Beams (11 disposals)
Anthony (3disposals)
Mccarthy (9 disposals)
Obree (12 disposals)
Lockyer (9 disposals)
Medhurst (10 disposals)
Fraser (13 disoposals)
Pendels (4 disposals* injured)

Now having a look at the number of players that had so little disposals, its no wonder we only had 34 inside 50 enteries. Now alot of credit has to go to the saints, but the fact the only kicked 12 goals & we only lost by 28 points, is a huge positive considering how much our midfield got smashed!

We also lost pendels in the first minute, so that is always going to hurt us.

How major concern is that although we had so many players down on form, we have many players that go missing when it counts.

*Thomas not sure if is caring an injury, but he has taken 2 steps backwards this years

*Obree has been servicable but he wont improve and has gone missing in so many big games. His disposal is a major concern. He wont be dropped, but we will need to replaced next year if we are to win a flag. Cant see him in our premiership side.

*Rocca well he has been a great servant, but his time has come to an end. All the best Anth!

*Didak & Davis really need to stand up in a big final on the big stage. They have next week to make that happen, but they have been shown not to be A graders because they tend to go missing in big games.

*Fraser is a huge worry. His body is stuffed & simply gets beaten by bigger bodied ruckmen in finals. He needs to be played up forward with small stints in the ruck. wood has to be our number 1 ruckman moving forward & we also need to find another big bodied ruckman next year. (David Hale maybe??)

*McCarthy will be a great player, but has had no preseason & is not match fit. Get him ready for next year.

*Medhurst & Anthony are well down on form! I have no idea whats a matter with Medhurst, but how he responds next week will tell us alot about the man.

anthony needs to just get his confidence back & I am sure he can... he needs to get more than 3 disposals though on his bad days. maybe a switch down back on bad days may do the trick.

*Cloke wasnt too bad, but his kicking is a big issue. We just have to persist with him & if he leads up to the wings & creates an option, then he is doing a job.

My team would be as follows:

Obrein Presti Goldsack

Shaw Brown Maxwell

Wellingham Didak Thomas

Lockyer Cloke Medhurst

Anthony Fraser Dick

Foll: Wood Swan Davis

Inter: Beams Toovey Obree Johnson

Out: Rocca Pendels Sidebottom McCarthy

In: Wellingham Wood Dick Goldsack

I would like to have Dawes in the side, but that would be at the expense 0f a midfielder or Anthony.

However if the decided to drop L Brown for Dawes to play up forward then I would be happy with that.

I also think if we play well we'll win however if we play like we did yesterday and against the Bulldogs we won't beat an egg.

It seems the most positive thing about yesterday is that we wer so bad we can't repeat our performance and guys will bounce back. I hope so, I really do.

We have to find a balance between stopping fast running teams while also kicking goals ourselves - one way would be to actually kick goals instaed of points from set shots.

Our destiny is in our hands - that can be either a positive or negative. Our best can probably beat all teams so we'll need to pull our finger out and be our best for three more weeks - c'mon boys!

I'd strongly dispute Thomas being down on form. Attacked the ball superbly whenever it was his turn, and took his chances at goal. Influenced the game more than he does in plenty of 18/19 touch games. Was happy with him. I'd dispute you saying that he has taken two steps backwards even more strongly. He has taken steps forward imo. Thomas has developed plenty of new attributes to his game (defensive ones, mainly) that'll make him a better player in the long run. Thomas doesn't really go missing when it counts either, he just goes missing at random points in the game, important or not. He has popped up when it matters plenty of times, he has popped up when it doesn't matter. He has gone missing when it matters and when it doesn't matter. I don't see how people can say otherwise on that particular issue.....

I'd also question McCarthy being down on form. He's a good prospect for us, but I know I certainly wasn't expecting much more from him than some tough work from him about 10 touches. Was hoping he might chip in with a goal, but I'd say he was about par.

Fraser is my biggest worry. Has been pitiful lately, and doesn't seem to be building towards a good performance either. I personally think his career is closer to the end than most people think. 2011 will be his final year imo.

Just a little observation of mine. It seems the top sides have lost form after playing Sydney.

I'm staggered by the media reaction and many supporters to the loss. Collingwood played one of their worst games for the year. St Kilda were very good. However for a team to have about 160 more disposals and play well and yet only win by 4 1/2 goals tells me that St Kilda have some issues! The fact that we were so poor and yet were still in the game in the last quarter highlights this.

It proved that both sides have a very good defensive unit and whilst criticism is being thrown at Presti, there is not a fullback anywhere who could stop a forward leading 2 metres ahead and getting the ball smack into his hands (memories of Price & McKenna!!). St Kilda held possession until Riewoldt had a clear lead and then got the ball into him. Why we can't do this with Anthony, I'm not sure.

That said I think the decision to go into the game with only 1 ruckman was a mistake and I was surprised to see Fraser listed as one of the best in the Herald Sun. I though he was well below par in both his ruck work and his positioning around the ground which is normally his strength.

I think the Rocca selection was of little consequence. He kicked a couple but had little influence. Losing Pendles hurt but we need to be able to cover this. The fact that all of our prime movers were down is I think a one-off.

I can see a few changes for next week. I think Wellingham will come in for Pendles. Wood must come back and I think Dick would be a chance.

One thing for sure is that at most there will be 4 changes. 2 of these (Pendles and Rocca will be forced) but don't expect wholesale bloodletting.

Out: Pendles, Rocca, McCarthy,
In: Wood, Wellingham, Dick,

I'm staggered by the media reaction and many supporters to the loss. Collingwood played one of their worst games for the year. St Kilda were very good. However for a team to have about 160 more disposals and play well and yet only win by 4 1/2 goals tells me that St Kilda have some issues! The fact that we were so poor and yet were still in the game in the last quarter highlights this.

It proved that both sides have a very good defensive unit and whilst criticism is being thrown at Presti, there is not a fullback anywhere who could stop a forward leading 2 metres ahead and getting the ball smack into his hands (memories of Price & McKenna!!). St Kilda held possession until Riewoldt had a clear lead and then got the ball into him. Why we can't do this with Anthony, I'm not sure.

That said I think the decision to go into the game with only 1 ruckman was a mistake and I was surprised to see Fraser listed as one of the best in the Herald Sun. I though he was well below par in both his ruck work and his positioning around the ground which is normally his strength.

I think the Rocca selection was of little consequence. He kicked a couple but had little influence. Losing Pendles hurt but we need to be able to cover this. The fact that all of our prime movers were down is I think a one-off.

I can see a few changes for next week. I think Wellingham will come in for Pendles. Wood must come back and I think Dick would be a chance.

One thing for sure is that at most there will be 4 changes. 2 of these (Pendles and Rocca will be forced) but don't expect wholesale bloodletting.

Out: Pendles, Rocca, McCarthy,
In: Wood, Wellingham, Dick,

I know we had the double chance but I think anytime you lose a final is bad - we may have had 160 possies less and played badly and lost by 4 1/2 goals but we still lost.

I wouldn't be concerned at all if I was St Kilda, they have 2 weeks to ironed out any problems. We've got to right the ship in 6 days after two of our worst performances of the year.

Bottom line is whether we play well or not, if we don't beat the Crows we're done and I for one will be disappointed.

Sidebottom did enough to keep his position and the more finals games we can get into him the better

Totally agree im high on Sidebottom after Sunday he was great in his first final.
Also id rather play him and McCarthy over Wellingham im not a fan of his.

I've noticed that everytime Dawes plays Cloke plays well maybe we should bring Dawes in for Jack (has been hopeless lately),Wellingham for Pendles,Dick for Rocca and Wood for either O'Bree or McCarthy depending if they wanna go for youth or experience.

The 160 more disposals is in large part due to their patient possession game while we flooded. Face it, we had so many players down because the Saints applied superb pressure. Against lesser teams we've applied that same pressure and they've looked worse than they would on a "good" day. Don't get carried away with "only" a 28 point loss. It was comprehensive.

The positives are that, in patches, when we took the game on, we were able to make the Saints look pressured. Anyone saying Daisy had a bad game is missing the point. He had few touches but took the game on, and tried to cut through the saints zone where so many others didn't. If more players take their chances, we're a show to beat anyone.

Personally I think we played so poorly because we went in with a defensive mindset.
The side was keyed up to negate their key running players and neglected to play the games on our terms.

Realistically a 28 point loss was a bloody good result given we let the Saints play to their strenghs while minimising our own.

I would have been hailed as a brilliant tactc if it worked...but no cigar.

Pendles going down upset the rotations but not so much as to be the reason for the loss.

Our blokes were caught behind in nearly every contest because they were playing reactively...not our style...we have the play makers and should have had them set loose.

We had none of the ball because they played terrible football. Once they got their lead they chipped it around time and time again, didn't take risks and that made it hard for us to apply our pressure. This is why it was not high scoring. They were happy with their 3 goal lead and their game plan was to just make sure we had as little possession as possible. Well coached.
Once we get the ball, Didak Swan Leon and Pendles get the ball. When these guys all get 30 odd touches we won't lose a game. They are so valuable and vital in our setup going forward..

The big positive is we played shit and only lost by 28 points.
In fairness the saints should of won by 10 goals.

But we cant play any worse than that. Didak and Davis looked scared and hardly got the thing. Anthony kicked the ball 3 times for a goal and apart from the last 5 minutes McCarthy hardly touched it either. The positive is we can only go up from that performance.

Another Positive is that I thought the backline were terrific. The saints went inside 50 about 60 times for 12 goals. It shows that our backline stepped up and Shaw and Maxwell were our best by far.

For this week:

IN: Dick, Wellingham, Wood, N.Brown
OUT: Rocca, Pendlebury, L.Brown, McCarthy

Malthouse may bring in Dawes, Goldsack, Stanley or Clarke at the expense of Anthony, Johnson and Sidebottom

Looking forward to the Crows. Go Pies:thumbsu:

We had many players way down on form on sunday:
Didak (13 disposals)
Davis (17 diposals)
Thomas (12 disposals)
Swan (24 disposals)
Beams (11 disposals)
Anthony (3disposals)
Mccarthy (9 disposals)
Obree (12 disposals)
Lockyer (9 disposals)
Medhurst (10 disposals)
Fraser (13 disoposals)
Pendels (4 disposals* injured)

Now having a look at the number of players that had so little disposals, its no wonder we only had 34 inside 50 enteries. Now alot of credit has to go to the saints, but the fact the only kicked 12 goals & we only lost by 28 points, is a huge positive considering how much our midfield got smashed!

We also lost pendels in the first minute, so that is always going to hurt us.

How major concern is that although we had so many players down on form, we have many players that go missing when it counts.

*Thomas not sure if is caring an injury, but he has taken 2 steps backwards this years

*Obree has been servicable but he wont improve and has gone missing in so many big games. His disposal is a major concern. He wont be dropped, but we will need to replaced next year if we are to win a flag. Cant see him in our premiership side.

*Rocca well he has been a great servant, but his time has come to an end. All the best Anth!

*Didak & Davis really need to stand up in a big final on the big stage. They have next week to make that happen, but they have been shown not to be A graders because they tend to go missing in big games.

*Fraser is a huge worry. His body is stuffed & simply gets beaten by bigger bodied ruckmen in finals. He needs to be played up forward with small stints in the ruck. wood has to be our number 1 ruckman moving forward & we also need to find another big bodied ruckman next year. (David Hale maybe??)

*McCarthy will be a great player, but has had no preseason & is not match fit. Get him ready for next year.

*Medhurst & Anthony are well down on form! I have no idea whats a matter with Medhurst, but how he responds next week will tell us alot about the man.

anthony needs to just get his confidence back & I am sure he can... he needs to get more than 3 disposals though on his bad days. maybe a switch down back on bad days may do the trick.

*Cloke wasnt too bad, but his kicking is a big issue. We just have to persist with him & if he leads up to the wings & creates an option, then he is doing a job.

My team would be as follows:

Obrein Presti Goldsack

Shaw Brown Maxwell

Wellingham Didak Thomas

Lockyer Cloke Medhurst

Anthony Fraser Dick

Foll: Wood Swan Davis

Inter: Beams Toovey Obree Johnson

Out: Rocca Pendels Sidebottom McCarthy

In: Wellingham Wood Dick Goldsack

I would like to have Dawes in the side, but that would be at the expense 0f a midfielder or Anthony.

However if the decided to drop L Brown for Dawes to play up forward then I would be happy with that.

Good report,but you can possibly drop fraser out this week i reckon,he injured himself last week.His knee cap blew up again depends on how he recovers.i reckon likely to miss.
Also i reckon some one has to make way for Marty Clarke to come in.
We need bigger bodies against the crows.Skinny players will be pushed aside.

I also reckon we need 3 talls in the forwrd line so Dawes must come in.He can also ruck a little
Rotating rucks doesn't work up forward.
If Malthouse had brains he would be playing 2 rucks in the side with some tall timber up forward,especially if we win and get to play geelong.
Good thing is Wood played very well aginst the crows a few weeks ago.

Good report,but you can possibly drop fraser out this week i reckon,he injured himself last week.His knee cap blew up again depends on how he recovers.i reckon likely to miss.
Also i reckon some one has to make way for Marty Clarke to come in.
We need bigger bodies against the crows.Skinny players will be pushed aside.

I also reckon we need 3 talls in the forwrd line so Dawes must come in.He can also ruck a little
Rotating rucks doesn't work up forward.
If Malthouse had brains he would be playing 2 rucks in the side with some tall timber up forward,especially if we win and get to play geelong.
Good thing is Wood played very well aginst the crows a few weeks ago.

Could not agree more except Wood can have impact up forward.

We must back Wood - has played well in the ruck, gotta stick with him now. Fraser is no Dean Cox, if he is fit then can roam around forward line.

Only room for one or two young inexperienced players. Heaps don't win finals regularly. Don's 93 exception but they had Wallis and a few other clowns to stand up for there kids. We don't have that. That's why M Clarke should come back, even before Wellingham who I rate. Sidebottom will be great but don't think he is ready now. Anthony and Medhurst - both horribly out of touch - do we make the call on one of them? I would but understand if they didn't.

If we play defensively and allow their half back line (i.e McLeod) to run riot just like St Kildas on the weekend then we are done for. If we pressure them and play smartly into our forward line we will win.

B: Shaw Presti Maxwell
HB: OBrien LBrown Toovey
C: Thomas Didak Johnson
HF: Medhurst Cloke Davis
F: Dick Dawes Anthony
Foll: Fraser Swan OBree
Int: Wood Sidebottom Beams Lockyer

In: Dick Dawes Wood

Out: McCarthy Rocca Pendlebury

saw the 2's last week. dick is on fire, wood dominated the ruck, dawes looked in good touch up forward

no need for wholesale changes - FFS we lost by under 5 goals to a team that was 20-2 for the season with all of our prime movers subdued and after in fact leading by 15 half way thru the 2nd 1/4. and having lost our no. 1 clearance man in the 1st 80 secs. despite the massive possession discrepancy they were struggling to score as well and it was only the brilliance of n riewoldt that hauled them over the line. hardly panic stations for the pies i wouldn't have thought?

i am just happy that the bookies have put us up at 2.00 and even greater at some agencies. means i will be drinking, eating and attending the footy for free this weekend because we are morals to progress to the prelim

Next weeks team & positives review