NEAFL - Northern Conference 2013

Apparently Morningside players told by club officials tonight changes are definitely happening next year. AFL Aiming to make NEAFL "Elite". ? 2 teams from Brisbane and 1 from Coast. Specific criteria club has to meet to be eligible including financial - applications to be in by end of month if want to apply. Although players seem to feel AFLQ probably already decided who they want and set criteria accordingly. Not sure if players heard much more in way of details.

If in new NEAFL, squad of 35 only, if not in team each week play with local club in QAFL, but wont be with same team as they wont be allowed to have QAFL team as well.if want to have a second team will be in a sig lower division.

Alternative if not in NEAFL club returns to "revived" QAFL - details to come - presumably seniors and reserves. And potentially lose best players.

Probably bit hard for squad to concentrate on training and maybe rest of season while considering their own possibilities for next year. One option Morningside applies and if gets in sig number from current squad won't be in the NEAFL 35 despite young reserves team being top of the ladder and no doubt hoping for opportunities in NEAFL in next year or two. What do players do - Find another QAFL club, play sig lower division with Morningside, or if neither of these options appeal maybe give up and concentrate on work or Uni?

Club doesn't apply or don't get in - go back a division, potentially lose several players - few now retire rather than playing on for another year or two teaching young players, others move to try luck at a new NEAFL club, maybe some poached to play as top ups for AFL teams. If stay do so with future direction of club uncertain.

Kick in the guts to players who have committed to NEAFL clubs, and the clubs themselves...

Local clubs who spend $800 k as a min for new comp will not last 2 long losing by 100 points every week against full listed Afl clubs.All clubs should tell who ever is running this new comp to piss off and leave as is.Afl can spend their $ on Bris,GC etc in a 2nd tier vfl comp.Nothing against Aspley but couldnt beat Gc last week with 12 listed.Imagine all other clubs against Swans with 22 for example.
Nth Qld/PNG will have no chance to develop their kids will be copping 200 point losses every week.

Is $800 k / yr budget the criteria for selection? If so AFL have clearly already decided who's in their new comp.

Heard $500k min. Article in today's paper has 2 out of Aspley,Redlands,Morningside,Mt Gravatt plus 1 from Southport,Broady and Labrador to enter new comp. add Afl clubs,NT,NQ/PNG plus Canberra based clubs to be the 14 teams. Heard Tuggeranong out. Not sure of others.

Apparently Morningside players told by club officials tonight changes are definitely happening next year. AFL Aiming to make NEAFL "Elite". ? 2 teams from Brisbane and 1 from Coast. Specific criteria club has to meet to be eligible including financial - applications to be in by end of month if want to apply. Although players seem to feel AFLQ probably already decided who they want and set criteria accordingly. Not sure if players heard much more in way of details.

If in new NEAFL, squad of 35 only, if not in team each week play with local club in QAFL, but wont be with same team as they wont be allowed to have QAFL team as well.if want to have a second team will be in a sig lower division.

Alternative if not in NEAFL club returns to "revived" QAFL - details to come - presumably seniors and reserves. And potentially lose best players.

Probably bit hard for squad to concentrate on training and maybe rest of season while considering their own possibilities for next year. One option Morningside applies and if gets in sig number from current squad won't be in the NEAFL 35 despite young reserves team being top of the ladder and no doubt hoping for opportunities in NEAFL in next year or two. What do players do - Find another QAFL club, play sig lower division with Morningside, or if neither of these options appeal maybe give up and concentrate on work or Uni?

Club doesn't apply or don't get in - go back a division, potentially lose several players - few now retire rather than playing on for another year or two teaching young players, others move to try luck at a new NEAFL club, maybe some poached to play as top ups for AFL teams. If stay do so with future direction of club uncertain.

Kick in the guts to players who have committed to NEAFL clubs, and the clubs themselves...

I would see the best option to be that no club fills out an application!!
Let NT, The two reserves and Nth QLD have a ripper comp.

I have never agreed so much with so many of the recent posts on big footy. It seems as though there has been a lot of idealistic thinking going on at headquarters and not a lot of practicality.

How much consultation occurred prior to this new concept (external to the four walls of the AFL)?

History shows we shouldn't fret too much, another change to the competition should be due in 2-3 years. Though it does make you wonder whether another hobby is more worthy than being at the peril of mind boggling decision making.

It is a really
it is a beautifully structured media release , however guys never let the facts get in the way of a good story. As I see it in 2012 one player was drafted from the NEAFL , Adam Oxley and I don' t recall anyone being drafted from the League directly below commonly known as the Pineapple Cup.So how is that magically going to change in this brave new world ?

With a elite comp on the horizon who funds the improvement in standard of umpiring?
Chikka have you changed your mind on the umpiring, I thought you were in the everything is great, nothing to see here just move along camp.But in all seriousness this is one of the major flaws in Qld footy has been for a long time and the gap is about to become a Grand Canyon.

Internally Southport rate themselves under 2 criteria, Grand Finals and players drafted. Since 2008 both Broadbeach and Labrador have been more successful under their own criteria. Strange then that they will be the ones to move into the elite competition.

You guys can't seriously see this as a shock, can you? NEAFL was always going to be one comp within 5 years of creation, just probably a year or two ahead of schedule. Was created with one purpose and that was to give a comp for Bris/Syd/GWS/GC to play against.

Gold Coast
Southport
Redland
Lions
Broadbeach

NEAFL field umpires should get $500 per game each. Boundry Umps $250 and Goal umps, $150. Watch the level of professionalism lift if it becomes worthwhile for older players and fringe reserve players with a good understnding of the game to become umpires.

I have never agreed so much with so many of the recent posts on big footy. It seems as though there has been a lot of idealistic thinking going on at headquarters and not a lot of practicality.

How much consultation occurred prior to this new concept (external to the four walls of the AFL)?

History shows we shouldn't fret too much, another change to the competition should be due in 2-3 years. Though it does make you wonder whether another hobby is more worthy than being at the peril of mind boggling decision making.

I reckon the consultation thing (or lack thereof) is what has gutted the clubs. My club Broady has produced 3 draftees in the last 3 years and has Brennan and Weller as very good chances currently. We have worked hard with engaging with southern GC and Northern Rivers clubs and have a number of players from those regions providing them a genuine development path. Our facilities have been upgraded and are now excellent.

On the field narrowly missed finals in 2011 (percentage) and 2012 (1 game). Out of the race this year but we have generally been competitive. In the NEAFL 3 years we have at one point or another defeated every side including AFL teams and NT 3 times. Won the 2's last year with a group of teenagers, most have remained and we have an excellent young group coming through. On the right track to improve and be competitive.

Pretty tough whats happening just because we don't have a pokie palace, especially given the $$$ that will be needed and provided for NQ to get going. I recognise the contribution of other NEAFL clubs also that have also worked hard and face a difficult situation.

Anyway tips

Suns
Sharks
Cats
Lions
Panthers

I reckon the consultation thing (or lack thereof) is what has gutted the clubs. My club Broady has produced 3 draftees in the last 3 years and has Brennan and Weller as very good chances currently. We have worked hard with engaging with southern GC and Northern Rivers clubs and have a number of players from those regions providing them a genuine development path. Our facilities have been upgraded and are now excellent.

On the field narrowly missed finals in 2011 (percentage) and 2012 (1 game). Out of the race this year but we have generally been competitive. In the NEAFL 3 years we have at one point or another defeated every side including AFL teams and NT 3 times. Won the 2's last year with a group of teenagers, most have remained and we have an excellent young group coming through. On the right track to improve and be competitive.

Pretty tough whats happening just because we don't have a pokie palace, especially given the $$$ that will be needed and provided for NQ to get going. I recognise the contribution of other NEAFL clubs also that have also worked hard and face a difficult situation.

Anyway tips

Suns
Sharks
Cats
Lions
Panthers

Yes, agree 2010premier.
As was suggested a couple of posts ago,.. why don't the local NEAFL clubs say no,,,,, including the financial clubs such as Southport and Aspley....lets face it, to have to compete in this proposed comp it will cost a club some 500k to 800k per season.( from all reports) ...And that's every season,, Thus I cant see even the Sharks and Aspley being able to keep this up.....let alone be a top side against the AFL teams....
Time for all local NEAFL clubs to unite and oppose this ....!!!!

Yes, agree 2010premier.
As was suggested a couple of posts ago,.. why don't the local NEAFL clubs say no,,,,, including the financial clubs such as Southport and Aspley....lets face it, to have to compete in this proposed comp it will cost a club some 500k to 800k per season.( from all reports) ...And that's every season,, Thus I cant see even the Sharks and Aspley being able to keep this up.....let alone be a top side against the AFL teams....
Sorry Stuyd1 Southports fingerprints are all over this , they have helped put this together . So therefore they will not care who comes with them.

Also,look at the Thunder,,, even they are now not so ultra competitive, even with all their financing thru the AFL, sponsors etc.
A Townsville based team is a joke,(waste of funding $)
As I said in a post the other day, get rid of the cross conference stuff, concentrate on the development of QLD footy alone, disburse budgeted funds to the lesser financial clubs to assist evening up the comp, and this will enable improvement of the standard of the comp where clubs are then more likely to retain their youngsters, experienced players, their guns, and continue to attract good quality recruits .This will also provide a straight pathway for AFL clubs to look at players that have potential draft chances.
If the Sharks and Aspley don't want to support this proposed comp, well its time all local Neafl clubs stand united and oppose .

What a lot of crock.....a load of spin no doubt prepared by a public relations consultant.

This proposed competition will set Australian rules football back so much in Queensland. From 7 pathway clubs to 3 and an abysmal state development program....effect for grooming young kids. I can understand how there how has been no consultation with Clubs..it doest make sense!

Lifes a Beach1,
I did not know this,,, is this fact.If so, whats their mission here.?
Remember they have not achieved their own criteria for success, grand finals & players drafted.Broadbeach & Labrador have done both, and how do you rid yourself of this problem when money is not working.

Yes, agree 2010premier.
I would be surprised if Aspley go's for it. Micky Conlan (the phantom) makes a statement for the first time in two years. And it's crap decision. Agree with you all this sucks.

NEAFL - Northern Conference 2013