No free to Air!

My god...some of you were absolutely panicking! We all know the agreement about crows and port will be played into adelaide yet some of you were still thinking we'd be screwed over.

You never know when some TV station boffin might push the wrong button, or forget to push the right one, that was my concern. Only a couple months ago i went to the movies and got to see the first 5 minutes of the wrong movie until the clown up top realised what was going on.

Reading through this thread, I think this needed to be prescribed

images

The bias against the crows by the fox footy commentators is atrocious. They were barracking for a dogs win. The crows and port teams get a reaming by the vic commentators.

Seriously, some of you only hear what you want to hear.

When we are playing well, I reckon you tune the commentators out as you are so intent on watching and miss the part where they complement us. Then when we are playing like shit, like the 3rd and first half of the 4th quarter last night you only listen for the negative comments and the gee ups for the other teams.

I'm sitting here watching the relay and the commentators have been fine. Stop reading too much into it and just appreciate the game.

If you don't agree with what I'm saying, give me some direct and factual examples? Time, person and what they said please. That way, it's not an opinion, it's a point of anger on your behalf that you can refer to.

Had to laugh a little, there is always a delay for games played in Adelaide. As for the commentary, I didn't really notice it either way, only time was at half time when they kept going on about why the dogs were losing and not why they were being beaten.

Seriously, some of you only hear what you want to hear.

When we are playing well, I reckon you tune the commentators out as you are so intent on watching and miss the part where they complement us. Then when we are playing like shit, like the 3rd and first half of the 4th quarter last night you only listen for the negative comments and the gee ups for the other teams.

I'm sitting here watching the relay and the commentators have been fine. Stop reading too much into it and just appreciate the game.

If you don't agree with what I'm saying, give me some direct and factual examples? Time, person and what they said please. That way, it's not an opinion, it's a point of anger on your behalf that you can refer to.

Sorry mate, but RealSlimShady is right on the money here. Dermot in particular spent the entire evening advocating moves the Dogs could make to get back in the game/kick clear of us. "I reckon they should switch Murphy or Lake up forward now" having built up to it for over an hour. "If Jones can take 3 marks in the forward 50 the Dogs win". Everything he said was about the Dogs; if I had put blinkers on I wouldn't have even known who they were playing.

Speaking of FTA, it's Easter bloody Sunday and there is not one match of football on FTA here in Adelaide.

That's a damn disgrace. The AFL need to tell Foxtel to **** off and start catering to their fans for a change.

How can you blame Foxtel? they paid big money for the rights, and apart from the HD issue, I'm very happy with the service they are providing.

Sorry mate, but RealSlimShady is right on the money here. Dermot in particular spent the entire evening advocating moves the Dogs could make to get back in the game/kick clear of us. "I reckon they should switch Murphy or Lake up forward now" having built up to it for over an hour. "If Jones can take 3 marks in the forward 50 the Dogs win". Everything he said was about the Dogs; if I had put blinkers on I wouldn't have even known who they were playing.

And that had nothing to do with engaging in other commentators in conversion regarding the match and keeping it in context to the contest?

Everything? now, you're just talking nonsense.

The bias nature some people have regarding the commentators on this board is sicking. Pure paranoia at its finest.

They make comments to engage their audience as hypothetical comment's and if you take it the wrong way, you're the one who has bias nature, not them. It happens every week, every game. So, you're the one who has to chance the way you listen.

Speaking of FTA, it's Easter bloody Sunday and there is not one match of football on FTA here in Adelaide.

That's a damn disgrace. The AFL need to tell Foxtel to **** off and start catering to their fans for a change.

Thursday night called, they want their FTA match back and you will have a match on tomorrow.

Foxtel pay $600 million over 5 years to allow the AFL to cater to their fans every day of the week.

nah alex shit commentators are shit

That wasn't the point. The point was them being bias against us and they are not.

They may be shit but they are not bias because it happens every week for every team. I'm sure you will find a "commentators are bias against us" somewhere on every team board.

It's one of the most complained about issues in TV sport. Everyone wants their team to be the most talked about issue with only the positives getting highlighted.

Doesn't happen that way.

I must admit I thought the commentators were pretty bad too. However I have heard a lot worse. Thought Dwayne Russel could have been worse.

Someone please enlighten me, but wasn't there a specific advertisement by Channel 7 Adelaide prior to the start of the season that underlined the points that the Crows/Port games this year will be LIVE on FTA regardless of home or away games?
Was dissapointed when the Crows game was delayed. Although the AFL's intention is to build on home crowds going to games, I remember Andrew Demetriou stating in an article (Can't remember which one...) saying that stadiums must get use to games being televised Live.

The main reason why I bring this up is because I am a supporter that cannot attend Crows games and FTA is the only thing I have to support the Crows. Just feel as if 7 has misguided viewers (hope I'm not alone) into believing that Live Crows games will be telecasted every week... Maybe I need to lower my expectation with 7, who knows...

I cannot recall channel 7 ever saying all Crows and Power home games would be shown as 'Live' against the gate. Some yes, but not all.

All away games would be shown as Live but home games would be 'near Live' meaning a 30 mins delay.

But I cannot ever remember them saying all home and away game for Crows and Power.

Foxtel, yes all games would be shown live and in stunning HD but not channel 7.

I cannot recall channel 7 ever saying all Crows and Power home games would be shown as 'Live' against the gate. Some yes, but not all.

All away games would be shown as Live but home games would be 'near Live' meaning a 30 mins delay.

But I cannot ever remember them saying all home and away game for Crows and Power.

Foxtel, yes all games would be shown live and in stunning HD but not channel 7.

Actually, you might be right... I was probably just thinking of the away games.

You do realise that the A-League is not and has never been on free to air? There is always going to be more football on FTA (12 hours a week minimum) than soccer on SBS.
The A league may not be on but there is always plenty of euro soccer

If your a footy fan you must have FOX HD. Its awesome. Not that expensive.

I agree. It's a must IMO.

Fox's HD is superb. So crisp and clear, the footy almost jumps off the screen.

I will never watch a game on Channel 7 - never - when I can watch and ad free version of the game with a vastly superior picture

The quality of Foxtel's HD is 5 times better than Channel 7's SD, due to the relative number of pixels in HD v SD.

Channel 7 should pull their finger out and telecast in HD, as did Channel 10 when they had the contract until they spat the dummy once they knew they didn't have the next 5 years of rights.

Foxtel's broadcast of all sports in HD is outstanding!!

No free to Air!