Millewa Football League 2006 - end of 2008

Re: Millewa Football League

I just read that Jayson Butcher and Simon Kelly will be joint interleague coaches for 2007.

A couple of questions..... What size squad is chosen initially......what have been the scores for the last 2 games........does it get much support from the players........who hosts it this year?

From Memory I think the home team has won the games in the past two years as the team that travels treats it like an end of season trip.

Many players would rather have the week off, some of the younger ones are usually keen. A lot of the time blokes who are not good enough to get a game on merit will get one by default (as the better/older players would rather rest their body).

Game should be at broken hill this year, so would be a good weekend for you if you don't mind a footy trip mid season. MFL will get a flogging

i see menschy went to irymple and has applied to come back to the pies already. what happened there?

and the pies also have a few newbies late - young thommo and a couple of others. are they handy?

i see menschy went to irymple and has applied to come back to the pies already. what happened there?

and the pies also have a few newbies late - young thommo and a couple of others. are they handy?
Yeah young thommo played at merbein in the juniors and filled in for the twos afterwards. Is getting better every year as his body fills out. Speaking to a few of the guys out that way Werrimul is shaping up well this year. Should have the desire and talent to really push any side this year.

From contacts at Irymple.... a wealth of young guys and more arriving each week. However I reckon his experience would of come in very handy.
The swallows could finish the season with a very good ressies side.

Yeah young thommo played at merbein in the juniors and filled in for the twos afterwards. Is getting better every year as his body fills out. Speaking to a few of the guys out that way Werrimul is shaping up well this year. Should have the desire and talent to really push any side this year.

Wells was it last year that he played for Merbein or a while ago? If so what's he been up to in between and what position does he play?

I was actually not here last year so it could have been the year before. He used to play up forward and in a side that only kicked 15 or so for the year he would have had 10 or 12. Not sure if he played last year or not, his younger brother is still there in the under 18s

no disrepect to the young fella heading out to werrimull this year, but younger brother adam is going to be a pretty damn good footballer i would think, going on what i saw of him four years back as a little tacker.

The interleague team was chosen by the coaches of all Millewa Clubs last Monday night & if all the players chosen train & put their hand up to play, we will have a pretty good side & give ourselves a good chance of beating Broken Hill. Last year we lost by about 10 points with a well understrength side & the year before we were well beaten by approx 10 goals up there at Broken Hill, without a lot of the better players in the league.

Looks like Bambill will have a few in the team, which is good to see them supporting interleague in the Millewa. After seeing them up close on the weekend they will be hard to beat this year.

no disrepect to the young fella heading out to werrimull this year, but younger brother adam is going to be a pretty damn good footballer i would think, going on what i saw of him four years back as a little tacker.

Don't recon young Adam will play a lot of Footy! Recon he'll follow the cricket path Disco! Is an awesome cricketer.

He will certainly follow the cricket pathway system & would not be surprised if he ends up a premier league club (Melbourne) in a couple of seasons. I have played the last couple of seasons with him & he is a top young kid who will go far with his cricket if he applies himself as he has.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

i've heard that, geebruz. i have heard that he's already been invited to play premier league when he's ready to come down to melbourne. apparently a terrific wicketkeeper.

good luck to him - really nice kid, always smiling, willing to help out, run the boundary and stuff. :thumbsu:

i've heard that, geebruz. i have heard that he's already been invited to play premier league when he's ready to come down to melbourne. apparently a terrific wicketkeeper.

good luck to him - really nice kid, always smiling, willing to help out, run the boundary and stuff. :thumbsu:

Spot on there mate!:thumbsu: Daniel should go alright out there, i recon. Can have a bit of mungrel about him when he wants. Top kid aswell.

I heard around the traps that Ganey only told cardy a couple of weeks ago that his role as coach wasn't a playing one. Apparantly stunned a few guys considering he'd be on some decent money? Anybody else hear this?

I was lurking at the game on the weekend and over heard Ganey wishing he could get out there.
Sounds to me like he is injured at the momment.
So what you say is bullshit.

About the interleague team, hopefully they have a different captain this year.
When Kelly was captain, alot of players wouldnt play because of that reason aparantly.

I was lurking at the game on the weekend and over heard Ganey wishing he could get out there.
Sounds to me like he is injured at the momment.
So what you say is bullshit.

About the interleague team, hopefully they have a different captain this year.
When Kelly was captain, alot of players wouldnt play because of that reason.

The interleague is a joke, must of the better players would rather have a rest or go fishing.

The ones that do play treat it like a piss up, more so when it is a trip to Broken Hill, they are the same when they come down here.

It is a good concept however alot of the better players who have been around a while are not interested.

Wellsy your full of s h i t mate I was told in November that iit was unlikely he would play at all (by committee members).

Tips for this round:
Nangiloc V [B]Werrimull[/B]
Euston V Cardross
Meringur V Gol Gol

Good to see the Millewa raising it's profile with the support of Mda Workingmans Club and Sunny Daily Footballer of the Week. Congrats to Weapon Hall the incumbent McDonald Medalist and 100 goal player!

Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

Wellsy your full of s h i t mate I was told in November that iit was unlikely he would play at all (by committee members).

Tips for this round:
Nangiloc V [B]Werrimull[/b]
Euston V Cardross
Meringur V Gol Gol

Good to see the Millewa raising it's profile with the support of Mda Workingmans Club and Sunny Daily Footballer of the Week. Congrats to Weapon Hall the incumbent McDonald Medalist and 100 goal player!
Ok when did i say it was a fact what i ASKED about was true. I said i HEARD it. So i ASKED if any of you guys had been told or heard on the grapevine. Gees you are some uptight blokes. Can't answer a question anyone would think you were ganey himself or else sleeping with him

Any predictions guys on how many meggsy will kick tomorrow. I hear he is a little injured so is named at full forward. I think he will kick 8 at least??

Will probably kick double figures if they get enough of the ball down there forward line.

There has not been too much said on this thread about Benny Sobkowbiak from Gol Gol and the injuries he has. Would some one care to elaborate on how it happened and how Ben is going at the moment. Word is he is not too flash.

I must say I am surprised that there has been nothing mentioned on here about it.

There has not been too much said on this thread about Benny Sobkowbiak from Gol Gol and the injuries he has. Would some one care to elaborate on how it happened and how Ben is going at the moment. Word is he is not too flash.

I must say I am surprised that there has been nothing mentioned on here about it.

A Cardross player went back with the flight of the ball and collided with Benny. It's an odd one, usually the guy going with the flight of the ball is injured not the guy standing his ground...... i actually thought a free kick was warranted to the Cardy player!
A real shame that he has been so seriously injured as it is sounds alot more serious than football terms.

Who's going to win this weekend gentlemen? Will the wet weather have any effect on results?