• Already a member but not rejoining

Votes: 6 3.5%
  • Hoping to join

Votes: 36 20.8%
  • Chris Masten

Votes: 65 37.6%

One of the reasons I thought I might try to get to this game, and a reason $55 minimum is ridiculous. Do they want 40,000 paying full price or 50,000 plus?

The Club is surely starting to realise it's modelling is wrong and it doesn't have 60K of rusted on dedicated fans.

They can't fill this stadium now (unless it's a Derby) and once the new stadium novelty washes off and/or we fall out of contention, the minimum ticket prices will fall significantly.

As an inaugural member (continuous apart from 1993) who dropped out this year in part due to the ridiculous Sunday schedule (and the 2.5 hr evening drive home to the bush) and on being shafted on seating allocations after spending over $85,000.00 on eagles membership over the years, I know from experience that you often cannot give away (inc to ITW's diehards) tickets when we are rubbish.

Everyone loves a winner and I suspect only about 34K really, really love the Eagles and will follow them through thick and thin.

Upside of dropping 4 memberships is I still get to go to games I want to (apart from the Derby) and with the savings, I am off to Melbourne to watch us at the MCG and in Brissie.

The Club is surely starting to realise it's modelling is wrong and it doesn't have 60K of rusted on dedicated fans.

They can't fill this stadium now (unless it's a Derby) and once the new stadium novelty washes off and/or we fall out of contention, the minimum ticket prices will fall significantly.

As an inaugural member (continuous apart from 1993) who dropped out this year in part due to the ridiculous Sunday schedule (and the 2.5 hr evening drive home to the bush) and on being shafted on seating allocations after spending over $85,000.00 on eagles membership over the years, I know from experience that you often cannot give away (inc to ITW's diehards) tickets when we are rubbish.

Everyone loves a winner and I suspect only about 34K really, really love the Eagles and will follow them through thick and thin.

Upside of dropping 4 memberships is I still get to go to games I want to (apart from the Derby) and with the savings, I am off to Melbourne to watch us at the MCG and in Brissie.

60k? Each club has 50k allocated, bit rich to slag them for seats outside their control.

It will be interesting to see a report on the membership numbers/$s, next Feb?

Thats dumb, id snap up a 20$ and spend large parts of it watching from one of those bars or the like.
This ^
The Bars 1/2 way, I think there's 1 on each Wing (I remember walking past one definitely on the West/South side, will have another look this weekend) are bloody brilliant.

Could go down to Gauge Roads Bar and neck a few to mix it up.

Don't understand some of the hate the first row fence is getting. It's perfect for people like myself that actually sit right behind the fence, pretty much a completely unobstructed view of the whole ground.

They reallyneed to make the led screens twice height (two sets on top of one another)

No thanks.

Don't understand some of the hate the first row fence is getting. It's perfect for people like myself that actually sit right behind the fence, pretty much a completely unobstructed view of the whole ground.

No thanks.

But why isn’t it glass like the other two levels? Would make more sense, less obstructed and more aesthetic

Maybe something to do with reflections coming off the glass?

Its no higher than the fence at any other venue. I know it looks like a cage fence that if you stood against it would be up to your eyes buts thats an illusion as your brain automatically thinks the ground level of the playing surface is the same as the surface on the other side when the crowd is. But its not.
If you look at this picture you can see the playing arena is sunken. And the fence is same height as the G, subi, etc 204FD9E4-43ED-462B-8A9A-D174C5DD130A.png

60k? Each club has 50k allocated, bit rich to slag them for seats outside their control.

It will be interesting to see a report on the membership numbers/$s, next Feb?

Not slagging, just stating facts that if WC had 60,000 passionate members they would be flooding into what remained of the other 10,000 seats even if it was just before or on game day.

Let not forget that we couldn't fill Subi on most occasions and couldn't come close when we were a bottom 8 side.

Note my observations were in response to a comment that ticket prices are a bit rich and it is my belief that downward pressure will come on to prices next year.

Indirectly we are already seeing this, because they aren't offering 3 game memberships because they think they can fill the stadium with all game membership.

Its no higher than the fence at any other venue. I know it looks like a cage fence that if you stood against it would be up to your eyes buts thats an illusion as your brain automatically thinks the ground level of the playing surface is the same as the surface on the other side when the crowd is. But its not.
If you look at this picture you can see the playing arena is sunken. And the fence is same height as the G, subi, etcView attachment 481625

I’m not talking about the height. I’m talking about the “metal pool fence”, why isn’t that the same and glass like the other two levels‍♂️

Looks like a fair few seats got sold today, a lot less available than when I was looking yesterday
Saw the same thing yesterday; went online today, twice as many now available. Not sure what the hell they are doing.

I reckon walk-up tickets will be easy judging by how many seats I see today; the question is, will those tickets drop in price. I understand the Dockers were selling some for $30 on the day of the game last weekend.

Saw the same thing yesterday; went online today, twice as many now available. Not sure what the hell they are doing.

I reckon walk-up tickets will be easy judging by how many seats I see today; the question is, will those tickets drop in price. I understand the Dockers were selling some for $30 on the day of the game last weekend.
The Dockers weren't selling anything last week ;)

Last week's Docker's game was a one off in terms of low ticket prices, I think.

I believe they're spacing out ticket availability to try and fill the stadium evenly.

I got my member seat right on the edge of the 3-5 game members/general admission area based on the theory that I could occasionally get seats across the aisle if I wanted to take my kids along.

Earlier in the week the seat across the aisle from me (and in fact the entirety of section 509) was not available. A couple of days later the whole row next to me was available (and I'm subsequently taking my eldest along).

During the Sydney game in round 1 that row and the one above it were completely empty. That entire section was pretty much all sold against Geelong.

So if it seems a little weird how the free seats appear, I think they're just trying to avoid a repeat of round 1's patchiness.

Of course, I could be totally wrong.

Not slagging, just stating facts that if WC had 60,000 passionate members they would be flooding into what remained of the other 10,000 seats even if it was just before or on game day.

Let not forget that we couldn't fill Subi on most occasions and couldn't come close when we were a bottom 8 side.

Note my observations were in response to a comment that ticket prices are a bit rich and it is my belief that downward pressure will come on to prices next year.

Indirectly we are already seeing this, because they aren't offering 3 game memberships because they think they can fill the stadium with all game membership.

I agree with you, prices will come down next season. Also believe a fair number of members will cancel at end of this year, and a good number more will downgrade to 5 or 3 game membership. I came off ITW and took 2 x 3 game memberships for $110 each. After getting back my ITW $70, this is a steal.
They are/were selling 3 game memberships.
Had already paid $160 for Sydney game!

The Dockers weren't selling anything last week ;)
I agree, but this game ain't selling out either. I'm gonna wait until Saturday afternoon, see if the price has dropped and where the seats are available. If there's plenty, might just walk up and get the tickets. Son is under 6, so if I get one ticket for an area with lots of seats available, he can sit on one of the empty ones.

Karl Langdon (take that FWIW) said on Saturday that there are whole sections of blocks that the two clubs are unwilling to sell because of how restricted the viewing is.

I find this odd, but that's the story.

Yeah that doesn't seem right, the seats on ticketmaster tell you which ones are restricted viewing or not. Even the restricted viewing seats in the very top level are still around $65 each...

Yeh just had a look, probably about 3 times the amount of seats available today than yesterday

I'd say they are definitely testing out the price sensitivity of the ticketing. They won't be rushing to drop their pants anytime soon unfortunately.

$65 for just a ticket is too steep for my budget but If I could get in, have a beer and a bag of chips for around $50 I would be keen as. As it stands I would rather go play a half decent golf track for the kind of coin a day at the footy is likely to end up totalling.

I’m not talking about the height. I’m talking about the “metal pool fence”, why isn’t that the same and glass like the other two levels‍♂️
Metal pool fences are like that at all grounds but you cant seem them as they are usually covered in signage (fixed or led)

News Moving To Optus Stadium