Mike Sheehan - Scully Gone for sure

And what about the method in which he was drafted?

Is that taken into account? Just sayin....
So what?
1st overall, take away the compensation pick, and they still have Scully
Trengove is the prize from tanking, not Scully.

Did the VFL zones make much more sense? Brereton was zone pick for the Hawks, out of Frankston. Not sure what that's all about.

It may have been called a zone pick, but was probably more intended as a concession.

He was playing footy in SA, and had stated his intention of playing in the big league in Melbourne.

Brisbane were gifted a champ for a year, he came in and finished runner up in their BnF, and put some people off-side with his dedication and preparation. And then in the end Brisbane were rewarded with some very good compensation for a bloke they should never have got in the first place.

Buckley was actually signed with North post Brisbane but then Collingwood offered more money and the AFL bent over for their sooking.

Well at least on par anyway.

Carlton were clearly trying to lose in that R22 match that year, but I didn't get the same impression of a sustained campaign of deliberately losing as I got from the Melbourne coaching panel in the 2nd half of their tankathon year.

You have a short memory then

Just like it was good for the game that Collingwood was able to poach Buckley from Brisbane? Or Rocca from Sydney? Or North getting Grant from Sydney. There's a long list of players being drafted by interstate clubs then returning home to Victoria, or being lured by the cash they offer. Who says it can't work the other way?

I'm a born and bred Victorian, but the game doesn't belong to us. I think national development is good for the game, and players have every right to pursue their careers with these new clubs.

First year following the footy mate?

When Brisbane, Sydney, GWS, Gold Coast all have the same salary caps as everyone else, no prelisting concessions, no zoned rookie concessions etc then we'll debate the merits of the LOWER salary capped Vic sides 'poaching' these players.

Collingwood traded for Buckley. ie - they gave something up. Didn't just poach him the way Sydney were able to do in the 90s with players like Maxfield.

Ha, the Rocca trade failed by the dealine and the AFL allowed it past the deadline just so Sydney didn't lose their out of contract player for nothing. Miss that bit did you?

As for Shannon Grant, we (North) gave up friggin Wayne Schwass! The bloke was a premiership vice captain, dual B&F winner ahead of guys like Wayne Carey, Glenn Archer and Anthony Stevens and won a B&F for the Swans. Sorry, poaching?!

Check your facts next time.

So Mike Sheehan, Eddie Mcguire, Robert Walls and David King have all said that Scully is going to GWS.
We seem to have a consensus emerging.

When Brisbane, Sydney, GWS, Gold Coast all have the same salary caps as everyone else, no prelisting concessions, no zoned rookie concessions etc then we'll debate the merits of the LOWER salary capped Vic sides 'poaching' these players.

Miss the VFL?

I hope there is a day when clubs don't need to survive on concessions, zone recruits, competitive balance funds etc... But logically, if footy is going to maintain it's status as the number one code in Australia it needs to develop beyond the traditional market in the southern states.

I'm guessing Shannon Grant didn't come to North solely for the money. This isn't a dig but I'd wager that Sydney were able to offer more than North? He wanted to come home. Given the relatively small pools of local talent for these new clubs (especially GWS), this is a point of attraction they don't have to entice players from other clubs.

As for Shannon Grant, we (North) gave up friggin Wayne Schwass! The bloke was a premiership vice captain, dual B&F winner ahead of guys like Wayne Carey, Glenn Archer and Anthony Stevens and won a B&F for the Swans. Sorry, poaching?!

Check your facts next time.

Both gun players, at different ends of their careers. Refresh my memory. How many of Grant's 300 games were played at North? And how many did Schwass play at Sydney?

I think you may be a little hung up on the term "poaching". Perhaps I've used the wrong one there.

My point is that the expansion teams don't necessarily get an armchair ride on account of concessions. The figures may be distorted by Brisbane's success. But it took Sydney thirty odd years to win one flag! Plenty of clubs from the southern states have tasted success in the meantime.

I'll say it again. I just don't think it has to be bad for the game if a player wants to leave a Melbourne club for an expansion club. I would have loved to see Campbell Brown play out his days at Hawthorn, as I know most (all?) Cats fans are sorry to see Ablett leave. That's the rub of the green.

But shit, Geelong did alright with the father/son pickups didn't they? There's a concession that clubs like GWS and GC don't have. It's not all one way traffic.

And this matters how? The point is that he was picked up by a club that couldn't retain his services as he wanted to play his footy in Melbourne. As did Jeff White and Shannon Grant. All I am highlighting is the difficulties the expansion clubs have in retaining players, usually on account of the "go home factor".
Point being, Brisbane didn't give up anything to get Buckley....and basically should never have got him. There was no go home factor with Buckley either.

Different to Sydney using pick #2 in the draft on A.Rocca, who then wanted to go back home.

As I mentioned earlier, I'm not of the opinion that the Melbourne clubs have any right to feel aggrieved over the loss of a player moving to a startup club. Swings and roundabouts.
As other's have mentioned, plenty of player's have left to go and play for Sydney...look at the names - T.Lockett, B.Hall, P.Williams, A.Schauble, S.Maxfield....

Plenty of big names have moved to Sydney recently.

If Scully goes, stiff sh1t. The same as if D.Swan leaves.....it is their own personal choice.

PS for the sake of the game, I hope he stays!

Ditto.

This in not about a hope for a team to lose their premium players but rather for the right thing to occur.
I'd hate for Carlton to lose Yarran for instance, after putting 2 years of hard work into him, and just when you're set to realise the fruit of your harvest he is snatched away.

I hope you're wrong Mike.

2-3 years ago Daniel Kerr was "100% definately" going to a Victorian club. A lot of stuff will happen before this is resolved, for the love of god can the season just start already??

Also, wasn't there a ruling saying if an uncontracted player was taken within 4 years of being drafted the compensation would be the same draft pick?

Pick #1 means nothing in the scheme of things once you are already in the AFL system.

"Half a career" or not, Gary Ablett left Geelong as arguably the best player in the comp.

If Scully is to leave Melbourne, the Dees will be compensated accordingly as to what Scully's output has been thus far. "Potential" and "length of career" have nothing to do with it.

Of course it does, age draft position and the $ he'll get from GWS will count, he'll be band 1 even if he has a s**t season, still not enough compo though

Point being, Brisbane didn't give up anything to get Buckley....and basically should never have got him. There was no go home factor with Buckley either.

Different to Sydney using pick #2 in the draft on A.Rocca, who then wanted to go back home.

As other's have mentioned, plenty of player's have left to go and play for Sydney...look at the names - T.Lockett, B.Hall, P.Williams, A.Schauble, S.Maxfield....

Plenty of big names have moved to Sydney recently.

If Scully goes, stiff sh1t. The same as if D.Swan leaves.....it is their own personal choice.

Agree with pretty much all that. Not sure if I'd give Schauble big name status though...

And I realise Buckley wasn't a "go home" scenario. Though I do recall him wanting to come to Victoria for it's football tradition/history, something that Brisbane couldn't offer.

And the Scully case (if he goes) is the first case I can think of where a recent top draft pick (yet to establish himself among the elite, but looks the goods) from a Footballing state wants to leave for a an expansion club.

I am actually HOPING that a GC Suns player is taken by the GWS in their second year they can take uncontracted players. I would LOVE for a Day/Bennel/Toy/Prestia after x2 seasons, both so they know how it feels and to hear the whinging of how unfair the GWS set-up concessions are :D:thumbsu:

He is gone just like Ablett was gone this time last year. I will put my reputation as the oracle on it.

Scully will end up @ the Tigers & Martin will end up @ GWS
a deal that will involve up to 6 clubs to make this happen.

If you were to factually summarise every thread on Tom Scully so far this year, it would read:

- Tom Scully might be going to GWS.

No one has a clue, it might happen and we're bracing for it. People's reasoning that we will get compensated poorly because he's not yet one of the best players in the competition is 100% inaccurate. Read the compensation guidelines again.

IIRC the AFL colluded with Collingwood to declare the forms North had got Buckley to sign invalid and then issued a new colour of form for the mercenary bastard to sign.

That said, he won no flags at Collingwood while we won two. HAHAHA.

So basically every team Buckley leaves wins 2 premierships, would've been funny if he signed on as a head coach at another team instead of Collingwood, the trend would've continued

its really simple actually. Players dont negotiate their own contracts. Their management do. So to use the line "I just want to concentrate on my footy and worry about it at the end of the year" is total crap. All they need to do is agree on a minimum price and length of contract with their management, and then let him (manager) earn his money. Now in Scully's case, unless the figure and duration they agree upon is a ridiculous claim they KNOW Melbourne couldnt match, that contract would be inked by the weekend, given how desperate Melbourne are to sign him.

So the reality of this situation is that Scully doesn't want to sign to Melbourne, but obviously can't come out and say that. He will "do an Ablett" and crap on about ideally wanting to be a one team player, but needs to think about everything.... Then a day after the season ends, he will come out an say that he "isn't moving for the money so much as the challenge of fronting a footy club in a new city. Building something. blah blah blah" Meanwhile, he will overnight become a 19 year old multimillionaire.

I'd actually respect him a whole lot more if he came out and said. "They are offering me a shitload of money and I doubt ANYONE would knock this coin back. Come October 1, I'm buying a flannel shirt, a pack of winnie blues and moving to Western Sydney.

If he came out and said he's playing for GWS next year, how many games do you think his coach would let him play this season? Very few I'd imagine.

Scully is looking after his best interests and frankly I cant blame him for doing so.

I always thought Scully would end up at with Tigers. Wouldn't be suprised if he did a stint with GWS then left for Richmond.

I think Melbourne will struggle with salary cap issues soon with a lot of good players and free agency coming up. So if we don't lose Scully it will be someone else anyway. Part of footy really, it's sucks but you get over it.

Plus don't forget Viney. I still think Melbourne can win a flag without Scully.

Mike Sheehan - Scully Gone for sure