new APL

yianni86 said:
I'm not supporting a league that will kick South out for being ethnic

I think nearly going out of business and not being able to forfill the requirement of having a budget of $5million had a bigger role to play. Face it being ethinic was the least of your worries, almost going bankrupt and begging for money was.

Mate, even if South didn't have their financial problems the ASA wasn't going to even consider them.

Big deal. Look at footy. Im a Central Districs supporter and a Crows supporter. I have my local team and my national team. You can have south and melbourne. :D

Look at the bigger picture here. Instead of claiming fame to Souths great history and all, you can be part of the creation of a new club. In 50 years time you can say I was a member of that club when it started. Of course theres whether or not the league can survive is a huge question :)

ah the possibilities...

Convict said:
is there actually a guarantee of that happening? Or are all of you basing that on hopes and dreams?

I dont know enough about the situation I guess.

Hope and Dreams aside i beleive Hellas are in the strongest postion to be the Melbournes 2nd club, possbily after a few years of the APL running.

I don't see it happening with those twats at the ASA.

However, other Hellas supporters are remaining confident that we can do it. Who knows?

Basically SMH have got 5 years to get their sh*t together if they want to make a push at the APL, I have no doubt though that the 'Greek image' of the club will have to be watered down even further though for them to have a chance. If SMH can do that and bring enough cash to the table then I would bet on them having a very good chance of admission in 2010.

In 1977 Hellas averaged 5200 at home. In 2003 Hellas averaged 4878 at home.

They had 25 years to make their case that they could take the game form and win a mass audience. They have had their chance and now it is someone else's turn. Maybe it works maybe it doesn't, but for the sake of Australian soccer we have to try something.

Convict said:
Look at the bigger picture here. Instead of claiming fame to Souths great history and all, you can be part of the creation of a new club.

Too easy to say when you've just jumped on the football bandwagon like most of Adelaide United's fans (don't deny it..) but some of us have long term connections with clubs and aren't going to throw all that away just to see some allegedly 'huge' players turning out for a team with a stupid nickname and no soul.

If the Adelaide Crows were suddenly replaced with the Adelaide Joy/Victory/Celebration tomorrow would you just jump off and follow them instead?

Weaver said:
In 1977 Hellas averaged 5200 at home. In 2003 Hellas averaged 4878 at home.

They had 25 years to make their case that they could take the game form and win a mass audience. They have had their chance and now it is someone else's turn. Maybe it works maybe it doesn't, but for the sake of Australian soccer we have to try something.

How can they win a mass audience when the "skips" werent interested in throwing some support behind the club to make it an internationally supported team?

Northern spirit, brisbane strikers, kingz (900 people i cant believe they are in the new comp) all had their chances as well and south was clearly the better supported club even with greeks only, although dont be fooled with have heaps on non-greeks at the club, just not nearlly enough.

Dont forget in 2003 the nsl had no t.v coverage and was dying off, the other clubs were hardly getting a 1,000 while south was averaging about 5,000, and with adelaide it was 1st year success that helped them, i would like to see if they are sitting dead last on the apl how many people they would get through the gates.

Apl wont even last a complete season i think.

And like thrylos said, south melbourne vs heidelberg will get more then what the melbourne victory ever will.

toulairene said:
Dont forget in 2003 the nsl had no t.v coverage and was dying off, the other clubs were hardly getting a 1,000 while south was averaging about 5,000, and with adelaide it was 1st year success that helped them, i would like to see if they are sitting dead last on the apl how many people they would get through the gates.

Apl wont even last a complete season i think.

And like thrylos said, south melbourne vs heidelberg will get more then what the melbourne victory ever will.

First of all I take issue with your crack at AUFC, even if we were last I'd bet we'd still get more than SMSC averaged in their last season in the NSL and we'd only have to half fill the ground to do that. With around 7000 season ticket holders we'd only need 80% to turn up to beat SMSC's 03/04 average.

As for the APL not lasting a season, you are deluding yourself. Frank Lowy is not going to allow this to fail and he will throw enough money at it to ensure it doesn't if worst comes to worst. Not only that this competition will have a major sponsor, a full scale Pay-TV deal and a deal for matches on Free to Air almost completed, clubs with $4,000,000 behind them & paid up just to get on the park, none of the teams have competition for fans in their markets and are aiming at markets that were never seriously tapped by many of the old NSL clubs. I'm not predicting a roaring success for the first season but I am sure what we will get is something that is better than the old NSL in quality and in support. South v Heidelberg might get 10,000 tops, I would think that Melbourne Victory will be able to better that attendence in its first season.

Ray Nolan said:
First of all I take issue with your crack at AUFC, even if we were last I'd bet we'd still get more than SMSC averaged in their last season in the NSL and we'd only have to half fill the ground to do that. With around 7000 season ticket holders we'd only need 80% to turn up to beat SMSC's 03/04 average.

As for the APL not lasting a season, you are deluding yourself. Frank Lowy is not going to allow this to fail and he will throw enough money at it to ensure it doesn't if worst comes to worst Not only that this competition will have a major sponsor, a full scale Pay-TV deal and a deal for matches on Free to Air almost completed, none of the teams have competition for fans in their markets and are aiming at markets that were never seriously tapped by many of the old NSL clubs. I'm not predicting a roaring success for the first season but I am sure what we will get is something that is better than the old NSL in quality and in support. South v Heidelberg might get 10,000 tops, I would think that Melbourne Victory will be able to better that attendence in its first season.

Ok lets see adelaide at the bottom of the table and i bet you crowds of only 1500 will turn up, sure its all nice when your in the finals mix getting 15,000 but you cant comment until your team gets itself in that position.

Melbourne victory will only get over 10,000 for its 1st home match, then wait and see the slow decline in crowds.

Sorry if i said the apl wont last a season, i was meaning to say half a season.

Supermercado said:
It's not hard to invent a half decent crowd by handing out free tickets to anyone who wants them. See for instance Spirit, Northern and Power, Parramatta.

You can add Carlton into that as well. Intresting to note that the 2 broadbased teams that were successful (AUFC & PG) kept the free tickets to a minimum. I know at our games the percentage of the crowd in on freebies was no higher than 10% and 75% of those were kids under 12.

Ray Nolan said:
You can add Carlton into that as well. Intresting to note that the 2 broadbased teams that were successful (AUFC & PG) kept the free tickets to a minimum. I know at our games the percentage of the crowd in on freebies was no higher than 10% and 75% of those were kids under 12.

If you hit rock bottom, you will find people wont even bother snapping up free tickets, all you have to do is look at the northern spirit, their was a stage towards the end of the n.s.l where the crowds in perth had dropped from around 12,000 to about 7-8,000. They were even dominating.

At carlton everyone use to walk in at half time and get in for free, i remember they use to open the gates at half time and people use to come from everywhere, little wonder the club failed.

Finally it is such a stupid idea to have the melbourne victory play at the telstra dome, get 10,000 in there and the crowd still looks ordinary, imagine if the crowd at the mid-way point of the season is only 1500, lol south will be getting more then that.

I agree on Telstra Dome, they should play at Olympic Park first to see what sort of crowds they can draw, if they are filling the ground then they can move to TD. As for Perth's crowds last season, they averaged over 10,000 but there was a lot of apathy over there given the state of the NSL competition and because everyone knew it was the last before the A-League was to begin. The quality level affected the crowds over there because let's face it, last season was fairly rank when a team like AUFC who started late could end up finishing 3rd! I think crowds will be certainly be strong in Perth & Adelaide again the challenge is elsewhere and hopefully the marketing men are up to the challenge and the quality of Football up to scratch.

Ray Nolan said:
I agree on Telstra Dome, they should play at Olympic Park first to see what sort of crowds they can draw, if they are filling the ground then they can move to TD. As for Perth's crowds last season, they averaged over 10,000 but there was a lot of apathy over there given the state of the NSL competition and because everyone knew it was the last before the A-League was to begin. The quality level affected the crowds over there because let's face it, last season was fairly rank when a team like AUFC who started late could end up finishing 3rd! I think crowds will be certainly be strong in Perth & Adelaide again the challenge is elsewhere and hopefully the marketing men are up to the challenge and the quality of Football up to scratch.

Im just wondering has perth and adelaide ever been towards the bottom of the table? i would seriously love to see what crowds that could both get with poor performances, if they were still up around 8,000 that would be a good achievement. Highly unlikely though.

When Perth Glory were struggling slightly a few seasons ago and were in 6th spot, they were getting crowds of 6500. That is a massive drop when you consider the 10-12000 strong average crowds that they got when they were in the top three consistently. I think the best most recent example to use is Newcastle United. They averaged, what, around 9000 people when they were doing well 3 seasons ago, they got over 15000 to their finals home game against the Perth Glory and then Sydney Olympic, things were looking good. Then last NSL season what were their crowds? 2000, if that? As they were at the bottom of the table. That is the problem that SOME of these APL (it's probably going to be called the A-League now) clubs will face, as SOMEBODY has to finish last each season. It will be interesting to see how loyal their supporters will be and if they will still willingly rock up to support their club.

Ray Nolan said:
I agree on Telstra Dome, they should play at Olympic Park first to see what sort of crowds they can draw, if they are filling the ground then they can move to TD.

My only hope for the new league is a new stadium for Melbourne. Hopefully the one-club for all Melbournians could be enough to persuade the government to sponsor a new boutique stadium. One to be used by the NRL, the Victory and the Union team if we get it.

Olympic park is a dreary and dillapadated dive. It is a depressing place to go with murky lighting and a poor atmosphere because of the running track.

Supermercado said:
Too easy to say when you've just jumped on the football bandwagon like most of Adelaide United's fans (don't deny it..) but some of us have long term connections with clubs and aren't going to throw all that away just to see some allegedly 'huge' players turning out for a team with a stupid nickname and no soul.

If the Adelaide Crows were suddenly replaced with the Adelaide Joy/Victory/Celebration tomorrow would you just jump off and follow them instead?

Theres a large difference between jumping on the bandwagon of a successful club and turning out to support a new team for South Australia (not just for a minority group). Where did you want Adelaide Uniteds supporters to come from? Apparently anyone who supports a new team is considered to be jumping on a bandwagon these days :rolleyes:

I changed Adelaide Crows to Newcastle United in your post and can see what you mean. But as I have said previously. Souths arent going to be in the APL. Theres no guarentee they ever will be. I have a local footy side I support as well as one in the national league. I dont find it difficult at all to do.

Man it's impossible to even write a reply here without getting that dumbass "busy" message and having to redo it all...

Anyway I take your point on the 'bandwagon' comment and should clarify that I've got nothing against Adelaide United or 99% of it's fans but what I won't take is these 'new' football fans who had never been to a game before AU telling us we've got to throw away the side we've supported for years just to jump in bed with the national league.

Just checked Foxtel's website and Fox Sports are broadcasting the official launch live on Monday at 12:30pm. I'll reserve my judgment until the official launch.

new APL