to his call - he didn't have a problem with it at the time (and still doesn't apparently).

Today you could be right - the softness of today's footy would have seen Long miss plenty. Back then, 4 weeks was perhaps excessive - and remember Long did go and see Simmonds in hospital in the days after it happened and Simmonds himself accepted it as part of footy. Perhaps Dees fans need to get over themselves.

LOL!

There would be 6 players in that North side that could punch ten shades of excrement out of Wallis.

Carey, Archer, Martyn, Pike, Pickett and King.

Mil Hanna might get you legendary status at Windy Hill by it wouldn't cut the mustard at Arden Street.

Carey, Archer, Martyn probably.

Pike, Pickett, King, your having a laugh.

They were frightened of us too.

Then again, it was probably the only way they were going to get beaten that year.

I can still vividly remember Mick Martyn throwing Hird around like a rag doll whilst Essendon players all stood back and did nothing.

Frightened of a team we just beat by 125 points.

moron.jpg

Long couldn't have pulled out of the contest? Simmonds had his head over the ball for an extended period of time (he fumbled it) and Long had ample time to pull out of it, instead he made a beeline for him.

I don't know what you think a 'shirtfront' is but Simmonds was practically horizontal to the ground when Long ran in at full pace and cleaned him up. It's a miracle he didn't break his neck as far as i'm concerned.

Don't know why the clip was taken off youtube but it's sickening. Would probably be worth 10 weeks these days.

Quoted for truth.

You might have to put a few Essendon Marsh mellows up than that to frighted the likes of Carey, Archer, Martyn, Pike and Pickett.

I used to love watching Essendon put 2-3 players on Carey and watch him beat them.

We knew the best way - outscore. Lloyd always had Mick covered.

The side had its balance of hardmen - Barnard (otherwise known as the Brute), Solomon (ask Cameron Ling!), Mark Johnson (never saw him take a backward step ever).

We'd go alright in the biffo stakes..we always have.

Frightened of a team we just beat by 125 points.

Read all of my post clown.

Like I stated, beating them up was probably the only way we could beat them that year, and believe me, we had Essendon well and truly covered when it came to the physical stuff.

We were cruelled by injuries and a poor last quarter in the Qual Final, Carlton was easily the second best team in the comp that year.

I'm not saying a strong reaction would have won you the GF, but have some backbone and stand up for your teammates. Why you want to defend that lack of response is beyond me. Probably why it's the closest you've been to the mountain top in nearly 50 years.

Haha I love the bitterness. I was there when we beat Carlton and f**k it was awesome.A few years later Cameron Bruce of all people kicked 8 or 9 against your rabble. Carlton FC have a long way to go before you give us shit about on field performance.

The side had its balance of hardmen - Barnard (otherwise known as the Brute), Solomon (ask Cameron Ling!), Mark Johnson (never saw him take a backward step ever).

Of course you could-maybe against the likes of Melbourne but you were nothing but marsh mellows against us!!

Those players you mentioned above-snippers who would have the heart the size of a pea!
Lloyd always had Mick covered.

If you mean "Shot Gun Lloyd"; the only reason he used to win any ball from Mick Martyn was his ability to drop to ground so fast the umps though he was dishing out gobbies at the local Essendon/ump's friday night catch up.

Barnard is a cat that got flogged in an EDFL match. Don't believe anything they say about black belts mate because all you have to do to get one is to go to classes for a long enough period of time.

Mark Johnson was hard at it, but hardly a serious dooker. Solly was hard, but I expect that if North targetted he and Wallis, then Essendon would have folded like a pack of weak gutted mice.

Hilarious, your coach had to invent a marshmallow war just to instill some hardness in to your club.

No i'm good with history as well, you obviously don't understand the history between North and Essendon going back over 100 years.

Funny you should mention that in the very week the story of Arthur Showers was told at Essendon's Hall Of Fame induction dinner last Tuesday.

The story goes is that Essendon were being asked to leave East Melbourne in 1921 for the Jolimont railyards. Then members of the club committee wanted to merge with North and play out of Arden St. (One wonders what those at North thought of that idea).

Showers was an Essendon councillor. Because of this, he was able to convince Essendon's then VFA team to leave Windy Hill so the VFL team could take over. Showers then became a part of the committee.

Just another chapter in the local rivalry.

Yep, the greatest team of all time (that choked in 99) eventually went on win a flag in 2000 befor getting the shit frightened out of them again in 2001 v a North side without Carey, Stevens and Martyn which bought on another bout of crippling mental weakness that has lasted the best part of a decade.

What is Norths record v Essendon since that match, 7-1?

Face it people, we are your bogeymen.

Funny you should mention that in the very week the story of Arthur Showers was told at Essendon's Hall Of Fame induction dinner last Tuesday.

The story goes is that Essendon were being asked to leave East Melbourne in 1921 for the Jolimont railyards. Then members of the club committee wanted to merge with North and play out of Arden St. (One wonders what those at North thought of that idea).

Showers was an Essendon councillor. Because of this, he was able to convince Essendon's then VFA team to leave Windy Hill so the VFL team could take over. Showers then became a part of the committee.

Just another chapter in the local rivalry.

Get it right pal.

Essendon were "kicked out" of the East Melbourne ground and had nowhere to go. THEY approached North about merging so North could have representation in the VFL, however, this was just another Essendon con, because the minute the prospective merged entity was informed by the North Melbourne Council that any team playing out of Arden Street had to be named "North Melbourne", the Essendon contingent packed up and cut a shonky deal with the Essendon Council which saw the original tenants of Windy Hill, namely the Essendon Association FC, ousted for Essendon with the former becoming homeless and then extinct.

Of course, Essendon took off with several North players that had been instructed by the NMFC commitee to combine with Essendon in full faith of the forthcoming merger, and after a decade of not making the finals Essendon went to win the 1923 and 1924 back to back premierships with North ruckman Syd Barker as their captain coach.

You can attempt to whitewash history all you like but the fact is that Shower was a rat and a low life scum bag.

The history of your club is smeared with treachery. Fact!

This thread has got a bit sidetracked it was actually about melbournes insipid reaction to a cowardly gf act. Not essendon v north

I was there on the particular day...sitting behind the Punt Road goal so saw the incident more or less end-on.

Was it a dog act? Not really. Long at no stage could have pulled out of making contact, having committed himself to the contest. It was not a kinghit either..just an old-fashioned shirtfront.

Was it worth 4 weeks? 2 at best. Simmonds contributed to the problem by just not being aware - or being made aware, of contact coming his way (whatever happened to talking to your team-mates?)

Melbourne's reaction was pretty reasonable under the circumstances - if it had have been the other way, I would have expected Essendon players to do the same as the Demons players did that day (lead by Schwarz who was fired up after tangling with Wallis earlier on).

Not sure why it has been brought up a decade later though.

agree totally, wasnt good but hardly the 'dog act' all the tinkerbells around here make out

this old chestnut rears its head every year or so when longy get his name up in lights, again:thumbsu:

envy is such a wasteful emotion

& yeh, dees reaction was pitiful

Thinking back to the 2000 Grand Final we witnessed one of the games most gutless and dangerous assaults on a Footballer possible. Michael Longs head high assault on Melbourne's Troy Simmonds while is head was over the ball was disgraceful.

What was more disgraceful was the collective response by his Melbourne teamates. Aside from the Ox it was completely pathetic. Had that of happened to a North Player in the 2000 Grand Final or Brisbane’s teams of 2001 onwards Long would have been slaughtered.

I remember thinking I would have been embarrassed if that was my teams response to such a gutless act. No wonder they got slaughtered in the GF.
Maybe we need some shinboner spirit. SHiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinbooooooooooooooooooooooooooooober spirit.

Another desperate North Melbourne post.

Melbourne weak reaction in the 2000 Grand Final..........