Resource Non-AFL General Chat

Yet another example of a really irritating recent trend in Australian sports media where journalists and personalities that never actually played any of these sports at the highest level are offering opinions and telling us in detail on ā€œfeatureā€ pieces where all these teams are going wrong.

If Ricky Ponting or Steve Waugh write an article saying Australian cricket is in crisis, Iā€™ll stop and read it.

Gerard Whateley or tom Morris never took a wicket or scored a run for Australia so why the hell do we care what either of them thinks.

Same applies in footy season.
Tom Morris shouting his opinions out over Jimmy Bartel and Leigh Matthews on his footy show? Give me a spell

Gerard, Tom, Damian Barrett, Andy Maher, Sam McClure, Jon Ralph - your opinions carry as much meaning as a random poster on big footy. STFU and report the news, and leave the opinions to people that were actually in the game at some form at the top level.

Thereā€™s some pretty dumbarse ex-players commentating as well.

Letā€™s just remember that thereā€™s a reason someone like Ricky Ponting captained Australia and Michael Slater didnā€™t.

Thereā€™s some bloody good cricket journalists/commentators that never played the game but the names youā€™ve mentioned are all pretty much ****wits seeking attention.

In general I think the standard of cricket media is so much better than AFL media tbh.

Kohli is the definition of a sore loser & the sooner they get him & Rohit Sharma out of that group the better theyā€™ll be. Their lack of leadership & the way they have embarrassed themselves in a lot of moments during this series is not great for team harmony.
Not sure culture is a thing in Indian cricket.

I will say that Australia has had some poor moments in recent history, obviously, but I thought despite some poor batting moments, it was a very professional effort by all. Playing alongside blokes like Scotty Boland, you couldnā€™t help but be a better team member.

Thereā€™s some pretty dumbarse ex-players commentating as well.

Letā€™s just remember that thereā€™s a reason someone like Ricky Ponting captained Australia and Michael Slater didnā€™t.

Thereā€™s some bloody good cricket journalists/commentators that never played the game but the names youā€™ve mentioned are all pretty much ****wits seeking attention.

In general I think the standard of cricket media is so much better than AFL media tbh.
Couldnt agree more about the standard of cricket pundits compared to footy.
Would give anything for an ex footy player to give the level of insight that Ponting does in cricket.
There a few ok ones but most are poor enough.
Joel ā€œthey wonā€™t want to fall any further behind here JBā€ Selwood just about took the biscuit last year. Riveting insights from a champion of the game indeed

Yet another example of a really irritating recent trend in Australian sports media where journalists and personalities that never actually played any of these sports at the highest level are offering opinions and telling us in detail on ā€œfeatureā€ pieces where all these teams are going wrong.

If Ricky Ponting or Steve Waugh write an article saying Australian cricket is in crisis, Iā€™ll stop and read it.

Gerard Whateley or tom Morris never took a wicket or scored a run for Australia so why the hell do we care what either of them thinks.

Tom Morris shouting his opinions out over Jimmy Bartel and Leigh Matthews on his footy show? Give me a spell šŸ˜³

Gerard, Tom, Damian Barrett, Andy Maher, Sam McClure, Jon Ralph - your opinions carry as much meaning as a random poster on big footy. STFU and report the news, and leave the opinions to people that were actually in the game at some form at the top level.
Morris has actually played first grade premier in Melbourne (St Kilda) which makes him more qualified to write on cricket than footy but no-one questions his presence in the latter.
Really they way he behaves no-one should be surprised he's a grade cricketer.

Remember the pile-on when RTB rested the side in the final round? Have a look at the NFL final round - tanking and hilarity everywhere you look. And coaches getting booted an hour after the game ends, you gotta love it.

Tom Morris shouting his opinions out over Jimmy Bartel and Leigh Matthews on his footy show? Give me a spell

I reckon Whately hasn't scored a run or taken a wicket in backyard cricket!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Remember the pile-on when RTB rested the side in the final round? Have a look at the NFL final round - tanking and hilarity everywhere you look. And coaches getting booted an hour after the game ends, you gotta love it.

I am a Denver Broncos fan, and while happy that the side made it to the post season, there will be questions about how legitimate their place is after beating a second string Kansas City team.

From a Denver perspective there is a case to be made that they matched it with KC in Kansas earlier in the year and only lost on a blocked field goal late in the final quarter. Denver may have had a chance against a first string KC team playing in Denver this time but we will never know now.

A friend of mine from Cincinnati is not happy with the Denver v KC result but Cincinnati is the architect of their own fate to a large degree as they left their run for the finals too late.

It's up to Denver now to see if they can progress past week one of the finals. My expectations are low.

I am a Denver Broncos fan, and while happy that the side made it to the post season, there will be questions about how legitimate their place is after beating a second string Kansas City team.

From a Denver perspective there is a case to be made that they matched it with KC in Kansas earlier in the year and only lost on a blocked field goal late in the final quarter. Denver may have had a chance against a first string KC team playing in Denver this time but we will never know now.

A friend of mine from Cincinnati is not happy with the Denver v KC result but Cincinnati is the architect of their own fate to a large degree as they left their run for the finals too late.

It's up to Denver now to see if they can progress past week one of the finals. My expectations are low.
Being a Miami fan we didnt deserve to sneak in tbh.

We were horrid all year and would have been lambs to the slaughter in Buffalo anyway.

I guess it gives everyone another reason to hate KC.

The strategy for the chiefs may well backfire as the week off next week means it will be 3 weeks between games for there big guns and i sometimes think that can too long no matter what pro sport and sports science when coming up against a team who wins a playoff and has rhythm and momentum on there side.

Interesting how it all plays out.

I'm a Vikings fan...we just can't have anything nice. Darnold picks the most important game of the regular season to have his worst game as a Viking and we'll go into the Playoffs with a record of 14-3 and lose in the wildcards.

Detroit have really cobbled together a great defensive effort considering their defence has been obliterated by injury as well

I'm a Vikings fan...we just can't have anything nice. Darnold picks the most important game of the regular season to have his worst game as a Viking and we'll go into the Playoffs with a record of 14-3 and lose in the wildcards.

Detroit have really cobbled together a great defensive effort considering their defence has been obliterated by injury as well
Its midway through the 3rd Quarter your still in it

We've done well to hold the amazing Lions offence to 10 points so far but that dam wall will break and we can't get anything going on offence. Had 4 red zone drives with only 2 field goals to show for it.

Bloody frustrating to watch but again, amazing for the Lions all things considered

Tom Morris shouting his opinions out over Jimmy Bartel and Leigh Matthews on his footy show? Give me a spell šŸ˜³

I'm with you on the Whately bashing and also hate the fact that reactionary takes are prioritised across Australian sports media atm but this line of thinking does a bit of a disservice to the more dedicated media pros. Someone like Geoff Lemon hasn't come close to padding up for Australia but consistently produces quality, well-reasoned cricket content. I'd listen to his opinion over Matt Hayden's inane ramblings. Ditto Ryan Daniels over Kane Cornes during footy season.

I don't think failing to play at the highest level of a particular sport should preclude someone in the media from sharing their opinions, especially as ex-players are equally prone to brainless reactions.

Yep know them

Bert was a tool of the highest order
He's running a wholesale import business now - his factory was around the corner from my house. I'll move this to DMs so we don't spam the board with Aquinas nostalgia

Never forget the OG mass rester of players was Harvey.
Threw a game vs Hawks in Tassie, lost by 100, then beat a Carlton side with Brownlow Judd for a home final.
Then smashed the Hawks. In hindsight incredibly ballsy

Lol the scorchers they don't lose games.

Is it just me but did Tom Rogers look more 100 times more confident with a stick then Marcus plodding Harris who gets talked up as a possible test opener looked like out of his depth at domestic cricket.

If he plays another test we are kidding ourselves.

Resource Non-AFL General Chat