New Footy game

Well all I can say is, FOOTY FANATIC IS OUT

Mate, if this had happened 6 months ago i might not have started all this :)

I just downloaded it and was having a look. You know, the old version was the first AFL game of this sort that I'd played. It was sensational, and I spent hours playing it. Then I discovered TAR, which took it to a whole new level. Then I waited.......

Full credit to Matt, the game looks rich in features, and I have no doubt that I'll spend a few hours in the next couple of weeks playing it. I might even have to push my release date back a bit if I get too into it ;)

But Premiership Coach will still be going ahead. The style is the same, and Footy Fanatic is a fantastic freeware game, but with all due respect to Matt, what I'm aiming at here is on a much bigger scale and with more polish.

Yeah woulda thought so.

Matt has done a wonderful job, but i think yours might just be in a bit more detail. Plus im guessing yours might be a little easier on the eye as well :p

But yes, im stil waiting with baited breath with yours as well.

:D keep up the good work.

Just noting that whenever I am on Bigfooty this is the one thread I always make sure i check up on just to see if any progress has been made. It just makes me excited to know somebody is making the exact game i want.

Anybody else like that?

mate I'm exactly the same as the rest of you on this thread...always the first thread i go onto to have a look and see whats going on...cant freakin wait!!!

G'day,

It's been a while since I posted here, so I think it's time for an update.

Firstly, thanks again to everyone who has put forward comments and suggestions - both on this thread and through private messages. At some point in the next few months the website will start to take shape.
We'll have a forum for suggestions, and comments on game features so keep them coming!

In the mean time game development is going very well. Our team has expanded to include a talented Graphic Designer, and some impressive part-time artists who I'm convinced will have this game looking at good as anything you can pick up off the shelf. What I've seen so far is sensational, but before you ask - we wont be releasing any screenshots for quite a while. :p
We also have a number of folks on board, working on player ratings and other content creation. Once complete we'll have the broadest collection of existing stats and records in any AFL game, which will then be built on and updated as the game progresses.

The game engine as it exists right now is running across 4 leagues (AFL,SANFL,WAFL,VIC). That model is in place and working. The plan at this stage is for only the AFL clubs to be playable. Additionally, the other leagues are keeping a much smaller set of records and statistics, and wont have historical stats to build on top of (partly because of the scarce availability of those stats on the web and partly because of the time involved in collecting them).
I've always been in favour of having all of those leagues for a few reasons:

Scouting - watch the younger folks for a few seasons before the draft to pick up a smokie.

Reserves - See your clubs squad play real games against genuine opposition. They'll gather experience in those games, and improve like they would in AFL games (except slower)

Now - here's my question. From a game play perspective would it be more fun to remove those leagues and replace them with a National Reserves League, and a National Junior league (expended TAC) + under 18 championships?

I'm starting to think that it would!

- Improves game speed
- Your reserve players are playing more games against AFL grade players.

Let me know what you think.

Cheers,
Ad

Now - here's my question. From a game play perspective would it be more fun to remove those leagues and replace them with a National Reserves League, and a National Junior league (expended TAC) + under 18 championships?

- Improves game speed

Cheers,
Ad
That depends, there are a few players playing in the VFL this year who are likley to be picked up next year, and it would be great to have those sorts of players to pickup, discards and the like.

On the other hand it would also be great to have an Under 18 Championship league too.

I guess it would come down to the scouting, if the couting was good enough to pick up good young players anyway I would prefer the VFL,WAFL,SANFL to be in it, but if being able to have the U18 Championships would increase the probability of picking superstars instead of supposed superstars(who turn out to be duds) then definetly that.

G'day,

- Improves game speed

Cheers,
Ad

Gday mate,

Just my opinion but I would love to see the state leagues stay realistic as I want the realism of all the leagues.

Either way mate I will be buying this game when it comes out!

Personally I'd love to see it as real as possible, so the VFL, WAFL, SANFL imo would be preferred, but as the previous poster stated I will be buying it anyway.

Question, what will you be doing for ressies for Sydney and Brisbane?

Personally I'd love to see it as real as possible, so the VFL, WAFL, SANFL imo would be preferred, but as the previous poster stated I will be buying it anyway.

Question, what will you be doing for ressies for Sydney and Brisbane?

Probably chuck them in the VFL to make things easier. I'd recommend that happening in real life too.

I'd prefer to bring back the reserves and have an eastern Aus 2nds comp. SANFL and WAFL should stay as they are. We could also incorperate a Tasmanian team if they were strong enough. You'd lose the experience of some of the older VFL players but gain the ability to blood players without VFL players getting in the way of their development.

Anyway, getting off track here.

I'd prefer to bring back the reserves and have an eastern Aus 2nds comp. SANFL and WAFL should stay as they are. We could also incorperate a Tasmanian team if they were strong enough. You'd lose the experience of some of the older VFL players but gain the ability to blood players without VFL players getting in the way of their development.

Anyway, getting off track here.
That's a great idea! AFL standard players from Sydney and BL ressies will be playing against the Melbourne based ressies so it's a win-win for all teams.

I'm not sure about how it works in Brisbane but I have noticed Sydney regularly dish out thrashings in their ressies, has it been a couple of years since they lost? It certainly doesn't help their younger lads develop.
They had to move to the Canberra League where they still thrash teams but by not as much as they did in the Sydney FL.

I don't know if this has been mentioned but maybe have a hidden stat in the player about how much potential he has and when he stops developing. For example: When player A gets drafted, while his stats are worse than player B's, he would end up better than Player B because he has better potential. And if someone has a serious injury maybe they won't devlop into their full potential or something/ Their stats go down.

Good call mate, and you're spot on.
This mechanism is built into the game engine already. Actually there are about a dozen hidden stats, with a few of those directly related to potential.
Your recruiting department and your own observation will give some insight into these.
Certain types of injuries will affect a players attributes - eg. Agility after a knee reconstruction.

being a massive central supporter i would love nothing more than to be able to play as my no.1 SANFL team!

when you mean these leagues will be limited. what does this mean?

will there still be the SANFL mini-draft and off-season recruiting and prefrence to the zone recruiting etc etc. and maybe afl players finish their careers with central eg mcadam and the rat and oloughlin. this would be a sensational feature!@$%

also for example lets say paul thomas gets drafted by essendon and is only there for a yr, would it be possible for him to return to central automatically rather than having to try and recruit him?

would loyalty be a stat in the game? eg pav getting a more lucrative deal interstate or staying with the dockers? this would be a sensation feature.

Good call mate, and you're spot on.
This mechanism is built into the game engine already. Actually there are about a dozen hidden stats, with a few of those directly related to potential.
Your recruiting department and your own observation will give some insight into these.
Certain types of injuries will affect a players attributes - eg. Agility after a knee reconstruction.

This is all well and good but this was in Footy Fanatic and basically ruined hundreds of players careers because they all lost heaps of potential. You need to have it different because some players actually come back better from injuries.

Fair point, but by "some players actually come back better from injuries" I hope you're meaning that they end up better players than they were before the injury - not that they are better as a result of being injured.

As with all things throughout the game we're aiming to follow pretty closely to reality. There are a range of attributes in the game that will determine how players are affected by injuries. There are also different catagories of injury - soft tissue & collision.

Tendancy to get soft tissue injuries is specific to the player. Let's face it, some players are just less durable than others.
Collision injuries obviously come down to chance much more.
Some types of injuries will affect certain attributes.
Other types of injuries will have a likleyhood of recurrance.

Overall though the negative effects wont generally be devastating, (although in some cases they might be) but the game needs to recognise the effect that injuries have on a players ability.

being a massive central supporter i would love nothing more than to be able to play as my no.1 SANFL team!
when you mean these leagues will be limited. what does this mean?

Sorry mate - I have some bad news for you on this one. The doggies will be there, but only the AFL clubs will be playable in this version. Other leagues will play fully simulated games, and keep stats within the game, but they wont have a financial model associated with them or have historic/real stats included.
I'd love to have these in future versions, and plan to. Unfortunately the time to develop this functionality, as well as collecting all of the data needed, rating players etc is prohititive in this version.

will there still be the SANFL mini-draft and off-season recruiting and prefrence to the zone recruiting etc etc. and maybe afl players finish their careers with central eg mcadam and the rat and oloughlin. this would be a sensational feature!@$%

also for example lets say paul thomas gets drafted by essendon and is only there for a yr, would it be possible for him to return to central automatically rather than having to try and recruit him?
The mini draft will be there.
The game will also track where players were drafted from and when they retire they may well choose to go back and finish off with a couple of seasons back at their own club. From your example, yeah if Essendon let him go and he wasnt picked up by an AFL club, he'll end up back with the doggies.

would loyalty be a stat in the game? eg pav getting a more lucrative deal interstate or staying with the dockers? this would be a sensation feature.

Yep, loyalty is a stat in the game, as is a players go home tendancy.

New Footy game