Mininera and District FL

I play for tatyoon under 16s and we get permits from the local under 13 sides so we can have atleast 14 players each weak so we dont have to forfeit. i dont believe that is cheating. we played a game against glentompson dunkeld and it was 13 players vers 13 players. i dont think it is cheating for us both to get players to make up the numbers

your right 'joellikescricket', some teams rely on permit players just to survive, and the fact that some players were needed to give each team 13, yes only 13 surely proves that permits have a place in the league with some teams.

As for 'cheating', the only cheating would be to deny our local kids the chance to have a game by not getting a few permit kids to give them that opportunity of a game.

Well played to mate....nice goal and good game!

Whilst I agree some clubs have abused the system in the past, other clubs, like Taty who haven,t enough local Kids, use the permit system so they dont get smashed each week. Making it a lot more enjoyable for their kids.

Yeah thats fine, like taty that i know of who struggle for numbers should be using the rule but like i said in my previous post some teams abuse it when they can fill the 18 positions on the ground!

Hey Bighawk, can you tell me what is the fundamental differnce between an under 16 team going out and recruiting the guts out of Ararat to fill their junior team.....or a club getting a few on permit to make up numbers.

And considering Moy/Will u16's had eight players cleared to them from Ararat clubs during the off-season, I hope no locals are missing out on games.

Luke Brennan, Jackson Chetcuti-Hull, Thomas Rowe, John Foster, Sam Wells, Tim Allen, Declan Adams & Jack Stoneham all played for various Ararat clubs last year..........but I suppoase that is ok hey!

Hope some of your 10,11 or 12 year olds are not missing out on games, because the likes of the Rams and a few other clubs have to play a third of their teams with kids this age plus permit kids.

Hey Bighawk, can you tell me what is the fundamental differnce between an under 16 team going out and recruiting the guts out of Ararat to fill their junior team.....or a club getting a few on permit to make up numbers.

And considering Moy/Will u16's had eight players cleared to them from Ararat clubs during the off-season, I hope no locals are missing out on games.

Luke Brennan, Jackson Chetcuti-Hull, Thomas Rowe, John Foster, Sam Wells, Tim Allen, Declan Adams & Jack Stoneham all played for various Ararat clubs last year..........but I suppoase that is ok hey!

Hope some of your 10,11 or 12 year olds are not missing out on games, because the likes of the Rams and a few other clubs have to play a third of their teams with kids this age plus permit kids.

Do you honestly believe that the area around moysten/willaura could fill an 18 man + bench side?? There is an under 12 competition for the mininera and an under 13 comp in Ararat... and the difference between recruiting and permit is that they play full time or play when a side is short or as in the case that i said previously want to blow a side out of the water! If a team is short and cant fill a side by all means use permit players to make up the numbers but when a side can fill a team why should they need permits?? All it creates is better players taking over the positions of lesser talented players

Most towns in the league struggle to fill a team on their own, but for the ones that can, they should not condemn the ones that get permit players to fill a team.
I know that Penshurst have abused it, and I also know that the Rams have not.
If anything Moy-Will are lucky that they are (Moyston) situated so close to Ararat to get players...........better off than say a Rovers, Caramut & even WLB.

The game your so shitty about, was when the Rams finally had their five permit players playing together on the one day, which gave them 18 players on the field........the bench was made up of an 8yr, 9yr & 2 x 10yr olds because there was no Under 12 game on that Sunday at Caramut........and three of those kids playing are from broken families where one parent lives in Hamilton or elsewhere and the other Glenthompson.

Hardly cheating!

Most towns in the league struggle to fill a team on their own, but for the ones that can, they should not condemn the ones that get permit players to fill a team.
If anything Moy-Will are lucky that they are (Moyston) situated so close to Ararat to get players...........better off than say a Rovers, Caramut & even WLB.

The game your so shitty about, was when the Rams finally had their five permit players playing together on the one day, which gave them 18 players on the field........the bench was made up of an 8yr, 9yr & 2 x 10yr olds because there was no Under 12 game on that Sunday at Caramut........and three of those kids playing are from broken families where one parent lives in Hamilton or elsewhere and the other Glenthompson.

Hardly cheating!

I can see both sides of the argument here but probably dont know enough to comment..
On the Tatyoon - Ararat alignment I will say that it is most certainly a positive thing for both clubs and it is good to see fellow clubs who often compete for players working together..
I no for a fact that the Taty Under 16 coach and the Ararat Under 17 coaches liase quite regularly with Ararat being willing to help out where possible.
Ararat has an excess of numbers in their U/17s while Taty are desperately short in their U/16s so what happens is that kids who dont get a game with Ararat are offered the chance of a full game of footy with Taty U/16s..
no pressure is put on any player to sway one way or the other and the result is that if they choose to, more kids are getting a game of footy - something that surely has to be positive for both clubs!!
I would also say well done to all involved for their support on not only their own club but junior footy in the district in general!

Not a good showing for a team sitting in third spot........100 point flogging!

Considering forwards, Frank Matthews (94) was out along with Paul Johnstone (23) and coach Jamie Hetherington for the Eagles, it is hard to see the Demons being any sort of threat whatsoever!

'Old man' Sholl with 9 goals, David Jelbart and Jeremy McPherson across half back dominated, along with Murray Habel, Peter Jelbart and Joel Spencer thru the middle had a field day. David Jelbart with the long yellow sleeved jumper was superb!

Very insipid performance Demons....only two scoring shots up until 3/4 time, and then a few junk time goals in the last quarter.

Will struggle to win a final based on that showing!

agree it was not lismore derris best game
but any1 at the ground will agree that scholl and most of the h/m forwards had the umps on a string

Not a good showing for a team sitting in third spot........100 point flogging!

Considering forwards, Frank Matthews (94) was out along with Paul Johnstone (23) and coach Jamie Hetherington for the Eagles, it is hard to see the Demons being any sort of threat whatsoever!

'Old man' Sholl with 9 goals, David Jelbart and Jeremy McPherson across half back dominated, along with Murray Habel, Peter Jelbart and Joel Spencer thru the middle had a field day. David Jelbart with the long yellow sleeved jumper was superb!

Very insipid performance Demons....only two scoring shots up until 3/4 time, and then a few junk time goals in the last quarter.

Will struggle to win a final based on that showing!

agree it was not lismore derri's best game
but any1 at the ground will agree that scholl and most of the h/m forwards had the umps on a string

agree it was not lismore derri's best game

I was at the game, and I agree that quite a few dubious frees were paid to the Eagles up forward, but I have also found it hard to make much of a dent in the 100 point deficit because of it!

i believe the clubs that use permits to win grand finals is cheating and that permits shouldnt be allowed in finals.

Thats what i was trying to get at!
Bloods seems to think i was trying to intentionally single out the rams as a club insted of the game, penshurst also used permits throught the season and finals last year and as i have been informed have also been many games this year . . if because of short numbers or to have a dominating side i dont know..

I am a big fan of your posts bloods, they are generally on the money. the debate re permit players i am not entering into as i don't have the knowledge of the issue needed to make a judgement. However i do know about some of the Moyston players listed that were mentioned above being recruited from other Ararat Teams.
Jackson Checutti Hull - lived in Moyston his entire life, family have always followed the club.
John Foster - his entire family are involved in the club, older brother in the ones, sister plays netball and family business is a sponsor.
Sam Wells - his father and mother have played football and netball at the club for years.
In my view they have every right to be at the club. It wasn't a matter of M/W being a club that recruited the guts out of Ararat based teams. These are kids who have either been around the club their life or wanted to be there due to family and friends.
This aside, as i said, i like your posts, but not sure if it is necassary to name under 16 footballers on a post which states they were part of recruiting the guts out of other clubs. This is not fair on them especially when they have always had links with the club.
Look forward to more posts from you bloods as they promote great discussion.

I am a big fan of your posts bloods, they are generally on the money. the debate re permit players i am not entering into as i don't have the knowledge of the issue needed to make a judgement. However i do know about some of the Moyston players listed that were mentioned above being recruited from other Ararat Teams.
Jackson Checutti Hull - lived in Moyston his entire life, family have always followed the club.
John Foster - his entire family are involved in the club, older brother in the ones, sister plays netball and family business is a sponsor.
Sam Wells - his father and mother have played football and netball at the club for years.
In my view they have every right to be at the club. It wasn't a matter of M/W being a club that recruited the guts out of Ararat based teams. These are kids who have either been around the club their life or wanted to be there due to family and friends.
This aside, as i said, i like your posts, but not sure if it is necassary to name under 16 footballers on a post which states they were part of recruiting the guts out of other clubs. This is not fair on them especially when they have always had links with the club.

Very good post numbers..
To add to that the rest of the players who have gone to moysten have generally moved out there to play with mates or family...

I can see both sides of the argument here but probably dont know enough to comment..
On the Tatyoon - Ararat alignment I will say that it is most certainly a positive thing for both clubs and it is good to see fellow clubs who often compete for players working together..
I no for a fact that the Taty Under 16 coach and the Ararat Under 17 coaches liase quite regularly with Ararat being willing to help out where possible.
Ararat has an excess of numbers in their U/17s while Taty are desperately short in their U/16s so what happens is that kids who dont get a game with Ararat are offered the chance of a full game of footy with Taty U/16s..
no pressure is put on any player to sway one way or the other and the result is that if they choose to, more kids are getting a game of footy - something that surely has to be positive for both clubs!!
I would also say well done to all involved for their support on not only their own club but junior footy in the district in general!

Great post bumbles. The common theme you here in regards to country footy is the lack of numbers (senoir football). What Tatyoon and Ararat are doing together is great for the kids and builds relationships between clubs. Well done both junior coaches.

Great to see Ararat have been able to clear junior players to other clubs (Bloods previous post) then permit players to Tatyoon and still be able to not only field a side each week but be in the running for the flag.

Very good post numbers..
To add to that the rest of the players who have gone to moysten have generally moved out there to play with mates or family...

That is all ok with me.......my gripe is you got on here Bighawk and showed your dismay at the Rams beating you last year, and that we flogged you because of permit players and loading up the team.

Similarly to Tatyoon we do a similar thing with an U14 Grampians team and an Under 16 team in the HJFL, for the very reason of just getting a team on the park......you help us we help you.

Have you ever thought that our permit kids are mates of our young kids similar to the ones that the Pumas have had come out from Ararat.......plus others are kids from fathers that played years ago.

The only difference with us is that we have to use permits because you cannot be registered with two clubs at once.

So don't say 'Bloods' thinks I am having a go at the Rams..........because you brought up your sook first.........I only explained what we do!

I named names to make a point that these kids were recruited to the club this year after playing elsewhere last season......it is on the MDFL website for all to see, so I cannot see what damage that does..........plus without knowing any of them at all, I just stated that I hoped that their inclusion did not mean anyone local missed out on a game.......exactly the same that was inferred by 'Bighawk' re 'permits' for the Rams final last season.

They (permit players)all played the eight games they were allowed plus finals, the other times the Rams played with 12, 13 or 14 kids (my boys included at 9yr & 10yr) plus incl. two other 9 yr olds.

You have explained beautifully about those kids from Ararat to the Pumas, I have no gripe with that at all, it just irks me that people carry on about permit kids coming to our club, to help our young blokes do what they want..........and that is to have a game of bloody footy!

It is either that or we bloody travel to Hamilton every week for them to get a game.

I know which I prefer!

As for Penshurst they are a different kettle of fish, and I could not give two hoots what they do........if they wish to bring in permits kids at the expense of their own, well more fool them!

The 'permit' situation with the U16's has certainly brought up healthy discussion.

There are plenty of good posters on here......so let's see if we can come up with some ideas, on how to regulate it (so as it is not abused).

To say get rid of them altogether is pretty naive.....but maybe between us we can come up with some rules and regs with having them, over and above what is in place now.

Which is no more than five players playing eight games each plus finals.

Lets go...............................

[/b]

That is all ok with me.......my gripe is you got on here Bighawk and showed your dismay at the Rams beating you last year, and that we flogged you because of permit players and loading up the team.

Similarly to Tatyoon we do a similar thing with an U14 Grampians team and an Under 16 team in the HJFL, for the very reason of just getting a team on the park......you help us we help you.

Have you ever thought that our permit kids are mates of our young kids similar to the ones that the Pumas have had come out from Ararat.......plus others are kids from fathers that played years ago.

The only difference with us is that we have to use permits because you cannot be registered with two clubs at once.

So don't say 'Bloods' thinks I am having a go at the Rams..........because you brought up your sook first.........I only explained what we do!

My dissmay is that every time we(moysten) played the rams they were able to fill a full side plus a bench and not have trouble getting a side on the field, i know players from last years team who played against us in that final and they never spoke once of having trouble getting players week in week out, the trouble that i see is they got players from hamilton not just to fill in but to dominate, which is what they did! The problem with this is that they were abusing the rule which in turn gave them an unfair advantage over their opposition. I know your trying to say that permits are used to fill in sides that are lacking in numbers, i have no problem with this but I will underline the thing i have a gripe with, its the fact that a team uses permit players to make themselves better not to just fill in numbers! And when you say:
'So don't say 'Bloods' thinks I am having a go at the Rams..........because you brought up your sook first'
you seem to be contradicting yourself earlier because you were having a 'sook' about my post and me posting my opinion, isnt that what this site is about people posting their personal opinion bloods?;)

My dissmay is that every time we(moysten) played the rams they were able to fill a full side plus a bench and not have trouble getting a side on the field, i know players from last years team who played against us in that final and they never spoke once of having trouble getting players week in week out, the trouble that i see is they got players from hamilton not just to fill in but to dominate, which is what they did! The problem with this is that they were abusing the rule which in turn gave them an unfair advantage over their opposition. I know your trying to say that permits are used to fill in sides that are lacking in numbers, i have no problem with this but I will underline the thing i have a gripe with, its the fact that a team uses permit players to make themselves better not to just fill in numbers! And when you say:
'So don't say 'Bloods' thinks I am having a go at the Rams..........because you brought up your sook first'
you seem to be contradicting yourself earlier because you were having a 'sook' about my post and me posting my opinion, isnt that what this site is about people posting their personal opinion bloods?;)

Of course that is what the site is for....opinion!.....unless it is mixed up with fact!
Thanks for calling me a liar!
I have coached the juniors over here for seven years on and off, but you know more about a club I have been involved in for 32 years!
You know best Bighawk!

And for your interest we played your team three times:

Rd 3 .....we had 17 players made up of 3 permit kids & five u12's
Rd 12.....we had 18 players made up of 4 permit kids & five u12's

Final......we had 22 players made up of 5 permit kids plus six u12's (of which 2 8yr olds just sat on the bench to be part of the team, because they had no u12 game).

Gee we certainly had full benches everytime Bighawk!

I named names to make a point that these kids were recruited to the club this year after playing elsewhere last season......it is on the MDFL website for all to see, so I cannot see what damage that does..........plus without knowing any of them at all, I just stated that I hoped that their inclusion did not mean anyone local missed out on a game.......exactly the same that was inferred by 'Bighawk' re 'permits' for the Rams final last season.

They (permit players)all played the eight games they were allowed plus finals, the other times the Rams played with 12, 13 or 14 kids (my boys included at 9yr & 10yr) plus incl. two other 9 yr olds.

You have explained beautifully about those kids from Ararat to the Pumas, I have no gripe with that at all, it just irks me that people carry on about permit kids coming to our club, to help our young blokes do what they want..........and that is to have a game of bloody footy!

It is either that or we bloody travel to Hamilton every week for them to get a game.

I know which I prefer!

As for Penshurst they are a different kettle of fish, and I could not give two hoots what they do........if they wish to bring in permits kids at the expense of their own, well more fool them!

Not sure what the answer is to the permit debate. As i said i am not knowledgable enough on the issue. In saying this i don't think getting rid of permits is the answer. Using Tatyoon and Ararat as an example, this has proven successful for both clubs allowing a lot of kids in the area to play football. Kids aren't missing out which is what needs to be kept in mind.

Ok then bloods, what about against the teams that are really struggling. Against Rovers this year you have played permit players both time for a combined result of over 100 scoring shots to one. Exactly who is this suposed to be helping. I know you will reply with something like that you give us players on the day. This is fine, but it happens every week, otherwise oposition clubs will have players missing out on a game.
Whilst on this topic I commend Moyston Willaura on their practice of having their better players rotate through the Rovers team. It has happened both times this year. The difference is a 15 goal to 3 instead of a 25 to nil result. For the Rovers kids it is as good as it gets this year.

Hardly cheating!

Ok then bloods, what about against the teams that are really struggling. Against Rovers this year you have played permit players both time for a combined result of over 100 scoring shots to one. Exactly who is this suposed to be helping. I know you will reply with something like that you give us players on the day. This is fine, but it happens every week, otherwise oposition clubs will have players missing out on a game.
Whilst on this topic I commend Moyston Willaura on their practice of having their better players rotate through the Rovers team. It has happened both times this year. The difference is a 15 goal to 3 instead of a 25 to nil result. For the Rovers kids it is as good as it gets this year.

The more I try explain our situation the more I get shot down.

Firstly can I explain that each kid that plays on permit with us has a connection with our club, apart from two 14yr olds that are school mates of some of the players........both these kids have only played four games each, and one of them will not play again this season.

Secondly against Rovers we played two permit players in Rd 3 and one permit player in Rd 12. We had 17 players in Rd 3 and 16 players in Rd 12.
The 14 yr kid in Rd 12 has three sisters who play netball for the Rams, so when his U14 team in Hamilton had a bye, he had a game with us. He will be playing with us next season full time.....is that a crime!

Thirdly two of our early season permit kids have since signed with the club. One is a kid who is from a split family where his mum lives in Glen, Dad in Hamilton, the other a kid who could not get a game in his home town of Penshurst, because they abuse the system.....suppose thats our fault too!

A point of fact: When Dunkeld was in recess back in 2002-2003, they formed an U14 team (Grampian Pumas) that play in the HJFL. A great iniative, and that team is now under our 'banner' (Grampian Rams) and is still going today which gives some of our kids another stepping stone in their football development. From time to time kids go back and forth between our U14 (HJFL) & U16 (MFL), which does not require any permits.

Also lost in that time were local kids who went elsewhere, because of the club being in recess.....some never returned.
Point today.........another two of our permit kids actually live in Dunkeld, but play in a U16 team (HJFL), so for us to get them to play for the Rams, we need to get permits for them........is that bugging the system!

Another of the permit kid's father is a major sponsor of the club, plus he is the boss of our senior coach.....but again no connection!:confused:

***Have you ever considered that our big scores come mainly from local product....ie Will Collins 9 & 11 goals, Brad McDonald 5 & 9 goals, Jackson Stewart 6 goals & Jacob Myers 6 goals.... when we played you.
Both Collins and McDonald play seniors as well, while Myers regularly plays reserves.

Considering every week we have 5 to 6 kids way to young to play U16's just yet, proves the fact that no one misses out..........case in point was when the U16 game finished the U12 game could not start until six of our ten (yes only 10) U12 boys had finished listening to the U16 coach's after match address and best players........you blokes had some 12 to 15 U12's running around, so won't be long before your U16 benefits.......the wheel does turn!

Only once have we had 20 players this season(incl. permits).......and only 4 players at any one time have been permit players.
20players - 1, 19players - 2, 18players - 1, 17players - 4, 16players - 1, 15players - 2, 14players - 2.

I don't need to explain myself to any of you blokes, but it irks me when the club is only doing what they can to help our locals get a game, and the fact we manage our kids by also having another team in another competition shows that as a fact as well.

In some ways, geographically we are lucky, being close to Hamilton, but in others we are not, because so many kids between Dunkeld & Hamilton go missing to clubs in town because they school there & that school has teams in the HJFL.......the only way to get them back is thru the permit sytem.

The fact that league plays on Sunday allows them to play two games, which happened way back in the mid 70's when I first started.

Anyway I'm over it!

I am not having a go at your practice in general, I was just responding to your statement of playing permit players to make a more even situation. If we were able to do the same i'm sure we would.
Also 9 of our U16,s doubled up for the U 12,s on that day you mentioned.
I hope you are right about the wheels turning, I think 1983 was our last finals appearance.
The more I try explain our situation the more I get shot down.

Firstly can I explain that each kid that plays on permit with us has a connection with our club, apart from two 14yr olds that are school mates of some of the players........both these kids have only played four games each, and one of them will not play again this season.

Secondly against Rovers we played two permit players in Rd 3 and one permit player in Rd 12. We had 17 players in Rd 3 and 16 players in Rd 12.
The 14 yr kid in Rd 12 has three sisters who play netball for the Rams, so when his U14 team in Hamilton had a bye, he had a game with us. He will be playing with us next season full time.....is that a crime!

Thirdly two of our early season permit kids have since signed with the club. One is a kid who is from a split family where his mum lives in Glen, Dad in Hamilton, the other a kid who could not get a game in his home town of Penshurst, because they abuse the system.....suppose thats our fault too!

A point of fact: When Dunkeld was in recess back in 2002-2003, they formed an U14 team (Grampian Pumas) that play in the HJFL. A great iniative, and that team is now under our 'banner' (Grampian Rams) and is still going today which gives some of our kids another stepping stone in their football development. From time to time kids go back and forth between our U14 (HJFL) & U16 (MFL), which does not require any permits.

Also lost in that time were local kids who went elsewhere, because of the club being in recess.....some never returned.
Point today.........another two of our permit kids actually live in Dunkeld, but play in a U16 team (HJFL), so for us to get them to play for the Rams, we need to get permits for them........is that bugging the system!

Another of the permit kid's father is a major sponsor of the club, plus he is the boss of our senior coach.....but again no connection!:confused:

***Have you ever considered that our big scores come mainly from local product....ie Will Collins 9 & 11 goals, Brad McDonald 5 & 9 goals, Jackson Stewart 6 goals & Jacob Myers 6 goals.... when we played you.
Both Collins and McDonald play seniors as well, while Myers regularly plays reserves.

Considering every week we have 5 to 6 kids way to young to play U16's just yet, proves the fact that no one misses out..........case in point was when the U16 game finished the U12 game could not start until six of our ten (yes only 10) U12 boys had finished listening to the U16 coach's after match address and best players........you blokes had some 12 to 15 U12's running around, so won't be long before your U16 benefits.......the wheel does turn!

Only once have we had 20 players this season(incl. permits).......and only 4 players at any one time have been permit players.
20players - 1, 19players - 2, 18players - 1, 17players - 4, 16players - 1, 15players - 2, 14players - 2.

I don't need to explain myself to any of you blokes, but it irks me when the club is only doing what they can to help our locals get a game, and the fact we manage our kids by also having another team in another competition shows that as a fact as well.

In some ways, geographically we are lucky, being close to Hamilton, but in others we are not, because so many kids between Dunkeld & Hamilton go missing to clubs in town because they school there & that school has teams in the HJFL.......the only way to get them back is thru the permit sytem.

The fact that league plays on Sunday allows them to play two games, which happened way back in the mid 70's when I first started.

Anyway I'm over it!