NEAFL- 2014

They are all kicking arse JB from what i can tell!! The 3 NEAFL clubs come back, being able to afford salary payments 2-3x of near all the others, makes the competition not unlike what some are criticising the current NEAFL for - uncompetitive. I remember reading posts from certain people at certain clubs who said back then the solution was "just get better". Apparently when the shoe is on the other foot now and competing against AFL clubs is actually difficult this is not a solution in the same peoples minds?? :rolleyes:

Yeah 100% agree with both comments Kitty - the Queensland jumper should be worn by the best, no matter what comp they are playing in but in the end I don't think too many people really give a toss about how they go. It isn't an indicator of the strength of the comp and never has been. FFS, the Goulburn Valley has been a strong comp but not sure anyone says it is better than the O&M or even the GFL but won the Vic Country champs for a few years there.

As for the continual crapping on about the parlous state of Qld footy bc our representative side doesn't beat Tassie (not exactly playing a state full of spud footballers...) and bc the AFL clubs 2's sides have concessions made in the NEAFL and therefore the comp isn't "even" (well hello, it never has been and in fact if the status quo remained imagine a club like Labrador surviving at the top level? - I can't.) is just ridiculous. The bottom line is the strength of our footy will be judged by how many players are drafted at U18 or mature age level, how competitive the leagues are across the board and how many people play footy here. Not sure if there are any other KPI's anyone need worry about?? 90% of footy people in the SE corner could not give a flying fk whether Morningside, Broadbeach, Aspley, etc are in the best comp here. It means nought. Aspley are johnny come lateleys anyway who have made some good footy decisions a decade ago that allows them to compete financially with the Southports, same with Redlands. Both were mediocre sides in the 2nd best comp 15 years back. Times change. Haven't seen any Aspley people who are integrally involved with the club bitch and moan about playing in the top comp despite the concessions to AFL clubs..

SMY,
hear what u are saying and agree with many of your comments. What Im saying is that there are participating clubs in the current restructured NEAFL,that are struggling big time..... Maybe the top division should consist of 8 clubs only.. be it the 4 AFL clubs, Southport, Aspley, Thunder and Redlands.!!

They are all kicking arse JB from what i can tell!! The 3 NEAFL clubs come back, being able to afford salary payments 2-3x of near all the others, makes the competition not unlike what some are criticising the current NEAFL for - uncompetitive. I remember reading posts from certain people at certain clubs who said back then the solution was "just get better". Apparently when the shoe is on the other foot now and competing against AFL clubs is actually difficult this is not a solution in the same peoples minds?? :rolleyes:

smy1305,

Lets not let a good story get in the way of the facts IMO:

Fact 1 - No metro club in any city can compete with any AFL club even at reserve grade level VFL, SANFL, WAFL - it just cant happen.

Fact 2 - Most of the Qld NEAFL Clubs know where they stand - if an AFL Club wish to win a NEAFL premiership then they will beat any other non AFL
side any time anywhere, but due to the uplift in standard of the comp the 3 Qld sides have raised the bar, currently IMO there is no going back.

Fact 3 - Playing in this format against sides that are competitive is a lot better than beating the sides that you mention above as kicking arse by 20
goals most weeks - now that was noncompetitive and negative to the then NEAFL Northern Division Comp.

Fact 4 - Apart from the rep games this year, the NEAFL format IMO is working local kids are turning into players who are getting a lot better due to
the better standard each week - I don't think the three Qld NEAFL sides and their supporters are complaining - crowds are good and the
footy is super between them in the local derby's NT is always great at home and suspect away nothing changes.

Fact 5 - I feel sorry for our other Qld sides but they all knew where they where at, by not applying for a license and as you say they are now kicking arse,
good for them - but remember only one side can win a premiership and a couple of their competitors including one of them who stayed behind seem like AFL sides in the scheme of the current AFLQ Competition, just like in the NEAFL but are they complaining? No because nothing has
changed, after all this effort to try and even out the standard they still have to "just get better"

Fact 6 -The NEAFL will even out in time - Maybe another Qld Club may re - join and maybe a few Southern Cousins may drop out who knows - The
cards have been dealt and the hands are yet to play out - I can't see the AFL spending any more money on an AFL Reserves comp so the NEAFL is
here to stay - Love it or leave it, these are the options - If someone had told me 5 years ago that there would be 3 elite teams from Qld and 2 from
NSW playing in a quasi 2nd/3rd tier AFL Competition in Australia - I would have told them that they were dreaming - I take my hat off to all clubs that
have had a go at playing in the best competition that they can possibly play in - Because that is what all football clubs should be striving to do.
Club Success is not measured in premierships but on how well your Club, your players and your supporters conduct the business of bringing their

community together to support our great game - Premierships are bonuses which come along with harmony and hard work and even with this
magic secret formula they are never guaranteed.

SMY,
sorry mate, but your comment as to Broady, Morningside,and Labrador being able to afford player payments 2 or 3 times greater then the other QAFL sides is not correct. I know for a fact both Broady and Morningside are not flush with funds and Labrador may have a bit in the tank.
Another example with Broady, is Southport have listed 9 of Broadys best players from 2013 with at least 7 of these guys playing for Southport each week. In addition to that, 4 good players from 2013 returned south to their home clubs and 3 locals that were fringe players went to other local clubs.So if you look at the Broady senior side named on gameday, there are only 5 players that were in the 2013 side regulary.The club hasn't recruited any noted players cause they don't have the funds to do so. But geez with all of this they are doing ok this season with a totally new look side full of youngsters.
Labrador have had a horrific season with injuries, and Morningside, well they are an institution,,,, great depth in all grades for the past few seasons which has enabled them to cover for the good players that went to the NEAFL. Palm Beach, is right up there , Mt. Gravatt and The Grange improving with every week. Is A good competitive comp, with Morningside kicking arse,,, Broady and Labrador are in in the top 4 but no way are they kicking arse.

SMY,
sorry mate, but your comment as to Broady, Morningside,and Labrador being able to afford player payments 2 or 3 times greater then the other QAFL sides is not correct. I know for a fact both Broady and Morningside are not flush with funds and Labrador may have a bit in the tank.
Another example with Broady, is Southport have listed 9 of Broadys best players from 2013 with at least 7 of these guys playing for Southport each week. In addition to that, 4 good players from 2013 returned south to their home clubs and 3 locals that were fringe players went to other local clubs.So if you look at the Broady senior side named on gameday, there are only 5 players that were in the 2013 side regulary.The club hasn't recruited any noted players cause they don't have the funds to do so. But geez with all of this they are doing ok this season with a totally new look side full of youngsters.
Labrador have had a horrific season with injuries, and Morningside, well they are an institution,,,, great depth in all grades for the past few seasons which has enabled them to cover for the good players that went to the NEAFL. Palm Beach, is right up there , Mt. Gravatt and The Grange improving with every week. Is A good competitive comp, with Morningside kicking arse,,, Broady and Labrador are in in the top 4 but no way are they kicking arse.

Kicking arse in the sense they are going alright on and off field. Sorry if it didn't read right but I did mean the 3 NEAFL clubs coming back (Southport,Redlands, Aspley) have 2-3x the revenue of all the tohers incl the ex-NEAFL sides. These guys just won't compete anymore imo.

SMY,
sorry mate, ... took ur comment the other way,,,,, all good, cheers.

smy1305,

Lets not let a good story get in the way of the facts IMO:

Fact 1 - No metro club in any city can compete with any AFL club even at reserve grade level VFL, SANFL, WAFL - it just cant happen. Port Melbourne do as do clubs at SANFL/WAFL level.

Fact 2 - Most of the Qld NEAFL Clubs know where they stand - if an AFL Club wish to win a NEAFL premiership then they will beat any other non AFL
side any time anywhere, but due to the uplift in standard of the comp the 3 Qld sides have raised the bar, currently IMO there is no going back. I agree - wish people would stop banging on about trying to do so.

Fact 3 - Playing in this format against sides that are competitive is a lot better than beating the sides that you mention above as kicking arse by 20
goals most weeks - now that was noncompetitive and negative to the then NEAFL Northern Division Comp. I agree again..

Fact 4 - Apart from the rep games this year, the NEAFL format IMO is working local kids are turning into players who are getting a lot better due to
the better standard each week - I don't think the three Qld NEAFL sides and their supporters are complaining - crowds are good and the
footy is super between them in the local derby's NT is always great at home and suspect away nothing changes. And again i agree... o_O

Fact 5 - I feel sorry for our other Qld sides but they all knew where they where at, by not applying for a license and as you say they are now kicking arse,
good for them - but remember only one side can win a premiership and a couple of their competitors including one of them who stayed behind seem like AFL sides in the scheme of the current AFLQ Competition, just like in the NEAFL but are they complaining? No because nothing has
changed, after all this effort to try and even out the standard they still have to "just get better" I am a big wrap for the recent structure change - I'm not on here complaining about the new structure, the 3 Qld sides can't win the GF at NEAFL level etc. I say stiff shite. They chose their destiny knowing exactly what they were getting into.

Fact 6 -The NEAFL will even out in time - Maybe another Qld Club may re - join and maybe a few Southern Cousins may drop out who knows - The
cards have been dealt and the hands are yet to play out - I can't see the AFL spending any more money on an AFL Reserves comp so the NEAFL is
here to stay - Love it or leave it, these are the options - If someone had told me 5 years ago that there would be 3 elite teams from Qld and 2 from
NSW playing in a quasi 2nd/3rd tier AFL Competition in Australia - I would have told them that they were dreaming - I take my hat off to all clubs that
have had a go at playing in the best competition that they can possibly play in - Because that is what all football clubs should be striving to do.
Club Success is not measured in premierships but on how well your Club, your players and your supporters conduct the business of bringing their
community together to support our great game - Premierships are bonuses which come along with harmony and hard work and even with this
magic secret formula they are never guaranteed.

Not sure we disagree at all BB except on fact #1... :)

There was some from a specific club BB that were complaining that with all their hard work, said club had no chance of winning the NEAFL GF this year if the Lions/Swans became fair dinkum. Crocodile tears I think is the terminology.

SMY,
hear what u are saying and agree with many of your comments. What Im saying is that there are participating clubs in the current restructured NEAFL,that are struggling big time..... Maybe the top division should consist of 8 clubs only.. be it the 4 AFL clubs, Southport, Aspley, Thunder and Redlands.!!

And I think it will in due course Stuy - Rome wasn't built in a day though.

smy1305,

You are right, we are fairly close to agreeing on most points.

Fact - 1 though in my rant - I will still stick to my opinion on this point as I still feel that, if any AFL Reserve club wish to win a premiership at a 2nd tier level they would do so (subject to the other AFL Reserve sides agreeing to this) simple reason is we just cannot compete from a logistics point, supporter base, funding, etc, etc, etc. - Even although Port Melbourne and Williamstown etc have won Premierships in the past over the AFL Reserve sides - This has happened because they (the AFL Reserve sides and their main senior body club) don't give a rats, the only thing that drives all AFL Clubs are senior premierships and in most cases playing deep into the finals series, Reserve Premierships are just dust collectors for the AFL Clubs - I think someone may have posted that the players don't even have reunions to celebrate this type of Premiership achievement!!!! (Unlike every other VFL,SANFL,WAFL TASFL and now the newly formed NEAFL league who, of which any one side from these leagues would and hopefully will this year, cherish this achievement as the Holy Grail).

Unfortunately the game at the top end is driven by $$$$$$ and it seems to continue as it slides down the grades.

What started out as a way to keep our cricketers fit through the winter in a park in Melbourne played over a weekend, has become one of the biggest businesses in the country, we sometimes seem to lose the point of why we started playing and supporting and in turn watching our kids and family members go on to play and then support and be passionate for this great game, most of us at the time when the game connected with us we saw it as a sport, a way to relieve the pressures of Home, Life, School, Work etc and also a way to keep fit and socially grow closer to our communities and friends. A few lucky players that we may have played with or against or supported may had gone on to play at the highest level, which was great for them and the people around them and the clubs of their origin.

At the end of the day when it is all boiled down it is just a game - yes it may well be the greatest game on earth, especially this far south of the equator, but as long as there are 8 posts 4 of which situated 120meters apart from each other on a grassy park, we will have this game to play, at what level? who cares as it is a game for the people and that is all that matters.

Don't let the level at which it is played drive a wedge between us all, lets love the game for what it gives us, whatever that may be - From the Auskickers to the over 40's, it truly is the peoples game.

Yep -agree. I mentioned on this forum a couple of years back that exact sentiment that the Lions/Suns, if legit, would smash every other QAFL side and got howled down by some. I also mentioned they don't give a fat rats about 2's premierships (and don't blame them). Think the 3 clubs right now though are a lot better and stand a far better chance of knocking over an AFL club if the club is hit by injuries etc.

You post-ers are saying that the AFL teams could easily beat the community clubs if they set their minds to it. And, having seen both the Swans and UWS reserves this year, I agree that it's a handicap race rather than racing-on-your-merits. Fully tooled-up teams from Swans and UWS are way, way too good.
But, having said that, The Lions reserves have been by all Qld teams this year, and the Suns reserves haven't won at all.

Are the Lions and Suns playing on their merits (give or take a topup or two) ?
So doesn't that mean that your community clubs (plus NT) have it over the AFL teams and will do better come finals time ?
And isn't it really just the Swans and UWS that are too powerful ?

Would it be better if the Swans and UWS were excluded until your teams consolidated a bit ? Maybe send those two teams off somewhere else and have a NEAFL made up of the rest ?

PS - won't happen but I think that's what you're driving at.

You post-ers are saying that the AFL teams could easily beat the community clubs if they set their minds to it. And, having seen both the Swans and UWS reserves this year, I agree that it's a handicap race rather than racing-on-your-merits. Fully tooled-up teams from Swans and UWS are way, way too good.
But, having said that, The Lions reserves have been by all Qld teams this year, and the Suns reserves haven't won at all.

Are the Lions and Suns playing on their merits (give or take a topup or two) ?
So doesn't that mean that your community clubs (plus NT) have it over the AFL teams and will do better come finals time ?
And isn't it really just the Swans and UWS that are too powerful ?

Would it be better if the Swans and UWS were excluded until your teams consolidated a bit ? Maybe send those two teams off somewhere else and have a NEAFL made up of the rest ?

PS - won't happen but I think that's what you're driving at.

Justa,

Good points above but,

IMO, bring on the AFL Reserve Sides the bigger the better - this is the benchmark of the NEAFL Competition, as smy1305 stated, some years these AFL Reserve sides have good fortune with few injuries and some years these injuries can compound them to not finish in the finals race - We are all agreed, that if these AFL Reserve sides have good years they will be near on impossible to beat, but the standard of the fledgling NEAFL sides is improving with every game - It will take time and probably a few more wisely spent $$$$$ from these current new era NEAFL Clubs to maybe rise up to win the Holy Grail of the Competition, but this again IMO is a bonus and it takes hard work and and lots of luck for any team to do this - To have our young guys come through and earn a regular game in a competition where they may play on a Daniel Rich or a Brendan Jack type players learning their trade playing NEAFL as young blokes themselves is a great achievement, every game these young and even older non AFL Club players in the NEAFL comp play, they are playing against the best opposition players that they can play on. This has got to make the competition and these competing clubs stronger and better every year going forward - I know its been said a lot, but in say 5 years time the NEAFL will be a very big part of the 2nd tier AFL Competition and very competitive against if and when we play the other States around Australia. As smy1305 on here has said, "Rome was not built in a day" Time is the only thing needed - We have got everything else. Maybe a Giants win this year but it is not a cert there is a lot of goals and points to be scored until we find out - lets all enjoy it and get behind our clubs and more importantly our players.

The absolute #1 priority of having the reserves sides in the comp is if a young bloke from Aspley (say a Jed Turner, not that young but young in terms of football years) can easily account for the Swans ruckman when they play each other then his star rises as far as being drafted. tbh recruiters couldn't give a toss if a bloke can knock over Morningside's or Mt Gravatts best ruckman from years gone by bc they have nfi how good they actually are as far as AFL footy is concerned. The reserves sides are 100% necessary for credibility and if we ever want blokes drafted from this state. I for one would not want to see them taken out (and they won't be), never have.

Speaking with a young man on an AFL list from Qld and his father, the players first meeting with the AFL coach went like this...
Queenslander eh, well the first thing we have to do is teach you to play footy and you will have to play in the VFL for a while so that you have played some decent footy.This alongside no respect of the NEAFL from people they have met down there should put this argument to bed lads, will take a while for the NEAFL to earn that respect if at all and explains why Zorko took so long to get on a list.Hard to shake a bad reputation and is the result of AFLQ pushing non footballers on to lists for a decade.

No Champion Data stats for the Interleague game yet, I am looking forward to them will make for interesting reading, same as the first game.I would like to see the efficiency detail on possessions as well,( just as a suggestion for improvement ) a lot of disposals are junk in the modern game. Metres carried and scoring involvements are two stats I have liked added of recent times not sure if the developing States are entitled to that sort of information.

Speaking with a young man on an AFL list from Qld and his father, the players first meeting with the AFL coach went like this...
Queenslander eh, well the first thing we have to do is teach you to play footy and you will have to play in the VFL for a while so that you have played some decent footy.This alongside no respect of the NEAFL from people they have met down there should put this argument to bed lads, will take a while for the NEAFL to earn that respect if at all and explains why Zorko took so long to get on a list.Hard to shake a bad reputation and is the result of AFLQ pushing non footballers on to lists for a decade.

Non Footballers, Aint that the truth:rolleyes:. The scouts see a 190cm all running jumping kid & get wet dreams. The 180cm kid standing next to him, who can play, gets ignored.
The game is getting harder for footballers to play. The AFL system promotes the athletic robot types & expect them to have the footy smarts as well.
It dont always work that way.

NEAFL- 2014