• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Mernda Disappointment

clear logic

Draftee
Mar 8, 2011
melbourne
Whoever the flog steppinup is writing on the KDFL forum...get your facts right!! You say that the club and players didn't want the VT boys training, but then after we played Panton Hill the coach was trying to recruit some of them back to Mernda! I agree with whitelinefever2 who says that the majority of players had no problem with the VT boys being at training for future prospects, the only clowns that had problems with it were the people that are still on the committe and still acquaintances of the ex-president that ran us into the ground in the first place! I hate writing things about our own club but we have the worst committee in the competition. If you have a look at the clubs around us, Whittlesea now in Div 1, Epping look like they will win Div 2 this year and Diamo will be top 3 this year, Mernda still in the stone ages have only gone backwards while these people remain in control!! There are some short memories at Mernda, as the culprits, Jas and Tommy have both previously tried to leave the club to pursue Div 1 careers, but returned as the standard was clearly too high. Where was their loyalty to the club then?? Jas was leaving for Epping or Bundoora and even Mansfield for a year, while Tommy did a pre season at Bundy and returned to Mernda cos he didn't perform in their intraclub games and wasn't good enough! How can we as a club blame the VT boys because we are in Div 3?? The VT boys told the club that they were looking for a club serious about winning a flag. So why wasn't anyone trying to recruit players with all the left over money that there was from those players leaving?? That's because for Mernda it's easier to point blame at everyone else when the problem is right in front of them!! A committee is supposed to be a group of people of different opinions that make decisions in the best interest of the club...at our club at the moment and in the past few years, people have been friends and are more like a pack of sheep that agree and follow each others decisions. That's why we have gone backwards and clubs around us are succeeding and moving forward. If the committee cared about the playing group then they should have let them decide if the VT boys should train or not. Cos i know for a fact that 90% of our playng group would want the VT boys there than our committee. What are we honestly going to get out of our committee if there is no business sense and people would rather sit on money than spend it to redeem our club??? If there is no money then that's exactly what we're saying...where is it??? These people have no clue and while they remain on their power trips around the football club we will continue to go nowhere and players will continue to leave where any situation is better than this one!

who are the vt boys??

Clear Logic, it has been said before, if you are so passionate about the club, put your hand up and join the commitee. Dont just keep whinging about the VT boys. The list we have at the moment is the best for a number of years, give the players a few matches to settle into their spots, it could be a reasonable year.
You would have seen a couple of positional changes [for the better] on the weekend, just give these blokes a chance, the coaching panel appears pretty good so lets just have a crack this season.

Get around him!!!!!!!

So your comparing two blokes who were practicaly born at the club and been there 30 years to a bunch of blokes who were there for two minutes. Players at all clubs spread their wings occasionally, only to return '"home" the difference is the vt boys all came from other clubs anyway.

Who are you? if you care so much and think you could do a better job put your hand up and have a crack. I dont think starting a thread titled Mernda dissapointment is productive at all.

The violet town boys choose to move on, good luck to them it was their choice they can live with it, they knew the difficulties with their training'before they left. When you leave a footy club and they struggle sometimes it rubs people up the wrong way, thats just the way it goes. The Mernda commitee made their decision on it, right or wrong get the f**k over it mate.

A

And this season both Jas and Tommy get on the committee and also are playing in the ones soon to be premiership players.. too smart for you

if where gonna worry about the money, then maybe the ground should be fixed! who cares about the VT boys now, they left 2 years ago, we had year of consistent 100 point defeats, and now have gone to the bottom to work our way up and are doing a great job of it considering both reserves and seniors finished 1 and 2 respectively, there's alot more depth at the club now, then there was when these boys from VT were around, these guys leaving probably did the club a favour, as they didnt need to pay any of these guys anymore, and it gave alot of the younger players a chance to show what they can do in the senior side, and the likes of tommy deayton, jesse owens-draper and aka o'reilly have been good contributors to the senior side. the only thing contradicting this statement is having tommy felle playing in the 1s, nothing taken away from the bloke has been a sensational player at the club, but given the present time and how the game is played, i believe a younger, fitter, quicker player would be better playing as a small forward then having tommy in the side.

the goal kicking accuracy of mernda has been well noted this year, i find it strange that the 2 leading goal kickers in the 2nds haven't received a call up to the senior side at all.

the committee at the club now is alot better than it has been in the last year or 2, and the club as a whole is growing and moving in the right direction.

if where gonna worry about the money, then maybe the ground should be fixed! who cares about the VT boys now, they left 2 years ago, we had year of consistent 100 point defeats, and now have gone to the bottom to work our way up and are doing a great job of it considering both reserves and seniors finished 1 and 2 respectively, there's alot more depth at the club now, then there was when these boys from VT were around, these guys leaving probably did the club a favour, as they didnt need to pay any of these guys anymore, and it gave alot of the younger players a chance to show what they can do in the senior side, and the likes of tommy deayton, jesse owens-draper and aka o'reilly have been good contributors to the senior side. the only thing contradicting this statement is having tommy felle playing in the 1s, nothing taken away from the bloke has been a sensational player at the club, but given the present time and how the game is played, i believe a younger, fitter, quicker player would be better playing as a small forward then having tommy in the side.

the goal kicking accuracy of mernda has been well noted this year, i find it strange that the 2 leading goal kickers in the 2nds haven't received a call up to the senior side at all.

the committee at the club now is alot better than it has been in the last year or 2, and the club as a whole is growing and moving in the right direction.
But you get guys like Jai Robbo, who is a fringe coburg player, walks into the team whenever he wants. Jai should make up his mind, Coburg or Mernda.The club needs to look after the blokes who stick by them. Several key players in the ones dont get payed except for the $80 if they win. Who are the leading goal kickers you would bring up from the two's. Are they good enough to replace Cam or Millsy? Both are very strong marks.

jai is a coburg player, but when not selected needs a local club to fall back on, thats the rules of the league isnt it? as for your $80 a game, how much is millsy on and is he worth that much? yes a strong mark, and neither he nor cam were the guys i was thinking needed to be replaced at all, althought given the goal kicking struggles, im a little surprised shane martin and chris zab werent given a crack in the seniors at all, given they both placed in the top 5 in the league for goal kicking in the reserves

In the end it's been the best for all parties, because Violet Town look like going through the Kyabram DFL Season undefeated (the only time they've been challenged has been the two games against Murchison, my team:D , where they only won by less than 2 goals) and they have improved thier lot in regards to sponsors, player depth, a much stronger Under 18's side, etc.

The blokes who did leave Mernda to go up the Hume Highway will likely play in a Premiership on a dry deck, and Mernda have rebuilt from the bottom up and seemed to have left all the dramas from a few years ago behind them (player depth, all 3 teams in the finals, a strong Auskick program, a growing junior set-up, 4 netball teams, improved revenue from sponsorships and memberships, etc.)

So far it's been a win-win, and it looks like both sides should get the bikkies this season.

Every time someone mentions the vt boys it reminds me of a gang that are up to no good like the river boys on home and away :p
If anyone can be bothered pm me on whats gone on over the years at mernda please.

Every time someone mentions the vt boys it reminds me of a gang that are up to no good like the river boys on home and away :p
If anyone can be bothered pm me on whats gone on over the years at mernda please.

I would like to PM you but I do not know what this 'home and away' is......

I have testicles.

;)

jai is a coburg player, but when not selected needs a local club to fall back on, thats the rules of the league isnt it? as for your $80 a game, how much is millsy on and is he worth that much? yes a strong mark, and neither he nor cam were the guys i was thinking needed to be replaced at all, althought given the goal kicking struggles, im a little surprised shane martin and chris zab werent given a crack in the seniors at all, given they both placed in the top 5 in the league for goal kicking in the reserves
Chris Zab should have been given a run way before many others(this I will expand on after the Mernda premiership) but the coaching panel you have a very very lucky they have many good D3 players playing against woeful opposition,as the team(s) coach themselves,the big test with this group is D2,about 16 of yesterdays side will not be up to but your twos have about 7 who are ,full details on a few weeks

Do you think you will keep all your talented twos who haven't had a good go or look inThomo are in D3 taking your spot and what I heard at the ground amongst the twos•-••mmmmm,but they did have an "Unless" as a rider more in a few weeks

Chris Zab should have been given a run way before many others(this I will expand on after the Mernda premiership) but the coaching panel you have a very very lucky they have many good D3 players playing against woeful opposition,as the team(s) coach themselves,the big test with this group is D2,about 16 of yesterdays side will not be up to but your twos have about 7 who are ,full details on a few weeks

what have you got to expand on, and who would you have changed from the side if they are headed into to div 2 in regards to your 16 out and 7 in?

the big test with this group is D2,about 16 of yesterdays side will not be up to but your twos have about 7 who are

I think we'll be more than comfortable in Division Two if we win the Grand Final. We ended up thrashing Hurstbridge and South Morang in pre season (make of that what you will... dunno if they had full strength lineups and all) and I think a pass mark for next season if we make it would be 2010 W/L - so about nine wins then.

I think we'll be more than comfortable in Division Two if we win the Grand Final. We ended up thrashing Hurstbridge and South Morang in pre season (make of that what you will... dunno if they had full strength lineups and all) and I think a pass mark for next season if we make it would be 2010 W/L - so about nine wins then.[/quote
I agree you may beat South Morang and Hurstrbridge(with current side), but the others no way! Nine wins, your kidding.Though if some of the prodigal sons playing in D1 or other Leagues come back, you may sneek 6.

Mernda disappointment....................................Hell no. 2 flags on the day, cant get much better than that.
Well I did say friom Round One that the ones would win the flag(might even have been in my pre season posts) your twos were awesome on Saturdaym what concerned me was for weeks they seem lethargic etc, but Saturday..wow, enjoy D2

this years mernda 2s would have played finals in the div 3 seniors!

I don't want to make myself sound like an arrogant tool, but I reckon the Mernda Seconds would have made it to the prelim. No offense to St Mary's but the gap between Reservoir and St Mary's this season was pretty vast.

always happy i am still interested to hear your thoughts on the 7 who are able to step up from the reserves!
Weulfert, Welch, Milner, Zabrieszach,Tanner,Berryman,Smout...and I won't be controversial and let you know who should not have been in the ones..but many would know who they are.
By the way I am not saying all these 7 should have been in the ones before 7 others, I am stating they could have played easily there, a few of that list were dead stiff, let's hope you can keep them.