Murray Football League (Part 2)

Re: Murray Football League - Part 2

How the hell are you the moderator of this forum?????? Some of your comments are indicating absolutely no knowledge of our competition at all.
I'll start with Byso's comments. They were in the heat of the moment and rather than berating his own players, he had to find someone to blame. Our guys were bad!!! END OF STORY! Are you forgetting that Nathalia had about 6 top liners including A Gemmill, Snelson, Butler, Barnes out when they played us in Round 11! That particular game was exactly how I thought the GF would be played out. We ran over the top of them in the last after 3 very tight quarters but it wasn't to be BECAUSE our blokes played probably their WORST game of the year. Not taking anything away from Nathalia as the pressure they applied was incredible.
As for blooding our younger players, I think you'll find (if you knew anything about the MFL) that Hazelman and Sam Ryan played the majority of the year in the 1's. As with the Nye boys, both were in the Seniors until injured and as for Tom Currie coming up and playing seniors........you've got to be kidding!!! It is his first year out of the Fourths!!!!!! He is developing nicely and definitely could become a Senior player. You forgot to mention the likes of Mick Connors, Sean Connor, Rhys Holt, Ben Ryan and the likes who all tasted Seniors this year!!! They all have the potential to become very good players for the club and will so in due time. Sorry but we don't feed our young to the lions like the Spartans in Vic!!!!
HOW DARE YOU SAY THAT WE DISREGARD OUR JUNIORS!!!!!!!!
What we really need is to get our Senior players more heavily involved with the Juniors (which we do through Senior players being involved in Junior training) more effectively and try to get them thinking footy 24/7. Difficult to do in current times but obviously will get everyone to respect us more.
And yes we do face the prospect of losing many of our younger players to PDFL clubs but that is the nature of the beast! MONEY! It's getting out of hand and as I've mentioned we're no role model in this regard but for us to be competitive in the competition, we require the services of more experienced players. If the kids really want to play, they will look for that advice from senior players, they will work extremely hard on the training track and they will do those extra things to get them in our football side. Unlike Nathalia, with the Barnes and Butlers of the world, our upcoming crop of youngsters are still developing these attitudes and ethics. Matt Byers went a long way instilling this into these young blokes. If they don't want to work that hard, then there is the option of PDFL. That's their decision. So hopefully, rather than getting a game handed to them on a silver platter, our young blokes have to WORK to get a game. It's harder to give something up when you've worked your arse off for it!!!!! Hard to instill!
The other thing our young blokes are missing is success!! During our successful period in the 90's, our LOCAL CONTENT had come through a very successful Junior era. Our current bunch haven't experienced that and it is an acquired ability because you know exactly what is required to reach the ultimate prize. Hopefully with the success some of the kids had in the Ressies, we will see a few of these young fellas running around at 2pm next year.
Frustrating but don't need you sprouting off about how our club is operating when you are only looking at it through blinkers. Like everyone else, we're just trying to be as successful as we possibly can!

That's very true, I remember during the 90's Barooga's side was filled with gun locals. About 8 brooks, O'Dwyer's were guns, Dunn and a heap of others. Toohey was like Nathalia's Brendon Parker of today, finishing his career at his home club and they had a couple of gun recruits like Brunner and Tranter would stayed for long enough to be locals.

However, when Nathalia got smashed by them throughout the 90s there was no suggestion, and never will be, that they were up to anything like you suggested of Parker, Snelson etc after the grand final the other week. I'm pretty sure Barooga won one of their flags coming from fifth too and there would have been blokes over 30 in that side.

Barooga have increased the standard of the Murray League by getting good players into it. I can't see why anyone cares what money they, Nathalia or any other club pays..

I used to barrack for melbourne because my pop played for them in the thirties and he got me a jumper when i was born, my uncle got me a hawthorn jumper when i was five and i changed. For those who know me they all know who i barrack for and all of canberra that listens to 104.7 know as well from my footy radio show, so again spruking off without knowing the truth, big hawk was correct in saying how can you be moderator if you are so one eyed. also everyone knows the ovens and murray is stronger than the gvfl, just accept it and actafl is also stronger than gvfl, not hard to work out, 4 out of the five teams beat the swans reserves in home and away games and belconnen stumbled in grand final by a point, how many gvfl clubs would beat the swans. im guessing not many. yass are only in div 4 because they have only been going 7 years and this was their first flag, building juniors now and will stay in div 4 till they are ready to go up. as i said we payed no money and we had two guys travel from wollongong and 6 from canberra, just because they wanted to, thats what i call mateship. Also tucky, i just read pdfl thread and where did you get your comment on finley joining, no mention on there only rennie, just another lie is it.

Dj ando just a couple of things, you get on here and say crap like nathalia must be spending heaps blah blah with no knowledge of what goes on at our club, then in the last post you have a go at tucky because he has said some thing that you think he might not have all the facts about very hypocritical, brains must have been handed few and far between in finley. secondly you say you left full forward because they are "lazy attention grabbing pretty boys" my guess is that when you moved up into the senior ranks you couldn't get a kick at full forward because of the big bad defenders not letting you touch the ball, so you thought i might go into the midfield where i can hang out on the wings and get my team mates to pass the ball to me before anyone hurts you, thirdly good luck with your radio show i'm sure you speak high volumes of unsubstanciated crap on there if your posts here are anything to go by.
Just a couple of other things isn't uni games just a big piss up for all teams involved if so your AA selection doesn't seem like much other than you obviously didn't drink as much as the rest of your team. alot of people can gain there level 1 and 2 coaching tickets if you've got it doesn't sound like it'd be hard, and lastly i know i've gone on a bit but its been good, The main bloke that you've bagged out is Parker and after looking at you CV that you posted on here i noticed one thing missing from yours thats on Brendan's, HE PLAYED ON THE BIG STAGE IN MORE THAN ONE OCCASSION, HE MADE AFL and i didn't see that on yours so while you had a little victory in thirds he has done what most people play the game for to make AFL or play at the highest level possible

not bragging but also forgot to mention gained all australian selection for two years in a row at the australian uni games,

So much more to pull out of your statements but had to laugh at this one, played in the uni games myself a couple of times, probably the highlight of my football career so far:eek:.
Played 3 parts pissed, as did 95% of the others in my side, the coach was more than 3 parts pissed for all of the weekend, and I played in the ruck in most of the games. That might not mean much to you dj ando, but I am 175cm and 69kg. Seeing we aren't bragging, won most of the tap outs too.
We had blokes make the all-australian side who had/have never played any higher footy than country minor leagues such as PDFL and Loddon Valley league in Bendigo.
I say brag all you want about your unbelievable feat!!

By the way Murray League played in Div 3 of the championships and won, so go up to Div 2, they had 4 representatives in the country championships where the ACT won and played some good footy.
ACTAFL slightly stronger than GV and O&M.
Your Div 2 ACT league would be comparable to Murray League, Div 4 comparable to PDFL.
Some honest GV players have gone and played in the league under Rourkey and are making a good impression so don't get to ahead of yourself with your unbiased!! comparisons.

So much more to pull out of your statements but had to laugh at this one, played in the uni games myself a couple of times, probably the highlight of my football career so far:eek:.
Played 3 parts pissed, as did 95% of the others in my side, the coach was more than 3 parts pissed for all of the weekend, and I played in the ruck in most of the games. That might not mean much to you dj ando, but I am 175cm and 69kg. Seeing we aren't bragging, won most of the tap outs too.
We had blokes make the all-australian side who had/have never played any higher footy than country minor leagues such as PDFL and Loddon Valley league in Bendigo.
I say brag all you want about your unbelievable feat!!

By the way Murray League played in Div 3 of the championships and won, so go up to Div 2, they had 4 representatives in the country championships where the ACT won and played some good footy.
ACTAFL slightly stronger than GV and O&M.
Your Div 2 ACT league would be comparable to Murray League, Div 4 comparable to PDFL.
Some honest GV players have gone and played in the league under Rourkey and are making a good impression so don't get to ahead of yourself with your unbiased!! comparisons.
Hank i wasnt bragging just stating some facts, i played uni games back in 91, 92 when it was strictly universities only allowed to attend, you know the real institutions like melb uni and syd uni, adelaide etc. not like nowadays when any drunken college are allowed to attend, yes we drank some beer but the football was serious back then, i played sfl with sydney uni and rocket rod carter from the swans was coaching and playing, we had 11 guys who had played reserve/or seniors for the swans, like john odwyer,graeme hart, craig hucker etc, so the standard was a lot higher than you are thinking, anyway have a nice day

Still only universities competing as far as I know, was the case in late 90's early 00's. Yeah fair enough maybe the times have changed.
From your CV that you have given us you were obviously a handy footballer in your day, but in my opinion your are letting yourselves down with your comparisons on leagues and comments about Nathalia.

Dj ando just a couple of things, you get on here and say crap like nathalia must be spending heaps blah blah with no knowledge of what goes on at our club, then in the last post you have a go at tucky because he has said some thing that you think he might not have all the facts about very hypocritical, brains must have been handed few and far between in finley. secondly you say you left full forward because they are "lazy attention grabbing pretty boys" my guess is that when you moved up into the senior ranks you couldn't get a kick at full forward because of the big bad defenders not letting you touch the ball, so you thought i might go into the midfield where i can hang out on the wings and get my team mates to pass the ball to me before anyone hurts you, thirdly good luck with your radio show i'm sure you speak high volumes of unsubstanciated crap on there if your posts here are anything to go by.
Just a couple of other things isn't uni games just a big piss up for all teams involved if so your AA selection doesn't seem like much other than you obviously didn't drink as much as the rest of your team. alot of people can gain there level 1 and 2 coaching tickets if you've got it doesn't sound like it'd be hard, and lastly i know i've gone on a bit but its been good, The main bloke that you've bagged out is Parker and after looking at you CV that you posted on here i noticed one thing missing from yours thats on Brendan's, HE PLAYED ON THE BIG STAGE IN MORE THAN ONE OCCASSION, HE MADE AFL and i didn't see that on yours so while you had a little victory in thirds he has done what most people play the game for to make AFL or play at the highest level possible
i admit brendan has done well, and was having a comical crack at him, you guys must really love him, nathalia might have afl legend brendan parker but finley has shane crawford who is probably a little better dont you think...... darren jackson and damian sexton probably played more games than parker as well and dont forget david murphy and justin crawford, jack hawkins and tom hawkins, do i need to go on any more. As for level 2 coaching, not as easy as you think, you actually have to be coaching to get it and it takes all season so i guess that rules you out, and as for moving away from full forward , i played their one season and hated not being in the action, you know helping out and getting the hard ball, then when i played seniors i played a lot in the centre and on the ball when finley were winning flags and nathalia were making up the numbers, i have one long lasting memory of nathalia and that was a snotty nosed kid about 15 who was not all there(probably inbred) screaming out behind the goals carn the purps, first impressions last and that always reminds me to stay away from nathalia, hopefully that wasnt you when you were younger, if so sorry !!

how many of the top 7 are staying McCool??

hopefully all mate but you never know in football, especially these days!

jees there has been a bit of biffo on here in the last fews days. just chill gang, though i think dj_ando is already chillin on some good gear up north.

i admit brendan has done well, and was having a comical crack at him, you guys must really love him, nathalia might have afl legend brendan parker but finley has shane crawford who is probably a little better dont you think...... darren jackson and damian sexton probably played more games than parker as well and dont forget david murphy and justin crawford, jack hawkins and tom hawkins, do i need to go on any more. As for level 2 coaching, not as easy as you think, you actually have to be coaching to get it and it takes all season so i guess that rules you out, and as for moving away from full forward , i played their one season and hated not being in the action, you know helping out and getting the hard ball, then when i played seniors i played a lot in the centre and on the ball when finley were winning flags and nathalia were making up the numbers, i have one long lasting memory of nathalia and that was a snotty nosed kid about 15 who was not all there(probably inbred) screaming out behind the goals carn the purps, first impressions last and that always reminds me to stay away from nathalia, hopefully that wasnt you when you were younger, if so sorry !!
sorry to me your moving away from the point yes finley may have those blokes from your club play AFL and congrats to them but none of them were bagging brendan you were so i just pointed out the fact that he made it and you didn't. no that kid wouldn't have been me sorry.
i'm 24 have no memory of finley ever being a powerhouse just remember where they are now and have been for a while sorry.

Still only universities competing as far as I know, was the case in late 90's early 00's. Yeah fair enough maybe the times have changed.
From your CV that you have given us you were obviously a handy footballer in your day, but in my opinion your are letting yourselves down with your comparisons on leagues and comments about Nathalia.
i thought that was what this site was about, heckling and comparing, i just read all comments and it seemed as though nathalia were untouchable, just having my say and the league comparisons came up because someone said act was cra footy and rugby league territory, just letting them know it was not the case, more local afl players than league players in canberra and the 3 afl games at manuka get more supporters than the raiders, if manuka was bigger it would improve as well. their doesnt seem to be any other finley people on here so i was just helping them out by bagging nathalia, Finley in the late 80's early 90s were very good but i must take my hat of to the purps for winning four in a row in any league is a great effort, maybe someone elses turn next year, I have finally retired at 37, is brendan going to play again next year, im turning to umpiring for my fix so i guess i will cop a bit back, anyway gotta go and do some work. go the HAWKS. bring on 09, im not really a prick , i just thought id stir up a bit of interest, and it worked, cant let cricket season take over just yet. Ps if you see larry ryan from strathy around tell him ando says hello

sorry to me your moving away from the point yes finley may have those blokes from your club play AFL and congrats to them but none of them were bagging brendan you were so i just pointed out the fact that he made it and you didn't. no that kid wouldn't have been me sorry.
i'm 24 have no memory of finley ever being a powerhouse just remember where they are now and have been for a while sorry.
fair call mate, the closest i got to playing afl was the geelong scouts came to watch me play against numurka, i had played great games the two weeks before but had a shocker that day, so there was my career done and dusted, anyway,read my previous post it may explain a few things, and believe me finley were a powerhouse, perhaps ask your dad, sad to see them so crap now.

Well I, for one, won't be taking you on in the verbal jousting, dj ando. If there's one thing I've learnt over the journey, its to never argue with a fcukwit, they drag you down to their level and then they beat you with experience...

Now my 2 bob's worth on the big man in the big shorts - B. Parker.

As a former senior player in the Murray League, and for the most part, a fairly moderately gifted back pocket player, I have had the joyous task of viewing (from very close up) the kind of carnage Peng can dish up to opposition sides on the footy field. The worst times were when you didn't get to view it, you just heard the rumbling coming as you camped under a skied footy and Big Brendan came galloping up from behind you...

But even those occasions where you nearly ended up in the spinal ward, were not the most frightening times that I have opposed Brendan...

I recall the mid 90's when I was a barman at the Harvest in Echuca when it got it's 4am licence, and I remember Parker was probably coaching (or just playing for??) Tonny at the time. I still reckon I would much rather fill the hole in front of Peng on the footy field, than have to tell him that "it's 4 am, we can't serve you any more bourbon, and you have to go home..." Thank god for blokes like Reidy and his mates who used take control of the situation and pour big Brendan into a cab.

B. Parker - Big man, can play footy, a demon on the piss.

I'm Sippawitz, that's my take...

Well I, for one, won't be taking you on in the verbal jousting, dj ando. If there's one thing I've learnt over the journey, its to never argue with a fcukwit, they drag you down to their level and then they beat you with experience...

Now my 2 bob's worth on the big man in the big shorts - B. Parker.

As a former senior player in the Murray League, and for the most part, a fairly moderately gifted back pocket player, I have had the joyous task of viewing (from very close up) the kind of carnage Peng can dish up to opposition sides on the footy field. The worst times were when you didn't get to view it, you just heard the rumbling coming as you camped under a skied footy and Big Brendan came galloping up from behind you...

But even those occasions where you nearly ended up in the spinal ward, were not the most frightening times that I have opposed Brendan...

I recall the mid 90's when I was a barman at the Harvest in Echuca when it got it's 4am licence, and I remember Parker was probably coaching (or just playing for??) Tonny at the time. I still reckon I would much rather fill the hole in front of Peng on the footy field, than have to tell him that "it's 4 am, we can't serve you any more bourbon, and you have to go home..." Thank god for blokes like Reidy and his mates who used take control of the situation and pour big Brendan into a cab.

B. Parker - Big man, can play footy, a demon on the piss.

I'm Sippawitz, that's my take...
fair call sippa, read my previous posts and you will realise i wasnt totally bagging him, just having a joke, dont be so serious, get a sense of humour and enjoy life

DJ pi$$ off back to your canberra thread, i knew u had a famililar tone about you, Umpire, haha, that'll be right up your alley with your attitude, good luck.........opps sorry, that fiddy against you Homer, DOH.
go jump homer, at least im trying to give a bit back to the sport i love, we dont have many umpires and very few that have actually played before, i can imagine you with your beer gut resting on the fence, abusing the umpires all day. remember no umpires no games you fool, perhaps you could help out and umpire as well, what about all the juniors coming up who is going to umpire for them if everyone has your attitude, dont know why you are so upset anyway:confused::confused:

Take more than u to upset me pal, i dont abuse umps never have and never will, dont always agree with them though and yeh its hard to get umps and we do need them, but u need a different attitude to umpire, like a control freak and a dominating kind of tude and most important of all be able to talk down to people....u sound like that kind of guy.

Just not sure why u would want to come on here and post 14 times in 24hr and deliberatly upset our people with your ridiculous statements, we dont really care what u think........... quiet day up there maybe?

Take more than u to upset me pal, i dont abuse umps never have and never will, dont always agree with them though and yeh its hard to get umps and we do need them, but u need a different attitude to umpire, like a control freak and a dominating kind of tude and most important of all be able to talk down to people....u sound like that kind of guy.

Just not sure why u would want to come on here and post 14 times in 24hr and deliberatly upset our people with your ridiculous statements, we dont really care what u think........... quiet day up there maybe?
if you dont care what i think, then why so much wingeing, just originally posted to back up a statement i thought was fair and true and the response i got , i guess i was right on the money, as i said before get a sense of humor, it might improve you life. im outta this place. as for umpiring, i was going to take a different approach, let the game flow, talk to the guys, you know a players perspective, tried to change a few things, oh well if thats your view of all umpires then thats fine

bye bye :rolleyes:

ando you keep telling us your going but then you find a reason to post again! i reckon you would be one of those control freak umpires who would want to make sure everyone hears you! now go back to your other forums! on MFL news has any clubs go any signings of players? i heard numurkah have signed a new coach?

Luke Souter?

Numurkah have signed Chris O'dwyer as their coach not sure if its playing or non playing, in the article in the numurkah leader he said saunders has stayed on as assistant coach i think. i think it said wellington wasn't sure what he was doing either.