Nathan Thompson and Kangaroos break ties

Bulldogs wouldn't be crazy to consider him. They've got a collection of older players, Aker, West, Johnson etc, chuck Thompson up there as a key target and let Murphy, Hahn, Welsh and co run around him. He'd straighted them up and given them a bit target.

If he doesn't go on, he's had a great career, and I'm sure he'll go on to be a success in whatever he chooses to do from now.

Re: Nathan Thompson has been retired.

Well I reckon he's still worth a game at one of the bottom teams. If Dean Bailey wasn't so hell-bent on adding youth to his list he'd give him a crack. Maybe even the Eagles, he would be an excellent mentor to Ben Mckinley (who is an absolute star in the making)

I think Thompson could make a valuable contribution in our forward line next season. Obviously he is older, but Mitch Hahn and Rob Murphy showed this year how much better a player is in the second year back from a reco. He would at the very least provide a strong contest and you would imagine could easily kick 2-3 a game

Decent key forwards are like hens teeth, and Thompson is a pretty good player when he can string games together. I'm definitely a fan

Sounds like a perfect fit for the Doggies to be honest.

Yeah, would have thought someone would give him a PSD lifeline, like the Doggies or maybe Saints.

Watch us go and give Leigh Brown another year. Fantastic.

I'd have given him another year - it usually takes the talls a bit longer to get over a knee reco and with another pre-season I think he would have been worth keeping on. Even if it turns out to be the right call, the way it has been handled is shambolic. Deserves much better.

I wish him all the best, and I dont like the sound of how he was moved on but I dont think he will be missed and any club that picks him up for more than minimum wage would be foolish.

Thommo has played footy for at least 10 yrs and only had about 3 good to very good seasons.
The rest has been dissappointing and underwhelming. One of those players whose name is far bigger than the output.

It's unfortunate, thought he could've been given another year with a role in bringing forward the next key forwards, but unfortunately the game has changed and forwards are required to chase and tackle more, which would be difficult for him. Tough decision, but the club has obviously turned to youth much like hawthorn have. Will miss the big Arab. He would have a future in the media, perhaps triple m special comments.

... and also get the ball every now and then. Absolutely correct decision from North, and any club even thinking of picking him up are wasting their time. He's just not up to it any more. Sorry if that may offend some people on here, but that's the truth.

that's the sort of treatment kangaroos players can expect from the club. having their careers ended by hutchy on the footy show. what a dignified and respectful way to go out.

Dislike the arrogan twat immensley.
One of the least arrogant players going around. Worsfold would be considered far more arrogant.

As for Hawk posters pointing the finger at North regarding their treatment of Nathan, watch out, we have some skeletons in the closet too.

Whatever happens, Good Luck to you Big Thommo, good player and great bloke.

Re: Nathan Thompson retiring

Can someone translate that gobbledy-gook for me please ??
considering what i said was in response to what someone said who was a blue supporter who had just joined as some one else did reply to it but that was changed or deleted here is part of that response to it

[Quote:]
Originally Posted by Chasing the Dream
nice post for a new user moron.

Hope to never, ever hear from you on BF ever again.

Nathan Thompson has been a very good player and I wish him all the best with whatever he does in the future.

Good call! :thumbsu:

now what you see in my i aint a sook nor is Nath [ Nathan] looks weird so don't worry about translating it as it has lost it's meaning

Re: Nathan Thompson retiring

considering what i said was in response to what someone said who was a blue supporter who had just joined as some one else did reply to it but that was changed or deleted here is part of that response to it

now what you see in my i aint a sook nor is Nath [ Nathan] looks weird so don't worry about translating it as it has lost it's meaning

Precisely the reason for quoting.

Good luck Monstaa.

Excellent value for the pick we used on him to pick him up. A win-win trade for both the two clubs involved and the player at the end of 2004.

Perhaps never quite lived up to his potential at the Hawks but was nevertheless a very good player.

Nathan Thompson and Kangaroos break ties