News New Suns logo leaked

Well it's very Gold Coast - makes me think of something you might see on an old surf t-shirt or out the front of a motel that was built in 1986. It's also giving me Qintex vibes which is funny given the link between Christopher Skase and Carrara. And of course Super League and Oakley. It will take some getting used to but I actually don't hate it. I'd hope the guernseys aren't just what they've got now with that slapped on the front though.

IMG_4198.jpeg

I’ll reserve my judgement until the full kit is released and branding rolled-out and applied to their promotional material.

The leak is of a Kmart style range of merch, the lighting and colours aren’t probably that accurate from the studio shots. Remember the rest of the AFL clubs cheaper merch isn’t always necessarily accurate either to the on field guernseys.

I still think it’s an improvement and looks like they’re ditching the blue which I’m excited about.

I'd ditch the whole brand & start again. Most AFL/VFL teams went through a few nicknames before settling on current ones. It's not like there has been any success associated with Suns nickname.

I don't hate this, I was not expecting much at all. Maybe its a little corporate/enrgy company looking but i will wait to see the way its used overall

If they use this logo, they cannot just plonk it on the guernsey.

The first time they went with a traditional look to be like carlton, it didn't work.

Give it time, I reckon this new logo will grow on people. Yeah it could be a bank or a software company or whatever but once it’s been a footy club logo for a few years then that’s what people will recognise it as. If that Green Bay logo was released today it would have similar things being said about it and be given heaps of sh1t for being basic AF.
I think it can be a good logo but just needs some work done. Thicker/bolder would be a start.

Yeah the bottom half could maybe have a line or two removed. It’s tricky though because they’re trying to represent a reflection of the sun on the water and if you remove too much you’ll lose that effect. I’m sure someone with skills could sharpen it up but overall I think they’ve done a pretty good job as it is.

A lot of undeserved hate here.
It's not amazing or stands out. But its a massive improvement on their current logo, and I am beyond happy that they appear to be dropping white and blue, and going for a two colour approach. This kind of re-branding mirrors freo dropping the red and green, and their identity is so much stronger because of it. Four colours are too many; freo and the suns tired and failed, and Port have never really embraced their silver.

The logo itself is meh. I mean, I get it. Its the setting sun over the ocean, with a big S for suns and in the shape of a football. There's a lot of symbology in such a simple design. But its not particularly aesthetic or memorable. I think this would look so much better inverted though, with a gold sun and red sky. The retro look is a bit confusing, I am wondering if that was deliberate or it just happened with the lines making the water and S. Unless they are trying to hark back to the early Bears days at Cararra, and I don't know why they would, then they have no business invoking the '80s.

A lot of undeserved hate here.
It's not amazing or stands out. But its a massive improvement on their current logo, and I am beyond happy that they appear to be dropping white and blue, and going for a two colour approach. This kind of re-branding mirrors freo dropping the red and green, and their identity is so much stronger because of it. Four colours are too many; freo and the suns tired and failed, and Port have never really embraced their silver.

The logo itself is meh. I mean, I get it. Its the setting sun over the ocean, with a big S for suns and in the shape of a football. There's a lot of symbology in such a simple design. But its not particularly aesthetic or memorable. I think this would look so much better inverted though, with a gold sun and red sky. The retro look is a bit confusing, I am wondering if that was deliberate or it just happened with the lines making the water and S. Unless they are trying to hark back to the early Bears days at Cararra, and I don't know why they would, then they have no business invoking the '80s.
Whilst blue doesn't appear in the logo, it is my understanding that blue has not been dropped and will appear in either the away or clash kit.

News New Suns logo leaked