Opinion Mick Malthouse

What is the next move on Mick?

• Sack him immediately; replacement coach to see out the year.

Votes: 192 48.9%
  • Let him coach out the year then show him the door.

Votes: 70 17.8%
  • Sign him now to give coaches and players some direction.

Votes: 81 20.6%
  • Not sure yet... still too angry to think clearly.

Votes: 50 12.7%

It wasn't just effort from the players that looked wrong against WC though. Our structures were all over the place.

Repeatedly in the third quarter, we had players miles out of position. We seemed to be zoning in the midfield, and playing one-out inside defensive 50. However, the players in the zone were constantly in the wrong spot, failing to 'hand off' marks, and not applying any pressure to ball-carriers. On two consecutive plays, we failed to guard the mark when a WC player had possession 70 metres out for goal - end result was a pin-point pass to Kennedy on a lead, which was also possible because we had no-one dropping into space.

When was the last time you saw a Carlton side actually attack the ball carrier? We were a zoning team under Ratten and nothing has changed.

Mick also mentioned the way players didn't man the mark and left ball carriers open, we do it every single game when the going gets tough - Its self preservation. They stop focussing on the team actions and start concentrating purely on defending their man, even when he isn't a threat.

We also noticeably had players not even attempting to run back defensively. Not in a lazy manner (as Murphy/Judd do occasionally - not necessarily a criticism, just a feature of their play), but they actually looked like they were under instruction to push forward. It was consistent and applied to guys who normally work hard that direction, like the game-plan was for our defenders to win one-out, get a quick rebound, and for us to then hurt them. However, as soon as they shut down Judd, took over in the mid-field, and pushed their numbers back a bit to create space, they just killed us, and Kennedy was good enough to convernt.

On Malthouse generally, my view is that a coaches job is something like:
- match-day planning, preparation and game structures (30%)
- developing the skills of players (30%)
- coaching, motivating and mentoring people so they can perform at their best (30%)
- representing the club, media appearances, and miscellaneous other stuff (10%)
That would change depending on other people around them, the clubs position on the ladder, etc (eg GWS the last few years might have wanted more player development)

If you give Malthouse an honest appraisal at this point, it is hard to give him a pass mark in any of those categories. Our structures are terrible (see above), and he generally just blames the players for this, but ultimately it is his job to put them in positions where they can succeed. Our skills have gone backwards (our kicking is atrocious) and it is hard to make a case that ANY player is better now that would have been predicted when Malthouse came on board (if you go off the two limited games this year, where Henderson/Rowe have struggled, and White got injured, its looks even worse). Our players look dispirited and un-motivated, quit far too easily, and some have just been flat out isolated/bullied (eg Lucas/Watson). The way he represents the club is a disgrace.

I still don't believe the club is entirely behind Malthouse. We will continue to churn through coach after coach until they decide to actually back one of them 100% to do his job.

When I think of the board and administration at Carlton all I imagine is cloak and dagger/backstabbing at every turn.

When I think of the playing group I imagine a bunch of passive aggressive introverts several of who honestly believe that they are above things like defensive/unrewarded running and that those kinds of things are the domain of lesser players like the Curnows/Bells etc

In the mean-time, I guess we have to wait another 4-5 weeks to see what turns around. As I said, Malthouse has the experience and might be as good as anyone in the interim, but i can't see this being successful long-term. I fear we are looking more and more likely to be 4-5 years away.

Then we got beaten by the 2 bottom sides the next year and looked like chooks with their heads cut off.

In Mick's first season we came from 40+ points down to win the last 2 games, how was that for attacking play?

I've said before, this thread is about Mick, not Ratten, but it should also be about the player depth legacy that Ratten left.
We came back from 40+ down because we went into Ratten's game mode which still was in the players DNA and also our fitness was still good as we had our previous fitness coach from the Ratten era.

That would be the style of play we were rarely successful with in Rattens last year and the one that worked so well against Port and GCS.

You see it your way and I'll see it mine.

The game is fundamentally the same. To say that someone like MM can't take in these changes, for someone in his position, is absolutely ridiculous.
The fundamentals of the game are kicking, handballing, marking etc. Winning game plans have nothing to do with "the fundamentals of the game. For example, a coach who didn't interchange players might know all the fundamentals but is unlikely to coach a winning side.

What MM seems incapable of doing is instilling in the players "creating space" processes. The second quarter against West Coast is a classic example of this incapacity. It does not take hand-eye skill for players to run to free up space on the back line. What it requires is a well-planned process that the players know and apply. In the kick-outs all I saw were statues up-field which meant the only safe option was to kick it into the pocket, from which position we were hopelessly bottled up.

Another way to test their theory is look at their on-field performances compared to last year. We all know they can play better than this, so yes, this is mostly a headspace issue..
This does not test your theory that it is "headspace". Continuing poor performance is after all equally consistent with poor coaching.

And? Look at what has been produced. It's horse shyte. Why can't some of the players follow instructions, and decide to half-chase and be lazy instead? Definitely not a direction from MM. What has our skills coach been doing for the past few years? Why are people laying it onto Mick but not our forward line and midfield coach?.

Well because MM is responsible for the forward line and midfield coach, not the other way round.

I don't see much motivation there, a lot of half-hearted attempts on the ball, lack of chasing, casual giggling chats between opposition players, etc. There is a lack of passion there at the moment, some players clearly need a boot up their arse. The onus is on them to perform, Mick can only do so much. Whether we have Ratten, Roos or Thompson, it'd be the same horse shyte. The players need to be more passionate, more angry... simply put, they have to want it more. If you don't have this quality, it doesn't matter who your coach is or how talented your players are... if they aren't giving 100% then they shouldn't be playing.

If the head coach still can't motivate the players after he has got rid of half the list at what stage did you blame the coach? You are aware of individual players in the past who have lacked motivation with one coach and gone on to be splendid under another one? Take Leigh Brown as just one (old MM) example.

I think mick isn't coaching to carltons strengths.
We are agreed on that,

They have a lot of short burst quicks so they should be playing a more stop start lead and mark style game instead they keep playing on which causes problems ie Their kicks become rushed and inaccurate also not giving enough time for the leader to burst into space consequently these pacey type players are forced into a contested mark against a taller player and they also end up burnt out as quick (yarran) types often have less continuous endurance.
Imo they should be using their pace to present good leads and provide good passes out in front and play a more strategic maintain possession with less running(soccer) style of footy. Mick should be working on their short passing skills not so many handballs and rushed kicks they don't have the contested marking ability or endurance.

Interesting post but I don't agree. First, I do not think we have particularly more "short burst" quicks than other clubs. Secondly, short kicks and stop-start does slow the game down. Unfortunately, it means that most sides will flood back to ensure there is no space for us to kick into. I actually think we have good endurance in our list, particularly with Curnow, Bell, Simpson, Everrit among others.

Can't believe most of you want micks head..

The problem isn't the coach, it is the players and years of failed recruiting.

Our elite player's plain and simple are crap(besides judd walker and Simpson), it is not the game plan.

Okay, simple question. What is the game plan?

That would be the style of play we were rarely successful with in Rattens last year and the one that worked so well against Port and GCS.

You see it your way and I'll see it mine.
Rattens game style was much, much more successful than what Mick has bought to Carlton.

I'm not sure how you could try and spin it otherwise.

Better than us. Brisbane were about to run over Collingwood.

And Garlett was BOG for Melbourne last week and was OK again yesterday. He's kicked more goals than any of our players.
And we gave Garlett up for pick 62 because he was a bad boy. Why is our culture so poor that we cannot rehabilitate, motivate and refocus these guys?

Rattens game style was much, much more successful than what Mick has bought to Carlton.

I'm not sure how you could try and spin it otherwise.
Ratten did a great job until best players were injured at key times in his final year. The more experienced MM has not improved anything since Ratten as the new players have potential but so did all our last 5 years of draft picks of players. Really hope MM can turn it around, but on actual results Ratts lifted the team up the ladder in his years of coaching and played exciting footy, whilst MM has not achieved that to date IMO.

Coaches copping heaps in just the first 2 weeks of the AFL season:

Malthouse...Buckley...Hardwick...Scott A...Scott B...Eade

Instant geniuses: Beveridge...Walsh :)

We know that the CFC won't be sitting on their hands in regards to Malthouse......be it right or wrong.
A simple thumbs down from Mathieson and it's all over for Mick.

I do wish that Mick would take up the director of coaching position at Carlton and oversee the coaches in general.
The old bastard still has plenty to offer but his game-day coaching days may well be numbered.

You serious? The bloke has far too big an ego to take a job like that. He's either the head honcho or nothing.

Tough call really. Ratts' final year we had soooo many injuries I wouldn't of thought any coach, past, present or future could've done any better. But we also must remember some of his decisions are why we have had to clean out our list over the past few years. I still believe moving forward, our first round picks should never be traded unless we are to receive something unvebelievable.

CARLTON is fighting its worst injury crisis in a decade as the club attempts to turn last week's win against the Western Bulldogs into a last-gasp run for the finals in the last six rounds.

A review of the club's injury toll this season has revealed the last time Carlton had as many players missing games due to injury was back in 2002 - when it finished with the wooden spoon under Wayne Brittain - and 65 per cent of their injuries this year had been ''collision'', rather than the soft-tissue problems plaguing other clubs such as Essendon.

Carlton has used the second-highest number of players this year (36) of any of the teams still in the hunt for finals - with only three players having played every game - and the extent of the club's injury woes was further underlined this week when key defender Lachie Henderson was ruled out for the rest of the season.

Henderson (groin) joins Jeremy Laidler (knee) and Shaun Hampson (knee) out for the year, and the Blues also have captain Chris Judd (suspended) and forward Andrew Walker (calf) unavailable to round 21, and wingman Kade Simpson (broken jaw) sidelined until round 20, while key forward Jarrad Waite (back) is still yet to resume in the VFL and it is unclear when he will play in the senior team again.

On top of that, ruckman Matthew Kreuzer (hip), midfielder Mitch Robinson (calf) and defender Zach Tuohy (back) still haven't been cleared to play in Saturday night's last-chance dance against Richmond at the MCG, a game the Blues must win to keep their fading September hopes alive.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...injury-crisis-in-a-decade-20120725-22qx4.html

Yeah, wonder why we were so poor in 2012. Ignorance is bliss huh?

And just for the record, Ratten still got us over the line in the Richmond game. Amazing stuff.

To me it feels like the players have too much power at the club. But that could be MMs fault ... if he cannot make them believe even though he has in the past with other teams then maybe its his fault.
What scares me is that we have recruited some really soft, selfish players and nothing will change until they are traded or retired.
Wouldn't this reflect on the players? Somehow the likes of Blair, Goldsack, Macaffer, Leigh Brown, Wellingham etc become premiership players at Collingwood. I suspect it is because they bought into what MM was selling. You have to question whether enough of our players are desperate for premiership success, or are there too many who are happy just to be AFL players.

Potential best 22 players include Laidler, Eddy, Jeff Garlett, Robbo, Lucas, Waite, ...

Hope the new boys will upgrade in time but big loss of experience there.
And how many of these players have been maligned by Carlton supporters?

When Waite was running around in the VFL last season, so many were complaining that he was even still on our list. I guess the other man's grass is always greener.

Better than us. Brisbane were about to run over Collingwood.

And Garlett was BOG for Melbourne last week and was OK again yesterday. He's kicked more goals than any of our players.
Garlett had 9 disposals, laid 1 tackle & kicked 1 goal yesterday. That sort of performance at Carlton had our supporters queueing up to kick his arse. You can't have it both ways.

Maybe, but I wouldn't expect Betts, Waite and Garlett to be "up and about" at the same time anyway. But two out of three have fired in rounds 1 and 2.

He spent the critical list review part of this first season on a book tour for his daughter's book. It was the period we supposedly threw everything at Cloke, only to be played. No Free Agency plan B. Didn't even pick up the phone to Goddard apparently. Remember, we thought we were contenders at this point.

Following year we still think we're contenders, and yet we spend 700K on a injury prone player from Collingwood rather than hanging onto our own small forward, the premier small forward in the competition for 600K.

Now while recruitment is generally the domain of the recruiters, MM has his fingerprints all over the above two decisions - together with Swann - and this counts against him significantly in the wash.

Waite was one of those players, who like Robbo, kept letting the club by years of thoughtless brain explosions on the field, giving away crucial free kicks at pivotal moments in games and being too undisciplined and getting cited/rubbed out by the MRP, on far too many occasions.

We were never going to win a flag with those two, and for the sake of our culture and kids, they had to go.

It's a bit of a recession this footy club had to have letting those two go, knowing Waite he'll probably get reported and suspended next week.

Mick's done the right thing by our footy club, getting rid of those unreliable types