NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2011 - Part 2

Damo,

This prediction is not far off the mark IMO, I think the winner will come from these three or even four (as below), Bushie might be a little outspoken with his opinons, Paynee has already bagged one and very close to another and Smithy is a talent who lets his footy do the talking - although it is the year of the Zorko and who knows a four way tie might be an option as well, good luck to all of the top fancies as they are all likley chances and all of them play our game well.

At the end of the day the Grogan will be won by one or several players who in the opinion of the umpires throughout the season in each game was the best and fairest player.

GOOD LUCK IN GUESSING THAT ONE.

well mate my opinion has the weight of a lead balloon on predictions and everything else. last year i thought dan roy would poll well in the grogan and i am pretty sure he didn't poll a single vote

I have a question :

If Morningside and Southport lose this weekend, are the likes of Gough, Spackman, Holman and Payne (their host clubs agreeing of course ) eligible to play for NT Thunder the following week when they take on GWS in Sydney minus all their players who are unavailable because of the Clontarf Academy camp - Cam Ilett, Iggy Valejo, Jason Roe, Charlie Maher, Karl Lohdie etc !

They are not playing another QLD club and GC Suns have been allowed such liberties with the use of Sam Faure from Morningside when they play the Lions or Swans!!

Fulton named for Palmy this week end

Yes correct. He has missed the past 2 games with a foot/ankle problem. anad as Broadie have a bye this week and dont play till the next saturday, it would mean fults has not played for 4 weeks,thus the reason to get him some gametime with palmy before the suns clash on saturday week.Gotta give this guy credit, as he is 34 and still a very important player to Broadie.Has played some great games this year, be it in the backline or forward line. Still up to the playing standard of the league.

Vultures won a good game of football...puts morningside in a tough position..7 th and poor percentage. Intriguing battle between Aspley, Redland, Broady and Morningside...reckon Redland is vulnerable

see fulton kicked 12 goals for palm beach.

The match report said they took him off the ground early in the last quarter, and PBC kicked 8 goals in that quarter. Could have kicked 15-16!! In some ways it just reinforces the big drop in standard. Cleve Hughes kicked 11 when he dropped back and played for Mayne as well.

Saw Southport/Labrador yesterday. Really good game, very fast and entertaining and worthy of finalists rather than bottom 3 sides. Good crowd at Cooke Murphy. Labrador seemed to dominate the last quarter but found a way to lose. Their season in a nutshell.

Notting limping noticeably when walking, but seamed still to be able to run. Strange. Not sure whether any of their ex AFL boys will carry on next year. Questions about Nottings knee , Shattock looks like the NEAFL is about to go past him, and Knobel is still a very good player at this level but who knows if he wants another pre-season.

Drove down M1 and watched a very well structured Vultures demoralise Panthers in 1st qtr then held on over last 3 qtrs.Vultures have best midfield in comp in Evans,Smith,Gilliland,Proud,James apart from NEAFL looked after Suns.Assume Adam Tarrant will miss next 2/3 weeks,off ball incident that was reported.

Redlands and Aspley win 2 or next 3 and they in finals.Big game for my beloved Broady this week against Suns.Zorko up against next years team mates?

Sick of Labrador winging about all their injurys.Agree they have been hurt but every club comes across this throughout season.Aspley,Sharks,Morningside have had their share and are all in finals contention due to depth.Labradors 2 have played finals last 2 years,should have looked after them overall.

I don't see Labrador whingeing anywhere, just the truth being reported on by AFLQ journo's. What is the problem?

I don't have enough time to go through all of the injuries but Notting, Knobel, Shattock, Wrigley, Clarke, Slattery, Talbot, Stockdale, Vigus all missed big chinks of the season.....no team could cope with 9 of their better players missing so much footy.

Vultures won a good game of football...puts morningside in a tough position..7 th and poor percentage. Intriguing battle between Aspley, Redland, Broady and Morningside...reckon Redland is vulnerable

yes saw the game and the Vultures blew them away in the 1st quarter.Panthers fought back for the rest of the game getting to within 8 points late in the final quarter.Just shows the eveness of the comp.

Proud is such a classy player.His delivery of the ball is exceptional even under pressure.

For which clubs will make up the finals equation, it is almost impossible to predict when you look at the final 3 rounds of fixtures. I guess we will just have to take it one week at a time. A great comp this year .

Drove down M1 and watched a very well structured Vultures demoralise Panthers in 1st qtr then held on over last 3 qtrs.Vultures have best midfield in comp in Evans,Smith,Gilliland,Proud,James apart from NEAFL looked after Suns.Assume Adam Tarrant will miss next 2/3 weeks,off ball incident that was reported.

Redlands and Aspley win 2 or next 3 and they in finals.Big game for my beloved Broady this week against Suns.Zorko up against next years team mates?

Sick of Labrador winging about all their injurys.Agree they have been hurt but every club comes across this throughout season.Aspley,Sharks,Morningside have had their share and are all in finals contention due to depth.Labradors 2 have played finals last 2 years,should have looked after them overall.
Staminade, I agree, surely Zorko will get picked up. He is lengths ahead of some of the youngsters the Suns have got on their list and he is still only 22 years old with a huge amount of experience when it comes to playing against older harder bodies.

Rnd 18 results

staminade 2 (52)
Footyfanatic1 2 (51)
stuyd 2 (51)
chikka ferguson 1 (48)
maurie 2 (49)
2010premier 1 (48)
pointer 1 (46)
BigE 2 (44)
Morphous 2 (43)
Lifes a Beach 1 (42)
Thunderdoc 1 (42)
Speedyunit 0 (41)

Labrador v Southport was a ripping game, better to watch than the Suns V Saints (horrible game of footy to watch).I can see why St Kilda's attendances are falling if you have to watch that every week.

Rnd 18 results

staminade 1 (51)
Footyfanatic1 2 (51)
stuyd 2 (51)
chikka ferguson 1 (48)
maurie 2 (49)
2010premier 1 (48)
pointer 1 (46)
BigE 2 (44)
Morphous 2 (43)
Lifes a Beach 1 (42)
Thunderdoc 1 (42)
Speedyunit 0 (41)

Thought I tipped Sharks and Vultures?

Yes correct. He has missed the past 2 games with a foot/ankle problem. anad as Broadie have a bye this week and dont play till the next saturday, it would mean fults has not played for 4 weeks,thus the reason to get him some gametime with palmy before the suns clash on saturday week.Gotta give this guy credit, as he is 34 and still a very important player to Broadie.Has played some great games this year, be it in the backline or forward line. Still up to the playing standard of the league.

what would PBC get out of Fults playing?

As the finals draw closer it will be good to see that teams that havnt looked to there young will miss out they all give them a run but never give them a role
Redlands and broady for mine
Interesting to see the vision and the commentary coming from the visitors box on Saturday :eek:

As the finals draw closer it will be good to see that teams that havnt looked to there young will miss out they all give them a run but never give them a role
Interesting to see the vision and the commentary coming from the visitors box on Saturday :eek:

Yes, good observation dumbness. Also interesting to see that at this stage the teams who are already finals bound plus Redland and Broady who are knocking on the door not only give their young fellas responsibility but their style of footy also differs. They appear to be more footy purists. Sure they play hard and fast but they have evolved with the pace and skill of the comp.

whos box? and what was interesting?

Yes, good observation dumbness. Also interesting to see that at this stage the teams who are already finals bound plus Redland and Broady who are knocking on the door not only give their young fellas responsibility but their style of footy also differs. They appear to be more footy purists. Sure they play hard and fast but they have evolved with the pace and skill of the comp.

Between you and Dumbness Mondays Expert, what games have you been whatching this year, All sides that I have seen play have got a fairly good mixture of youth and experianced players sharing the load each week, as far as roles are concerned all players when they can cover each other in most sides - it was only a couple of weeks ago that there was a winge comming from the Broadbeach camp that Eagle was being crowded by goal hungry small crumbing type players by getting in his way - now the side has turned the corner in some peoples opinion 1 sparrow does not a summer bring and 1 win in Alice Springs (by a single point as well) does not a season make, there is not to many young blokes running around down at Redland either from my recollection, I have allways found that players select themselves each week young or experianced, based on their past and last game/s and their job required to do when selected

gday fellas 5 young 21-24 yr old players from melton south football club looking at a club to play at up the coast for next season inbox if interested cheers

Between you and Dumbness Mondays Expert, what games have you been whatching this year, All sides that I have seen play have got a fairly good mixture of youth and experianced players sharing the load each week, as far as roles are concerned all players when they can cover each other in most sides - it was only a couple of weeks ago that there was a winge comming from the Broadbeach camp that Eagle was being crowded by goal hungry small crumbing type players by getting in his way - now the side has turned the corner in some peoples opinion 1 sparrow does not a summer bring and 1 win in Alice Springs (by a single point as well) does not a season make, there is not to many young blokes running around down at Redland either from my recollection, I have allways found that players select themselves each week young or experianced, based on their past and last game/s and their job required to do when selected

Well snorkle not sure what you watch when you go to the footy but it may pay for you to dig deep into your pockets and spend the 3 bucks each week and buy a footy record. Not sure as well just how long you have been watching. Not that I am about to defend Redlands here (and this was only a small part of my opinion expressed) but seeing you singled them out here goes-
Justin Myers - 21
Matt Thompson - 20 and debuted aged about 16
Ben Weightman - 21
Brad Rees - 20
Zane Pringle - 20
Manzone - just turned 20
Sam Godfrey 19
Adam Oxley - 18 also debuted when still either 16 or 17
Sexton, Michael, Salter, Boon....the list goes on.

NEAFL - Northern Conference - Season 2011 - Part 2