Mike Sheehan - Scully Gone for sure

my previous comments ties in with Sculley leaving.......if he does or doesn't I don't give a rats ring......But there is a laughable consensus amongst most melbourne fans that cause he's a number 1 pick he is bound at demonland for life. Yes youve given him a run in the seniors and he's a ripper of a player but if he's heart isn't there,then it isn't there he moves on. Done, end of discussion maybe when intervuing Scully prior to drafting him they should have asked him how does he feel playing his whole career with melbourne.

Guessing I missed something....

poor old pissy club of the AFL (not my feelings obviously) this is the media's wash up and presentation of the side..... often tipped to win the wooden spoon(2007) only to play in the prelim ...... seem often to give great value for their members loyal enough to be members. thats my opinion of proud.......... you wouldnt describe us as stagnant would you......
but you could honestly say melbourne are;)

I understand your point... and it makes sense.

However, it is pretty unfair. In this case IMO the compensation should take into account potential.

I mean, GWS are after Scully based on his potential, not current output. So the deal should reflect that going the other way, and Melbourne should be compensated on his potential.

I know thats incredibly simplistic, but I think its completely unfair that one club can recruit on potential and the other club be compensated on output, when ATM they have very different currency.

Super post that. Couldn't agree more mate :thumbsu:

Why on earth would Melbourne commit to paying Scully 500k per season as a 3rd year player? You would be shooting yourself in the foot by doing that...
Consider this...
He signs a 3 year deal on 500K per season for the Dee's..
In 3 years time when he is closing in on 100 games...maybe captain material...maybe AA and probably Melbourne playing finals...how much is his next contract going to be worth??along with all of your other young up and coming players...
By over valuing his services now you will rip your team apart with salary cap pressure later on down the track..
You honestly think that if you pay him that...that when Trengove comes out of contract at the end of 2012 that he will not want the same coin?
Your argument does not stand up to the reality of modern day football...

The problem the Demons and every other AFL team barring Gold Coast face is that these new expansion teams get an extra million in the cap - in fact i think GWS is more than that..Plus they can pay marquee signings outside the cap (see Hunt and Falou). On top of that they are able to offer larger 3rd party agreements attributed to gaining and building brand reccognition.

Balancing the salary cap is a problem that every club faces, this isn't anything new. IF GWS sign Scully on $1m a year for 5 years then they are crippling themselves in the future. They only get extra in their salary cap for the first couple of seasons, BUT they also have more players on their list, so this advantage is partly off set anyway.

Your argument against Melbourne is also the same for GWS after their first couple of seasons. You can't have it both ways. Of course MElbourne are going to have to work hard if we are to keep him and no, it's not certain that he will stay. The decision lies with Scully, if he feels it's in the best interest for his career then he will stay. If not, then the club will try to get the best out of the situation and then move on.

As a side note, Hannabal's connections are valid, I'm not going to say who they are because it's not my place to say, but I would believe him over 99.9% of the rest of BF.

Sydney recently re-signed Hannebery for $500k per year. I suggest that Scully wouldn't get less.

Don't ask me how I know.

I find this highly doubtful. The average AFL players salary is 250k. Hannebery getting double that puts him in the top 5% of AFL earners, I don't find that to be realistic at all.

edit: Look at this list at the 500k players and tell me how misplaced Hannebery looks alongside them.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/the-afls-highest-paid-players/story-e6frf9jf-1111119166049

I find this highly doubtful. The average AFL players salary is 250k. Hannebery getting double that puts him in the top 5% of AFL earners, I don't find that to be realistic at all.

edit: Look at this list at the 500k players and tell me how misplaced Hannebery looks alongside them.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/the-afls-highest-paid-players/story-e6frf9jf-1111119166049

How realistic is it that the figures been discussed puts Scully in the top 2 earners? Hannerby had a better season last year as well.

How realistic is it that the figures been discussed puts Scully in the top 2 earners?

More likely than Hannebery getting 500k a year, that's for sure. GWS can offer players a disproportionate amount of money to lure them over. There are currently 29 players out of the 600+ in the AFL who earn 500k a year or more. Those 29 players include the likes of Dane Swan, Luke Hodge, Adam Goodes, Lance Franklin, Chris Judd, Gary Ablett and so on. To say that Hannebery sits alongside them is ludicrous.

The amount clubs have to spend on players is gretly exaggerated. 500k+ is reserved for proven superstars, not young talent. And that might be exactly why Scully makes the move, because GWS can afford to spend far more than that.

More likely than Hannebery getting 500k a year, that's for sure. GWS can offer players a disproportionate amount of money to lure them over. There are currently 29 players out of the 600+ in the AFL who earn 500k a year or more. Those 29 players include the likes of Dane Swan, Luke Hodge, Adam Goodes, Lance Franklin, Chris Judd, Gary Ablett and so on. To say that Hannebery sits alongside them is ludicrous.

The amount clubs have to spend on players is gretly exaggerated. 500k+ is reserved for proven superstars, not young talent. And that might be exactly why Scully makes the move, because GWS can afford to spend far more than that.

In the short term, perhaps, but to lure a top liner they'll need to pay way over the odds over a long period of time. They only have extra room in their cap for a couple of years. To get someone like Scully or Pendlebury they'll need to offer a 4 or 5 year deal, they also have more players on their list eating up more cash, and then they'll have to manage their future cap when all of their first round picks come out of their first contract in a couple of years time. It's not going to be as easy as a lot of people think.

How many elite players coming into their prime were GCS able to poach?

The talk of GWS securing One of the Collingwood players, Murphy, Scully and Bartel all on top dollar are fanciful, it would absolutely cripple their salary cap for the next 5 years.

Hannebery has luck on his side. He is a very good young player who happens to perform just at the right time, and to say that Scully sits way above those players you mentioned at this stage of his career is even more ludicrous

In the short term, perhaps, but to lure a top liner they'll need to pay way over the odds over a long period of time. They only have extra room in their cap for a couple of years. To get someone like Scully or Pendlebury they'll need to offer a 4 or 5 year deal, they also have more players on their list eating up more cash, and then they'll have to manage their future cap when all of their first round picks come out of their first contract in a couple of years time. It's not going to be as easy as a lot of people think.

I think you're missing the point that GWS will very heavily front-load the contracts of these players because they will have massive room in their salary cap in the first 2-3 years. They'll sell it to the players as a sign-on bonus and their salary in later years of their first contract will be more aligned with market values.

GWS will have over $5.5M to spend on uncontracted players per year in the first 2 years. They could offer Scully the mooted 6 year $6M deal, pay him $1.5M/year in the first 2 years, still have plenty left over to pay Swan a similar amount and then pay them the remaining $3M over 4 years at $750K/year which by then Scully will be worth and Swan will be retiring.

If it comes down to money GWS will easily win - MFC has to sell other aspects.

I think you're missing the point that GWS will very heavily front-load the contracts of these players because they will have massive room in their salary cap in the first 2-3 years. They'll sell it to the players as a sign-on bonus and their salary in later years of their first contract will be more aligned with market values.

GWS will have over $5.5M to spend on uncontracted players per year in the first 2 years. They could offer Scully the mooted 6 year $6M deal, pay him $1.5M/year in the first 2 years, still have plenty left over to pay Swan a similar amount and then pay them the remaining $3M over 4 years at $750K/year which by then Scully will be worth and Swan will be retiring.

If it comes down to money GWS will easily win - MFC has to sell other aspects.

Yes, I am aware of all that

I think national development is good for the game, and players have every right to pursue their careers with these new clubs.

Absolutely. The fuss over Scully is disproprtionately over the top.

Every team could possibly lose one of its good or even great players. There seems to be far greater anger about Melbourne potentially losing a second year player then about Collingwood possbly losing the 2010 AFL MVP or the Norm Smith medallist or even about Geelong losing Ablett last year. Melbourne dont have any greater rights simply because Scully is young or because they are a team in development. Nor should they. For what its worth Pendlebury and Thomas are probably only 3-4 years older than Scully anyway. And Collingwood's list is also young and in development.

These things will happen. Nothing you can do about it but move on when the day comes. Certainly abusing media people for reporting what they have heard isnt very productive.

Absolutely. The fuss over Scully is disproprtionately over the top.

Every team could possibly lose one of its good or even great players. There seems to be far greater anger about Melbourne potentially losing a second year player then about Collingwood possbly losing the 2010 AFL MVP or the Norm Smith medallist or even about Geelong losing Ablett last year. Melbourne dont have any greater rights simply because Scully is young or because they are a team in development. Nor should they. For what its worth Pendlebury and Thomas are probably only 3-4 years older than Scully anyway. And Collingwood's list is also young and in development.

These things will happen. Nothing you can do about it but move on when the day comes. Certainly abusing media people for reporting what they have heard isnt very productive.

Agree with this.
Good recruiting can mean the temporary pain is lessened.
If Rhys goes, I'd say it wouldn't dent us for long, the pick would give us a good young kid, and the way our recruiters have been going lately, you'd have to say we'd do alright

Yes, I am aware of all that

That's not what you posted.

IF GWS sign Scully on $1m a year for 5 years then they are crippling themselves in the future.

In the short term, perhaps, but to lure a top liner they'll need to pay way over the odds over a long period of time.

Yes GWS may have salary cap problems in future because they have lots of stars but it won't be because they are over-paying uncontracted players - they can pre-pay them

That's not what you posted.

Yes GWS may have salary cap problems in future because they have lots of stars but it won't be because they are over-paying uncontracted players - they can pre-pay them

I am aware of what GWs are able to offer existing players, but if you think that a player like Bartel, Scully, Thomas, Pendlebury or Murphy will be happy with a one off great year and then go back to current market value in two years time then you're off your rocker.

How many elite young players were GCS able to secure from other clubs?

None because they spent money on an elite player in his late 20's instead. Personally I think Harbrow has a lot of potential to put him in the elite category, but thats mere speculation.

Kudos to GWS for seemingly looking for elite players under 25. Theres no reason why they should follow the Suns pattern.

Oh dear... Why are you blokes wasting your time arguing with a 12 year old. Honestly, its not even close to being a typo.

bugger Andy 22 ya got me...........all previous comments do not have credence. Im guilty of a typographic error.
Damn, I knew I shooda duble checked and hit the speeling buton.

You tool or is it tule?? tule is spelt like mule yeah?? you ass.

I am aware of what GWs are able to offer existing players, but if you think that a player like Bartel, Scully, Thomas, Pendlebury or Murphy will be happy with a one off great year and then go back to current market value in two years time then you're off your rocker.

Try reading my post - they'll have $5.5M/year in the first two years to spend on uncontracted players. They could spend $1.5M/year each on 2 elite players for 2 years and still have $2.5M left to spend on other uncontracted players like Harbrow in those years. I reckon they'd be rapt if they signed 2 players from your list.

Mike Sheehan - Scully Gone for sure