NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012

Hey Pies, Tom is Mark's son. I played against Mark in the '86 Premiership and felt very old when I played with, and coached Tom in what used to be the Tigers Reserves in the early 2000s. Sadly Tom's body isn't up to the rigours of NEAFL footy anymore. He's struggled with various issues, some chronic, over the years. But the club is pretty happy he's willing to stick at it in Div 1.

Cheers Michael. Yes I remember you playing for QBN back in the old ACTAFL days. It was great getting revenge on the QBN supporters who travelled to Wanniassa Oval earlier in the year and see QBN beat Tuggeranong. The QBN fans were shouting abuse and telling us to go back to the MAFL etc.

I only reach U19s footy the year before with Tuggeranong, wasn't getting enough games with the Coach, so I lost interest.

Disappointed to read, there has been no promotion done for Akermanis appearance with Tuggeranong this weekend. Apparently, Akka was happy to play 3 games for the club, but the NEAFL/AFL deemed it falling outside player transfer regulations.

The NEAFL make no mention of his appearance either.

It will be only those people interested after seeing story on WinNews last month, and word of mouth amongst the local footy community that will help to attract any spectators to the game on Saturday.

Doesn't help, that the big Collingwood vs West Coast Eagles game is on FTA tv at 4.40pm either.

It's weird, I completly forgot about Akker.... will they even make their money back off him? You would think it would be in the local pappers etc...

It was on the Local TV news tonight as well so they should get enough local awareness out of it. Trouble comes with people not having sufficient motivation to hear the news and actually get up and go. I'll be in Sydney this weekend so I won't be there but even if I was in Canberra I probably wouldn't go if for no other reason than it's in Tugger's.

Canberra weather wont help either PF.

Surely it's up to Tuggers to promote it as it had nothing to do with NEAFL.

Yeah, the weather forecast looks like a killer. There is no protection from the freezing winds coming off the Brindabellas down there, so I expect it will be bitterly cold on Saturday Arvo. Encountered it myself a few times in the past.

Good to see some coverage on the TV tonight. The NEAFL dont have to promote his apperance, but they could have at least had some news on their website about it. The NEAFL is run by the AFL these days, so its in their interests for the future of Aussie Rules in the Tuggeranong Valley.

The NEAFL dont have to promote his apperance, but they could have at least had some news on their website about it. The NEAFL is run by the AFL these days, so its in their interests for the future of Aussie Rules in the Tuggeranong Valley.
I thought it was a stupid idea to sign Akermanis up in the first place, but that's not a criticism of Tuggeranong.
And now you say that AFL-HQ has ignored him.
Good.

I suppose they have split loyalties - PF, yes, they should be backing Tuggeranong in their hour of need. but, as well, I bet AFL-HQ wish Aker would crawl under a rock and get stuck there permanently. He spits in AFL's face at every opportunity and I bet if you go to his sportsman's night then you will hear it all again.
AFL opposed the deal in the first place and now they aren't going to give him any free oxygen.

I hope Tuggeranong (whoever they are) climbs to great heights and that Aker disappears into the ether.

TBH apart from Queanbeyan, the rest of the sides are equal to me.

I only tuned into "ABH.net.au" part way into this season and I think I missed something - remind us of when you gave out "equal" bagging out to Ainslie, Tuggeranong or Eastlake ?

I think you made a bad call on this one, but, on a positive note, I also think that you are the contributor that makes this forum so interesting.

Allow me to clarify JAB.

I don't dislike any club more than the other, unfortunately Belconnen have been the major source for my posts due to (A) They having some major in house goings on in the last 12 months and (B) They have people who are not happy, want to remain anonymous and use me as a voice.

The other clubs are not hanging out their dirty laundry.

Not sure if elong is still adding up as I haven't seen a post from him/her for a while but no the less Tips this week:
Swans
Queanbeyan
Giants
Eastlake

If elong does not get on today I will flick back thru and update leaderboard.

Tips

Swans
Qbn
Giants
Eastlake

(B) They have people who are not happy, want to remain anonymous and use me as a voice.

The other clubs are not hanging out their dirty laundry.

That's a pretty piss weak way to change things. If these sources aren't happy then they should do something about it other than bitch to a gossip queen who posts on an internet forum read by about 9 people.

Perhaps people involved wont change and thrive on power and are continually covering up.

Please, like you would not post some information that you were given if you deemed the person reliable.

Hey here is an idea..... why don't you start posting something decent rather than coming randomly on here, throwing a barb and then disappearing.

Some might think that pretty piss weak also.

A couple of crackers this weekend with Queanbeyan v Ainslie and Hills v Eastlake. Does anyone know which game will be streamed?

Eagles believe this is biggest test all year by far ... Haven't played Swans Reserves yet. We have had a freshen up and over some niggles so go in quietly confident. But so have Eastlake - should be cracker at BISP

Swans were too good again for Uni tonight ... But Uni fought it out but still copped a 140 odd point loss from memory

Obviously the final 5 looks locked in with only a winning streak from UWS putting pressure on 5th with only 3 wins & alot of shuffling & resting senior AFL players requiring up to 10 or 12 top ups each week this seems unlikely.

Seems Belconnen people continue to post here on how great they are traveling but with
2 wins ( both vs Syd Uni ) 1 draw ( vs a winless Tuggeranong) are no chance of finals

Syd Uni might fluke one more win and they understood at start of 2012 season they would be off pace & this year would be a learning phase for all involved

Tuggeranong looked so bad vs Syd Uni a couple weeks back I doubt they will get a win before seasons out & if what has been posted here re financial situation would struggle seeing them in NEAFL next year.

Finals series will be a cracker - am so proud that SH Eagles will be part of it in inaugural year

Go Eages !!

Have to agree ZZZ with the above.

Reckon only 2 teams have performed above expectations this season for the first half of the year.

I agree that the final 5 is probably set (unless something dramatic happens at both ends of the table) and has been for sometime unfortunately.

Swans - as expected
Qbn - above expectations particularly from outside the club.
Hills - above expectation
Eastlake - as expected and they have gone about it under the radar
Ainslie - below expectations but other teams still need to beware.
UWS - as expected given they are now in the AFL and we now have their next best 22.
Syd Uni - as expected
Belconnen - as expected outside the club but obviously below club expectations
Tuggeranong - given last year some may say below expectations but reality may suggest about as expected.

I went down to see Tuggeranong and the GWS Giants this arvo. I left at 3tr time due to Pies playing on the TV this arvo.

Hawks had a surge in the 3rd qtr and look like recording their first win for the season, leading by 29pts going into the last qtr.

Crowd was disappointing and Akermanis probably a bit shocked I would think too.

Some young idiot with a megaphone was spoiling it, especially by the time the booze was starting to taking effect.

Freezing cold wind as expected, probably meant a few people stayed at home.

I am not sure Tuggeranong will survive to be honest, I didn't really see any old faces from the Bulldogs days either, appears to be a different club now.

Oh and AFC2 did not introduce himself ;)

Interesting that I had 3 messages telling me who they thought he was. Funny that all 3 came up with the same name and a name that I had never heard of.

When I asked each of the senders of the messages what had he ever done, the reply was unanimous.....Nothing.

Not very impressive because if he is who they suggested he has been involved at 3 Canberra clubs for that contribution!

Thanks PF.

Tigers win by 47 points at Ainslie.

Report to come.

Very good team effort by the Tigers. As in last game Ainslie went the knuckle in the third qtr.Tigers were up to and they can handle it this year.
WTF has Neil Irwin have to do to get a mention in the best players? Nothing wrong with those mentioned for a change but Neil and young King were great around the stoppages. Three or four others very strong but team effort sums it up . Ainslie really missing Rob Shirley in tight this year.

Akermanis plays and Tuggeranong wins - did he win the game for them ? Did the team lift because he was there with them ?

Aker had very little play-by-play impact, but his presence made a lot of Hawks realise that they can actually play very, very good footy when they set their minds to it. It was a very good game.

NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012