Motlop: G.O.N.E

Sorry if this has been mentioned elsewhere. There are quite a few Motlop threads and I've read most of them and haven't been able to see it.
Tim Harrington was interviewed on SEN this morning and confirmed the story about Daniel Motlop wanting to leave. As was reported, Harrington said that Motlop wanted to go to an interstate club to be closer to his extended family. Tim said that the club had done heaps to support Daniel, especially following his similar stand off two years ago. The commentators asked him if he thought that another club had been in Motlop's ear and he said 'No'. He seemed to think that it came as a surprise to both his manager and the club that he wanted to leave. Apparently North offered him a contract extension last January. One of the Morning Glory crew (can't remember which one) said that Polak for Motlop could be a straight swap.
They asked Tim about the Shannon Grant situation and he said there's a little bit of movement there. He said that Shannon wants to stay and North want him to stay so he was confident a deal would be done.
When asked about possible trades/drafts Tim said that they need to get some class into the team, whether that is 'someone who can catch it or someone who can get it'. He said they were keeping their options open and being prepared for different scenarios that might arise.

gigantor77 said:
According to Qantas site, flight times are:
How long is the flight from Melbourne to Darwin? 4h15m
How long is the flight from Adelaide to Darwin? 3h35m
How long is the flight from Brisbane to Darwin? 4h05m

I don't think it's because he wants to be closer to Darwin. It's probably that he dosen't like the lifestyle in Melbourne or he just wants to leave the club.

F/D said:
This is going to affect Wellsy BIG time.

Make no illusions.
I dont reckon as much as everyone thinks. I can just tell that Wells isnt one of those Aboriginal player who leaves a club to go home (no offence to Aborigines). You can just see that he loves the club. He wants to be apart of it for his whole career and hopefully captian the Roos on day. Although he would be greatly disappointed with Junior's decision.

I think that Wells wont ever leave the Roos. He's got the loyality look in him.

Melly017 said:
Has anyone got facts about his "twin Wells", I was under the impression that Wells best friend at the club is Perry.
Wells loves Motty and Davey.

Awesome_Wells said:
I dont reckon as much as everyone thinks. I can just tell that Wells isnt one of those Aboriginal player who leaves a club to go home (no offence to Aborigines). You can just see that he loves the club. He wants to be apart of it for his whole career and hopefully captian the Roos on day. Although he would be greatly disappointed with Junior's decision.

I think that Wells wont ever leave the Roos. He's got the loyality look in him.
Trust me on this, Wells LOVES Motty alot.

Evereywhere you see one, you see the other. It will affect him alot, Wells likes players that he feels comfortable with around him, ala Motty, Boomer, Arch, etc etc.

Benno_900 said:
Devastated with this news. I hope we can convince him to stay again but I highly doubt he'll agree. :(

IMO he'll go to port in a deal involving Salopek or Pickett, but I wouldn't mind trading a second or third round draft pick along with Motlop for Luke Power. We should play hard ball with this deal because if no deal is done, he'd have to go to Carlton in the PSD and he'd have no choice but staying with us.

You could be onto something with the Pickett scenario.

Pickett's manager was on 5AA this arvo talking about Choppy's stalled negotiations with Port.Choppy was offered a 2 yr deal which has since been trimmed to 1 yr and $200K less overall......Hence Choppy's threat to walk.

According to Pickett's manager , Freo have shown huge interest in gaining Choppy's services and he also said North have had a toe in the water for the last 12 mths in regard to Choppy returning to North..

Cororoo said:
According to Pickett's manager , Freo have shown huge interest in gaining Choppy's services and he also said North have had a toe in the water for the last 12 mths in regard to Choppy returning to North..
Choppy was a great player, but we don't need him now. Remember he left Melbourne more than he left North. If he doesn't get a kick, he could be more of a distraction than anything else. His off field rep doesn't help his cause either. Pass.

James23 said:
our up and coming future centre half forward is as good as gone as well.. u might have heard of him - Fergus Watts.. hes victorian and seems to want to return to victoria, we picked him with our first-rounder a couple of years ago and on the weekend he kicked 10 goals in a final in the SANFL.. maybe a straight swap could be done here

Yeah Watts looks like he has the goods. Good contested mark which we lack at the moment. Question marks on his ability to do it at AFL level though, but worth a shot I reckon.

The question on my mind is - What is Motlops trade worth at present?

* Plenty of potential, albeit unfullfilled at this stage. Should be a regular 50+ a season goalkicker fully fit.

* Biggest flaw is his mentality. Played his best footy with us when he was working hard around the ground which brought him into the game. Can be lazy and not get a touch.

* Tend to be a lair

* Dodgy shoulders

If NT decided to start a footy team...not many will stay in Melb, Adel or Perth!

I hear Richard Cole wants out of Collingwood as well.

Dingster said:
Choppy was a great player, but we don't need him now. Remember he left Melbourne more than he left North. If he doesn't get a kick, he could be more of a distraction than anything else. His off field rep doesn't help his cause either. Pass.

I agree with you Dingster.

It's just when I read Benno 900's post I recalled what Pickett's manager had said on his interview with KG and Cornes.

I was surprised when Choppy's manager said he had been talking to North for a year or so about a possible return. However , if it is possible to "listen between the lines" , Choppy's manager made it sound like Freo were
really keen.

Shame he didn't want to go a year ago. We have paid him probably $250k+ this year for absolutely nothing in return. You'd think he'd feel a bit indebted to the club and want to provide a good year in return. We don't want Pickett back, the next time he flattens someone he'll be suspended for half a season.

Nevbuster said:
Shame he didn't want to go a year ago. We have paid him probably $250k+ this year for absolutely nothing in return. You'd think he'd feel a bit indebted to the club and want to provide a good year in return. We don't want Pickett back, the next time he flattens someone he'll be suspended for half a season.

It's a good point you're making Nevbuster. If I ever got paid for a year on the sidelines I'd have a strong desire to repay the club. Sign a new two year deal, have a good year in 2006 and then put yourself on the trade table. That way the club that's been there for you isn't a chance to get ripped off as you are still under contract and you feel you don't owe the club anything.

Motlop: G.O.N.E