• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

N.T.F.L v's S.F.L 2008

santi. is not the best shot at goal. lets get that out of the way to start with.
Yes. he is a good shot at goal, but duff, lets be honest, as a lot will agree, thats a silly statement!!
secondly, he will not get drafted, u think of the kids that havent been drafted in the last 2 years (joseph, bowden for example)
way more skill and class for starters those guys
he seems the player that cant play anywhere but the goalsquare???
how would he go on a back flank???
or on a wing?

thirdly. half the pies side is stiff not to make the squad. the way they have played over the last 12/18 months. anyone of the first 18 could pretty much play in the sfl squad!!!

Southern side loses players

BRETT STUBBS
June 24, 2008 12:00am
THE Southern team for the annual North-South grudge match has been dealt three more massive blows.
Arguably the best player in Tasmania, North Hobart midfielder and former Devil Ken Hall has withdrawn from the squad with body soreness.

Brilliant, tough Glenorchy onballer Shane Piuselli injured a hamstring on Saturday as did North Hobart playing-coach and former Devils vice-captain Matthew Geappen, with both being ruled out.

Hall, 27, missed most of the pre-season after tearing an achilles' tendon but has been in scintillating form in recent weeks.

"I've just got some body soreness over the last couple of weeks and stuff like that," Hall said yesterday.

"I haven't pulled up all that well, so I thought I had better not just in case I do do something.

"I would have liked to have gone and played but mind you there was a bit of travel to go up there so I thought I had better not."

South coach Darren Winter said Hall's absence would be hard to cover.

"Probably the best player in the competition not playing is certainly disappointing," Winter said.

"He would have been a handy player to have through the midfield, but we'll just work around that now."

The Southern Premier League defeated the NTFL for the first time last year, a win built on almost a zealot-like passion.

But Winter said this same desire was not missing this year.

"It has been pretty good. The guys have been enthusiastic at training with good numbers," he said.

"If guys aren't keen to play well you really don't want them in the team anyway.

"The guys we've had there the whole time have been excellent. I've coached this five times and I haven't had the amount of contact from players for any other games that I've had for this one."

Co-captain and fullback Brad Curran is already out with a broken ankle, while Brighton's Nathan Barwick and Lauderdale's Tim Perkins are also under injury clouds.

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23913262-13222,00.html

:cool:
Southern side loses players

BRETT STUBBS
June 24, 2008 12:00am
THE Southern team for the annual North-South grudge match has been dealt three more massive blows.
Arguably the best player in Tasmania, North Hobart midfielder and former Devil Ken Hall has withdrawn from the squad with body soreness.

Brilliant, tough Glenorchy onballer Shane Piuselli injured a hamstring on Saturday as did North Hobart playing-coach and former Devils vice-captain Matthew Geappen, with both being ruled out.

Hall, 27, missed most of the pre-season after tearing an achilles' tendon but has been in scintillating form in recent weeks.

"I've just got some body soreness over the last couple of weeks and stuff like that," Hall said yesterday.

"I haven't pulled up all that well, so I thought I had better not just in case I do do something.

"I would have liked to have gone and played but mind you there was a bit of travel to go up there so I thought I had better not."

South coach Darren Winter said Hall's absence would be hard to cover.

"Probably the best player in the competition not playing is certainly disappointing," Winter said.

"He would have been a handy player to have through the midfield, but we'll just work around that now."

The Southern Premier League defeated the NTFL for the first time last year, a win built on almost a zealot-like passion.

But Winter said this same desire was not missing this year.

"It has been pretty good. The guys have been enthusiastic at training with good numbers," he said.

"If guys aren't keen to play well you really don't want them in the team anyway.

"The guys we've had there the whole time have been excellent. I've coached this five times and I haven't had the amount of contact from players for any other games that I've had for this one."

Co-captain and fullback Brad Curran is already out with a broken ankle, while Brighton's Nathan Barwick and Lauderdale's Tim Perkins are also under injury clouds.

It looks like the Southerners have folded up their tent - the message sent out by Hall and Geappen - "I couldn't give a stuff" will flow through to the others. Of course Windy will say different, but it's common knowledge his boys don't want to face a rabid North on their own dunghill seeking revenge. Plapp's been eating raw meat for a month.:eek::D:p

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23913262-13222,00.html

Nth v Sth

has the sfl squad been trimmed yet?? anyone know whos in it

Christ with Hall, Cat and, Poppa all out there goes our best on ballers.
Christ its going to be tough now.

But you just never know.

Still sticking by what I said on Santi, he's carrying a bit at the minute (I can't speak) but gee for talent he's a gun forward.

Who else will kick 'em for the South?

Will Cornelius play?

A gun forward santi?
the one thing hes got is age. 16 or 17 still?
but gun forward?

very one dimensional in my opinion. can he play anywhere but the forward 50?? dont think so

as for goals for the south.
degooyer???
sharman?
cornelius could become the key if he plays!!!

A gun forward santi?
the one thing hes got is age. 16 or 17 still?
but gun forward?

very one dimensional in my opinion. can he play anywhere but the forward 50?? dont think so

as for goals for the south.
degooyer???
sharman?
cornelius could become the key if he plays!!!

Cornelius??? He is struggling at the moment, probably burnt out from all the footy he has played this year.

The keys ar Derba, Plapp and Ford!!!!!! Who will cover these gun forwards?????

SFL....WILL WIN BY A RECORD MARGIN! 80 plus points!!!! The only thing that will save a blow out is the rain and wind...then it will be a ten goal win for the northerners!!!!

It is a pity none of the top players at regional league are interested in playing the rep. game! Danny Ling should only play those that want to play.

However if players do not want to play, that is their choice, and they should not be penalised....absolute bull shit from Wayne Povey :thumbsdown: saying players will be suspended from their club if they are unavailable! the guys play for enjoyment, and very little money.....piclk the players that have the desire to play rep footy!!!! ;)

The clubs voted unanimously to punish players who don't play. Not sure why you are giving Povey a serve over it.

I know of 3 regional players who were originally picked in the side, but wont be playing, they booked tickets to go Melbourne for the footy months ago. One of these blokes is taking his 2 young fellows, carnt blame him, its the only week they have off and the kids want to watch there side at the MCG. If he gets suspended by his club ( he wont ) he will walk away and play in the old scholars instead. He isnt on big money, so who can blame him, I wont, would more than likely to the same if in that position.

at the start of each season, if they want to keep the rep games going, they should get every player to sign a form saying whether they will make themselves available for an intrastate match. the NWTCA does this with cricket, then those guys who dont want to play in the Jamie Cox plate dont get looked at.

at least then you will only have the committed ones putting their hands up, and it would stop all this bullshit of potential suspensions and faking injuries. may not get the best players on the park but those there will give 110%. For whatever reason some players dont want to play, but there are enough decent players running around who can fill the void

at the start of each season, if they want to keep the rep games going, they should get every player to sign a form saying whether they will make themselves available for an intrastate match.

Sdog you are spot on with that one.

What are the final sides for rep game?

NTFL -v- SFL at Devonport Oval, 2pm

NTFL

B: J Wells, N McKenna, S O'Keefe;

HB: B Green, A Finch, K McCabe;
C: J Ling, K Heazlewood (co-capt), N Buller;

HF: B Finch (v capt), K Ford, J Plapp (co-capt);

F: S Blizzard, A Derbyshire, K Munday;

FOLL: C Carpenter, M Smith, M Lowe;

INT: B Davis, C Brown, D Ellis, S Matheson;

Coach: Dale Perry;

SFL

B: J Dunham, M Drury, S Moles;

HB: H Anderson, C De Gooyer (capt), A Triffett ;

C: C Glenn, J Baker, C Beck;

HF: J Philp, G Sharman, R Devine;

F: N Paine (v.capt), M Cassidy, M Smith;

FOLL: T Plummer, G Marshall, A Hevey;

INT: D Archer, B Clark, C Milne, D O'Garey, C Wilson;

Coach: Darren Winter;

NTFL UNDER-19s -v- TASMANIAN UNDER-16s

NTFL UNDER-19s

B: S Pennefather, T Hodgson, M Sheehan;

HB: T Davies, S Vanderfeen (v capt), J Slore;

C: A Walker, A Brown, A Davey;

HF: A Buller, A Holstrom, S James;

F: D McShane, N Pendergast (capt), B Arkless;

FOLL: D Mariner, T Johnstone, C Ryan;

INT: S Lutwyche, J Plant, M Booth, N Radford;

Coach: Don Cooper.

http://northerntasmania.yourguide.c...morrow39s-representative-lineups/1250555.html

TOMORROW at the Devonport Oval 11.30am

NTFA

B: S. Marshall (GT), C.Black (LF), J. Nunn (v-c) (B'nell);

HB: A. Wilmot (Roc), D. Newton (GT), Z.Gossage (LF);

C: J. Boyce (SD), T.Milne (capt) (SD), M. Rainbow (SD);

HF: J. Baldock (Del), J. Clements (B'nth), C. Savage (B'nth);

F: S. Chugg (LF), D. Wickham (Roc), J. Adams (v-c) (B'nell);

R: D. Roozendaal (SD), A. Axton (ass-coach) (GT), T. Allison (GT);

Inter: S. Bowden (B'nth), M.Bosworth (B'nell), R. Mansell (Roc); B Tuthill (GT)

Emerg: J.Hardman (Del), B.Free (Hill).

SFL REGIONAL LEAGUE

B: J. Bailey, T. Branch, A Branch;

HB: A. Stonjek (v capt), R. Headlam, J. Myers;

C: O Burke, N. Braslin, A Boucher;

HF: C. Curtain, P. Bass, J Howe (Jeremy);

F: B. Watson, M. Darcy, T. Willing;

FOLL: J. Curran (capt), J. O'Neill, B. Booth;

INTER: T. Cannan, M. Direen, D. Arnol, J. O'Brien;

Coach: Danny Ling;

SFL REGIONAL LEAGUE

B: J. Bailey, T. Branch, A Branch;

HB: A. Stonjek (v capt), R. Headlam, J. Myers;

C: O Burke, N. Braslin, A Boucher;

HF: C. Curtain, P. Bass, J Howe (Jeremy);

F: B. Watson, M. Darcy, T. Willing;

FOLL: J. Curran (capt), J. O'Neill, B. Booth;

INTER: T. Cannan, M. Direen, D. Arnol, J. O'Brien;

Coach: Danny Ling;

There must have been a lot of blokes pull out of this side, because it is absolutely woeful. To think the standard of the regional league has improved so much over the last few years, and this is the best side they can get to represent them... Sad really...

Also, was thinking the other day that it would be nice to hear from Kempoz Kingz on his thoughts about Colin Garland's AFL career so far. Looking back on his constant bagging of Colin, and his constant praising and talking-up of young Jack Riewoldt, I would like to know how he rates the 2 of them now.... Seeing as Colin is one of the best young defenders in the comp, and Jack is struggling to get a game in a very average forward line.

There must have been a lot of blokes pull out of this side, because it is absolutely woeful. To think the standard of the regional league has improved so much over the last few years, and this is the best side they can get to represent them... Sad really...

Yep, Danny Ling gave the clubs a piece of his mind in the paper last week about the lack of commitment from the clubs. And I agree, it does the SFL Regional League no justice sending a 2nd/3rd strength side up to Devonport to play.

NTFA are at full strength, and I would say they will win by 75 points.

Yep, Danny Ling gave the clubs a piece of his mind in the paper last week about the lack of commitment from the clubs. And I agree, it does the SFL Regional League no justice sending a 2nd/3rd strength side up to Devonport to play.

NTFA are at full strength, and I would say they will win by 75 points.

It makes it very hard to convince people that the league has improved immensely over the last few years, and is a quality comp, when they send a side like that to the only rep game game of the year; their only chance to prove the quality of the league...

Well, the third tier squad proved very competitive all match, only being shook off by the NTFA in the final term to record a 25 point win. Got out to a 7 point lead at quarter time but the NTFA started to dominate proceedings in the 2nd term and were out to about a 5 goal advantage before the SFL got it back to 13 at half time. From there the NTFA steadied and although tested they had a good win:

NTFA ( 3.3, 9.7, 12.11, 16.12-108) def SFL Regional (4.4, 7.6, 10.7, 12.11-83)

Major scorers NTFA: Wickham 6, Adams 4, Roozendaal 2, Savage 2
Major scorers SFL Reg: Darcy 4
Best NTFA (IMO): Wickham, Nunn, Adams, Axton, Milne, Roozendaal, Gossage
Best SFL (IMO): Darcy, O'Brien, O'Neal, Booth, Curran

NTFL with a strong third term got the points from the SFL Premier League, who were all square with the NTFL at quarter and half time, before the NTFL blew the Premier League out of the water with a 7 goal third term to turn it into a 35 point advantage at the final change before a heavy shower turned the final term into a slogfest, as the NTFL saw off the SFL by 45 points.

NTFL (2.3, 6.5, 13.6, 15.12-102) def SFL (2.3, 6.5, 7.7, 8.9-57)

Major Scorers NTFL: Derbyshire 6, Plapp 2, Smith 2, Buller 2
Major Scorers SFL: Glenn 3, Hevey 2
Best NTFL (IMO) McCabe, Derbyshire, Munday, Brown, Smith, Ellis
Best SFL (IMO): De Gooyer, Cassidy, Glenn, Philp, Hevey

Crowd about 1200-1300 at best estimate at Devonport

Nick Santi - This guy will be drafted next year. Best kick for goal in the state & would have stepped up no worries.

Duff i will assure you that Santi will not get drafted.
i saw him play North Hobart at KG5 a month or so ago and he was well shut dwon from Nick Carr (havent seen a lot of Carr before but he impressed me)!
In the next 2 years i will only think 2 or 3 players would be a chance of getting drafted.
2009 Liam Jones- Son of former st kilda player, Bob Jones. liam is a member of the AIS team and got awarded a scholarship to a school in melbourne. He is quick, very tall, Has the best set of hands for set of hands in the state for a young kid behind Cornelius ofcourse, but if he was still down in Tassie he would have been a nice player to have in the SFL team. Could get drafted stil this year but has had knee troubles and he had to pull out of the under 18s team, so that would have hurten his chances. Is ten times better player than Santi

Ryan Harwood- hard as nails, quick, and can tackle..has been ripping up seniors football and also the under 18s carnival, surely he will go close

2010- Mav Wellar- this kid can really play, im sure all the northern people will agree, very quick great hands and amazing kick. Reminds me of a Brett Delido actually. he would have made the NTFL easily but i think is playing the state team in a earlier game? (how did they go?)

onto another point, Why wouldnt Winter include Michael Fisher? would have been the prefect match up for plappy

Duff i will assure you that Santi will not get drafted.
i saw him play North Hobart at KG5 a month or so ago and he was well shut dwon from Nick Carr (havent seen a lot of Carr before but he impressed me)!
In the next 2 years i will only think 2 or 3 players would be a chance of getting drafted.
2009 Liam Jones- Son of former st kilda player, Bob Jones. liam is a member of the AIS team and got awarded a scholarship to a school in melbourne. He is quick, very tall, Has the best set of hands for set of hands in the state for a young kid behind Cornelius ofcourse, but if he was still down in Tassie he would have been a nice player to have in the SFL team. Could get drafted stil this year but has had knee troubles and he had to pull out of the under 18s team, so that would have hurten his chances. Is ten times better player than Santi

Ryan Harwood- hard as nails, quick, and can tackle..has been ripping up seniors football and also the under 18s carnival, surely he will go close

2010- Mav Wellar- this kid can really play, im sure all the northern people will agree, very quick great hands and amazing kick. Reminds me of a Brett Delido actually. he would have made the NTFL easily but i think is playing the state team in a earlier game? (how did they go?)

onto another point, Why wouldnt Winter include Michael Fisher? would have been the prefect match up for plappy

State Under 16's beat the NTFL Under 19's by 8 points, very nearly blew a big early lead of 5 goals in the final term. Score was 10.6-66 to 8.10-58

Plappy did struggle to get his two today, looked dangerous in patches, but it was a struggle for him. Derba looked good but again missed his fair share (6.5).

N.T.F.L v's S.F.L 2008