The Law Nicola Gobbo named - Massive corruption by Victoria Police that will see major criminals released from jail

Would you prefer to get rid of the police force altogether then?

No, they are needed.

If we had sensible drug laws, 99 per cent of these problems would go away.

Actually, they don't, which is why the prison population is rising.

I'm not going to answer your second question, as I don't think you and I agree on what "adequate sentencing" is.

Okay, then, then you must disagree with the letters to the editor in papers, in which people cry about inadequate sentencing, or how people are let out on parole, only to offend again.

No, in your deluded mind, everyone in prison gets 30 years or more, and capital punishment happens.

I remember as a child, hearing on the news that someone who killed someone else got 20 years minimum, and if they killed more than once, they got life imprisonment. Now, people get 5-7 years, once time served and good behaviour is factored in.

Obviously you have been untouched by crime, and therefore lack empathy for anyone who has been. You live in your own sheltered existence where nothing illegal has ever happened to you, but you are a poor little victim of police pulling you over for speeding or something like that.

Or maybe you are a judge or related to a judge, so of course you would defend their weak sentencing.

A myriad of them?
Name some that investigate criminal offences that corrupt cops commit?
You didn't say 'corrupt cops', you just said criminal investigations.

ACCC, AUSTRAC, ACMA, APRA, etc.
Investigation skills are transferable.

Note I said a mix of personal, not excluding police altogether.

No, they are needed.

If we had sensible drug laws, 99 per cent of these problems would go away.

Sensible drug laws are the responsibility of government legislation.

Police can only enforce what already exists in law, so if you don't like the law, the police aren't the ones to blame for it.

Sensible drug laws are the responsibility of government legislation.

Police can only enforce what already exists in law, so if you don't like the law, the police aren't the ones to blame for it.
Yes, police should enforce the law. They should not be above it. That is the point of this entire thread.

You didn't say 'corrupt cops', you just said criminal investigations.

ACCC, AUSTRAC, ACMA, APRA, etc.
Investigation skills are transferable.

Note I said a mix of personal, not excluding police altogether.

Who and what do IBAC investigate?
Cops and corrupt government officials. This thread relates to cops so we’re talking about cops committing crimes.

ACCC, AUSTRAC and APRA investigators. Seriously bro they wouldn’t have the first clue on investigating a couple of corrupt cops importing meth from Asia with a bunch of bikies.

These civilian investigator would have to work alongside proper cops for a decade before they gained half the skill required to run these types of investigations.

So unfortunately it will continue to be cops investigating cops with the civilians helping out and maybe conducting some analysis or admin along the way.

BTW - what skills do these investigators have that are transferable to becoming IBAC investigators?

Who and what do IBAC investigate?
Cops and corrupt government officials. This thread relates to cops so we’re talking about cops committing crimes.

ACCC, AUSTRAC and APRA investigators. Seriously bro they wouldn’t have the first clue on investigating a couple of corrupt cops importing meth from Asia with a bunch of bikies.

These civilian investigator would have to work alongside proper cops for a decade before they gained half the skill required to run these types of investigations.

So unfortunately it will continue to be cops investigating cops with the civilians helping out and maybe conducting some analysis or admin along the way.

BTW - what skills do these investigators have that are transferable to becoming IBAC investigators?
We'll have to agree to disagree - elementise an offence, gather evidence, prepare a brief of evidence etc are all things cops/IBAC do as well.

You live in airy fairy land and have NFI.

You’re essentially saying police should stop investigating police and all investigators with a policing background should be removed from organisations such as IBAC and replaced with investigators from government departments such as ACCC, AUSTRAC, APRA.

Yeah lets get accountants to investigate corrupt cops.

LOL

You’re essentially saying police should stop investigating police and all investigators with a policing background should be removed from organisations such as IBAC and replaced with investigators from government departments such as ACCC, AUSTRAC, APRA.

LOL
Well it's better then letting corrupt cops investigate corrupt cops, which is the current system.

I look forward to seeing how the overhaul of the system pans out. Maybe you’ll be right.

An elite squad of government investigators from the ACCC, APRA maybe Centrelink and Medicare all pooled together cleaning up police corruption in Australia

Yes, police should enforce the law. They should not be above it. That is the point of this entire thread.

So you are happy with criminals "getting away" with their crimes, which they would have if Gobbo hadn't done what she did.

So you want all defence lawyers to actually support the evils that their clients commit, and to be as corrupt and morally repugnant as the people they represent.

If police were able to carry out their jobs with Police Integrity, the media, the public and the judiciary hamstringing them every five minutes, then they wouldn't have to resort to these tactics. More support would have meant that they would have more avenues to go down to get convictions rather than resort to this.

Serkan Ozturk on twitter trying to get Nicola shot like she shot the Hodgsons

He should be banned from reporting it.

Where do journos get off reporting these things, and making Gobbo a target for a hit?

I suppose if Gobbo is shot dead by someone she snitched on, they only wouldn't care, but would print it on the front page. I mean, the story matters most. Stuff it if it costs someone their life.

If Nicola Gobbo is murdered by the underworld, then her blood will be on the media's hands, for naming her and reporting her movements.

Also, they should lay off the police. They do their best to try to clean up this city. The media should support them and make them heroes, instead of condemning every movement they make.

Journalists, the most unaccountable profession there is, are the first to hold the police, who are doing more to stem crime than the media ever will, to account. But they only ever tell us the bad things police do, not any of the good things, because that sells, and they want people to lose faith in the police, so that they can direct and guide them instead.

The media brings comfort to criminals, knowing that someone is speaking for them against the police.

Riddle me this:- Why is there more coverage of police handcuffing a person forcibly, and more condemnation of it, then when a policeman gets bashed? Where was the condemnation and public outcry towards those who bashed the cop?

Many would have seen the Walsh st police shootings as a tragedy. Journos saw it as headline news. That just shows the rock that journalists crawl out of.

Where do journos get off reporting these things, and making Gobbo a target for a hit?

I suppose if Gobbo is shot dead by someone she snitched on, they only wouldn't care, but would print it on the front page. I mean, the story matters most. Stuff it if it costs someone their life.

If Nicola Gobbo is murdered by the underworld, then her blood will be on the media's hands, for naming her and reporting her movements.

Also, they should lay off the police. They do their best to try to clean up this city. The media should support them and make them heroes, instead of condemning every movement they make.

Journalists, the most unaccountable profession there is, are the first to hold the police, who are doing more to stem crime than the media ever will, to account. But they only ever tell us the bad things police do, not any of the good things, because that sells, and they want people to lose faith in the police, so that they can direct and guide them instead.

The media brings comfort to criminals, knowing that someone is speaking for them against the police.

Riddle me this:- Why is there more coverage of police handcuffing a person forcibly, and more condemnation of it, then when a policeman gets bashed? Where was the condemnation and public outcry towards those who bashed the cop?

Many would have seen the Walsh st police shootings as a tragedy. Journos saw it as headline news. That just shows the rock that journalists crawl out of.
Yep like the bloke but he's off the reservation on this one.

Once when I reported a crime (that was actively still going) they asked me what it was my business to report said crime. it was a teenager getting absolutely brutalised by a bunch of other teenagers 200m from their station, but they didn’t want to know about it, and were incensed I felt it necessary to report it.

they are a pack of useless bludgers. None of my dealings with them from the right side of the law have left me with any respect for them.

I've had a similar issue, called up to report a guy going beserk on a taxi driver in Lygon street in broad daylight. Families around were horrified. Police response "unless the taxi driver wants to file a complaint or press charges there's nothing we can do". They wouldn't even attend or take down the rego of the guys to follow up, how would they know if the victim wanted to press charges?

You seem to be confusing a number of issues in this thread.

Yes, some sentences for violent offences are too lenient. Yes parole boards can be too lenient.

Yes it is horrific when an innocent person gets bashed, whether they are a cop or not.

Yes cops need to be held strictly to account and should not be above the law.

No, holding police to account does not mean we should dissolve the police force altogether.

These things are not mutually exclusive.

LOL
Absolutely wrong. I actually said a mixture of police and non-police are needed.
Given the fact you can barely read, then resort to ad hominems, I'm glad we disagree.

We don't live in a dictatorship.
Yet you're advocating a police state.

Police have a long history of going after the wrong people... it's essential to have a proper criminal justice system where people can get fair and uncompromised representation.

Okay, then, then you must disagree with the letters to the editor in papers, in which people cry about inadequate sentencing, or how people are let out on parole, only to offend again.

No, in your deluded mind, everyone in prison gets 30 years or more, and capital punishment happens.

I remember as a child, hearing on the news that someone who killed someone else got 20 years minimum, and if they killed more than once, they got life imprisonment. Now, people get 5-7 years, once time served and good behaviour is factored in.

Obviously you have been untouched by crime, and therefore lack empathy for anyone who has been. You live in your own sheltered existence where nothing illegal has ever happened to you, but you are a poor little victim of police pulling you over for speeding or something like that.

Or maybe you are a judge or related to a judge, so of course you would defend their weak sentencing.

Actually, I spent years covering Home Affairs type stuff in Scotland, I've interviewed plenty of people who have lost loved ones to murder etc.

The only types I ever met there who thought across the board increased sentencing was a good idea were idiot politicians.

You do understand that there's journalists at both The Age (Silvester) and the Hun that basically print whatever VicPol media tell them to?

People don't like cops bending the rules.

Well, if I was a cop, and I saw that article, I would look up to see if he has any unpaid parking tickets, or see if his car is roadworthy.
So you're advocating corrupt behaviour?

The Law Nicola Gobbo named - Massive corruption by Victoria Police that will see major criminals released from jail