Mike Sheehan - Scully Gone for sure

As for Shannon Grant, we (North) gave up friggin Wayne Schwass! The bloke was a premiership vice captain, dual B&F winner ahead of guys like Wayne Carey, Glenn Archer and Anthony Stevens and won a B&F for the Swans. Sorry, poaching?!

Check your facts next time.

this is a joke right?

20 year old Shannon grant, who played 220+ games for North
vs
29 year old wayne schwass who played 98 games for Sydney

you'd do that trade everytime, Sydney wouldn't.

cough cough ahem, oh wise one
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/88891/default.aspx

extended it by a year, why a year?? GWS ba-byyyyy

reading through quickly There are references to Scully and where he stands.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=668920

My points regarding Melbournes attitude is quite a fair one........ Whelen, wheatley, bruce (the last 2 in particular were still servicable).....but melbourne decided to see what was over on the other side of the hill (future stars of the game) you guys cant cry poor if Scully is offered big dollars and takes it surely.

What have you done for him that any other club at present wouldnt have done?
My point still stands if scully was your kid what would be your advice for him.

Better still., play this scenario out:- you take over Twicky Nixons job vacated recently and scully is your client. What would you advise him to do ?

Then I ask you this one, say and I mean just say scully is your client and he was had been been drafted to Collingwood......... and scully is offered the same deal what would be your advice.

Suffice to say not many aspiring footy players out there wanting to grow up and play for melbourne is there .....they want to play in premierships and or make loads of money. Simple as it is but thats the truth.

You do realise Jack Trengove is still able to be targeted by GWS as they have a two year window to sign out of contract players. Kind of puts your theory to rest, doesn't it ba-babyyyy. Flog

The club made the right decision on Wheatley. Provide me any evidence to the contrary.

Bruce was offered a one year deal. I fail to see how we kicked him out.

I do agree however that the MFC was incredibly naive to get rid of James McDonald. This pre-season we were smashed in contested ball due to the absence of Jordie McKenize. I wonder what veteran would have helped in that case.

I doubt very much if you'd know what Sydney would or wouldn't do.

At the time The Swans were still a genuine flag threat and Schwass was an 'A' Grade gun of the comp. He kept them in the hunt and I reckon if you asked Eade if he'd still do that trade today, it would be "yeah" every time.

Grant, whilst being a good young player at the time, was nowhere near a guy like Schwass at that stage of his career.

4 years, 100 odd games, a B&F and an All Australian didn't exactly see Sydney getting a dud deal like you imply matey.

even though melbourne tanked to get him?
surely you could argue its very fair?

as it is, I only care about the players right to choose. if the native club treats players well, pays them well, builds future etc etc. then a guy is going to stay.

if the market says leave, I think any player should leave

Yeah but Carlton tanked against us in '07 costing us a priority pick in '08 which we deserved for being so s**t over 3 years, so really we just got what we deserved in the end.

Thats ok take a shot at us working class one thing people with half a brain can state that Collingwood is a proud club, Nth Melbourne......proud club, but Melbourne FC ?? loser mentality since Ive been on this planet ........Im referring to stickmans bogan bogan bogan call that all collingwood supporter have no teeth and are bogans...... but how many premierships you witnessed in your lifetime?? fantastic value for your dollar I would say...... hold onto that dream.

Guessing I missed something....

At the end of the day, if Scully leaves it will be because he will be getting an over-priced pay packet to pay in a shit part of a shit city. That leaves Melbourne with a nice, gapping hole in its salary cap, just as free agency races around the corner.

this is a joke right?

vs

In hindsight of course, with hindsight a lot of trades look shitty, like Crows getting Carey which ended up netting Wells after Carlton got caught with their hand in the cookie jar.

Schwass was still a fantastic player who played on for 5 years and played some of his best footy between 98 and 01. Grant might have not have kicked off, could have had a crippling injury. There is always that unknown element.

At the end of the day, if Scully leaves it will be because he will be getting an over-priced pay packet to pay in a shit part of a shit city. That leaves Melbourne with a nice, gapping hole in its salary cap, just as free agency races around the corner.

Whats this gaping hole you speak of?
Scully will be on a very low salary at the moment...
He signed an original 2 year contract that are offered to all first round draftee's.
He would be on 200K at most including match payments...
Sorry to burst your bubble...

He signed an original 2 year contract that are offered to all first round draftee's.

Sorry to burst your bubble, but football clubs plan ahead.

Cabarita is actually quite nice. I'm actually curious, everyone bagging West Sydney, have you actually been there? Blacktown and most of the surrounding areas aren't the car rusting on the front lawn, doors kicked in, run down shitholes everyone seems to believe. The area is just insanely suburban.

Hey whelen maybe your nick should be edited for fact.....Whelen=legend (but got shafted nearing the end of his career along with Wheatley)

Both had too many injuries they couldn't overcome. I forgot the part where they got redrafted by another club.......they didn't. Their time was up.

maybe that had something do to with my earlier post ( general perception of MFC losing mentality ) we can change this? (higharchy of the clubitself behind closed doors)............. yes we can by axing 1-2 great serving clubmen to make way for these up and coming "guns" of the future...........fast forward 12 mths later testing waters of the general feeling of us now......nope still have that losing mentality, hmmmmm I say we axe another long serving clubman Cam Bruce , he'll do(says one top official from that powerhouse of a club)

Bruce wasn't axed, he was offered a 1 year deal, he wanted 2

He knew this policy before trade period, he knew the clubs position, why didn't he at least approach Melbourne to say he wanted out to allow them to trade?

Seriously though face the facts club loyalty is gone.......theres nothing stopping powerful clubs poaching these players and as a member of what most people perceive us as a small less powerful club Im well aware of this......... I for one are happy that everyone in the media is talking up your young list as best in the league.......when we know ours is arguably better. Zeibell, anthony,cunnington, bastinac, atley, tarrant and co (the lists does go longer) but if we can juggle our finances and hold them.

So are they better? or Arguably better?

Jack Trengove put pen to paper last year I bet you were all talking that get scullys asap........but no he didnt. He didnt grow up supporting MFC as a kid he got drafted as your number 1 choice but that doesnt make him bound to your side til he retires. Yes he COULD be a huge part in something special with your mob.......whats on offer with him at the moment numbers wise from GWS 5yr contract @ 900k a yr?? whatever...gets his big his payout now........ all this by the age of 24-25,then says to his manager to target him and get him a gig with a club when he will be in his prime that they both feel are in the premiership window in the approaching yrs. ( it may actually be Melbourne !!)
Be honest take your obvious emotion out of the equation If Scully was your son and you were asked what to do you would be offering all types of scenarios and the one Ive mentioned here could be the one he takes..

Trenners inital contract was 3 years, he didn't sign a 2 year deal then 1 year extension

People seem to forget Scully will be well compensated no matter where he plays. They seem to act as though the reported figures being thrown around by GWS are his one big chance at a contract.

can't you read Riggy?

its not clear who they'd have picked, they made it clear that they thought Scully would handle being #1 a little better, so they went with him because they had the choice.

They would've gone with Scully

He was obviously talking about his earn in the next contract or so, not current contract

In 2015 for example when all of our younger players are maturing, squeezing Scully, Trengove, Watts, Viney etc. will be difficult

that was his point (presume)

You will have Cap space...but that will not be because Scully is leaving...
You paid 100% of the cap last year by heavily front ending a lot of contracts to create space later...
Smart move on behalf of the Dee's...But Scully's contract will not effect that, because he is still on his initial AFL standard playing contract for a top 10 pick.
Realistically..Scully's second deal would be around the vacinity of 300k a season maybe over 3 years if he was staying at Melbourne..
But with GWS offering him most likely double that if not more over 5-6 years...you never stood a chance of retaining him.

You will have Cap space...but that will not be because Scully is leaving...
You paid 100% of the cap last year by heavily front ending a lot of contracts to create space later...
Smart move on behalf of the Dee's...But Scully's contract will not effect that, because he is still on his initial AFL standard playing contract for a top 10 pick.
Realistically..Scully's second deal would be around the vacinity of 300k a season maybe over 3 years if he was staying at Melbourne..
But with GWS offering him most likely double that if not more over 5-6 years...you never stood a chance of retaining him.

Close, but no cigar.

Melbourne have made room to pay him about $500k and they're also in the process of arranging a 3rd party agreement to further boost his salary.

The reality is that GWS will have to at least double his salary to get him and they have to give him a long term contract ie 5 years. This means they have to offer him abour $1.2m per year which will put him in the top 5 earners in the league.

If GWS go down that track then they're taking a huge risk of tying up a large % of their cap on who is effectively a first year player.

It's Scully's choice, no one knows what he's going to do, whether we 'stand a chance of retaining him' is purely guess work.

this is a joke right?

vs

The point is it was still a trade, its not like North got him for nothing, or that the AFL had to compensate Sydney.

Close, but no cigar.

Melbourne have made room to pay him about $500k and they're also in the process of arranging a 3rd party agreement to further boost his salary.

The reality is that GWS will have to at least double his salary to get him and they have to give him a long term contract ie 5 years. This means they have to offer him abour $1.2m per year which will put him in the top 5 earners in the league.

If GWS go down that track then they're taking a huge risk of tying up a large % of their cap on who is effectively a first year player.

It's Scully's choice, no one knows what he's going to do, whether we 'stand a chance of retaining him' is purely guess work.

Why on earth would Melbourne commit to paying Scully 500k per season as a 3rd year player? You would be shooting yourself in the foot by doing that...
Consider this...
He signs a 3 year deal on 500K per season for the Dee's..
In 3 years time when he is closing in on 100 games...maybe captain material...maybe AA and probably Melbourne playing finals...how much is his next contract going to be worth??along with all of your other young up and coming players...
By over valuing his services now you will rip your team apart with salary cap pressure later on down the track..
You honestly think that if you pay him that...that when Trengove comes out of contract at the end of 2012 that he will not want the same coin?
Your argument does not stand up to the reality of modern day football...

The problem the Demons and every other AFL team barring Gold Coast face is that these new expansion teams get an extra million in the cap - in fact i think GWS is more than that..Plus they can pay marquee signings outside the cap (see Hunt and Falou). On top of that they are able to offer larger 3rd party agreements attributed to gaining and building brand reccognition.

Four flags since you last won one, never have shamefully tanked like you did etc.

Silly comment. North haven't been in a position to tank. Melbourne tanked due to the overwhelming benefits involved, i.e. picks 1 and 2, or at worst picks 1 and 3.

When have North been in that situation ?

Oh, I know, North wouldn't have even if they did find themselves offered those gems. Yeah, right.

12 >> 4 :thumbsu:

Mike Sheehan - Scully Gone for sure