• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

Side looking very good. Appears both forward and backine been bolstered with the inclusion of Travis Wayman up forward & Dan Irwin down back. Also the Magpies new ruckman appears tough to beat, a big man.
Hey W.W i look foward to watching the annual good friday clash between the magpies & the eagles, any chance of you guys putting up a better show than last years effort & has your new coach spoken about what i believe was a problem for u guys in your discipline. A few guys wanted to fight rather than go the ball & they weren't even any good at that. Any way a great crowd & good facilities make for a good atmosphere all we need now is a good show from you guys

Echuca United defeated Lower Plenty by 22 goals today.

Was just looking at the Murray Bushrangers Squad for 2007 and notice that not one Murray League player has made the cut.

Any thoughts on why that is, guys?

Was just looking at the Murray Bushrangers Squad for 2007 and notice that not one Murray League player has made the cut.

Any thoughts on why that is, guys?
Obviously not good enough Morgs, possibly because most of the Bushrangers players are from GVFL clubs. I would imagine Murray Football League players would find it hard to compete againsed the selection of GVFL players. But we know the Pioneers have 4 superstars from the MFL in Corey Wanganeen, Bevan Charlton-White, Clayton Zanella and Rex Taylor.;)

Yes maybe, but there are still some minor League players in Bushies.Eg: John Walker (Picola United, PDFL). Can it be more related to junior development within Murray FL clubs, surely there's one kid within the MFL good enough to make it, besides the Echuca based kids with Pios.

We have one that's at U/16's level (Jason Atkinson) and as mentioned Rex at Pioneers. Are there any others in Bushies Junior levels?

Echuca United defeated Lower Plenty by 22 goals today.

Yeh, went and watched the game yesterday Willo, don't reckon the scoreboard gave a great indication. Reyne was good up forward, Clinton Perry and Peter Bird worked hard in the midfield, and dished off a lot (as Heritage said - Perry was as tenacious as an old bear :thumbsu: ) Timmy Bone was sensational in the first half and kicked 2 of the best opposite foot goals you'll see, Guy Campbell was solid without dominating, and that bloke you've got from the bombers (no 7) was dynamite - finished with 7 for day and one of the quickest blokes I've seen over 20m:eek:

Care to comment, from an eagles perspective, on the loss of Duane Heuston to Shepp United? Massive loss for you dudes.

Yeh, went and watched the game yesterday Willo, don't reckon the scoreboard gave a great indication. Reyne was good up forward, Clinton Perry and Peter Bird worked hard in the midfield, and dished off a lot (as Heritage said - Perry was as tenacious as an old bear :thumbsu: ) Timmy Bone was sensational in the first half and kicked 2 of the best opposite foot goals you'll see, Guy Campbell was solid without dominating, and that bloke you've got from the bombers (no 7) was dynamite - finished with 7 for day and one of the quickest blokes I've seen over 20m:eek:

Care to comment, from an eagles perspective, on the loss of Duane Heuston to Shepp United? Massive loss for you dudes.
Yeah I would agree with what you have said. Luan Marsh (7) is an absolute freak. Once he hits the ball running no-one will ever catch him. Tim is fantastic, just a beautiful player to watch and has the greatest left and right foot skills you will see.

The loss of Duane will be a big one. I couldn't believe it when I heard it but I suppose that's the way things go. We were without him yesterday and still managed a comfortable victory. No doubt he will leave a big hole in United's forward line but the void will be filled with someone just as capable.

I would have to say i'm disappointed in that news Tav on Heuy going back to Shepp United not just because hes a great player but because he is a good bloke and had been appointed Assistant Coach for year and had a huge leaderhip role within the club all preseason. I guess good luck to him on his return to the Gv.

Hopefully we can stitch up the North heidelberg blokes. But we should still be competitive as i believe we have a very even team across all lines. Hopefully we can have a good run with no injuries. Luan Marsh is a great player and my early tip for the league medal.

I would have to say i'm disappointed in that news Tav on Heuy going back to Shepp United not just because hes a great player but because he is a good bloke and had been appointed Assistant Coach for year and had a huge leaderhip role within the club all preseason. I guess good luck to him on his return to the Gv.

Hopefully we can stitch up the North heidelberg blokes. But we should still be competitive as i believe we have a very even team across all lines. Hopefully we can have a good run with no injuries. Luan Marsh is a great player and my early tip for the league medal.

Yeah would be hard to take losing a player of that calibre this far out, you might have to step up and fill his shoes roaring! We were (un)lucky enough to have Luan Marsh play against us last year and he carved us up(as most did), and yes he was extremely quick but also used the pill very well.

Results from yesterdays practice match between Sunshine and Tongala saw a draw in the main game, was at times fairly scrappy with the wind creating havoc with the skill level of most, was played at a good intensity though and a good first up hit out.
The reserves were beaten by about 8 goals and the u/17s beat their u/18 rivals by about 5 goals in a very good display.

Results from yesterdays practice match between Sunshine and Tongala saw a draw in the main game, was at times fairly scrappy with the wind creating havoc with the skill level of most, was played at a good intensity though and a good first up hit out.
The reserves were beaten by about 8 goals and the u/17s beat their u/18 rivals by about 5 goals in a very good display.

who stood out in thirds>?

Dylan Smith, Jarrod Denham, Tom Wyatt, Matt Tyler, Jordan Souter, Kyle Halliwell

The question should be who stood out at the local sat night hey hank pushing in to play pool,complaining because his songs didnt come on,not orgainising to get his car home, **** STIRRING THE PUBLICAN , complaining the tab was of (at 12.45) could be in for a long year hahahaha

bloody oath, had to sleep over in the end, just got to see haydos make his ton b4 nodding off on cyclops' lounge room floor. Was first to Sunday training in the morning though mate, actually thats a lie, 2nds Coach Timothy Hancock arrived around 10:30am or thought he did but forgot to wind the clock back for daylight savings:eek:
P.S. thank god the TAB did get turned off, didnt have a decent collect all night.

bloody oath, had to sleep over in the end, just got to see haydos make his ton b4 nodding off on cyclops' lounge room floor. Was first to Sunday training in the morning though mate, actually thats a lie, 2nds Coach Timothy Hancock arrived around 10:30am or thought he did but forgot to wind the clock back for daylight savings:eek:
P.S. thank god the TAB did get turned off, didnt have a decent collect all night.

Hank, I hope this wasn't you. We all know what the real Hank is like once he gets a couple of the evil ales in him. Many believe it would be in Tongala's best interest to make it a dry club while Hank is around..

In my dealings with the little afghan i'd say this is very very good idea.

lucky he can play......

All blown out of proportion, Jobby just needs to brush up on his publican skills and probably keep his hotel partner in line, now we are talking about someone who was well and truly overfilled.:p
How was the 21st Skut and any stories from the bus trip home that have filtered back?

Yeah I would agree with what you have said. Luan Marsh (7) is an absolute freak. Once he hits the ball running no-one will ever catch him. Tim is fantastic, just a beautiful player to watch and has the greatest left and right foot skills you will see.

The loss of Duane will be a big one. I couldn't believe it when I heard it but I suppose that's the way things go. We were without him yesterday and still managed a comfortable victory. No doubt he will leave a big hole in United's forward line but the void will be filled with someone just as capable.
Why didn't marsh make it in Bendigo, and whats happened to Jones, Nuttal , mcmaster etc. who were good junior players at the club, where are they now and how many players from their good junior sides from 4-5 years ago are still playing at the club ???

Mate if you are trying to stir up crap about United, go do it somewhere else. I have seen what you wrote about United on the Diamond Valley thread and you clearly know bugger all about our club. Jones is still playing at United, Nuttal has gone to play at Leitchville for whatever reason and McMaster is still up in the air about his footy.

Junior players still at the club include Marsh, Rowbottom, Bootle, Frost, Allingham, Jurey and Wilson. Jake Guinan has moved to Geelong but trained right through the pre-season with the club and Liam did the same but trying his luck at GVFL level this season.

Heading to Echuca this weekend and was wondering if there were any practice games at Echuca or Moama, if so can someone post some specifics?