NEAFL- 2014

15 listed players is the max, a AFL ressie side can field.
I think you will find that the Giants are exempt from the 15 listed player rule.I had a look at thier team list for today against thier full list and I am sure I counted about 19 players (could be more) from their full list started today. Also I thought someone mentioned way back earlier in this forum that the Giants could field more than 15 listed players.

Does the 15 listed player limit apply when 2 AFL clubs play each other - I thought in previous years it didn't apply in such games? Maybe more injuries than player restrictions the difference in listed players in this game?

Suggestion.. In the VFL, there are now 5 AFL ressie sides, be it Magpies,Bulldogs, Bombers, Cats and Tigers. Only the Saints, Kangas, Demons, and Hawks dont not stand alone now. Bendigo Gold is a joke and should be relegated as is Frankston . So relegate these 2 clubs, and add the NEAFL/AFL ressie sides to this comp.
So the Lions, Suns, Swans,and Giants join the VFL, playing games every second week in Melbourne, and the visiting Melbourne sides playing in Sydney/ Brisbane /Gold Coast as per a home and away fixture.
Surely cost wise, this wouldnt be much more,maybe lesser then the current Neafl /AFL expenditure on the current format.Then, return the QLD comp to a local comp with divisions, as of the Sydney and ACT comps with a promotion/relegation system . This format has been very successful in Melbourne metro comps, eg the EDL, NDL EDFL, MPFL,and Geelong and district comps.
QLD , ACT AND SYDNEY will still have their development academy teams/list to develop the youngsters..and if one is good enough, he will get drafted,

I think you will find that the Giants are exempt from the 15 listed player rule.I had a look at thier team list for today against thier full list and I am sure I counted about 19 players (could be more) from their full list started today. Also I thought someone mentioned way back earlier in this forum that the Giants could field more than 15 listed players.
The way it has worked in the past is that there is one set of rules for the AFL teams during the home-and-away season but then a different set of rules for them in the finals.

Ventured down to watch the REP game on the weekend hoping to see a competitive game of football played. Should have stayed at home. Atmosphere pathetic, no canteen or anywhere to get something to eat / drink inside the venue. Had to go across to the other oval just to get a coffee. Surely it's not that hard to organise a coffee van or at least a BBQ at the venue. Overheard some WAFL officials lining up for a coffee / salad roll at halftime at the other oval discussing how disappointing the whole thing was. It's a reflection of Sydney and the reason why the game should never have been played there in the 1st place (even though I live in Sydney).

Regardless of the NEAFL side coming from 2 states and 2 territories, cream always rises to the top. This rubbish about the WAFL having an advantage as a side as they had more time to train together etc is rubbish. WAFL would have trained 2-3 times together max.

The NEAFL coaching staff got it VERY wrong with the way they selected the side with players only finding out on the Sunday 6 days prior to the game that they were definitely playing. And then the side that they picked???? FML!! It's not the players fault. The side simply wasn't up to the standard of the WAFL. Why we picked the WAFL to play is beyond me anyway. At least we will be more competitive against the Tasmanian side.

Why wouldn't they have played a handful of local footy games on the main and outside grounds during the day to generate some interest and maybe a bit of a residual crowd would've stuck around? Besides the fact that no-one gives a rats arse about NEAFL in Sydney besides those that want to push for a spot that is.

On top of the debacle that was, we can't even write our own NEAFL review and instead a reporter from Perth travels down and writes the review. Honestly, do the NEAFL really think this is acceptable and what we want in this competition. Surely it's not that hard to have our own media / reporter on hand to complete the review, get player and coach interviews after the game etc. What a joke!!

The way it has worked in the past is that there is one set of rules for the AFL teams during the home-and-away season but then a different set of rules for them in the finals.

For the Swans,
Regular season - 18 listed players in squad, 14 on the field at any one time
Finals - 12 listed players in squad altogether.

That's what it has been for the past couple of years, not sure if they've changed it.

I expect within two years the neafl comp will be completely different to how it is now.. Especially with new AFL CEO..I get the feeling ( based on no facts just pure assumption) that AFL ressies in neafl as said before will be looking at going to the VFL or possibly national ressies comp.

It's a shame the way the comp has turned out ATM as it has so much potential for players to strive to play in the neafl..

With the rep team I also heard a player didn't know he was playing until two days before the game which is wrong. It's always going to be hard for a neafl rep team to be competitive due to vast distances It should be separate QLD & NSW/ACT rep sides

Just my two cents

For the Swans,
Regular season - 18 listed players in squad, 14 on the field at any one time
Finals - 12 listed players in squad altogether.

That's what it has been for the past couple of years, not sure if they've changed it.
Thanks for that Grim, makes sense now, Suns must be fuffering a few injuries only fronting 10 listed players against Giants 18

On top of the debacle that was, we can't even write our own NEAFL review and instead a reporter from Perth travels down and writes the review. Honestly, do the NEAFL really think this is acceptable and what we want in this competition. Surely it's not that hard to have our own media / reporter on hand to complete the review, get player and coach interviews after the game etc. What a joke!!
had a look at the NEAFL live stream great commentary.... NEAFL lacked finish but looked to have a crack (as they should) always tough to picka rep team normally the certanties are sounded out early (dont know if this was the case) but the tough ones are the last couple when injuries etc occur....would have loved it to been played in brisbane

Does the 15 listed player limit apply when 2 AFL clubs play each other - I thought in previous years it didn't apply in such games? Maybe more injuries than player restrictions the difference in listed players in this game?

No restrictions when reserves teams play each other or the Thunder.

GWS, for some reason, don't have restrictions playing club sides either.

http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=7

I see Guy McKenna expressing his displeasure re quality of his top ups in he media.

The problem is that the Suns regularly don't play many of their contracted players, electing rather to 'rest' them after a full week of training. You can't bemoan the lack of quality players you get from other clubs in the NEAFL and be unhappy with the results if you don't even play your own blokes. Smacks if hypocrisy to me.

Too much sport science at play Yesterday. maybe rest them from god forbid, training?? Let them play - you don't get better as a a young footballer by sitting around on a weekend.
I agree with you 100%

Ventured down to watch the REP game on the weekend hoping to see a competitive game of football played. Should have stayed at home. Atmosphere pathetic, no canteen or anywhere to get something to eat / drink inside the venue. Had to go across to the other oval just to get a coffee. Surely it's not that hard to organise a coffee van or at least a BBQ at the venue. Overheard some WAFL officials lining up for a coffee / salad roll at halftime at the other oval discussing how disappointing the whole thing was. It's a reflection of Sydney and the reason why the game should never have been played there in the 1st place (even though I live in Sydney).

Regardless of the NEAFL side coming from 2 states and 2 territories, cream always rises to the top. This rubbish about the WAFL having an advantage as a side as they had more time to train together etc is rubbish. WAFL would have trained 2-3 times together max.

The NEAFL coaching staff got it VERY wrong with the way they selected the side with players only finding out on the Sunday 6 days prior to the game that they were definitely playing. And then the side that they picked???? FML!! It's not the players fault. The side simply wasn't up to the standard of the WAFL. Why we picked the WAFL to play is beyond me anyway. At least we will be more competitive against the Tasmanian side.
Chook,
agree, what a disgrace.

Chook,
yet again, what a disgrace,,,,Next year the wafl, will simply say no to playing a rep game against the NEAFL.... seriously, this is pathetic leadership from both the NEAFL and AFL heirachy.Once again, the NEAFL structure is all about the local clubs being competitive when playing the AFL ressie sides at substantial costs for a club that are semi professional player wise and club wise.Is a joke,,,,,

Too much sport science at play Yesterday. maybe rest them from god forbid, training?? Let them play - you don't get better as a a young footballer by sitting around on a weekend.
I agree with you 100%

SMY,
correct.......... let me give you another example..... Southport have had 2 weeks off,being a bye, then no round due to the rep game this past weekend, so in reality when they play this coming weekend it will be on 3 weeks since they last played.As you would be aware, Southport recruited the cream of the crop from my club Broadbeach, be it Geary, Shreeve, Brewer, Wells , Burton, Weller, Mckenzie, Brennan..Now that's a huge hole in our list. Point is, that some of these guys wanted to play back at Broady against the Western Magpies on Saturday due to the break but were not allowed to as per direction by the Southport club..... Now, the agreement was, if a player doesn't make the cut in the NEAFL senior side on a specific week, they return to their QAFL grassroots side to play.....but it appears that the NEAFL club holds the aces..... and want it both ways..... for example ,upon Southport training on a Thursday night, they realised a certain player was not right injury wise, so they rang Broadbeach and told us they need Mckenzie, so get him to come to training with us, as he wont be playing for u guys this weekend.
This is just shit,,,, so wrong.

SMY,
correct.......... let me give you another example..... Southport have had 2 weeks off,being a bye, then no round due to the rep game this past weekend, so in reality when they play this coming weekend it will be on 3 weeks since they last played.As you would be aware, Southport recruited the cream of the crop from my club Broadbeach, be it Geary, Shreeve, Brewer, Wells , Burton, Weller, Mckenzie, Brennan..Now that's a huge hole in our list. Point is, that some of these guys wanted to play back at Broady against the Western Magpies on Saturday due to the break but were not allowed to as per direction by the Southport club..... Now, the agreement was, if a player doesn't make the cut in the NEAFL senior side on a specific week, they return to their QAFL grassroots side to play.....but it appears that the NEAFL club holds the aces..... and want it both ways..... for example ,upon Southport training on a Thursday night, they realised a certain player was not right injury wise, so they rang Broadbeach and told us they need Mckenzie, so get him to come to training with us, as he wont be playing for u guys this weekend.
This is just shit,,,, so wrong.

What else are they meant to do if a selected player gets injured? Mackenzie is signed to southport now so it is a luxury if he comes back, not a right.

Next week:-

Sydney Uni v Aspley
Lions v Suns
Eagles v Ainslie
Redland v Southport
Queanbeyan v Belconnen
Swans v Thunder
Eastlake v Giants

Aspley
Lions
Ainslie
Redland
Queanbeyan
Swans
Giants

I think the Redland v Southport and the Queanbeyan v Belconnen matches are tough ones to tip this week. Interested to see how Thunder will travel against another high quality opponent. Hopefully they can bring close to a full squad and have a good crack to avoid a repeat of the Aspley result. Could be a tough week for Eastlake against a red hot Giants too...

Anyone like to post their best players for neafl rep game. I find the match centre best players inconsistent with the match statistics or is it just about highlighting certain players to enhance their draft prospects.

Good luck. I'm betting that CHOOK was the only spectator at the REP game on the weekend.

There's hardly anyone in Sydney who takes the slightest interest in the NEAFL, outside those involved with the teams. There's a little interest in Canberra, and obviously quite a bit in QLD. But naff all in Sydney. I don't think there's anyone on this forum from Sydney other than CHOOK, NORWEST, JSG and me.
Plus PEKAY but he's different.

The AFL lovers in Sydney either go to Swans/Giants matches, or follow local Sydney footy, and there's naff all of them too.
AFL just doesn't attract much interest at all here and that's why it was a brave decision to play the REP fixture here.

I can't wait to hear from the spectators re better players last weekend.

I'm off to Drummoyne on Saturday to watch the double-header (Swans/Thunder and Uni/Apsley) and I'd be interested to hear from anyone else who's planning to go.

The best players were clearly Dwyer and sierokowski...no one else really stood out.

A debacle of a day and am sure the Neafl is highly embarrassed, and definitely the last straw was the Perth journo doing the review on the Neafl website.. Someone will be held accountable no doubt. They may struggle to put a team together for the tassie game. Surely Turner, Dzufer, Grewar, Pfieffer, smith and probably Williams from Redlands should come in. I would look at Hill and Kellaher from the sharks as well.

On a side not I think aflq have done the QAFL team no favours playing the state game at Burpengary. Reason being when a QAFL game is played at say surfers, big ground, it still has the element of bash and crash, only Morningside really know the art of getting on the outside. I would have played it at Morningside or Redlands, smaller decks that may have given us a better chance at bashing and crashing better than the vics. It's also extremely hard to set a defensive structure on a massive deck...

NEAFL- 2014