NEAFL- 2014

Good luck. I'm betting that CHOOK was the only spectator at the REP game on the weekend.

There's hardly anyone in Sydney who takes the slightest interest in the NEAFL, outside those involved with the teams. There's a little interest in Canberra, and obviously quite a bit in QLD. But naff all in Sydney. I don't think there's anyone on this forum from Sydney other than CHOOK, NORWEST, JSG and me.
Plus PEKAY but he's different.

The AFL lovers in Sydney either go to Swans/Giants matches, or follow local Sydney footy, and there's naff all of them too.
AFL just doesn't attract much interest at all here and that's why it was a brave decision to play the REP fixture here.

I can't wait to hear from the spectators re better players last weekend.

I'm off to Drummoyne on Saturday to watch the double-header (Swans/Thunder and Uni/Apsley) and I'd be interested to hear from anyone else who's planning to go.

Sorry to leave you short but I'm Canberra...

Brilliant double header today at Drummoyne.

First match was Aspley v Sydney Uni which started off fast and hugely entertaining. But the Hornets proved to be way too good. The Uni coach commended them afterwards saying that it was the best team effort by a NEAFL team that he had seen in Sydney. And I sure agree. Sydney footy has a long way to go to get to the standard that Aspley showed today.
It was the Indigenous Round with all the trappings that that brings. After the match, the Uni coach presented the best Aspley award to Eddie Sansbury who seems to be a fine handsome indigenous fella. And well deserved too.
When it was John Blair's turn, he presented the best Uni player award to Matt O''Dwyer, who he said was a deserving Indigenous player too, and that the award was fitting. O''Dwyer used his thankyou speech to point out that he is infact Filipino.
Ouch !!!

Then to Swans v Thunder. And I've never before seen footy like that played in Sydney (below AFL level). Probably doesn't surprise a lot of you but I was awestruck by it all. I don't think I've ever seen a better player below AFL level than Illett who just runs, runs, tackles, competes and runs some more. He and the two teams were an eye-opener to me.
Swans won by 14 goals or so but Thunder can be satisfied with the effort for 100 minutes.

Syd Uni and Aspley had mostly gone home after their match, but they would have been humbled if they'd stayed to see just how far they have to go to get to the next level.

Congrats to Syd Uni for turning on a fabulous day.

First match was Aspley v Sydney Uni which started off fast and hugely entertaining. But the Hornets proved to be way too good. The Uni coach commended them afterwards saying that it was the best team effort by a NEAFL team that he had seen in Sydney. And I sure agree. Sydney footy has a long way to go to get to the standard that Aspley showed today.
It was the Indigenous Round with all the trappings that that brings. After the match, the Uni coach presented the best Aspley award to Eddie Sansbury who seems to be a fine handsome indigenous fella. And well deserved too.
When it was John Blair's turn, he presented the best Uni player award to Matt O''Dwyer, who he said was a deserving Indigenous player too, and that the award was fitting. O''Dwyer used his thankyou speech to point out that he is infact Filipino.
Ouch !!!

Then to Swans v Thunder. And I've never before seen footy like that played in Sydney (below AFL level). Probably doesn't surprise a lot of you but I was awestruck by it all. I don't think I've ever seen a better player below AFL level than Illett who just runs, runs, tackles, competes and runs some more. He and the two teams were an eye-opener to me.
Swans won by 14 goals or so but Thunder can be satisfied with the effort for 100 minutes.

Syd Uni and Aspley had mostly gone home after their match, but they would have been humbled if they'd stayed to see just how far they have to go to get to the next level.

Interesting assessment considering aspley beat thunder by 125points a few weeks ago .Thunder must have grown another set of legs in that time .

Yes, VICMAN it's interesting, but I have no idea why. To see Aspley and Thunder in quick succession today, it was obvious to me that Thunder was a class above. Today. But I've never watched either team before.
Someone wrote on here that Thunder are unbeatable at home, at night, but that they're not so good otherwise - perhaps that's it.

But, tell you what, get your money on Swans for the flag - they were devastating like the one's were on Thursday.
They ran with 20 listed players today but we haven't yet established if they'll be allowed to field them all come finals time. Haven't been able to in the past.

Ouch !!!

It's great to hear the appreciation of the NT lads and in particular Cam Illet. Would be in the best 3 I have seen in our comp for the last 10 yrs. Forget the game against Aspley, that was the worst team they could have fielded. You have obviously now seen the gaps between the levels now.
The finals will be interesting with the swans listed player rules different when they play eastern teams different again for northern teams and unrestricted against nt and the other afl teams. Wowee

Watched Redlands v Sharks today and what a ripper, these teams produce bell ringers every time they play, players from both teams laid out everywhere at the final siren.. A fair chunk of this Redlands team should be playing against tassie in the coming weeks. Throw in Kellaher from the sharks as well.
The game had plenty of mistakes and maybe Redlands probably should have put the Sharks away earlier. Redlands had a little more class forward of centre, with only Baxter being effective for the Sharks. As the best players suggested defenders from both teams heading the lists. Rogerson throws himself at everything whilst headland and Kellaher were prominent. It may sound like man love but I could watch young Redlands ruckman Hunter every week.
The sharks blew opportunities I thought at stages to attack the goals, with players running off halfback and then delivering by hand right angles..it may be because there Fwds weren't hitting up along with Redlands mids working back. Sharks tackling pressure and work around the ball is first class, next to none missed tackles. Redlands work and run of half back is good to watch.
Another ripping northern game of footy and next week should be the same with the Sharks taking on Aspley

It's great to hear the appreciation of the NT lads and in particular Cam Illet. Would be in the best 3 I have seen in our comp for the last 10 yrs. Forget the game against Aspley, that was the worst team they could have fielded. You have obviously now seen the gaps between the levels now.
The finals will be interesting with the swans listed player rules different when they play eastern teams different again for northern teams and unrestricted against nt and the other afl teams. Wowee

Dogwarna,

I think VICMAN has a very relevant point above, sides that get beaten by 125 points are the same sides that get beaten by 60 or so points at the end of the day they get beaten!!!!!

To under estimate Aspley's performance when they beat the "Quote" The worst team they could have fielded "end Quote" by 125 points, is somewhat putting down the Aspley Footy Side and what they have built up over the past few years and IMO is a very cheap shot - They, The Thunder played in daylight they played away from Darwin and they played after travelling for the second time at that part of the season which for most parts has been their Achilles Heel - The old saying that you can only play against the best team selected on the day is the truest saying in football and on that day the NT where pants-ed in all positions. Give credit where credit is due Dogwana as you should know better than to spruke that type of crap, hopefully we will see you and you will see next Sunday first hand how the team that you feel is a gap away from the competition performs. For the record Cam and Boof had no impact on the game at Aspley where they lost by 125 points even with their huge champion reputations!!!!!!

Dogwarna,

I think VICMAN has a very relevant point above, sides that get beaten by 125 points are the same sides that get beaten by 60 or so points at the end of the day they get beaten!!!!!

To under estimate Aspley's performance when they beat the "Quote" The worst team they could have fielded "end Quote" by 125 points, is somewhat putting down the Aspley Footy Side and what they have built up over the past few years and IMO is a very cheap shot - They, The Thunder played in daylight they played away from Darwin and they played after travelling for the second time at that part of the season which for most parts has been their Achilles Heel - The old saying that you can only play against the best team selected on the day is the truest saying in football and on that day the NT where pants-ed in all positions. Give credit where credit is due Dogwana as you should know better than to spruke that type of crap, hopefully we will see you and you will see next Sunday first hand how the team that you feel is a gap away from the competition performs. For the record Cam and Boof had no impact on the game at Aspley where they lost by 125 points even with their huge champion reputations!!!!!!

Billy Bunter,
should be a great game next week , Aspley vs Southport. After a slow start to the season, your boys are gaining momentum and looking very ominous. wouldn't surprise me if it results in a Swans vs Aspley grand final !!!!

Dogwarna,

Ahh Billy Billy Billy, I just re read my post and I think it was nothing like a cheap shot towards the bees, those in the know would no my respect for coach Blair. More in reference to nt and the half dozen games I had seen them play in the early rounds and getting a handle on there depth etc. It was always a litmus test at graham rd first time away and in the daylight. The GAP you say had absolutely nothing to do with Aspley, I am sure you can work that out when on here we talk about the evenness of this compromised competition! The bees v sharks game is going to be a belter, hard to pick the winner, stars all over the paddock, let's just hope the canteen serves up a decent threesome of steamed Dimwarnas!

...................FOOTY TIPPING AFTER ROUND 10

………………………………After......Round......After
……………………………...Rd 9........10........Rd 10

blackdog32............40...........6..........46
Dogwarna..............39...........6..........45
billybunter..............38..........5..........43
Lifes a beach 1.......37..........6...........43
justabaraker...........36..........7...........43
hornets nest...........37..........5..........42
nqtragic................36...........6...........42
chikka ferguson.......36..........6...........42
brewser.................36...........4..........40