New Coach

Originally posted by Templeton31

If you read the articles on the afl site he sounds like he knows that. He said something along the lines of "the players love me now and thats great but its not my job to be loved its my job to lead the club". Also said his new role would "change the dynamic" he had with the players.

Sounds like he knows he has to be tough.

Before he was selected I was worried that he didnt have the steel in his eyes. After today I reckon he just might.

well, thats good. When the job was first offered around he was like "me? coaching? hyuk hyuk! golllleeee"

Originally posted by Mr. Walker
I also heard Rohde speaking somewhere yesterday. I listen to that many radio shows on football i lose track (sad really).

Anyway Rohde said the club would be trading for tall key position players and that Grant would be in defence next year. Which is good news for those of you who have been calling for that but of a little concern to those of us who see no obvious replacement CHF on the current list. Not any I would rely on to do the job week in week out and I would be sure could produce in a final.

I reckon you can win a GF without a great forward line, but you cant win one without a great backline.

Put your quality players down there, and keep em stable.

I am going to love watching Granty and Smithy working together in their last 3-4 years down back!

Originally posted by Chops

Great observation stefoid. I thought Wallace prepared well for a game, but was lost he had to change tactics during the match.
Eg there was no Plan B.

You shouldnt really need a plan B. Keep the gameplan simple:

1) win contest
2) kick long and move the ball from midfield to F50 quickly to give your forwards a chance
3) goto 1)

Originally posted by stefoid

You shouldnt really need a plan B. Keep the gameplan simple:

1) win contest
2) kick long and move the ball from midfield to F50 quickly to give your forwards a chance
3) goto 1)

If you are talking general game plan, maybe not.

But if the oppositions coach puts Jarman at FF and Smart at CHF. You should counter.

So Wallaces Plan A was play Smith CHB on Robran while Southern played resis, Libba on McCloed and stick with it.

But if the oppositions coach puts Jarman at FF and Smart at CHF. You should counter.

So Wallaces Plan A was play Smith CHB on Robran while Southern played resis, Libba on McCloed and stick with it.

Sure. Wallet was always slow in reversing a bad plan. You could say he was 'backing his players', but when you have a huge mismatch in height or speed, it should be obvious that no amount of 'backing' is going to work. Maybe his ego wouldnt let him acknowledge his 'mm...mmm...mmmmistake'.

Ah, if only someone had run through Jarman after his 3rd goal...

quote from Spud re GF: (and if he really believes this, boy is richmond due for a cleanout)

"And as we look towards next year, what the 14 coaches who didn’t take part in the game can take out of it is that Brisbane and Collingwood laid themselves bare. We probably learned more about any potential weaknesses of the two sides, although being able to exploit them, is of course, another matter entirely.

We also learned that you can have your flooding and your one player loose in the backline throughout the home and away season, but when it comes to winning the really big games, it is all about one-on-one footy and beating your opponent.

The 2002 grand final was just a great contest and what was made abundantly clear was that when you look at your own list, if you haven’t got the sorts of players who can compete under that sort of pressure, then you are really going to struggle. And I didn’t see too many players on Saturday who didn’t stand up under that sort of heat.

All clubs should look at that game and see whether they have the same sort of players, the types who are going to win you a grand final."

Hunter, Eagleton, Bandy are the types that dont like a lot of pressure, although Bandy would still be useful as a 2nd tall in a forwardline due to his physical attributes, ala a Josh Fraser playing alongside Rocca

Also Brown has shown on several occasions that he can be completely shutdown in the midfield by an opponent who never leaves his side.

I think he shouldl play most of his football in the future as a small forward. He has the knack for manufacturing goals that we have missed over the last couple of seasons.

If Grant is playing in the backline next season then I would be getting on him for all australian and maybe even a crack at the brownlow.That sounds silly but he really is an attractive footballer to watch when he is reading the play and delivering down field like he does when he in the backline.

We will have a terrific mix for the backline next season with Grant,Penny,Croft all able to play on different type players.We have a plethora of runners to play as the rebounder and a guy like Hargy who can play on anyone(I think Rhode is a fan look for a big season).I hope the backline stays reasonably settled all year

Originally posted by stefoid

Sure. Wallet was always slow in reversing a bad plan. You could say he was 'backing his players', but when you have a huge mismatch in height or speed, it should be obvious that no amount of 'backing' is going to work. Maybe his ego wouldnt let him acknowledge his 'mm...mmm...mmmmistake'.

And yet, if he'd changed the plan, we probably wouldn't have beaten Essendon in 2000. At 3/4 time when we were slipping behind, the commentators were going "Change the plan, change the plan", but Wallace didn't, the players stuck to their guns and came back.

Originally posted by Curly5

And yet, if he'd changed the plan, we probably wouldn't have beaten Essendon in 2000. At 3/4 time when we were slipping behind, the commentators were going "Change the plan, change the plan", but Wallace didn't, the players stuck to their guns and came back.

Give him that game. Great tactic that week but the flood was dead the next week when we couldn't beat Hawthorn at the same ground and hasn't worked since.
Change the plan when you are getting into trouble.
Memorable and great victory in end but only 1 tactic and developing players is more important.
Given the choce of beating Essendon that year or finishing higher on the ladder cos you have great tall backman. I would take the second.

Our win over the dons in 00 was great from a stick it up the dons point of view, but it was just another home and away 4 pts. I hope we never ever play the flood again!

Chops
You really know how to spoil my day. I cannot erase this game from my memory. I thought it was a pretty ordinary coaching performance from Wallace but he followed up with another one in the first week of the finals in 1999 against the Coasters.

Curly I hear what you are saying however I would have preferred to win one of the Prelims from 97/98 instead of round 21,2000 because in the end that win enjoyable in the short term but earnt us a trip to the Gabba for one final.

Originally posted by SCRAY72

Chops
You really know how to spoil my day. I cannot erase this game from my memory. I thought it was a pretty ordinary coaching performance from Wallace but he followed up with another one in the first week of the finals in 1999 against the Coasters.

I don't blame Wallace for that game against the Coasters.

I BLAME GAVIN DORE!!!!

The only time I have been bitter about umpiring in my life.

That night was windy as hell and there was only about 15 goals kicked in total.

We got screwed four times.

Hudson and Grant had marks taken off them inside 20m, Wirripunda got one in the goalsquare that just wasn't there, but the beauty was the 15 metre penalty to Wirrapunda. He gets a free inside the centre square and as the umpires change positions, Dore sets Todd Curley on the mark inside 50. The kick clears Scott Wynd by a foot.

Am I still bitter, too friggin right I am. That loss gives Carlton a home final despite getting rolled by 12 goals and they go on to make the grannie, while we head off to Brisbane.

To rub salt into the wound the media raves on about how wonderful West Coast were. We dominated the game and had something like 60 more possessions than them.

Originally posted by SCRAY72

Chops
Don't worry scray72, I wrote this a couple of days ago. Which means I spoilt your day two days ago and you shoyuld be over it by now. Think about the swans final win.

Comments from Norwood

There was (and still is) a thread running on the Regional Leagues Board about Norwood in the SANFL. I rudely butted in and asked if any die-hard Norwood fans had any comments/memories about the Rohde-warrior. FYI here's what I got from Davo75:

As for Peter Rohde! As you requested Templeton!

When he arrived at Norwood he was able to drill in and implement a very simple yet effective game plan rather quickly!

I enjoyed the way we played under Rohdey it was honest, hard working without being mundane and boring!!!!!!

He always seemed at ease with himself and his players, but when he did actually hit the roof, he hit it hard and effectively as Aaron Keating found out at Glenelg one day!!!!!
The best thing about him was that he was approachable even from a supporters point of view......... you could always speak to him and he wasnt secretive about his ideas and didnt just give you one or two word answers to your queries (within reason).

He would know how hard a job he is taking on at Barkly St and he'll thrive on that challenge.......... Im not saying that hes going to perform miracles but believe that he will get every last drop out of the players at his disposal!!!!!!!!

Good Luck Mate......... I think you are going to need it but Peter Rohdes appointment is certainly a step in the right direction for your club!

New Coach