Members Cocktail 2016!

Haha Moreaux ?

Didn't know you were there Tassie, if you saw a bloke in a blue tie and crutches sitting down with drinks though that was me with the other lads.

I think you're in the clear Lizard. The dude definitely didnt have crutches.

Although in fairness I'd probably had enough to drink myself at the sponsors pre-drinks before I even set foot in the Ballroom :sob:

I think you're in the clear Lizard. The dude definitely didnt have crutches.

Although in fairness I'd probably had enough to drink myself at the sponsors pre-drinks before I even set foot in the Ballroom :sob:
We were all in there as well, if we knew we would have met up with you

Yeah, we were that group that was standing near the entrance.
And then sitting just near Rioli next to the stunner in the tight, tight yellow dress

No pics, typical

She was a good sort, not gonna lie. Unfortunately, my acts of chivalry went either unnoticed or unappreciated. :(

Oh, also forgot to add:

Dimma confirmed that Nathan Drummond will make his return to football this weekend. Is scheduled to play a half in the VFL game on Saturday. :thumbsu:

Yeah, we were that group that was standing near the entrance.

I was in the group right next to you, I kept thinking I want go over and meet Bashar but I didnt want to interupt, I forgot we were sponsoring him! I got talking to people who used to sponsor him and they were saying how genuinely nice he was. He's a real people person.

Also the girl organizing it was really suprised he showed up because as you know he couldnt sign because of his wrist but he didnt want to disappoint his sponsors. So he just came to meet you guys and left. Thats a testament to the man he is.

Keep it footy related though

Don't need to know the broke back post event antics you mods get up to

BpNsf2jCAAAQG_s.jpg

If you must know, there was only hand holding and gentle spooning. ;)

TheLoungeLizard was (literally) singing your praises (he's a musician you know) because you lent him your crutches :D

For anyone who has actually met Dave Astbury is he that boring in real life too?

Didn't speak to him but he's a big lad.

I overheard a slightly drunk young lass who sat next to me towards the end of the night remark to her friends that he looked like K Mac. :)

I'll chuck up some photos in a sec lads.

Was a good night but I think last year's was better. This year they made a big deal about no photos with players when getting autographs - probably to avoid bottlenecks in the line, but still, it's a night for the fans so why not let them (most of who have paid large sums to attend) get a few pics with their heroes?

Food was on point as was the booze - always tastes good when you're not paying!

Grockadoc and I tried to grab a snap with Richo as he left but we missed him by about 15 seconds I reckon.

In terms of insights from players (from what I can recall).
  • Lloyd definitely has a certain 'stoned' quality to his face. He and Griff were interviewed by Jack earlier in the night. Jack had come fresh from the Fox Footy studios and was still powdered up. :D
  • Dusty is a pro at evading fans, in the pre drinks section, he kept mobile and on the move.
  • Rioli was in attendance (believe he has had some time off recently) and should be available for the Dreamtime game presumaby.
  • Players who weren't there - Cotch (apparently on doctor's orders), K Mac, Houli (only there for the pre drinks), Mackenzie, Drummond (I think?), Yarran and a couple others who I can't recall.
  • Interestingly, we saw Hunt this year. Last year, KFC boy mentioned he had anxiety around crowds so the club let him miss social events. For whatever reason, he was there on the night.
  • Benny Gale was in and amongst the attendees mingling away. Great man. As Moreaux remarked, one of,if not the best appointment at the club in some time. The fact he was out chatting with us plebs was pretty cool (I think Peggy, Richo - MC on the night, Dimma didn't do that - at least, didn't see them apart from Richo briefly at the end.
  • Some fan coughed up $5,000 for the auction to sit in the coaches box on gameday. Big spender!
  • We debated who the shortest player on the list was, I think it would be out of Short and Rioli (someone mentioned Conca IIRC). It was interesting to see the player's sizes in real life though. Hampson, Maric, Chaplin, Astbury, Soldo etc are all big lads when standing next or near them.

Sorry for the quality but here's a couple of pics.

13293361_10207675927753586_139715633_n.jpg

13282299_10207675927473579_707365936_n.jpg

Our AA bookends, Tross and JR8. Great teamwork even when signing autographs. Tross is a skilled man, signed autographs in 1 hand, ate fish and chips with the other. Very handsome bloke.

As for JR8, I nearly got close enough that I could pinch a freckle from his face. Not sure that would have gone down well.

Oh one last thing re Houli that I just remembered - when we brought up the bummers on the weekend, he had a smug smile on his face when we mentioned his old club. I think he's pretty confident we'll get the win haha.

That's all I got, we kicked on to the Munich afterwards and drank too much and talked about insane food challenges.

Will post more if I can remember something I missed, if not, feel free to ask questions lads and lasses.

• Interestingly, we saw Hunt this year. Last year, KFC boy mentioned he had anxiety around crowds so the club let him miss social events. For whatever reason, he was there on the night.
Doesn't augur well for a guy in a team expecting to play finals at the MCG with crowds of 90,000-plus.
Might explain his shocker against the Roos last September.

I'll chuck up some photos in a sec lads.

Was a good night but I think last year's was better. This year they made a big deal about no photos with players when getting autographs - probably to avoid bottlenecks in the line, but still, it's a night for the fans so why not let them (most of who have paid large sums to attend) get a few pics with their heroes?

Food was on point as was the booze - always tastes good when you're not paying!

Grockadoc and I tried to grab a snap with Richo as he left but we missed him by about 15 seconds I reckon.

• Lloyd definitely has a certain 'stoned' quality to his face. He and Griff were interviewed by Jack earlier in the night. Jack had come fresh from the Fox Footy studios and was still powdered up. :D
  • Dusty is a pro at evading fans, in the pre drinks section, he kept mobile and on the move.
  • Rioli was in attendance (believe he has had some time off recently) and should be available for the Dreamtime game presumaby.
  • Players who weren't there - Cotch (apparently on doctor's orders), K Mac, Houli (only there for the pre drinks), Mackenzie, Drummond (I think?), Yarran and a couple others who I can't recall.
  • Benny Gale was in and amongst the attendees mingling away. Great man. As Moreaux remarked, one of,if not the best appointment at the club in some time. The fact he was out chatting with us plebs was pretty cool (I think Peggy, Richo - MC on the night, Dimma didn't do that - at least, didn't see them apart from Richo briefly at the end.
  • Some fan coughed up $5,000 for the auction to sit in the coaches box on gameday. Big spender!
  • We debated who the shortest player on the list was, I think it would be out of Short and Rioli (someone mentioned Conca IIRC). It was interesting to see the player's sizes in real life though. Hampson, Maric, Chaplin, Astbury, Soldo etc are all big lads when standing next or near them.
just on the fan who paid 5k just me or did he seem thoughly pissed ?

Members Cocktail 2016!