Newman axed amongst other list changes

Possibly wasn't happy about being only on the rookie list. It's bit like wearing the green vest, not where you really want to be.
Yeh true, could have told them where to go when they said they were only going to keep him on there. He was a fair chance to get back on the main list at some point this year though, more of a chance than he will have playing for Swan Districts anyway.

To cut it in the AFL you have to play games. To play games you have to be on the main list.
He probally looked at Duggan, Sheed, Jetta, Redden, Nelson, Cole, Snadden and saw the writing on the wall.
In his words, try again next year.

To cut it in the AFL you have to play games. To play games you have to be on the main list.
He probally looked at Duggan, Sheed, Jetta, Redden, Nelson, Cole, Snadden and saw the writing on the wall.
In his words, try again next year.
Did he quit after the draft?

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Did he quit after the draft?

Think he declined a one year contract and a spot on tne rookie list. Not sure when.
Stated that he needed a break and wasn't interested in putting his hand up as an Essendon top up player.
Shame really. He's got the abilty.

Think he declined a one year contract and a spot on tne rookie list. Not sure when.
Stated that he needed a break and wasn't interested in putting his hand up as an Essendon top up player.
Shame really. He's got the abilty.
I don't think he added much to the list , if he had taken the contract it would probably have been his last one

There's quite a few flogs in here. How dare a player that's mentally drained take a step back for his own wellbeing. You know what the easy decision would have been? Participate half heartedly and collect the pay cheque.
Yes, being a rookie listed AFL player must be so mentally taxing....
Based on his past history (losing to Worsfold in the time trial etc) I find it far more likely that he didn't want to put in the physical work needed to maintain his body to an AFL standard if he didn't think he was going to get a game.

You don't think the fact he came out of prison very fit and had out on significant muscle shows that he's willing to do the work? People change and mature. He's had to do a lot of that recently. You're being a dick. You know nothing of the pressures he's felt over recent years.

would having a criminal record and time in the lock up be taxing. looser.

Which has what to do with football? It's not like he's not playing anymore, he's gone from having a guaranteed living to playing for next to nothing and likely having to get another job on top in order to make a living. Might be just be but I think that would probably be a bit more mentally fatiguing than what he was doing.

Did you even read the article? He's playing at Swans and working for V Swans as a mentor

EDIT: the PerthNow article doesn't state this, another article on him does

You don't think the fact he came out of prison very fit and had out on significant muscle shows that he's willing to do the work? People change and mature. He's had to do a lot of that recently. You're being a dick. You know nothing of the pressures he's felt over recent years.
How am I being a dick? I just find it more likely that he doesn't want to put the work in than he left because it's too mentally taxing to play football.

I'm prepared to take the article on face value. It actually makes more sense, to me, than the Eagles cutting him just as he was potentially going to offer them something.

I reckon he's taken stock of his life and didn't like what he found. As Underdog says, he could easily have taken the paycheque and gone about it half-heartedly, as millions of people do in all walks of life every day.

I'm prepared to take the article on face value. It actually makes more sense, to me, than the Eagles cutting him just as he was potentially going to offer them something.
I was baffled we delisted him given I thought he showed a fair bit in his limited opportunities this year and we had stuck by him for so long. As you said, this make much more sense.

Should have been axed years ago, has never shown much in the wafl - his biggest highlight being leaving a game at half time! A lot of superior players in the wafl that have never even been drafted compared to this slow, small, average skilled softie.
Was only ever shown loyalty from the Eagles as a "loyalty give a bloke a second chance " publicity stunt.

Wonder if essendon would give him a go ?
Was never a chance to go to Essendon. Part of their top up rules are they can only pick up one player per team and Essendon contacted Crowley from Swans very early.

The reason he was delisted has something to do with why he was a late out for East Perth in the preliminary final last year. Cards were marked after that game.

Menatlly soft or not. Taxing being in jail or not.
He put himself there. He decided to reject a contract with a club that did everything for him in his time of need.
But still wants to play AFL?

Obviously he's in a bad space. Hope it all works out for him but just like Murray has made a decision, we on this forum are allowed to have an opinion.
Everyone just needs to chill. In six months time we wont be talking about past players that could've been.
Bye bye Newman and all the best mate.

We should have parted company with Newman after he was sent to gaol. That they have now delisted him makes me think he was kept on purely to demonstrate to the players that the club shows a duty of care and now that they can be rid of him in a normal scenario they've taken that option.

I'm right against the club keeping or recruiting "bad boys". If they stuff up an AFL club has no responsibility to keep them, if they want a second chance there's plenty of opportunities to do that, a la Andrew Krakouer, and if they prove they've wised up (and are playing good enough footy) they'll get redrafted. If that means we dispose of a loose cannon who later turns things around and plays good footy for someone else, so be it.

Newman axed amongst other list changes