• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

Heading to Echuca this weekend and was wondering if there were any practice games at Echuca or Moama, if so can someone post some specifics?

Doona probably wont be many bigger than ex-traditional rivals Ky and Tonny going toe to toe at Tongala, 3 games of footy 10:15am 3rds 12 reserves and 2pm seniors, also a full bank of netball. Not quite in Echuca but only 10mins down the road if you cant find anything that wets your apetite there.
Tongala jumper presentation night in the evening with past legends of the club presenting the jumpers.

Another BF scoop has been confirmed:

Dee whiz

United again: Duane Hueston is returning to Shepparton United this season.

March 29 2007
Shepparton News

Shepparton United has received a shot in the arm on the eve of the Goulburn Valley Football League season with the return of highflying forward Duane Hueston.>

No real reason to why he left echuca untied except stating he wanted to play at his home club, but from what i can gather probably come down to $$$$$. No mention in the article as to why he left his decision on where he was going to play until 2 weeks before the first game either.

What do you think willo??

Another BF scoop has been confirmed:

Dee whiz

United again: Duane Hueston is returning to Shepparton United this season.

March 29 2007
Shepparton News

Shepparton United has received a shot in the arm on the eve of the Goulburn Valley Football League season with the return of highflying forward Duane Hueston.>

No real reason to why he left echuca untied except stating he wanted to play at his home club, but from what i can gather probably come down to $$$$$. No mention in the article as to why he left his decision on where he was going to play until 2 weeks before the first game either.

What do you think willo??
I agree with you mate. It will definately come down to $$ in the end. Although there could be other reasons why he left, I suppose they will never be known. I believe that after making his decision to return to Shepparton United, he could have exited the club with a bit more respect and dignity but it's history now. Good luck to him.

Hate to say it but Barooga and Nathalia-the gap grows- United still to make finals but not top 3

So your saying that one player will affect United's top two finals chances? No doubt Hueston is a qulaity player but his absence will not change the team structure much - if anything it will make the playing group stronger.

All blown out of proportion, Jobby just needs to brush up on his publican skills and probably keep his hotel partner in line, now we are talking about someone who was well and truly overfilled.:p
How was the 21st Skut and any stories from the bus trip home that have filtered back?

Yeah just another session where Skut cant remember too much about anything. Good sip I am led to believe though. As for the boys on the bus home. Well I believe the young 18's learnt a few things from a few of the older boys. Namely the one they call 'Yuk'. very aptly named I must say.

Congupna have stolen a lot of players from shepp this year, they must be paying out a fortune. Are the players they have picked up any good.
There was a rumour floating round that congupna and the tocumwal players got into a massive blew at the toc pub, could be a very interesting game to watch in round 1.

Carn the pies.

geez your poppin up on every league,s thread there adriantimmis?? how do u know that congupna are spending a fortune on players but u dont no if there any good???? for all u know they could be playin 4 free mate???

AT must know everything about all the local leagues around here, or thinks he does!!!;)

Tongala v Kyabram results

3rds Kyabram u/18s beat Tongala U/17s by about 10pts.
Excellent effort by the younger Tonny boys.
2nds Tongala defeated Kyabram by 10pts first time since 1999.
P.S. after Kyabram asked could the game be played as 16 a side which was agreed, they played the last half with 18 until being caught out with 10mins to go in last quarter when Tongala put a couple of extra players on. Still couldnt get over the line and weak as piss on Kyabram's behalf especially when Tongala had players on the bench who could have been getting a run.
1sts Kyabram defeated Tongala by 6 goals.
Newman probably kicked close to 10, some good young blokes with a lot of pace showed glimpses for them, Ryan Butler, Ryan Emmett, Dave Hansford(playing at Stanhope though I believe) Josh Finn all got a fair bit of it, not sure who they had out, Dave Newman didnt play. Tongala started well 4 goals to 1 in 1st 1/4, but lost Michael Roberts to a burst blood vessel in the 2nd 1/4 and had only the 18 left after half time. Mark and Andrew Reid were the two main players to miss the game for Tongala.
Good solid hitout for both sides.

Did you play Hank? If so did ya get a kick?

Came on in 2nd 1/4 when Roberts got hurt lasted 5mins before feeling hammy again. 2 kicks 1 hb 1pt 2 clangers 2 marks. Didnt do it again but felt like it was going to go, so will hopefully get it right for first game against Moama in two weeks.

Congupna have stolen a lot of players from shepp this year, they must be paying out a fortune. Are the players they have picked up any good.
There was a rumour floating round that congupna and the tocumwal players got into a massive blew at the toc pub, could be a very interesting game to watch in round 1.

Carn the pies.

Have you actually talked to anyone from the Road or are you only guessing because players are wanting to cross over and have a kick at another club? What I've heard The road is a great club to play at and are not ones to try and compete money wise with the big boys like Barooga, not sating they don't spen any money.

just new to this thread and was wondering if anyone coulkd fill me in on Baroogas losses and gains for this year
Welcome mate. Barooga have gained: Matt Byers (coach), Sean Harrap, Gerard Liddell, Paul Mason, Patrick Rattray, Stuart Galloway, Daniel Brophy, Jye Bunge, Matthew Rudd, Will Serong and Jason Nye, 7-8 of which are GVFL players. So Barooga definately spent up big again this season. Players they have lost include: Matt Olney, Matt Pardew, Ben Wallis, Paul Ellis and Paul Lewis.

how did paul lewis go last yeAR???

Willo, where are Matt Olney and Paul Lewis going?

Matt Olney is heading to the Northern Territory to play for Southern Districts and Paul Lewis will be playing for Darley in the Ballarat Football League.;)

Cheers Willo. Will Lewis be a big loss? Was a very handy backman in the O+M a few years back, injuries aside.

Matty "O" told me that he is going to join the police force up there and coach a bare foot Aboriginal team for three years before he come back down here to coach!
But that's the "O" train for ya

Matty O wouldn't bend the truth would he Magic?:D

Hey anyone at MOAMA, just waiting to know how Travis Wayman is going. His an old man, but gee he still goes alright.

Also I heard Duane Hueston is thinking about going back to his home club Shepp United, anyone know anything on that?

Hey anyone at MOAMA, just waiting to know how Travis Wayman is going. His an old man, but gee he still goes alright.

Also I heard Duane Hueston is thinking about going back to his home club Shepp United, anyone know anything on that?
Duane Hueston has already switched back to Shepparton United. Check out the last few pages of the MFL thread as well as the GVFL thread. It has already been covered.

Cheers

Thanks for the heads up, yeah don't really read the Murry blog nor do I read the GV one. I just bumped into someone over the weekend and he said it might be happeing, he also reckons his misses is gunna kill him for it thou.

No news on the T-Man thou? (Travis Wayman)

Cheers

Thanks for the heads up, yeah don't really read the Murry blog nor do I read the GV one. I just bumped into someone over the weekend and he said it might be happeing, he also reckons his misses is gunna kill him for it thou.

No news on the T-Man thou? (Travis Wayman)
No worries mate. As for Trav Wayman, haven't heard anything yet. Check back here on Friday Night or Saturday, I will let you know how he plays against Echuca United on Good Friday.;)

Oh your to good Willo1

I live in Melb, so I find this the easiest way to find out the info on all the leagues up there. Originaly from the PDFL.

Yeah that would be good.

Cheers