Murray Football League - Season 2010

Re: Murray Football League (Part 5)

Peanut......coming from Wangaratta, you'd be well up on happenings over here. PULL YOUR HEAD IN!!!! Don't know who Barooga Boy is, and quite frankly don't care! What I can't stand is someone like yourself coming into this forum and acting the tough guy!!!! If you have any harsh feelings regarding this, by all means PM me so this doesn't become a public slinging match that no one gives two tosses about.
On a more positive note, great game of footy in trying conditions. Officiating was once again bemusing (for both sides!). If the men in white want people to appreciate the efforts they put in, they need to stick to basic rulings and get themselves fitter to keep up with the action! Thought it was going to be reminiscent of Rd. 1 but the Hawks held on for a terrific win. The eveness of the comp means that anyone in the top 6 could win this year, pending on what they present on the day! Going to be an interesting run home into the finals! Good luck to all!
hi bighawk, cats v barooga for 6th spot is heating up

Re:Mercy Rule,

What a load of garbage it is just another example of how soft our world has become, we have all been on the recieving end of a few floggings on the sporting field and if anything it has made us more determined to get better. The problem these days is we dont want to hurt the kids feelings so we come up with ways to make them feel good without having to work hard. That is why when they get older they just give up when things get to hard. Translate that to senior footy and if it all gets a bit hard they just give it away. there are too many "Do Gooders" who think if we make footy easy for "Little Johnny" he will stick around. News flash tree Huggers Little johnny will just give up everything he does in life when it gets too hard.

Bring back the good old days of if you get knocked down you get back up and work your backside off to get better.

What a load of garbage is right. You are probably one of the junior coaches that pump the toc 4ths by 30something goals and reckon your doing a great job. Idiots like that have caused this problem.Toc run out with 8 and 9 year olds in their team just hoping to get a kick let alone score, whats wrong with a little evening up. Our club has never had problems with numbers, against Toc we rested our good 13yr olds and rotated our main players off the bench. We finished the game playing only 15 on the ground, hoping they would score, yet still won by 20 goals. Our boys knew what the coach was trying to achieve and accepted it as did the parents. Junior footy shouldnt be just about winning, but encoraging kids to enjoy competing. The ball never reaching your forward line no mater how hard you try soon takes the shine off that .
And as for the statement that "little johnny will just give up if things get too hard". A hell of a lot of gun junior players from "winning teams" give up because seniors is too tough anyway, especially straight out of 3rds. Junior coaches do the kids a diservice if their only focus is winning.

ha ha you guys have got to be kidding right? stop being so soft on these kids. i captained an under 14's side and we didnt score for a year! the ball barely ventured past the half way line! but we still loved it cos we were out there playing with our mates having a bit of fun. you cant just hand kids goals and points otherwise they will be expecting this every time the going gets tough and wont really enjoy it as much as if they scored off there own hard work and endevour, its just not the same.
the next year we did actually score, first it was a point and the whole team went nuts, if you didnt know any different you would have thought we had just won the premiership. then we kicked a goal and even more celebrations! it was great and we knew that we did it ourselves it wasnt handed to us which made it even better!
and as for kids quitting when they are getting bealted every week thats bullshit, i still play now and still look back on those bealtings and laugh!
maybe the reason why they quit after junoirs is because the handouts stop, there used to getting a helping hand when things get a bit tough, and now all of a sudden its not there.

ha ha you guys have got to be kidding right? stop being so soft on these kids. i captained an under 14's side and we didnt score for a year! the ball barely ventured past the half way line! but we still loved it cos we were out there playing with our mates having a bit of fun. you cant just hand kids goals and points otherwise they will be expecting this every time the going gets tough and wont really enjoy it as much as if they scored off there own hard work and endevour, its just not the same.
the next year we did actually score, first it was a point and the whole team went nuts, if you didnt know any different you would have thought we had just won the premiership. then we kicked a goal and even more celebrations! it was great and we knew that we did it ourselves it wasnt handed to us which made it even better!
and as for kids quitting when they are getting bealted every week thats bullshit, i still play now and still look back on those bealtings and laugh!
maybe the reason why they quit after junoirs is because the handouts stop, there used to getting a helping hand when things get a bit tough, and now all of a sudden its not there.

Spot on Snake, our thirds and Fourths battle away every week but always give it everything they have. A few weeks ago our Fourths played a top side after the seniors played and the boys gave them a run for there money, Whilst they didnt win the game the excitement on the kids faces after told the story. They didnt want a hand out they wanted to do it the right way and the fact they were able to do it in front of the "big boys" made it even more enjoyable.

Re:Mercy Rule,

What a load of garbage it is just another example of how soft our world has become, we have all been on the recieving end of a few floggings on the sporting field and if anything it has made us more determined to get better. The problem these days is we dont want to hurt the kids feelings so we come up with ways to make them feel good without having to work hard. That is why when they get older they just give up when things get to hard. Translate that to senior footy and if it all gets a bit hard they just give it away. there are too many "Do Gooders" who think if we make footy easy for "Little Johnny" he will stick around. News flash tree Huggers Little johnny will just give up everything he does in life when it gets too hard.

Bring back the good old days of if you get knocked down you get back up and work your backside off to get better.
Education lesson coming from you, on people in football sooking and being soft :) :)

Spot on

Called in and checked out things at Barooga last night, must say after we were chatting to dudes in the pub at Cobram on the way thru I didn't know what to expect but turns out they were fine and made us out of towners quite welcome.

Not prepared to split friendships for the game this week as I have a lot of time for both coaches, so Im tipping a draw . . . . sorry Wrenny & SJ :thumbsu:

Word has it that daniels give congupna notice that he wont be there next year! Anyone from the road want to comment?

Daniels is a joke he sunk his club in qld by making them get a massive loan to make him look good and now they are broke and i dare say he would be tryin to get congupna to do the same thing? If i was congupna i would be gettin a limo to pick him up and drive him out the door before he bankrupts them:p

Ha Ha sounds like a fan Roadie, :confused:

Geez Wash! Don't sugar coat it! Say what you really think!
Probably not the season the raod were looking for. It breaks my heart.
Anyway for what its worth, lets hope the Numurkah Blues can get their early season form back and see them lift the cup 10 years after they last did! Good Luck to Snackas and the boys:thumbsu:.
It seems the comp can be won by anyone of the top 4 or 5 on their day. The league will be rubbing their hands together, should be some big gate takings on the way!

Anyway for what its worth, lets hope the Numurkah Blues can get their early season form back and see them lift the cup 10 years after they last did! Good Luck to Snackas and the boys:thumbsu:.
It seems the comp can be won by anyone of the top 4 or 5 on their day. The league will be rubbing their hands together, should be some big gate takings on the way!

Mulwala v Cobram - with Mul taking home the silverware by 12 points.

Mul seem to be getting stronger and stronger as the season continues

Hogwash, what a load of rubbish,

what loan :confused:

we are not broke

hope you are right ramnuts... been a touch disappointing of late but biggest losing margain is 7 points. You would think Luke Cowan and Mark Brown make us a better side by alot more than 7 points so should see the blues peak come finals time.

Better make that top six ramnuts. Numurkah will be ruing those close losses as they will probably cop a very dangerous opponent first up in a knockout final.
Cobram and Mulwala will be happy to get a week off while four fairly handy sides beat the sh*t out of each other

hope you are right ramnuts... been a touch disappointing of late but biggest losing margain is 7 points. You would think Luke Cowan and Mark Brown make us a better side by alot more than 7 points so should see the blues peak come finals time.

Tim hows the peace train coming along...............:thumbsu:

You Toss bag

Surely not, what happened to Seymour being an option, or has Habers signed for another year???

I thought you would know, hes a mate of yours :p
Im hearing there could be a new main man at the top of the MFL next year??

Way off the mark giveitawash:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Better make that top six ramnuts. Numurkah will be ruing those close losses as they will probably cop a very dangerous opponent first up in a knockout final.
Cobram and Mulwala will be happy to get a week off while four fairly handy sides beat the sh*t out of each other

Totally agree,its going to be a cracker of a finals format.