Minor rebuild required

hodge#15

Mar 22, 2011
Sorry to continue the pessimistic outlook on this forum, however, we will not win a premiership with this current team that is being fielded week in week out. Forget 2008.. Its in the past and the performances by individual players. Stop drafting crap players like Bruce who wouldn't get a game
At any other top 8 team. I can see the move behind hale.
I DON'T GIVE A CRAP IF LISLE SCHOENMAKERS
AND SMITH ARNT READY. play the boys and let
The boys and let them improve. Experience is the best thing for these boys to improve. Go back to what won a premiership in the first place with the youth policy. Yeah we may not win a premiership doing this now.. But do we really wanna
End. Up like st Kilda.

Kind of agree with you. Don't agree about the Smith part. Simply hasn't warranted a spot in the team yet. Pup will come in this week no doubt. Lilse will get a shot at some stage has been consistently kicking goals at VFL level.

Whilst the season i far from over, i don't think we have what it takes. I'd love to be proved wrong but we have to improve significantly.

At the end of the year, if we're in a similar position then i'd like to see a mini rebuild take place, starting with the coach. Cut our losses with Ellis, retire Ozzy and Bruce and go after some young talent. We have about 12 untouchable players that we can build a side around.

The threads title is apt but can we the minor rebuild in 2011 or do we need another draft to get it right.

In my opinion we have 3/4 weaker areas.
1 Ruck 2 Speed 3 KPP 4 Mid size forward

1 Ruck in 2011 is better than 2010. Getting Hale is a decent upgrade on Skipper. He has kicked some goals, rucked reasonably, given Renouf some relief and allowed Bailey and Lowden to play and develop at Box Hill.

Do we need to upgrade further at the trade / draft table in 2011?
I reckon we don't. Lets see how the 5 players we have Renouf, Hale, Lowden, Bailey and Grimley develop.

2 Speed we are quicker as a list in 2011 than in 2010. Drafting Smith, Puopolo and Litherland is a step forward. However, when it comes to who is on the field in 2011 we are not quicker. Bruce doesn't help this but he is a fringe player and if either Smith, Puopolo or Whitecross replace him then we will be quicker with just this one move.

Do we need more speed in 2011 draft? Yes we do. In particular, someone around 185-188cm who can play half back, wing or half forward. Issac Smith is one of these but we need another 1 or 2.

3 KPP We are not better off here in fact with the Stratton injury we are worse off. So do we have the players on the 2010 list to help now. I guess there are only 2 choices - Shoenmakers and Lisle. It appears that despite this being the most obvious weakness the match committee do not see either one of these 2 being helpful now.

So what do we do in 2010. It would reckon sometime very soon we are going to have to cross our fingers and hope No 25 or 36 can do a decent job. If we are going to do something this year either Schoemakers or Lisle will need to be a permannet player in 2010. They do not have to be excellent but they do need to be good enough and then improve again in 2012.

In the 2011 draft we need 1 and then another 1 in 2012 draft. A KPP either forward or back (we need both over time) we just need ones with talent. Tom Curran will be the one for 2011.

4 Mid sized forward is another thing required. Talls in Franklin and Roughead are fine. Smalls like Rioli, Bateman or Osborne will do. What we don't have is the one in between (around 185-189). We do not have one on our list at all. Someone like Brad Green who can be a threatening mark and useful on the ground.

Looks look for one in the 2011 draft.
One more thing - no more left footers.

So there you have it - the solution for all things Hawthorn. Do we need a new Coach is another discussion.

I agree totally.....the current team line up isn't going to win us a premiership. Personal wise and structurally is is flawed.

New/young players must be given time.

-Forward line needs pace and defensive pressure, a specialist forward pocket at the feet of Franklin and Roughead inside 50 is required at all times ---- Breust and Pup In with Rioli and Bateman as high half forwards.

-A true KP Defender with true KP height must be in the backline at all times - Shoenmachers in ASAP.

-Pace in the backline, Suckling and Whitecross IN.

-Players played positional wise to there strenghts rather than filling holes. Lewis and Burgoyne in the midfield rotations with Mitchell, Hodge, Sewell and Shiels.

I just don't get it, we are playing players that won't be in our next premiership side, we recruited players positionally to fill our deficiencies/holes and yet we don't play them.
We won the premiership in 2008 because we played our young early on, we afforded them game time even if they didn't completely warrant it.

Its time for the change and build the right personal for a real tilt at the premiership, not a 4th to 10th thereabouts stagnating the clubs improvement and wasting the likes of our super players in Franklin Roughead Hodge, Mitchell and Cyril.

I think tinker, rather than rebuild, would be more apt. The side is pretty decent, but not top of the table stuff at this point of the season.

For those of you who think this Hawthorn side can't win the flag in 2011, you just don't understand that a season is a marathon and not a sprint. Collingwood are favorites, but Hawthorn has beaten them and is easily capable of beating every other side in the comp.

One loss and some half decent posters/supporters turn into complete surrender monkeys - not necessarily in this thread. Embarrassing efforts.

I think tinker, rather than rebuild, would be more apt. The side is pretty decent, but not top of the table stuff at this point of the season.

For those of you who think this Hawthorn side can't win the flag in 2011, you just don't understand that a season is a marathon and not a sprint. Collingwood are favorites, but Hawthorn has beaten them and is easily capable of beating every other side in the comp.

One loss and some half decent posters/supporters turn into complete surrender monkeys - not necessarily in this thread. Embarrassing efforts.

Mate...this current team is not going to win a premiership and it is pretty evident through watching the first couple of games. Yes the season is a marathon, however, in 2008 we dominated the first 9 games smashing opponents which warranted the title of "challenger". Everyone held belief that we could knock off Geelong and we eventually did.

This isnt that same team from 2008 and losing the following players have left us which massive holes. We have lost Cambell (1st option ruckman), Croad (Best gorilla defender), Crawford (2008 wasnt his best year although the hard running, spirit and experience was invaluable), Williams (although struggling since 2008 this bloke was so crucial to our teams structure and it has amazed me that clarko hasnt tried shoenmakers as a lead up forward to replace willow, (INSTEAD OF FREAKING RENOUF AND HALE). These players in my mind have left massive holes and we cannot replace.

Our backline even, with Stratton who is going to be a gun, is too undersized.(Cloke and dawes will destroy us) This costs us in many ways like having our best bloody player playing a spare man in defence. Gibson is not a KPF and if he were to be a HBF he would be a genuine GUN!!! However, positives are that Savage and Suckling and playing great footy and look to be the future.

This may seam ludicris after the game Roughead played but he needs to go back to CHB. He would fill a massive hole. Hes got the stregth and it would lift his work rate. With this being implemented bring in Lisle and GIVE THE BOY A BLOODY GO!!!!!!! GIVE HIM A CHANCE CLARKO!! Bring Shoenmakers in (when fit) and play him as a third forward.

I agree Smith isnt up to it yet, but after a pre season he should be so i expect him to be lining up on a wing round 1 next year. Pup definetly gets his chance next game.

The Tricky part is our Rucks. Play Hale as a pernament Ruck. Renouf out of the side. He is such a liability its ridiculous. ( i cant solve the Ruck problem)

Bruce out, Ellis out (trade to the gold coast).

This team with is gameplan and current team isnt going to win the flag and if you cant see that then...

I think we would be fine if the recruiting department had done their job. We have done alright with late picks, but we have butchered our early picks since the 2004 draft. We would not be having this discussion even if only one of the following occurred;

J Riewoldt or Selwood instead of Thorp
Pendlebury, Ryder, Clarke, or Higgins over Dowler and Ellis

Our recruiting department needs to be sacked as these are horrific failures, which will hurt the club for years. I know drafting isn't an exact science, but I think most of us on this board could have done a better job with these early picks.

Mate...this current team is not going to win a premiership and it is pretty evident through watching the first couple of games. Yes the season is a marathon, however, in 2008 we dominated the first 9 games smashing opponents which warranted the title of "challenger". Everyone held belief that we could knock off Geelong and we eventually did.

This team probably won't win the premiership, most teams don't, and very rarely does the 4th or 5th best side take it home. We're in the middle pack below the top teams, this is reality. It's very unlikely we will have the same 22 at the end of the season or that we are playing at the peak of our powers, so all is not lost yet. By the end of the season we could/should have Smith, Puopolo, Shoenemaker and Whitecross in the ones. Together with Savage, Suckling and Sheils that in itself is a "mini-rebuild", Clarko now needs the balls to back it in. That leaves the rucks, which is probably a case of getting by in the short term unfortunately, we have some young talent, they're just not nearly ready, maybe Bailey will get the luck he deserves.

Our backline even, with Stratton who is going to be a gun, is too undersized.(Cloke and dawes will destroy us) This costs us in many ways like having our best bloody player playing a spare man in defence. Gibson is not a KPF and if he were to be a HBF he would be a genuine GUN!!! However, positives are that Savage and Suckling and playing great footy and look to be the future.

This may seam ludicris after the game Roughead played but he needs to go back to CHB. He would fill a massive hole. Hes got the stregth and it would lift his work rate. With this being implemented bring in Lisle and GIVE THE BOY A BLOODY GO!!!!!!! GIVE HIM A CHANCE CLARKO!! Bring Shoenmakers in (when fit) and play him as a third forward.

Shoenemaker will come in and play back when fit. He/we were unlucky through the pre-season with injury, but he is clearly our best option to introduce to the backline.

I agree Smith isnt up to it yet, but after a pre season he should be so i expect him to be lining up on a wing round 1 next year. Pup definetly gets his chance next game.

Smith will get games this season this kid has enormous talent. He is just so raw physically and mentally, has got this far purely on talent, now needs the mindset and discipline to capitalise on that talent. Puopolo must play next week IMO.

Are we playing well enough to win this year? Absolutely not!

Do we have the team that could win it this year? Possibly

It is amazing how things can change and even back in 2008, we started out like a house on fire, but between rounds 10 to 17 or so we didn't look like we were going to make the GF let alone win it.

Hawker 39 - I like your analysis but let's look at the current list.

Ruck - need either huge improvement from the current two or for Big Max to come good. If we can be more confident at the ruck contest (and maybe even win the taps/clearances) you would see a massive change to our play. Maybe not likely but possible - remember Renouf is young and Hale is getting used to us.

For beyond 2011, well reports are looking good for Lowden so let's keep our fingers crossed.

Speed - every team could do with more, but we are getting faster and can introduce speed through the season. Remember we are already effectively playing 5 new players in the 3S's and Hale and Bruce. We need to bring players in over time (none of the newbies would have won the game against the Cats for us - we need to bring them in as and when they earn it). Having said that I am looking forward to some of the current 22 being replaced by faster players:thumbsu:

Beyond 2011, could and probably will draft more - definitely a criteria that should be given priority when considering draft options.

KPP - this is the area where the recent drafts have really let us down. If either Thorp or Dowler had worked we would be in a much better position but no use crying over spilt milk... We have to really hope that Shoey becomes the KPP defender we all crave. He can be the brick that the rest of the defence is built around (similar to Croad). Not sure if Lisle or Roughy are the answer - and no use bringing someone in just because they are big. I hope Lisle is given an opportunity soon as looks like a good mark and maybe could be at the centre of defence (just worried doesn't have the pace).

Beyond 2011, we need to have KPP high on our draft options, but also maybe Grimley will move to being a tall KPP defender into the future. I have heard he has speed, etc. Thoughts???

Mid-Size Forward Not sure we need this half as much as the forward who is super quick and pressures the defence. It is a shame Hooper didn't work out as that would solve this one. We really need that manic, speedy defender who can make all opposing defenders feel like they are under pressure coming out of their back half (even if sometimes they are not). I wonder if making Cyril a permanent forward is better as he did such a brilliant job in 2008. Maybe Bruest could do this, but not sure of his defensive skills. Maybe one of the rookies???

I reckon we have the mid size forward in players like Ossie (I know he is shorter but has the leap), Morton, maybe even Smith could be good here??

I am as disappointed as anyone after the loss to Geelong, but the solution will not happen overnight. I don't think it is time to throw all hopes of winning the whole thing this year, but am looking forward to changes to improve our team and hopefully we can be at full tilt come September.

At least we are two wins better off than this time last year:) and I don't remember much optimism for any of the three S's before the NAB cup this year (or for Suckling even before Rd 1).

This team with is gameplan and current team isnt going to win the flag and if you cant see that then...

.... ? *Please finish this sentence, I'm intrigued* :)

I guess we see it differently. I believe we can win the flag this season.

If you want to bring the 2008 season to the table, remember the season had one stand out home and away side, Geelong, which got pipped in the game that counts. I can see Hawthorn finishing top 4 and giving ourselves a chance to do that. The game plan needs a minor rejig and a couple of players in Box Hill should be in the side at the expense of others, but the season is far from over. History sometimes clouds judgment, as Campbell wasn't the greatest ruckman the world has seen and Croad wasn't a giant. They were both really good players, but there were better players in other teams in 08, playing the same position.

I can't see what you're getting at after five rounds. I've seen some scintillating football and some average football from the Hawks in 2011. A long season and it's only just begun. We've also got the bye at the perfect time.

.... ? *Please finish this sentence, I'm intrigued* :)

I guess we see it differently. I believe we can win the flag this season.

If you want to bring the 2008 season to the table, remember the season had one stand out home and away side, Geelong, which got pipped in the game that counts. I can see Hawthorn finishing top 4 and giving ourselves a chance to do that. The game plan needs a minor rejig and a couple of players in Box Hill should be in the side at the expense of others, but the season is far from over. History sometimes clouds judgment, as Campbell wasn't the greatest ruckman the world has seen and Croad wasn't a giant. They were both really good players, but there were better players in other teams in 08, playing the same position.

I can't see what you're getting at after five rounds. I've seen some scintillating football and some average football from the Hawks in 2011. A long season and it's only just begun. We've also got the bye at the perfect time.

You're optimistic......I like that, I wish i felt your view...... but in my reality Clarkson is no longer ruthless, he loves his favorites and he will continue to play his favorites even though they are a liability to the team, he is sticking fat with his game plan which in my opinion is structurally and strategically flawed.

-KP forwards allowed to take on 3 to 4 opponents at a time.
-Forward line lacking pace and defensive pressure
-Players played out of position
-Backline with no true KPP.
-Defensive minded midfield that negates them from having any kind of impact on the scoreboard.

Clarkson came in to the club in 2005, he was ruthless and wiped our list clean, he delisted players he didn't know or care for, the real test of his character is what he is going to do now with the players he knows and cares for and has achieved success with, that are.....
a) not good enough
b) Don't have a defined role anymore.

Is he going to put in the youngsters and develop a team for the future ? or is he going to continue to play his favorites while our club stagnates as the 4th to the 10th best team in the comp.

He's stubborn I'm picking the latter, He's currently coaching for he's career and not Hawthorn's future.

but in my reality Clarkson is no longer ruthless, he loves his favorites and he will continue to play his favorites even though they are a liability to the team...
He's stubborn I'm picking the latter, He's currently coaching for he's career and not Hawthorn's future.

How do you reconcile these two statements?

If he was coaching for his career (which he undoubtedly is) wouldn't he be doing everything to win the flag, dropping underperforming players, being ruthless, to get the right team to win the flag?

How do you save your career by making decisions that will not help you win a flag?

Whatever else Clarkson is doing, I can guarantee you is is doing everything in his power to win a flag this year.

I can also guarantee they haven't given up on the flag yet either, and will not be playing kids for kids sake until they are satisfied those kids will contribute more to the team's chances than the current players.

In our minds, we dump all the usual suspects..Osborne, Ellis, Bateman, Ladson, etc (not that you have named these players specifically) and promote a bunch of first or second-year players (Puopolo, Smith, Litherland, etc, and they magically transform the team into the team to beat.

That is not the reality speaking, that is just anger and frustration. I admit I want Bruce out in favour of a younger player, but I know that wholesale 'youth policy' changes will only result in some beatings.

Players will play on merit until it becomes apparent that we are nowhere near a chance to win the flag. Then the youngster will get a run on age rather than merit.

You may think it is apparent right now. I think you are being hasty.

I DON'T GIVE A CRAP IF LISLE SCHOENMAKERS
AND SMITH ARNT READY.

The one thing I really hate hearing in footy, or anything else for that matter, is "he's not ready". How in @#$% would we know if a player's not ready unless we actually play them? We are not going to know if players are ready if they are running around for Box Hill.

I can't recall who the player was, possibly Heppel from Essendon, and the comment was that the higher the level he reaches, the better he seems to play. We've all known players like that .. they run around in the Bs showing average form, but they get a shot in the As, and they burn. It happens.

I've been annoyed by what I consider to be near-sightedness of our selectors when it comes to Puopolo. Damned ridiculous he's not playing, but I'll stop harping on it. I'll tell you one thing, keep him at Box Hill and he'll never be ready!!!!

Now, on to what is required. The message keeps getting served up to us each time we play Geelong .... we need a quality defender. I'm not putting down the guys who are there, they are doing a good job, but if we are serious about beating the Collingwoods and Geelongs, we need a general in the backline. How we do this, I have no idea .. but that's what we need.

We need to move the ball quicker, longer, and more direct through the midfield and allow our forwards to contest the ball without 3 opponents on him. Long to a marking contest with mosquito players (Rioli, Burgoyne, etc) sharking crumbs, or dishes from Buddy and Roughie handballs.

Rotate midfielders to the pocket, then to the bench, then back to the midfield. I could go on, but I won't. Key defender is what we need most.

Amongst all the doom and gloom, myself included, we are not that far off it. I think we are a isle or shoe, a pup, bruest and smith away from having a great mix of class and youth to win another Premiership.

It just means a couple of old hands need to make way, and that will be a tough call but a necessary one.

Our gameplan needs some extensive tweaking imo. Buddy and Rioli in the forward line would do wonders I reckon (plus some decent delivery).

But nothing unsolvable!!!

How do you reconcile these two statements?

If he was coaching for his career (which he undoubtedly is) wouldn't he be doing everything to win the flag, dropping under performing players, being ruthless, to get the right team to win the flag?

How do you save your career by making decisions that will not help you win a flag?

Thats best case scenario is winning the premiership, for Clarkson to keep his job anywhere from 4th to 6th would probably see him remain in the job......Thats where we are now and we don't resemble anything like a premierships side, personal wise, structurally and tactically.

I can also guarantee they haven't given up on the flag yet either, and will not be playing kids for kids sake until they are satisfied those kids will contribute more to the team's chances than the current players.

In our minds, we dump all the usual suspects..Osborne, Ellis, Bateman, Ladson, etc (not that you have named these players specifically) and promote a bunch of first or second-year players (Puopolo, Smith, Litherland, etc, and they magically transform the team into the team to beat.

That is not the reality speaking, that is just anger and frustration. I admit I want Bruce out in favour of a younger player, but I know that wholesale 'youth policy' changes will only result in some beatings.

Players will play on merit until it becomes apparent that we are nowhere near a chance to win the flag. Then the youngster will get a run on age rather than merit.

You may think it is apparent right now. I think you are being hasty.

I don't think we can win the premiership either way, we may have a chance if we change up some personal and tinker the game plan......... what do I care about is our future and building a side that can win a premiership some day in the near future.

I'm also not saying bringing in multiple raw players in Smith Litherland etc like Franklin Roughead Young Birchall and Lewis before them. I think we can get away with one, Breust as a specialist forward pocket providing defensive pressure.

I'm more in the mindset of bringing in players that haven't had a real chance to prosper in the likes of Whitecross Pup and Shoey, structurally and tactically they can make us a better side, playing in positions that they were actually recruited for, instead of our current line up which is flawed.

We needed a minor rebuild after 2009 when we had lost players like Croad, Crawford, Campbell, Williams & Dew.

We have replaced them with Gibson, Hale, Burgoyne & Bruce. 3 of them we gave away reasonably good draft picks for instead of going for youth.

We do not appear to be a genuine contender again this year.

I fear we are closer to a major rebuild than a minor one.

I hope i am wrong.

We needed a minor rebuild after 2009 when we had lost players like Croad, Crawford, Campbell, Williams & Dew.

We have replaced them with Gibson, Hale, Burgoyne & Bruce. 3 of them we gave away reasonably good draft picks for instead of going for youth.

We do not appear to be a genuine contender again this year.

I fear we are closer to a major rebuild than a minor one.

I hope i am wrong.

Well who are the genuine contenders if we aren't?

Jeez... one loss and the soft yellow underbelly of our supporter base rears it's ugly head... grumble, grumble...

I don't think we are genuine contenders either. The following teams are clearly ahead of us at this stage in the season: Collingwood, Geelong & Fremantle. (Things however can change quickly and a team consisting of Franklin, Hodge & Rioli is always going to be in the mix.)

I think we are somewhere on par with the Dogs, Bombers, Swans & Blues. What's disturbing is that we have gone from a team with a supposed embarrassment of riches at the start of 2009 to a team with questionable overall depth. (Lets not talk about our key position strength. It is terrible. I would hate to think what would happen if we lost Roughead, Franklin or Gilham to injury.)

I'm also not on board with the amount of recycled players from other clubs we picked up. Gibson & Burgoyne aside, I think we have made some really questionable choices. Bruce most glaringly. (He is unfortunately not going to be the Stuart Dew of 2011!)

On the plus side it is good to see Savage, Shiels and Suckling in the side.

Hopefully Shoenmakers can be added to this mix and hold his own either down back or up forward if he is given an opportunity.

I'm starting to think Clarkson has become far too one dimensional and continues to pick the same players while expecting different results. (Maybe he needs a very astute and well respected lieutenant like the Pies have done with Buckley to turn up the heat.)

Finally, in 2008 we were never a super fast team. We did however move the ball quickly with elite disposal. What has happened? We tend to play slow and our foot and hand skills are really disappointing. Surely someone has to be held accountable for this?

A rebuild is definitely in order. Not a major one but lets not continue with the same undersized backline and slowish players who have had numerous opportunities to prove themselves. There's no harm in giving the kids a chance. Who knows, we may just unearth the next Stratton.

I'd say Geelong the scoreboard really flattered us

Fremantle, Essendon and maybe the bulldogs, are all better sides than us atm.

Its not really one loss......its 3 years worth of failure with a flawed game plan both structurally and personnel wise.

No we don't need a rebuild. Its rd5 FFS we're still in it this year. Yes the loss was disappointing and yes we still have some of the same problems since 2008 but we can turn it around.

I do agree that the CURRENT 22 on form won't get us a flag. But its April not September, plenty of time for changes.

Rucks still a problem but much better than last year. Renouf was terrible the first couple of games but has played better and hale is better than skipper. I think the sub rule has hurt us as we don't have an A grader with a part time backup (the ideal balance IMO). If Max can get fit by the second half of the year we're in with a real shot.

Key defender yea stratton hurt. I think we could have got by with him this year but he's gone now so a change is needed. We can patch an OK defence together with hodge back but it robs us of his flexibility. When fit I expect shoe to come in and hodge to be freed up. If not Lisle in up forward and roughy back. If neither of these happen where screwed.

Pace better with SSS and I expect Pup to get a callup against port. These additions we're OK for pace. I don't really think pace is our major problem its more work rate and structure. Those who don't work into the right spot should be dropped and the structures will be constantly changing thru the year depending on the opposition.

Forward pressure/pace Pup will give us some, Ozzie back will help and breust with another effort should get a call up.

Under performers I think this is what is getting alot of fans angry. If we were flying you can carry some passengers but were not. I expect the likes of bruce/ellis to be playing at BHH soon. If not I guess all the pessimism around will be well founded.

In an ideal world you'd like to be 5-0 and get the wins in the bank so you can be assured of a top 4 spot by round 17 and start preparing for the finals. We probably wont do that but this year with the bye in rd17 and games against melb 18, north 20, port 21 and gold coast 24 we have a pretty good run home to freshen up for the finals.

Forward pressure/pace:pup will give us some, Ozzie back will help and breust with another effort should get a call up.
This is the number one area where we are being found out big time.
The way that Geelong were able to set up out of the backline on the weekend gave us little to no chance in defence.
The countless times we have seen the ball kicked over our last line to an open fifty, is a direct result of our backs not having enough time to get back from the press as the ball is coming out of our attack far to quickly.

Our forwards need to be working harder to keep the ball in so we can score from the odd turnover, or at least stalll the movement of the ball up the ground.

We have the talent to make a real go of this year, but we need to look at the workrate of Collingwood etc when it comes to marshalling the opposition.

Forward pressure/pace:pup will give us some, Ozzie back will help and breust with another effort should get a call up.
This is the number one area where we are being found out big time.
The way that Geelong were able to set up out of the backline on the weekend gave us little to no chance in defence.
The countless times we have seen the ball kicked over our last line to an open fifty, is a direct result of our backs not having enough time to get back from the press as the ball is coming out of our attack far to quickly.

Our forwards need to be working harder to keep the ball in so we can score from the odd turnover, or at least stalll the movement of the ball up the ground.

We have the talent to make a real go of this year, but we need to look at the workrate of Collingwood etc when it comes to marshalling the opposition.
I remember seeing an interview with buckley last year when he was forward coach at the pies and they asked him what he instructed/asked of the new young players. Said something like he had a simple message and only asked them to focus on getting 2-3 tackles a qtr. Thats it. The rest looks after itself.

Forward pressure isn't rocket surgery:rolleyes:

I remember seeing an interview with buckley last year when he was forward coach at the pies and they asked him what he instructed/asked of the new young players. Said something like he had a simple message and only asked them to focus on getting 2-3 tackles a qtr. Thats it. The rest looks after itself.

Forward pressure isn't rocket surgery:rolleyes:

Well something has gone very wrong with our coaching staff.....because we have it very mixed up, Firstly we don't have the right personal in there, players with speed that can apply pressure.
Secondly, we don't have any forwards apart from our KPP that are permanently inside 50, this allows opposition defenders to stay at home to double and triple team our KP forwards....Its flawed in every way.

Minor rebuild required