Nathan Bock

No doubt he had a great game. As I said in the Hawthorn board, for mine Franklin beat him in the first quarter, he had three shots that he would normally kick, yes they weren't from marks but that's why Franklin has done so well, when he's not taking grabs he's generating opportunities at ground level. Then Bock beat him for 2 quarters, then in the last quarter Franklin went up the group and with Hodge turned the game and won it for the Hawks.

Huge credit has to go to the pressure from Adelaide's midfield and the guys in the half forward line who cut his leads. Franklin gets most of his goals on the lead, and I think he only managed to get on the lead one time all game without someone cutting in front of him. He marked a metre in front of Bock and kicked his only goal.

Finally, and I know this will sound like sour grapes, but what the hell, I thought Bock's 36 odd possessions basically had no impact on the game. Usually Bock gets 20 touches running out of the back line and setting up play, but 90% of his touches where just switching the play un-marked deep in goal square. He didn't rebound like he usually does. If he'd got 30 touches playing as he usually does he would have won the game for the Crows.

[edit] Just want to make it clear I think Bock took the points over the match and is easily the best CHB getting around at the moment.

I thought Bock was very good and took the points last night. The fact that he didn't follow Buddy up the ground while Buddy dominated the last quarter though, i'm not sure.

However, Buddy did have 7 shots on goal. True, they weren't from set shots but that's part of playing on Buddy. Had he kicked straight and had the umpires paid any attention to those marking duals, this thread probably wouldn't be here but I do genuinely thing Bock played well. Gave alot going the other way.

Bock would have to be the most improved player in the league this year. Had never really nailed down a spot in the backline or forwardline but this year has become on the best CHB's. Could use him at Carlton!

I think the fact that Buddy had so many shots at goal says more about him than Bock's defense. He's that bloody good that even when he's being beaten he can still find ways to get the football in scoring positions. I thought it was a great contest and will become one of the great rivalries in the game.

Crows fans have talked up Bock for a long time, unfortunately with our lack of talent up forward he's been forced to plug holes for a long time. He's finally been able to settle in at CHB and has shown his worth. Gun.

I am a huge fan of Nathan Bock, excellent player but what does 'grind my gears' is that Buddy kicked 1.7 and one out on the full, so he had 9 shots on goal, kelvin moore kept him to 1.7 aswell, now knowone have him any praise they just said buddy had a bad game.

So did Bock actually have a good game defensive wise...
wel either he did defensive then that means kelvin moore should be getting praise defensive wise.

does sound a little bias but i had to say somethings

Bock would have to be the most improved player in the league this year. Had never really nailed down a spot in the backline or forwardline but this year has become on the best CHB's. Could use him at Carlton!
Thata wrong! Bock nailed the CHB a couple of seasons ago for us but once Hentschel went down with injury, we moved Bock forward where he struggled a bit. Everyone who followed the club knew that Bocky is a gun CHB. Even the club has come out numerous times last year and said that Bock is at his best at CHB but out of necessity, we needed to play him forward.

This year he was given the role at CHB and left there regardless of whats happening up forward and we have seen the difference that makes.

It wasn't a matter of him not being able to cement a spot but more so our need to play him out of position because there was no one better that could do a good enough job. This year, its a different story.

Oh, and he was sensational last night on Buddy. Buddy is a chap and he will alway get his shots on goal but the trick is to not allow him to have many set shots and when he does snap them make sure there is a hell of a lot of pressure on him. On one of his shots Buddy was running into an open goal but it was McLeod's brilliant chase and last second attempted tackle was enough to put Buddy off his shot which resulted in a behind.

from memory was it Bock's dropped chest mark that led to the Hodge goal?? 151 cheap dream team points and when the games there to be won cant get the points that really matter

Yep, harsh but fair

I am a huge fan of Nathan Bock, excellent player but what does 'grind my gears' is that Buddy kicked 1.7 and one out on the full, so he had 9 shots on goal, kelvin moore kept him to 1.7 aswell, now knowone have him any praise they just said buddy had a bad game.

So did Bock actually have a good game defensive wise...
wel either he did defensive then that means kelvin moore should be getting praise defensive wise.

does sound a little bias but i had to say somethings
Most of buddys shots last night were either snaps or on the run shots. Against the tiges they were mostly set shots. Big difference.

Moore isn't in the same league as bock.

Did a terrific job last night on Buddy no doubt...:thumbsu:
But, taking nothing away from Bockchoy, the delivery to Franklin from the midfield wasn't all that special and that would have to be due to the pressure Adelaide's midfield put on, pretty outstanding, and were unlucky not to get away with a win...Hawthorn didn't look on the ball, credit to Adelaide's pressurre of course, but that just goes to show even if Hawthorn don't play to their capabilities they are still able to beat quality sides...Good signs from both the Adelaide & Hawthorn army last night...:thumbsu:

I thought Bock did a great job on Buddy last night... would love to have someone of his ilk to help out Croad in the Hawks' defense.

But;

a) A lot of Bock's possessions were the Crows back and forth movement trying to make the upfield cluster dizzy.

b) When Buddy went up the ground chasing kicks in the second half Bock (or the Coaching staff) made the decision to hang back. This was ok for a while... but when Buddy started to get some important midfield ball in the last quarter surely Bock had to make the decision to go with him.

I think b) in the last quarter cost Bock the BOG... and the Crows the game.

Would this thread be here if the umpires were consistent game to game?

Bock scragged, chopped the arms and held all night. Basically what Darren Glass does. I guess Adelaide home game you expect the umpires to be on their side though.

Your kidding right??

Tippett gets legged, play on say the umpire, after calling a free.

Buddy falls over with Bock near him and gets a too high call.

I know Tigers supporters are good with excuses, 15 years of sh*t footy will do that but this is a thread for a great defender who pants the BEST forward in the comp atm.

If Craigy let him run with him in the last quarter he wouldn't have done anything in that qaurter either.

Buddy is a terrific player but was pants.

One on one Bock contested very well with Franklin and beat him basically every time. Bock even managed to mark the ball himself on one occasion. How many of his points were from set shots?

One-on-one he was good, however, did you see just how he beat franklin? clearly held him each time... Not to say he didnt do a good job though, just hope it doesnt turn into a weekly occurance in that the umpires will not pay a free...

franklin moved up ground in last quarter because bock was tackling him when the ball wasnt even in the area it frustrates me that people cant see this. the umpiring in that gametonight was disgraceful suddenly the backmen are allowed to scrag and hold this was happening to both teams forwards. is this a change in interpretation. as for bocks thirty touches did he actually kick any of them more than 20 metres forward him and rutten played kick to kick all night hardly impressive.If you are gonna go one on one lets see it all night, he had at least two guys helping him 90% of the time. the times they were one out the delivery from hawk midfielders was woeful. Buddy and bock one on one all night with no chop out i know who im backing every time

Can you get off Buddy's wang for one week mate?

He's discrased every backman on him this year up until now.

Franklin is one of the biggest holders and pushers in marking contests. He tackled Rutten in a headlock, no call. he pushed stevens in the back, no call.

Im sure Bock probably got him here and there but no more that what he does to backman.

Your kidding right??

Tippett gets legged, play on say the umpire, after calling a free.

Buddy falls over with Bock near him and gets a too high call.

I know Tigers supporters are good with excuses, 15 years of sh*t footy will do that but this is a thread for a great defender who pants the BEST forward in the comp atm.

If Craigy let him run with him in the last quarter he wouldn't have done anything in that qaurter either.

Buddy is a terrific player but was pants.

see it? every player had stopped, and he handballed. Sure, wasnt really noble of the umpire, but it was the right decision.

The one free Franklin got happens every week on every player, to say it was unfair is laughable.

Watch the replay, and you will see just how Bock beat Franklin. Whilst he beat buddy, it was unfairly, I guess though, If you get away with it its all good.... Kanga's fans will be crapping themselves if franklin plays this week.

Would you say he CHOKED! must have been down at Alberton and caught something.

He beat Franklin in the 1 on 1 and didn't take the mark. 99% of the competition would have been standing the mark as Franklin took his shot.

Err yeah no worries..

Yep all franklins kicks were rushed on the boundary, he shouldnt have even been going for goal with some of them..

Picked up around 10 disposals in the last quarter when he pushed up into the midfield and bock stayed in defence or his tally would be way down..

Why was he pushed up into the midfield?

Cos he was being soundly beaten..

Bock beat him in one on ones easily, only 2-3 marks i believe for franklin..

Another great game by the AA CHB

i was going to post, but this post says it all.

Great game from the Bokster!!

see it? every player had stopped, and he handballed. Sure, wasnt really noble of the umpire, but it was the right decision.

The one free Franklin got happens every week on every player, to say it was unfair is laughable.

Watch the replay, and you will see just how Bock beat Franklin. Whilst he beat buddy, it was unfairly, I guess though, If you get away with it its all good.... Kanga's fans will be crapping themselves if franklin plays this week.

Everyone did stop.

That's why there is a NO ADVANTAGE rule.

Tippett only handpassed because he was unaware of the umpire paying a free. Probably because after getting molested, he thought tripping wasn't going to be paid

Just watched the replay.

Interviewer: You really got the engine pumping in that last quarter.

Buddy: Yeah i had to go up the ground as bocky was all over me. I needed to get some ball, so i pushed myself up the ground.

Good to see Buddy paying respect to his opposition. And acknowledging when he got beaten.

Great game from BOCK!!
and another good game between the crows and the hawks

Yeah, how quickly has he gone from unknown to one of the best key defenders in the comp.

Would love him at Hawthorn. You wouldn't swap him for Zac Dawson and a third round pick would you?

Picked up as a rookie in 2003 :thumbsu:

One-on-one he was good, however, did you see just how he beat franklin? clearly held him each time... Not to say he didnt do a good job though, just hope it doesnt turn into a weekly occurance in that the umpires will not pay a free...

Yep I was at the game, and the way umpires are paying frees these days I thought Bock was lucky on perhaps one or two occasions. But how great was it to see a real contest, one on one? You don't get that so much in the AFL any more. So that being said, well done to Bocky for providing a tight and enthralling contest.

Bock was Amazing last night. Really tore up Franklin who was also reported. He would be close to AA half back. Dont know why Bock didnt run with Franklin when he pushed up the ground tho

Nathan Bock