mike sheehan picks dids at 43 in his top 50...

Come round 22 2010, I would've thought Presti would be a key cog if you are to have a successful year and should've been named in MS's top 50, even before Didak (Didak's very very good, but as far as team balance goes, Presti is extremely important).

Well spotted. Slightly OT but Garry Lyon said one of the smartest things on Footy Classified the other night... Presti is our most important player! Noticing the impact he had on Riewoldt during the first NAB match, it translates to the rest of the season - if Presti can stop the big name forwards, he's gone a long way to securing our position in the top 4.

What a joke, LeCras is the best small-forward in the game. I somewhat agree Davis could be in there, but saying he's better than LeCras is a freakin joke.

LeCras is a gun as a small forward agreed .... and better than Leon as a small forward it's a good arguement too (please don't bring up the finals series FFS :p ) .... BUT Leon has indeed developed over the years and with his improved fitness does actually give us quite a lot on the ball.
When he is running hot he changes games and not just kicking freakish goals.

If he was just a small forward he needs to kick more bags like LeCras sure.

LeCras is a gun as a small forward agreed .... and better than Leon as a small forward it's a good arguement too (please don't bring up the finals series FFS :p ) .... BUT Leon has indeed developed over the years and with his improved fitness does actually give us quite a lot on the ball.
When he is running hot he changes games and not just kicking freakish goals.

If he was just a small forward he needs to kick more bags like LeCras sure.

That, and the AA selectors still saw fit to select Davis in the team - AHEAD of LeCras.
And well, for all of his shortcomings in the 2009 finals series he still had a better finals series than LeCras ;)

Some of my favourite comments on herald sun website:

"Jolly ahead of Paddy Ryder ? Come on Mike. Geez the moment someone puts on black and white strips they become 15% a better player huh ? Ryder dominated last year and showed that he will be an elite player in years to come."

"Hope Bryce Gibbs apears in the rest of the list, finished in top 10 of the brownlow and great pre season. Eddie Betts also had an amazing pre season and defentily should of appeared" :D

"Mike, you really do hate Essendon don't you? How else would Ryder end up so far down the list...I suspect we'll be lucky to have one in the top 25..."

ok dids should be in the 30's minimum.

but what really angers me is how Swan is at bloody 32, i mean get serious mike, the man was voted by his peers last season as the 2nd best player in the AFL for last season and you have him 32nd on your list? only a few better than last season? how can this man get payed to do this? he says he judges some on preseason form, i can guarantee you one thing that is cyril rioli will have absolutely no impact this season what so ever. Just cause he doesnt look like a footballer doesnt mean he isnt one. He should be around the 10 mark.

Bookmarked. :eek:

Nah, yeah. Swan's a waddler; a few tatts but nothing else colourful about im. 'Might be winning the Age player of the year award unassailably, oh and also the Coaches' thingy about most important players. But he's just a robot without ye blonde hair.'

Dids on the other hand can do the definitive shimmy goal, next week do a 65m torp goal and then the third week create from extremis a pass for Thomas to goal from the square. Yep, total showpony. Why doesn't he play more like Swan? Why doesn't Swan play more like Didak?

Good circular non-sense. That's okay. Let's not look back and rather see what Mike does with next year's 50. It may hurt but those 2 may need to be supplemented with Pendles and O'Bree, but let's not press the point. It's the team, not Melbourne Mike that counts.

going to be interesting to see if he has swan at 1.. instead of 35..

alot of under achievers .. tippet and murphy to name a few. A few places for some more collingwood players.. harry and wellingham to be added for mine.

Some of my favourite comments on herald sun website:

"Jolly ahead of Paddy Ryder ? Come on Mike. Geez the moment someone puts on black and white strips they become 15% a better player huh ? Ryder dominated last year and showed that he will be an elite player in years to come."

"Hope Bryce Gibbs apears in the rest of the list, finished in top 10 of the brownlow and great pre season. Eddie Betts also had an amazing pre season and defentily should of appeared" :D

"Mike, you really do hate Essendon don't you? How else would Ryder end up so far down the list...I suspect we'll be lucky to have one in the top 25..."

geez mate. ^^^^^^^^^ outstanding post or disecting to idiots bias. All of Ryder, Gibbs and Betts should not be in it. OK maybe Ryder or Betts could sneak in, I don't watch alot of Carlton or Essendon these days, but that does seem like good judgement on your behalf.

outstanding post, and given what has happened your anger was completely and utterly vindicated.

I'd say Ablett will stay no.1

I never fully understand his end of year top 50's. I'm not sure if it's purely on the years form because he had Swan in the teens last year when he was clearly a top 10 player. I guess he just doesn't rate Swan that highly. The injuries to Brown, Riewoldt and Scarlett will leave him with no excuses not to have Swan in the top 5 this year though.

If Judd is picked ahead of Swan I'd be very surprised
Swan is certainly ahead of Judd this season. FWIW from an unbiased outsiders perspective the top 5 would be:

1.Ablett
2.Swan (amazing improvement this year)
3.Hodge
4.Sellwood
5.Judd

Didak is better than 43. He's probably a 20-25 type player but he still does have a tendency to be inconsistent.

Swan is certainly ahead of Judd this season. FWIW from an unbiased outsiders perspective the top 5 would be:

1.Ablett
3.Hodge
4.Sellwood
5.Judd

Didak is better than 43. He's probably a 20-25 type player but he still does have a tendency to be inconsistent.
o_O

20 to 25

your not serious are you?

Boys i think this guy really is serious...

1.Ablett
3.Hodge
4.Sellwood
5.Judd

How can you possibly have Judd in the top 5 on performance this year?

He has been mediocre at best, and shouldn't make AA squad... He is getting around on reputation.

There are at least 9 midfielder's who are playing better footy than him at the moment.

Ablett, Swan, Pendlebury, Cooney, Sellwood, Hodge when he is in there, Hayes, Joey Montagna, and Bartell...

and their are many other who are playing better arguably that aren't up there.

Even Wellingham gave judd a touch up when he played on him, and I wouldn't put wellingham in the top 50... What a joke to have Judd in the top 5.

o_O

20 to 25

your not serious are you?

Boys i think this guy really is serious...
Mate its only an opinion but for the sake of the argument if you reckon Didak is in the top 15 which of the following would you put him in front of:
1.Ablett
2.Swan
3.Hodge
4.Sellwood
5.Judd
6.Franklin
7.Brown
8.Sandilands
9.Riewoldt
10.Scarlett
11.Goddard
12.Pavlich
13.Steve Johnson
14.Chapman
15.Goodes

I dont think he could reasonably be rated higher than any of those guys and thats no slight at all. In fact, from Collingwood's list I reckon Pendlebury is higher on the top 50 than Didak, his improvement this year has been phenomenal.

1.Ablett
3.Hodge
4.Sellwood
5.Judd

i reckon HE will have Swan at 4

Mate its only an opinion but for the sake of the argument if you reckon Didak is in the top 15 which of the following would you put him in front of:
1.Ablett
2.Swan
3.Hodge
4.Sellwood
5.Judd
6.Franklin
7.Brown

8.Sandilands
9.Riewoldt
10.Scarlett

11.Goddard
12.Pavlich
13.Steve Johnson
14.Chapman
15.Goodes

I dont think he could reasonably be rated higher than any of those guys and thats no slight at all. In fact, from Collingwood's list I reckon Pendlebury is higher on the top 50 than Didak, his improvement this year has been phenomenal.

Based on 2010, all highlighted players

mike sheehan picks dids at 43 in his top 50...