Re: Murray Football League

Tongala V Echuca United

Tocumwal V barooga

Nathlia V Numurkah

Deni V cobram

Finley V moama

Mulwala V rumbalara
Is Tongala going to be stronger this year? Is Steve Townsend a chance for the league medal? I have never seen him play but rumours are circulating that he is due for a big one.

how is your side shaping up for round 1 bystanding backman? have heard that a very low amount of last seasons senior have been training? good luck tho mate.

we are going to be pretty good i reckon Hap has done another good job over the summer, the last season seniors have been training they had just been doing their own thing up until feburary, most are fighting fit and should be ready for Sunday. will be a good clash on Sunday advise alot of people to get there to see a good match

Just want to get an idea how everyone's reserves are shaping up number wise? Is every club going to battle or what to get a team together each Saturday?:confused::confused::confused:

if i play, i might position myself in the backline either chb or fb. the days in the forward line are gone i think, what about you where will you play?

not playing this year. will only pull the boots on if we are really struggling. if i do ill sit loose in the backline so i dont have to chase anyone.

Just want to get an idea how everyone's reserves are shaping up number wise? Is every club going to battle or what to get a team together each Saturday?:confused::confused::confused:
we should be right have lost a couple of 1 or 2 to uni but have kept everyone else. we should be around the same if not a bit stronger.

i see in the shepp news that out of the eight sides to have named a side Tongala, Toc, Moama, Rumba and echuca are able to field a side easily but cobram and your team big hawk have named about 12 -15 players and deni has named about 5. one would assume Mul may struggle but i think us and numurkah will be ok with numbers

we should be right have lost a couple of 1 or 2 to uni but have kept everyone else. we should be around the same if not a bit stronger.

i see in the shepp news that out of the eight sides to have named a side Tongala, Toc, Moama, Rumba and echuca are able to field a side easily but cobram and your team big hawk have named about 12 -15 players and deni has named about 5. one would assume Mul may struggle but i think us and numurkah will be ok with numbers
Don't read too much into Toc's reserves squad... I think you'll find that a lot of the names have been repeated from the first grade squad. Bit concerned regarding numbers and amount of work the majority have done. Could be in for a long year!!!

Not sure about naming 5, our team is on mfl website along with the others, we got bout 8 players out, but we will have a bit of a crack and see how we go.
looking forward to it, goodluck everyone :thumbsu:.

Not sure about naming 5, our team is on mfl website along with the others, we got bout 8 players out, but we will have a bit of a crack and see how we go.
looking forward to it, goodluck everyone :thumbsu:.

We (Echuca United) have 10 missing out on a game this week, not sure that translates into senior wins but there is a positive feeling at the club with over 40 training this week. I think our 2's will be big improvers this year.

We are similar, 10 missed out against Moama, but through injuries and unavailability(weddings) only one had to miss out this weekend, great to be able to cover that many not available though.

I see M. Clarke and D. Sexton named in the reserves for Finley.

Anyone got info as to why they are in the reserves?

Is Tongala going to be stronger this year? Is Steve Townsend a chance for the league medal? I have never seen him play but rumours are circulating that he is due for a big one.

Townsend is a free-wheeling,aggressive,attacking and dour defender if in the mood! Could win every award going:thumbsu:

Good, I heard he had a bit of lean year last year after a nasty leg break so look out for a big improvement....Can you bet on Murray League Games and Medals? If so My money will be on Barooga Premiers, Townsend the O'Dwyer Medallist.

I think I am on the money. Big win to Barooga and I heard in Tongala's good win that Townsend got 20 possessions (12 to direct advantage), 0 Clangers, 5 Contested Marks, 1 clearance, 2 tackles. Champion Data would have him at 112 pts. Wish I had him in my SuperCoach team instead of Tom Harley!! Ha Ha.

taking the soft option i was told, road runner mite no more:)
Easy there chicken! Don't know about being soft. Not sure on Clarkey's situation but surely Secco has done enough to warrant a bit of a spell. I think it's terrific that he is still making himself available, remembering he is knocking on the door of the big 40!!! I'm wondering how old you might be and see if you were or are intending to still be running around at this age! To demonstrate the miles that Secco has covered, one pre-season he was attempting to run 10 km each day for 40 days straight!!! And I suppose you haven't heard about him running back home, some 15-20kms away, after a pre-season game in which he felt he hadn't played as well as he could of. So I think your analysis of him taking the soft option is a bit harsh! GO THE OVER 30'S!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::)

Homer1, did sheep have a run for you blokes and if so, what possy did he play and how'd he go ?

yeh sheepy had a good run on the ball, changing from the bench and did some very nice things.
we still a bit undermanned but will come good as the year goes on, great win by cobram, downie unstopable with 11 goals for B.O.G.

Easy there chicken! Don't know about being soft. Not sure on Clarkey's situation but surely Secco has done enough to warrant a bit of a spell. I think it's terrific that he is still making himself available, remembering he is knocking on the door of the big 40!!! I'm wondering how old you might be and see if you were or are intending to still be running around at this age! To demonstrate the miles that Secco has covered, one pre-season he was attempting to run 10 km each day for 40 days straight!!! And I suppose you haven't heard about him running back home, some 15-20kms away, after a pre-season game in which he felt he hadn't played as well as he could of. So I think your analysis of him taking the soft option is a bit harsh! GO THE OVER 30'S!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::)
Thanks for the back up big hawk! There comes a time in ones career when the mind is willing, but the body isn't able. We will struggle for numbers this year and both will fill in when needed. Secco is coaching the interleague side, so that will take up some time as well.

Echuca United v Tongala - Tongala by 16 points
Tocumwal v Barooga - Barooga by 60 points
Nathalia v Numurkah - Nathalia by 25 points
Deniliquin Rams v Cobram - Cobram by 18 points
Finley v Moama - Moama by 72 points
Mulwala v Rumbalara - Rumbalara by the biggest winning score ever recorded, Mul to get one point due to a rushed behind

Eventual Results
Tongala by 6 points
Barooga by 108 points
Cobram by 22 points
Moama by 103 points
Rumbalara by 92 points
Nathalia by 30 points

it was just a joke big hawk :) sexton has every right to retire have been told all of those storys about him as he is a fitness FREAK as i personally no but i was hoping for a reply from Clarkey.cheers for the storys for every one else on this thread to read good luck for the year hawk P.S i can hardly run around now and get a kick and im only 30 no hope when i get to 40 i guess:thumbsu:

Eventual Results
Tongala by 6 points
Barooga by 108 points
Cobram by 22 points
Moama by 103 points
Rumbalara by 92 points
Nathalia by 30 points

BB, can you tell me who played on nathalia's big brendan 'peng' parker on the weekend for numurkah? only kicked 1 goal which is unusual.
obviously was a fairly competitive game. margin much lower than it could have been in previous years. do numurkah look to be improvers?

BB, can you tell me who played on nathalia's big brendan 'peng' parker on the weekend for numurkah? only kicked 1 goal which is unusual.
obviously was a fairly competitive game. margin much lower than it could have been in previous years. do numurkah look to be improvers?

i think it was hopkins from mooroopna, while Peng was only held to 1 goal he still made a contest everytime and brought the ball to the ground for the small forwards think he assisted in a few of the other goals as well. Skills from both sides were pretty average as i think both coaches pointed out. Numurkah should improve but not sure by how much i think they will be better than last year.

oh thats good to hear then, does the old boy look to be in his last year of footy?