Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

IN A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN

June 22 2006
Shepparton News

Several Murray and Picola District football league clubs are being targetted as part of an ambitious push to establish a new Echucabased competition.

Tongala, Echuca United, Moama, Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura and Picola United have all been earmarked as potential foundation members and will be asked to commit to the proposed league within the coming months.

If enough support exists, the league could emerge by as early as next year.

Victorian Country Football League north west area manager Alan Davies yesterday confirmed the proposal was gathering steam.

"It's something that has been simmering away since last year," Davies said.

"A few clubs have been looking at the possibility of establishing a new league to service the Echuca and district region for a few months now.

"While there's no timeline on it, they might be in a position to put a series of recommendations to the VCFL board by October."

The push to establish an Echuca-based competition is being spearhead by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United formed a working party late last year to explore the logistics behind creating the new league.

After months of research, the party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

The prospectus will be sent to Tongala, Echuca United, Deniliquin Rovers and Picola United in the hope it will trigger interest about a possible move.

The clubs will also be invited to attend a meeting of the existing working party later this month.

Cohuna Football Club official Alan Mitchell said the rising cost of fuel and the tyranny of distance were the major factors behind the proposal, along with the over-crowded landscape of the Murray (13 clubs) and Picola (15 clubs) leagues.

Mitchell said the Echucabased league would only become a reality if no less than eight clubs committed to the new competition.

Picola District president David McKenzie yesterday queried the proposal, bemused at how struggling Picola District league teams would be expected to compete against clubs like Cohuna and Moama.

"The gap between the Picola league and the Murray is pretty big. I can't see how it's going to work," he said.

Wouldn't read a whole lot into that. Has been talk for ages but nothing is really happening. I'm guessing it was just a slow news day for the Shepp News so they ran with a story they have probably had sitting there for months.

Punter_22 said:
Wouldn't read a whole lot into that. Has been talk for ages but nothing is really happening. I'm guessing it was just a slow news day for the Shepp News so they ran with a story they have probably had sitting there for months.
Yeah true that. The talk has been going on for a while now. Echuca United are not interested joining this league if it ever formed.

Can anyone tell me about Peter Walsh's history. He is up and playing in Cairns QLD and dominating. Kicked five in the interleague game.

that won't happen you can';t say how long before sides like Waaia, Wunghnu, Tally & Congupa, Tongala would survive ? wouldnt be at all surprise if their wont be some mergers in years to come? like Wunghnu & Tally, Waaia with say Numurkah or Nathalia, small clubs needs to merge especally these days when kids goes to say melbourne for work
so Merge or loose clubs all together mergers the only way to go
i'd rather merge then fold and have no club, we did that end of 2000
Brim & Warracknabeal minor club merged with a major league club , still have 4 at both grounds better then loosing footy all together like Sea Lake nandaly tigers = 4 clubs. Sea lake, nandaly,berriwillock,Culgoa

cheers

Just wondering how Hendo's return to the Eagles nest went on the weekend. I saw they got thrashed, but wondered how he went and whether he and the crowd were on best behaviour. No doubt a game Hendo was dreading the moment he signed with Tonny.

Hendo played through the middle all day. Relatively quiet. Picked up his regular cheap possessions down back with sideway kicks or handball receives but didn't get much of it forward of half way. Mind you, the ball wasn't passed half way a great deal. He wouldn't jot it down as one of his better games that's for sure. Wasn't targeted at all by the United players from what I saw and the crowd treated him reasonably well. I did hear "your a dog henderson" once or twice though.

Punter_22 said:
Hendo played through the middle all day. Relatively quiet. Picked up his regular cheap possessions down back with sideway kicks or handball receives but didn't get much of it forward of half way. Mind you, the ball wasn't passed half way a great deal. He wouldn't jot it down as one of his better games that's for sure. Wasn't targeted at all by the United players from what I saw and the crowd treated him reasonably well. I did hear "your a dog henderson" once or twice though.
Hahaha, that was great. I agree with everything you have said. Good summary of him game although i know he can play bloody good football (such as Rd 10 v Barooga). I was sitting near the United bench and a fair few of the United supporters were yelling out but nothing rude or stupid, just a bit of fun. I didnt see one instance where United players targeted him which was good. There was no reason to get involved in that sort of rubbish as it was a blowout game.

Moama 9.6 (60) v Deniliquin 8.11 (59)
Mulwala 16.7 (103) v Nathalia 19.6 (120)
Rumbalara 9.9 (63) v Finley 16.10 (106)
Tocumwal 9.11 (65) v Barooga 15.4 (94)
Congupna 11.7 (73) v Echuca United 19.9 (123)
Tongala 5.15 (45) v Numurkah 16.8 (104)

An unbelievable 1 point win by Moama over Deni, dont know what happened there. Was anyone at the game or that can fill us in? Was it a good game by Moama and a poor effort by Deni?

G Day Boys

Had the pleasure of watching the Nathalia Vs Mulwala game yesterday. It was a great game with Nathalia getting over the line by 3 goals. Nathalia kicked 10 goals to 3 in the 1st 1/4 but form there on in Mul outscored / outplayed them.
Looking at Nathalias 2s, thay would be in a heap of trouble if thay got any injuries as only 1 bloke (Rendell) is anywhere near senior selection and the other 20 were deplorable.

Gooroo

Can anyone in here tell me if Trevor Sutton holds the league record in the Murray League and what is it. Also how many times did he kick over 200 goals there.

i take it (willo) your the willo who played under 18's interleague this year in the backline:thumbsu:

Doona2 said:
IN A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN

June 22 2006
Shepparton News

Several Murray and Picola District football league clubs are being targetted as part of an ambitious push to establish a new Echucabased competition.

Tongala, Echuca United, Moama, Deniliquin Rovers, Mathoura and Picola United have all been earmarked as potential foundation members and will be asked to commit to the proposed league within the coming months.

If enough support exists, the league could emerge by as early as next year.

Victorian Country Football League north west area manager Alan Davies yesterday confirmed the proposal was gathering steam.

"It's something that has been simmering away since last year," Davies said.

"A few clubs have been looking at the possibility of establishing a new league to service the Echuca and district region for a few months now.

"While there's no timeline on it, they might be in a position to put a series of recommendations to the VCFL board by October."

The push to establish an Echuca-based competition is being spearhead by disgruntled Central Murray Football League clubs Leitchville-Gunbower, Koondrook-Barham and Cohuna.

The trio, along with Mathoura, Moama and Lockington-Bamawm United formed a working party late last year to explore the logistics behind creating the new league.

After months of research, the party recently released a three-page document outlining the possible framework, including minimum number of clubs, administration structure and even availability of umpires.

The prospectus will be sent to Tongala, Echuca United, Deniliquin Rovers and Picola United in the hope it will trigger interest about a possible move.

The clubs will also be invited to attend a meeting of the existing working party later this month.

Cohuna Football Club official Alan Mitchell said the rising cost of fuel and the tyranny of distance were the major factors behind the proposal, along with the over-crowded landscape of the Murray (13 clubs) and Picola (15 clubs) leagues.

Mitchell said the Echucabased league would only become a reality if no less than eight clubs committed to the new competition.

Picola District president David McKenzie yesterday queried the proposal, bemused at how struggling Picola District league teams would be expected to compete against clubs like Cohuna and Moama.

"The gap between the Picola league and the Murray is pretty big. I can't see how it's going to work," he said.

The way country footy is always evolving due to changes in population etc. it wouldn't surprise me at all if this got off the ground. Whilst the issue has been simmering for a long time it seems to have really gained momentum in recent times.

I can certainly understand why Cohuna, Koondrook-Barham and Leitchville Gunbower are spearheading the idea due to the distance factor. These were clubs that were railroaded into the CMFL after changes made by the VCFL in league affilations.

Tassi Devil

Trevor Sutton kicked 249 goals (to my memory) in 1980. The stories say he was an amazing footballer who could have made it anywhere but had other things on his mind (so I'm lead to believe). Only wish I could have seen him play.

Cheers Gooroo

sjwt said:
i take it (willo) your the willo who played under 18's interleague this year in the backline:thumbsu:

Yeah mate certainly am. Why's that? Did you play?

Goorooswami said:
G Day Boys

Had the pleasure of watching the Nathalia Vs Mulwala game yesterday. It was a great game with Nathalia getting over the line by 3 goals. Nathalia kicked 10 goals to 3 in the 1st 1/4 but form there on in Mul outscored / outplayed them.
Looking at Nathalias 2s, thay would be in a heap of trouble if thay got any injuries as only 1 bloke (Rendell) is anywhere near senior selection and the other 20 were deplorable.

Gooroo

You're spot on about Nathalia lacking depth however they do have Smith, Quarrell, Bourke, Liddell, Gemmill and one other who escapes me to come into the team. Once those blokes come in they will be a lot stronger .

It can be hard for clubs with small populations to have good depth when they don't have many imports.

Tassie Devil said:
Can anyone in here tell me if Trevor Sutton holds the league record in the Murray League and what is it. Also how many times did he kick over 200 goals there.

i think 3 times.

willo1 said:
I wouldn't go as far as to calling him the 'perfect footballer'. He always has it because once he gets it, he doesn't give it off. Remember there are 17 other players on the ground from your team at any time, but he is oblivious to that unfortunately. A kid that got kicked out of boarding school down in Ballarat, and drinks a half a slab of bourbon before a game? Perfect wouldn't be the word to describe him.

No Punter, I believe those are some valid and interesting comments. I am good mates with Bev, we play together in the Echuca United 3rds and dont get me wrong, he is a very good footballer. He would be one of the fittest players in our team due to his endurance from long distance running, and is still a reasonably fast runner. With his height though, it takes him a couple more steps to get going and yes those few steps can be crucial in a game of football. I'm not sure whether he will be restricted to only Country Football, could possibble play VFL or GV footy depending on whether he chooses football or running. He has played schoolboys and interleague so who knows, only time will tell.;)

I agree. i play u14s for Echuca Utd and i know him. He got selected to play for the bendigo pioneers u16 team or sumthin.

bomberboy_19 said:
Hey Guys can anyone give me an update on how congupna is going? are they going to make finals?? and how there recruits are going for the year, i no they have had a few out over the past few weeks i have read... cheers

Yeah they could make the 6 i rekon but they were beaten by 9 goals to echuca utd on the weekend. Guy Madigan (full forward) kikd 7 the other week.

Matt Pell played for Nathalia a couple of weeks ago during a bye in VFL, heard a very strong rumor that he will be headed back to the country for the rest of the year, as he is sick of the bullants.
would be more then a handy pick up heading in to the back end of the season.

fish1 said:
Matt Pell played for Nathalia a couple of weeks ago during a bye in VFL, heard a very strong rumor that he will be headed back to the country for the rest of the year, as he is sick of the bullants.
would be more then a handy pick up heading in to the back end of the season.

Pelly is a damm good player. He's been at Bullants for three years but he's originally from Nathalia.

Not sure if he'll quit Bullants but I know he's close to it.

At the very least, Nathalia will have him for finals

Journeyman he is very close after an incident last week where pell missed an offical function and was fined for not turning up, his car broke down.

That was just about the final straw i hear.

Will make the purps hard to beat come finals.

fish1 said:
Journeyman he is very close after an incident last week where pell missed an offical function and was fined for not turning up, his car broke down.

That was just about the final straw i hear.

Will make the purps hard to beat come finals.

I hadn't heard about the incident but I know he is a very honest fella. If he said his car broke down, it would have.

It's tough to fine blokes when they play twos and get paid bugger all.

He adds a fair bit of class to nathalia.