News New Jumpers for 2024

Hostplus now sublimated on the Freo jumpers on the neckline. Looks like two colours in the logo so seems like the rules of it being a single colour is being relaxed?

IMG_1466.jpeg IMG_1467.jpeg

At least it's unique, there's already heaps of local clubs that wear teal in a Port-style jumper.
I have to say I was a bit disappointed that the new club didn't look at having a unique identity, there is already a club in the area that uses the Port Adelaide template, though they are in a different league.

I don't know if it's easier or cheaper to use an AFL clubs design and colours as a template ot if it's league mandated, but it was the better of the two options they had to choose from, there are even more clubs that wear Geelong hoops

I have to say I was a bit disappointed that the new club didn't look at having a unique identity, there is already a club in the area that uses the Port Adelaide template, though they are in a different league.

I don't know if it's easier or cheaper to use an AFL clubs design and colours as a template ot if it's league mandated, but it was the better of the two options they had to choose from, there are even more clubs that wear Geelong hoops
Using an already existing design (whether identical or similar) is more cost effective than a unique one, unfortunately.

North Clare Roosters (Mid North of SA near me) changed from Red & Gold stripes to Crows jumpers for this very reason (they have since switched back)

I’m guessing they were planning on going dual Fujitsu (but obviously whatever that other sub-brand was) at the time of printing and then this Dutton brand came on board after retails were printed. These sorts of things probably happen because I imagine they have to finalise the retails really early given how many they need to print. Port had something similar happen in 2020 where you couldn’t get MG on the retails because they came on late. So late in fact that our Round 1 jumpers had a horizontal MG patch ironed over the GFG logo. The season shutdown gave them time to sort out proper MG branded jumpers but Round 1 looked like this.
View attachment 1854382
I’m not sure if the Indigenous jumpers were sold with two GFG logos but the ISC mock-up has two as opposed to the real thing which had MG.
View attachment 1854383View attachment 1854384
In short: don’t expect to see Dutton logos on any retails if they’re already being sold with that other logo instead.
In terms of aesthetics the eventual MG logo on the Port Jumpers is probably up there with one of my all time favourite combos.

Teal, black, white, and red absolutely rock.

I traced the jumper shown above and pasted it over the top of the 2023 jumpers.
The yoke lined up almost exactly the same.
However, I would suggest the AFL and Zurich logos are now slightly higher.
This means the yokes crosses under the A in AFL, where last year it crossed under the F.
This allows space for the monogram under the Zurich logo and gives the appearance of it being narrower.
Watching Spy Kids GIF

This is what FJGD is all about

A quick mockup but just goes to show how minor changes can carry the presentation a long way
View attachment 1858644View attachment 1858645
We can't be the only ones having these ideas?

Probs should of made the small logo ‘G’ white too
It's little things like this where the lack of attention to detail clubs show on a consistent basis when greenlighting their new kits that they really don't gaf. Classic local footy club "she'll be right" approach to their brand, which when you have no long-drawn rich history in league footy to fall back on, is really all you have to market yourself by.

In terms of aesthetics the eventual MG logo on the Port Jumpers is probably up there with one of my all time favourite combos.

Teal, black, white, and red absolutely rock.
Big agree from me. There’s something about those sponsor combos, with MG as well as Scott’s and Vodafone that just looks right, and even if Port and MG haven’t been around for something as good as a flag, the octagonal box not being too intrusive makes it look really nice. Hell, even on our Maggies jumpers it looks nice, this was one I picked up and it just works so nicely as a sponsor, and I’m sure you’d agree red white and black is a nice colour combo.
IMG_0207.jpeg
Even our yellow sponsors have looked good for the same reason, mainly Renault but the others like Bianco, Futuro and End Hunger were nice. Couldn’t help but feel the black and white Renault logo just didn’t look right in comparison (at least for the front, the back was beautiful without the yellow).
IMG_0209.jpeg