Expansion National second-tier league, Foxtel the broadcaster

Play the SANFL team games before Port matches in Adelaide...and North Melbourne matches in Melbourne......surely a winner?
the Port game in Adelaide is a showdown

anyway, I like it for North Adelaide, just need 1 team to upset the Northern Bullants and we'd be in the grand final for sure, then again, ditch AFL players and we'd have our half wrapped up, even if we did finish 7th in the SANFL last year :p

I'd rather see them play at their own home grounds. No one is going to care for curtain raisers.
agreed, though, I am tempted to go up to Labrador vs North Adelaide
Use seeing family I havnt seen for a while the excuse to watch North Adelaide :cool:

I don't know if the fixture is set in stone but it is official. The fixture is from a pdf file on the Sydney AFL website.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=1147336
The first round is confirmed, but the 2nd-grand final isn't set in stone for locations, the AFL will not force both teams to travel

say if (well, when) North Adelaide beat Labrador, and Port Adelaide beats East Coast Eagles, they'd move it to Adelaide instead of playing the 2nd game at the gabba

That schedule—2 hours broadcast for the first 6 matches, 1 hour 45 minutes for the last two—begs the question of whether the matches will be a shorter length than a standard H&A match (or whether the broadcast will just be truncated).

The fact that Clarence v Claremont, which has the plum Saturday night slot where they aren't crowded out by any AFL on FS, is only a 2 hour broadcast, suggests to me that they're shortened matches.

Not necessarily a bad thing. These extracurricular comps have a history of playing shorter games (albeit usually in a carnival setting where clubs might have 2 days or less between matches).

The first round is confirmed, but the 2nd-grand final isn't set in stone for locations, the AFL will not force both teams to travel

say if (well, when) North Adelaide beat Labrador, and Port Adelaide beats East Coast Eagles, they'd move it to Adelaide instead of playing the 2nd game at the gabba
Agreed, most of the games for the 2nd round & onwards will not be at the grounds stated. Depends on who is playing.
Can't see the QF1 being in Darwin if NT Thunder lose their first round match. & as stated above if two clubs from the same state play each other, it would be stupid for them to travel.

It will be interesting to see how these matches rate for foxtel. With the right promotion I think it might actually be pretty good for fox. Most footy heads will at least have a passing interest.

I reckon the concept is good and I sincerely hope it succeeds, it has the potential to get bigger and better every year and attract the top SANFL clubs in years to come.

I look forward to the era when we have multiple leagues each offering promotion / demotion to the next level as a reward for performance but I wonder how such a system would work with regards to drafts and funding.

Eliminate the non Victorian clubs.

Every state has their own league, with their own draft eg a WA draft for WAFL.
Nation wide salary cap for the different tiers of leagues.

Champions league amongst the premiers.
Victoria has two leagues, with promotion and relegation between the current AFL victorian clubs and the former VFA.

Trades between clubs happen as normal and for instance Perth could trade a first round WA draft pick for a player from Carlton.

Yep that was confirmed in the Sunday Mail yesterday

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said the venue and date of the match could change if both South Australian clubs made it through.

"We're certainly not going to make two teams travel," he said.

"It's something we're still working through. We plan to release a definitive fixture later this month."

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/sanfl-rivals-set-to-clash-in-cup/story-e6frecjc-1225984374718

Yep that was confirmed in the Sunday Mail yesterday

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said the venue and date of the match could change if both South Australian clubs made it through.

"We're certainly not going to make two teams travel," he said.

"It's something we're still working through. We plan to release a definitive fixture later this month."

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/sanfl-rivals-set-to-clash-in-cup/story-e6frecjc-1225984374718

Why don't the just schedule it at AAMI already?

Details will be revealed on Fox Sports tomorrow.

The AFL wishes to advise it will announce the details tomorrow, Wednesday February 9, of the state league club championship that will be conducted through the course of the 2011 premiership season.

The announcement will be telecast live on Fox Sports from 2pm. Media opportunities will be available in Sydney, Melbourne, Perth and Adelaide, with full details to be advised tomorrow morning.

All media are welcome to attend in their respective states, while Fox Sports will telecast live on Channel 513.

Curtain raiser games are back - Foxtel Cup games will be played prior to 15 AFL matches between rounds 1 and 20

Article on the VFL website about the upcoming games also.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...ask=DETAIL&articleID=14798538&sectionID=60264

Damn, the Victorian teams drew the short straw, with both North Ballarat and Williamstown having to go to Perth.

At least the Northern Bullants should beat the GWS Giants, so one Victorian team may survive.

But then again, I think if this competition is going to "flourish" and develop, it will be better if a non Victorian team wins, just so that state league bosses in other states see it is possible to win something on a national scale.

I'll be watching, look out for the Collingwood VFL side to qualify for the 2011 edition.:D

Great initative by the AFL and Foxtel. They may not do a lot right, the AFL, but on this occasion they have hit the nail on the head. To see 16 teams featuring the likes of North Ballarat, Swan Districts, Port Adelaide Magpies, Morningside, NT Thunder, Clarence against each other is something to look forward to. The match between Swan Districts and Williamstown would be the pick of the first round games for me.

Theres a few good games in there. Im looking forward to the Labrador v Nth Adelaide match, just to see if the QLD guys can match it with the SANFL. West Adelaide v Ainslie should be a cracker of a game as well. GWS v Bullants will be good.

I think the the teams seem to be fairly evenly matched. (although I expect Claremont to flog Clarence, and Port should account for East Coast pretty easily) Im kind of hoping the sanfl sides get absolutely trounced though, so we stop hearing how much better they are than the other state leagues.

After hearing the shortened match conditions (18 minute quarters with time on only for the last 3 minutes), I think the top SANFL clubs have been vindicated in their decision not to participate in this mickey mouse competition. It's purely a competition to fill in a gap in Fox Sports scheduling, and don't be surprised if the competition is scrapped next year and the 9th AFL match take this time slot.

That bit is a concern, though it is the timeslot the AFL game should be taking. How the comp will continue once Fox don't need a filler and the AFL aren't using it as another vehicle to promote GWS is anyone's guess. I certainly hope it does but share your doubts.

After hearing the shortened match conditions (18 minute quarters with time on only for the last 3 minutes), I think the top SANFL clubs have been vindicated in their decision not to participate in this mickey mouse competition. It's purely a competition to fill in a gap in Fox Sports scheduling.

I cannot see your logic at all .
It's an opportunity to promote the second tier competitions .
The potential for this to develope is exciting though in it's present form it's not perfect and really who cares where's the money is coming from -it's coming .And even if it doesn't continue next year ,if the clubs can demonstrate some future for this event then there is the potential to appraoach the ABC and advance on their present coverage .

That bit is a concern, though it is the timeslot the AFL game should be taking. How the comp will continue once Fox don't need a filler and the AFL aren't using it as another vehicle to promote GWS is anyone's guess. I certainly hope it does but share your doubts.

I reckon it'll have more to do with the success of the comp in it's own right than anything the AFL does. If it draws a half decent audience on Fox, then they'll keep sponsoring it, or even another network might take an interest. Doesn't have to be restricted to curtain raisers either, it's just a low cost way of doing it given Fox cameras will be in position for the AFL game anyway.

I's purely a competition to fill in a gap in Fox Sports scheduling, and don't be surprised if the competition is scrapped next year and the 9th AFL match take this time slot.

I reckon it'll have more to do with the success of the comp in it's own right than anything the AFL does.

I think both Bruce and yourself both have very valid points. If the rumors (speculation) regarding the broadcasting agreement for 2012 and beyond are true and Channel 9 buy the Monday Night Time slot for the 9th game, Foxtel may show some interest in keeping this format. If the average fan shows interest in watching this competition and the ratings back these figures up, Foxtel may continue with it in that Saturday afternoon timeslot.

If the 9th game goes to Foxtel, this competition is dead after one year. I cannot see it working in any other time slot.

Therefore, I agree it looks like a contrived competition to fill in a TV timeslot but if things don’t go their way, they may be forced to look at it in a different way.

Expansion National second-tier league, Foxtel the broadcaster