New AFL Video Game - Wii - Q&A Thread

JB Hi Fi had an awesome preorder deal, they were giving away a free gamecube controller with every preorder sold. I wish I took that up but after much hesitation I never did. Cash coverters is your best friend for getting one of the gamecube controllers though. Try there or ebay.

You can get unofficial ones for not too much in most places. I have one and it works fine.

For example:

http://www.game.com.au/gameware-wii-control-pad-white/nintendo-wii/GA02703

Only fourteen bucks.

I'm thinking there's a fair amount of "I suck at this game, therefore it is shit" going on in here. Haven't played the game yet, but that's the vibe I'm getting (especially considering most of the official reviews are saying it's decent enough).

i reckon there's alot more of "we've been fed shit AFL game after shit AFL game, so now we accept a game that's only marginally better than a shit AFL game" going on.

if you put the camera angle behind, you can't see up the field far enough to pick out your team mates. it's 100% kick and hope.

since when were nick malceski and matthew boyd known as "9" and "5" respectively? boyd is the captain of his team but they didn't bother to record his name.

were they so lazy that instead of getting the commentator to record the track "49" they got him to do 1 to 10 and then 20, 30, 40, 50 etc, so they could use the file from "40" and "9" to make the number "4...9".

shit, daniel kerr can kick goals from 100 metres out. but only when it's wet. because it skids through 70 metres. just like in real life!

oh, and the wind director says 25km p/h east. i'm 15 metres out, directly in front. i'll aim it a bit west and the wind will push it through. oh wait, no it won't...it'll unrealistically grab the ball and bend it on some insane angle out on the full.

every single player in the league has gained the ability to lay a 5 metre lunging tackle. even dean cox on aaron davey!

should i continue?

Bought the game last week. Haven't played it heaps but I'm happy enough with it. Just have a few questions and suggestions.

1) Is there anyway to increase the probability of taking a mark? When I had the minigames on I could take them fairly often but now I've turned it off (due to the tackling minigame being tiring) I can't take a mark to save myself. I can still spoil quite successfully and I can attempt a mark but they always drop it.

2) What is the deal with training? I will do the auto-train function and click auto-train on a certain skill. Sometimes it says 5 players successfully trained, sometimes 42 players successfully trained but most of the time 0 players successfully trained.

3) Is there a way to make your players actually man up? Often the computer will kick it into the forward line to free men whereas when I kick it forward the opposition players are always 20m in front of my players who are usually signing autographs in the crowd or something.

Now some suggestions...

1) Players can run take a several bounces and get tackled and then ball flies free but there is never holding the ball paid. Sometimes you get throwing the ball but often it is play on. Yet other times the player has the ball for half a second and is pinged for holding the ball.

2) The umpires like to wear red when I play as Essendon. I often think there is 2 free players lurking up ahead but when I kick it to them it turns out to be a boundary and field umpire playing funny buggers. Surely they have a clean yellow uniform in the sheds.

3) I understand rookies and new players are named by their number but Mark McVeigh I thought has been around long enough to deserve his name being said.

Finally some things I like about it...

1) Handballing is quite well done. Often I will see a player out of the corner of my eye making a run and can get it to him. Is useful for transferring the ball through the midfield as I find it hard to hit a team mate lace out.

2) I am getting used to kicking for goal now with the rolling the remote like bowling thing and I reckon with practice I'll be able to kick some rippers.

3) I think the minigames would be great fun in a multiplayer setting and the marking one is good except I can't enable that and disable the tackling one.

Anyway I recommend getting this if you are not somebody who gets angry about the game lacking realism. Also if you are going to play with friends I think it will add to the enjoyment. I can see a quality drinking game being played during a battle with some friends.

Hi Everyone,

Thank you for all your support and positive comments. Constructive feedback from people like TastyPears and BillyPilgrim is good to hear and it inspires us to make our next AFL game even better! For anyone wondering how to unlock anything still, make sure you check the Achievements screen from the Main Menu. Everything is explained there.

For people having trouble with marking you need to remember that it requires two button presses. The first is to lock your position in the target/jump for the ball and the second press is for marking the ball itself. This is similar for the ruck contest. Timing of the first press is also important. It's a risk verse reward system. While we are happy for people to turn off the mini contests they do help with learning the two button input process. Without the minigame on, the closer you get to the ideal timing of the mark the shorter the window for pressing the button the 2nd time is. The further from the ideal timing for the mark the longer the window for pressing the 2nd button is but anyone else in the contest has a better chance of out marking you. Being at the front of the marking circle will probably ensure you out mark someone closer to the middle or back of the circle except be careful not to get speckied in this position. Hope this helps. We strongly recommend spending some time in the marking mini game to perfect this.

Sorry the commentators miss saying a few of the names and I am sure a few others. While we understand this might sound strange there were bound to be a few oversights in the sea of statistics that are in the game.

The training function trains players with points to spend. It will allocate the points on a best value for money ratio. The more they train up the more expensive the next level becomes. Pressing the button multiple times in a row will not train anyone any faster. They must have points to spend. Micromanaging this process can be more useful especially when it comes to trade and contract time although this can be time consuming.

Players will man up more depending on their player ratings so train up the attributes that will help your style of play best. Also, if you have moved players out of position it will take them longer to get back to man up.

Thanks everyone again.

I notice the players also have XP, how do I adjust player attributes ? I mean increase them ? I know they have the ability to go up but the - & + wont increase it when I go to edit a specific skill

Also nd that you make plenty of profit if you have Membership & Merchandise on Medium Pricing.

I dont dare increase my staff or their abilities until 2nd season. By waiting until then, I will know how rich I am and can step it up and higher another 1 or 2 staff and increase their ability by 1 also

Love this game !

played in easy mode, 1st season as Essendon coach, defeated Bulldogs in Grand Final by 37 points.

Jobe Watson norm smith medal, 4 goals, 5 tackles, 29 disposals

However barry Hall won the brownlow & Goddard won the coleman medal. Surely unrealistic don't you think ?

But after winning the flag, 9 clubs offered me a coaching contract.

Collingwood, Richmond, St Kilda, Port, Lions, Geelong, Carlton, Hawthorn & Collingwood.

Clearly going to stick with Essendon and try to go back to back.

Also obviously David Swallow won rising star award.

I would love to have the Brownlow votes round by round at the end of the season, the Monday before the grand final. Now that would improve the game big time.

Found everything to be 10 times better when using the control pad over the remote and nunchuck. Now have no issues at all with marking, can most times outmark the opposition fwds when its a contest. Kicking to a team mate is improving but nowhere near as goos as CPU.

Hi Everyone,

Thank you for all your support and positive comments. Constructive feedback from people like TastyPears and BillyPilgrim is good to hear and it inspires us to make our next AFL game even better! For anyone wondering how to unlock anything still, make sure you check the Achievements screen from the Main Menu. Everything is explained there.

For people having trouble with marking you need to remember that it requires two button presses. The first is to lock your position in the target/jump for the ball and the second press is for marking the ball itself. This is similar for the ruck contest. Timing of the first press is also important. It's a risk verse reward system. While we are happy for people to turn off the mini contests they do help with learning the two button input process. Without the minigame on, the closer you get to the ideal timing of the mark the shorter the window for pressing the button the 2nd time is. The further from the ideal timing for the mark the longer the window for pressing the 2nd button is but anyone else in the contest has a better chance of out marking you. Being at the front of the marking circle will probably ensure you out mark someone closer to the middle or back of the circle except be careful not to get speckied in this position. Hope this helps. We strongly recommend spending some time in the marking mini game to perfect this.

Sorry the commentators miss saying a few of the names and I am sure a few others. While we understand this might sound strange there were bound to be a few oversights in the sea of statistics that are in the game.

The training function trains players with points to spend. It will allocate the points on a best value for money ratio. The more they train up the more expensive the next level becomes. Pressing the button multiple times in a row will not train anyone any faster. They must have points to spend. Micromanaging this process can be more useful especially when it comes to trade and contract time although this can be time consuming.

Players will man up more depending on their player ratings so train up the attributes that will help your style of play best. Also, if you have moved players out of position it will take them longer to get back to man up.

Thanks everyone again.
Two button presses for marking? The instructions (at least my interpretation of them) are to hold A on the downswing and let go on the upswing? That'd be why I'm doing it wrong :confused:

Gives you a little bit more than AFL Live though. "Position yourself and press y." Wooo.

Yes Lenny that's correct. The motion you mentioned triggers the mark but you also need to pay attention to the on screen button requests. This is where the 2nd button input is required as you may just wish to take a jumping mark or attempt a speckie. These on screen requests appear during most of the game for example, A+C appears when you are able to perform a speckie but won't appear if you are not in the correct position.

Here's some first impressions of the Wii version http://wii.mmgn.com/Articles/AFL-Wii-First-Impression

Bare in mind that it's only after 2 hours of play, and is NOT a full review, as AFL games do take quite a while to master and thus pass accurate judgement on (which I'm sure we all know). In short, it offers a lot more content, and is suited much better to the more casual Wii audience.

Yes Lenny that's correct. The motion you mentioned triggers the mark but you also need to pay attention to the on screen button requests. This is where the 2nd button input is required as you may just wish to take a jumping mark or attempt a speckie. These on screen requests appear during most of the game for example, A+C appears when you are able to perform a speckie but won't appear if you are not in the correct position.

Hey WW do wicked witch have any work experience placements for year 10's such as myself left? everyones been knocking me back and i need a placement, ive been trying since october and its really frustrating!! if not you then do you know any places that would take me in??

Been playing this game for a couple of days. I think its fantastic. They've done terrific with the Wii engine, and goal kicking, handballing and diving tackles are great.
Having no issues with visibility, except on rainy days.

Would highly recommend this game for anyone with a Wii who loves footy.

Only queries are why the rucks don't take the contests around the ground (Davey takes it in the Bomber's forward line!) and lack of some obvious player names (ie McVeigh at Essendon. His brother at Sydney gets named by the commentators, but he doesn't).

A one button access to the interchange bench would be a great improvement, but really enjoyable all the same.

New AFL Video Game - Wii - Q&A Thread