memberships????

pevas_02

Nov 1, 2002
Sunbury
North Melbourne, Coburg Tigers
its nice to no that many people on our kangaroos board can put up teams and stuff and say that we will be a force on and off the field in a few years and what ever other threads that r put on here.but how many of u ppl r actually supporting the club and actually putting sum money into it by buying memberships and getting premiership prints and all that sort of stuff.we get the **** bagged out of us because we are cash strapped and dont hav heaps of members.a "TRUE" roos supporter would go out and buy a membership and buy team fotos and that from the club where as a roo 'FAN' would just sit at home watching the games on tv.i say all TRUE roo supporters get off our asses and do sumthing about it and get the supporters who rnt putting money in and buying memberships to do so.GET BEHIND THE BOYS AND GIVE THEM UR SUPPORT ON MATCHDAY in 3 or 4 years time we should b able to compete with the essendon and collingwood crowds but at the moment they make us look stupid with there crowds that they pull.
BUY a membership for next year even if it only costs u 50-60 bucks at least u can say u put sum money into the club.

I for one am a paid up member, but don't forget that there are people who simply can't afford 60 bucks or so for even a basic membership.

Given the money I'm sure they'd buy one with no problem, but it doesn't mean we should have a go at them for not being a member.

As for the 'cash-strapped' bit, well we know theres other clubs in a worse financial state than ours - to quote the late Denis Pagan, the media just wants to 'tap dance on the grave of the Kangaroos'...

l am also a paid up member, work restricts the amount of games l can go to, but nonetheless l have 3 memberships which include my wife and little girl. The passion that seems to be evident on this medium, l would assume all people who can afford a membership actually are members. Pity if you aren't, l would hate to think where our club would be right now if it were not for the AFL's handout we are receiving.

l know l complain about the AFL a fair bit, but where exactly would we be without that grant, loan, future entitlements or what ever you want to call it.

Hope we never get back to that situation again, look at the Hawks and Geelong as pure examples of what can be achieved, even without hugely successful years on the field.

Wrath

Pevas,

I think u are speaking to the converted as about 25-30 roos fans on this board are ongoing paying members of the North melbourne Football Club.

In fact 10 of us are even sponsors of Drew petrie with more joining in next year.

Paul

sorry dudes i must admit i went a bit over the top but i just dont like seeing or hearing people say that they support north melbourne.ive been a member for about 14 of my 18years alive and we seem to lose more members than we gain each year.anyway lets get behind the boys for season '03' and hopefully they surprise us and make the finals again.

Originally posted by pevas_02
sorry dudes i must admit i went a bit over the top but i just dont like seeing or hearing people say that they support north melbourne.ive been a member for about 14 of my 18years alive and we seem to lose more members than we gain each year.anyway lets get behind the boys for season '03' and hopefully they surprise us and make the finals again.

I dont kno why the Roos keep losing members because they have hardly been poor on the field and finished in the 8 for many years now. If anything tho i reckon 2003 will be a killer for losing members because of all the change thats gone on...carey, pagan, mick, choppy etc. Unless the club market the changes in a real positive way i dont think theyre gonna do too well with membership signings.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk

I dont kno why the Roos keep losing members because they have hardly been poor on the field and finished in the 8 for many years now.

People don't rejoin because they are treated like crap by the administration. The only time you hear from the club is when they want to flog something to you such as raffle tickets and expensive club functions.

A membership should have a net benefit. It shouldn't cost you any money. You should be able to recoup the cost of the member ship either through attending matches or discounts to sponsors products.

Originally posted by Paulkanga2000

In fact 10 of us are even sponsors of Drew petrie with more joining in next year.

Paul

To the original question- yes I am a paid up member.. first membership in 02 (after really liking the AFL for 2 years.. and a huge passion for the roos in 01) and I plan to renew..

Talking of sponsors, where's Shinboners gone?!?! Sent a PM regarding this sponsorship thing askin what exactly the money went to and never got a reply:(:( And its the one thing stopping me from being part of this sponsorship group to (As long as it is going towards something good, my parents are willing to let me sponsor a player.. so I just need to know exactly what this money goes to.. and Shinboners said to get my parents permission) So can anybody tell me what exactly the money goes to?

Go Roos
Hmm.. I should contact the club.. I want to buy something- just it was a limited edition.. need to contact the club see if there are ne left..!

Originally posted by choppy

People don't rejoin because they are treated like crap by the administration. The only time you hear from the club is when they want to flog something to you such as raffle tickets and expensive club functions.

A membership should have a net benefit. It shouldn't cost you any money. You should be able to recoup the cost of the member ship either through attending matches or discounts to sponsors products.

well i must admit the admin is quite poor at this club but if ppl r genuine supporters they shouldnt let a little thing like that stop them from helping the club.

i kno the only time we hear from them is when they wanna flog somethin but that is the same story as every club. I would know because i have been part of 4 different clubs in the past few years and each one has been the same in this regard.

i'm converted, i got myself an afl membership with club support to you know who, i bought a pre-season guernsey for $99 and a footy for $25, i've got 2 people already looking at becoming north melbourne members for next season and hoping to get another 1 or two more next time i see them...vce has restricted the amount of games I go to but next year you'll see me at most if not all the games

I am converted too brought my first membership last season waiting to renew again and have found 4 more here on the sunshine coast willing to join .Web site says available early november but into 2nd week now and no membership are they waiting to close to christmas when people have other things to spend there money on.

Originally posted by a4brianp
I am converted too brought my first membership last season waiting to renew again and have found 4 more here on the sunshine coast willing to join .Web site says available early november but into 2nd week now and no membership are they waiting to close to christmas when people have other things to spend there money on.

no i think they're doing wot they did last year and advertising that people should buy them for family members for christmas then dont actually bring the packages out till after christmas :rolleyes:

For obscure reasons, I am unable to attend games, but I buy my adult membership each year, and commit to buying tickets in the big Club raffle each year.

However, they do make it difficult at times. I recently moved house, and advised the Club of the new details by phone, email and letter. Guess where my recent correspondence went?

Correct.....to my old address!!!!

I also did not receive a renewal mail out last year. I'm sure that being treated like this would turn some people off. They simply MUST get their act together and deal with the members ina more productive manner.

Originally posted by KangaFett
i hope this aint a question of loyalty because I might get angry!!!

any supporter who is worth there bit does what they can and that is it.

hear hear, 30 yrs a member basically out of 37, and i class my membership as a luxury as i work part time pay bills( like many others on the board)

im sure all supporters do as much as they deem possible to keep thier clubs going.

later on in life other things take precedence over footy also, things are not getting any cheaper these days.

Originally posted by a4brianp

OK no problems there, contact the club regarding sending out 4 or more memberships for your friends. They are available as my g/f's daughter just got hers. If not email me with your address and iíi contact the club for you and get them sent out ASAP! jasonwaroo@yahoo.com.au

Originally posted by pevas_02

pevas, I would be interested to know what the percentages are for support of the NMFC in you peer group. I have stated many times on this forum that the 90's era should see a large group of North supporters develop from the young Kids that grew up in this fantastic era for the NMFC, I myself am a product of the great North era of the Seventies, and I believe that if we are going to become a power off the field we need these young kids to become members.

Back to my original question, do many of your peers support the NMFC.

I didn't renew my membership after 2001, i just couldn't afford it.... Don't stress though i'm getting one again for 2003...
A lot of people just can't afford it, and if they don't go to games that often the cost won't be 'redeemed' on ticket prices
But anyways, TEAGUEYBABE had the great idea of giving people that 'Club Kangaroo' memberships for xmas/bdays, even if they aren't kangaz supporters ;) The club gets the $50 if the person likes it or not

the other thing which will be of interest is playing at Colonial also.

it is alot more expensive to go there then the MCG as far as I am concerned....not that will stop me.

I dont hold anything against those of my fellow supporters who cant afford to buy membership. I think this is where the club has failed in addressing these people. Why dont they offer a 5 game discounted membership - its better to see them come along to some games then none.

Melbourne Storm offer such a deal, why cant we.

Buy a membership

Ladies and gentlemen...........

A full membership will cost you $2.50 a week

If you are able to put that aside in a piggy bank weekly, you wont even notice it.

Arguments please..................

Go Roos.

memberships????